October 21, 2014

LG L41C Ultimate 2 - Available with Tracfone

Tracfone LG Ultimate 2 Android Smartphone now Available!

Below we will share details and specs for the LG Ultimate 2 which was recently made available for use with Tracfone. TracfoneReviewer will continue to update this post as more information becomes available.

Tracfone LG L41C
Tracfone LG Ultimate 2
Another Android powered smartphone for use with Tracfone, has just been released and it is the LG L41C, also known as the LG Ultimate 2. Tracfone continues to release newer, and slightly better, smartphones for use on their prepaid service.

The LG Ultimate 2 comes with Android 4.4 OS, a 5MP camera with autofocus, 1 GB RAM and uses Verizon 3G networks. It will also have a 4.5" screen, which will make many Tracfone users very excited.

Along with the LG Ultimate 2, there are several other Android phones coming, or already available for use with Tracfone. The LG Optimus Fuel, Samsung Galaxy Ace Style, and Moto E are some of the other options. You can also see the full list of smartphones by visiting our Tracfone Android Smartphone List. The Alcatel A564C Onetouch Icon Pop was also just released by Tracfone, and we will be posting more on that very soon. It has a 5" screen, and Android 4.4 as well as a quad care processor (as far as we can tell).

Tracfone has a number of phones that they may be releasing in the future, like the Moto E, and possibly several Android phones for use on GSM networks. Keep up with our latest news and posts by following us on Facebook.

Now, let's take a closer look at what to expect from the LG Ultimate 2.

Tracfone LG L41C - What to Expect

Not all of the details for the Ultimate 2 are completely available or clear, but we do have several bits of interesting information that will help provide details on the phone..

The LG L41C Ultimate 2 has already been spotted for use with Straight Talk, and at a price of just $130. It is also now listed on the Tracfone website for the same price, and we hope it will become available soon from other online shopping sites like Amazon and eBay, or even HSN and ShopHQ.

The Ultimate 2 is basically very similar to the Verizon prepaid LG Optimus Exceed 2. which appears to be a well rounded smartphone There are several possible versions of the LG 41C that Tracfone may use, and some have a front facing camera, while others do not, and some state they have quad-core processors while others have dual.

One thing is for sure, the LG Ultimate 2 has a 4.5" touchscreen (800x400) that will make it bigger than the LG Optimus Fuel, Moto E, or LG Optimus Dynamic II. Only the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop has a larger screen at this time, at 5".

Below is a list of the features and specifications for the Tracfone LG Ultimate 2.

LG Ultimate 2 Feature and Specs

First the features, and below the technical specs for the LG L41C.
  • Android 4.4
  • 3G on Verizon CDMA Networks
  • WiFi
  • 5MP Camera with Auto-focus
  • (Tracfone website reports 1.3MP front facing camera - unconfirmed)
  • 3 Home Screens
  • Proximity Sensor
  • Bluetooth
  • GPS Enabled
  • Handsfree speaker, Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Call Waiting, Caller ID, Email, MMS, Voicemail
  • Voice Dialing
  • MP3 Player
  • Triple Minutes for Lfie and separate Call/Text/Data pools
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
 LG Ultimate 2 (L41C) Technical Specifications:
  • 5.01" x 2.63" x 0.38"
  • 4.5" IPS at 800x400
  • 1.2 Ghz Dual-core processor (Tracfone website reports Quad-Core processor)
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 4 GB Internal Memory, up to 32GB Micro SD card compatible
  • Weight: 4.5 ounces
  • 2100 mAh Battery with 12 hours talk time/ 9 days standby
tracfone lg l41c ultimate 2
LG Ultimate 2 Keyboard
The L41C has some decent specs, with 1 GB of RAM, and a nice large screen. Some of the details, including exactly what the dimensions for the screen are, and whether the Ultimate 2 will have a front facing camera, are unclear at this time. The Tracfone website itself does not always display correct information, so we will wait to confirm these things.

While the battery is a decent size at 2100 mAh, the talk time and standby are less than the Moto E (which only has a 1980 mAh battery) However, the battery is removable, if you need to do that.

Many of the other specs on the Ultimate 2 are similar to the Moto E, and an improvement over phones like the LG Optimus Dynamic II, ZTE Valet, and Samsung Galaxy Centura.

Tracfone was relatively quick in releasing the the LG Ultimate 2 and Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop. We heard about the Samsung Galaxy Ace Style months ago, but it has not surfaced, and may even be a lesser option with these new phones now available.

Thoughts about the LG L41C Ultimate 2

We are very excited that Tracfone released the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop (what a long name!) and LG Ultimate 2 so quickly. These phones bring a lot of great new features, including much larger screens, more RAM, and better processors.

Each of the Android smartphones released by Tracfone have certain strengths and weaknesses and the LG Ultimate 2 is no different. While it does have many great features, it's screen size is 0.5 inches smaller than the Alcatel phone, and may only have a dual-core processor vs a quad-core for the Alcatel. So be sure to know what you want in a phone before making your choice.

The Moto E, which we are still waiting for, has a smaller screen and no front camera, but will be updated to Android 5.0 'lollipop' when that comes out.

You can take a look at the LG Ultimate 2 Interactive Tutorial to get a better feel for how the phone looks.

We will be working on reviews for the new phones in the near future, but for now, let us know your questions and thoughts about the Ultimate 2 in the comments section below. Also take a look at what others have to say.

As we mentioned, the LG L41C is retailing on the Tracfone website for $130. We expect it to be offered for less, and perhaps with minutes bundles, in the near future from other online retailers.

You may find our Tracfone BYOP page useful if you're looking for new phone options. It provides information on Bringing Your Own Phone to Tracfone, including some information on the success some people are having with using the Moto G with Tracfone.

Also take a look at our Guide to How Minutes Work with Android Tracfone Devices. Tracfone changed things in several ways with the Android phones they now offer, and the post explains the changes, and what difference it makes for you.

Thanks for visiting!

October 15, 2014

Moto E (XT830C) - Coming to Tracfone

Tracfone Moto E Android Smartphone Coming Soon!

This post provides details and specs for the Moto E XT830C coming to Tracfone sometime in the future. We will continue to update as more information arrives.

Motorola XT830C
The Moto E is Coming to Tracfone
Tracfone continues to (slowly) release new Android powered smartphones to add to their offering of prepaid mobile devices and the Moto E from Motorola is the latest announcement. Tracfone is a low cost prepaid cell phone service provider with a variety of both regular phones and smartphones.

The Motorola XT830C, which is more commonly referred to as simply the Moto E, is a powerful little smartphone running Android 4.4 and giving users a 4.3" touchscreen.

The Moto E comes from a small family of three phones produced by Motorola and is the lowest cost. The higher end Moto X, and extremely popular mid-level Moto G fill out this selection of highly rated phones. While there are some reports of the Moto G working with Tracfone BYOP, it is anything but easy or certain, so the Moto E may be the next best thing for many Tracfone customers.

The Samsung Galaxy Ace Style (not yet released) and the LG Optimus Fuel (available) are the two previous new phones to come to Tracfone. Each have upgrades that other Tracfone Androids don't have, but they still don't have everything consumers are looking for. Perhaps with the Moto E, and two other smartphones coming to Tracfone, users will find a mobile device that fits their need.

Along with the Moto E, there is news of two more exciting phones. The LG L41C and Alcatel A564C which each seem to sport screens larger than 4 inches (more information on these phones coming very soon!). Many Tracfone users have been hoping for Android devices with screens larger than 4", so these phones are very exciting to hear about.

Let's take a closer look at what the Moto E offers, including some of the important specifications.

Tracfone Moto E Specifications and What to Expect

The Moto E is better than some of Tracfones other smartphones like the LG Optimus Dynamic II and LG Optimus Fuel in several areas. (But each phone has certain strengths and weaknesses). The two biggest features for the Moto E that set it appart are the 4.3" screen, and 1GB of RAM.

Below is the full list of features and specs for the Moto E:
moto e Motorola XT830C
Tracfone Moto E
  • Android 4.4
  • 3G on Verizon CDMA Networks
  • WiFi
  • 5MP Rear Camera 
  • Micro USB 2.0 port
  • 3.5mm Headphones
  • 4GB Micro SD Card
  • Bluetooth
  • GPS
  • FM Radio
  • Handsfree Speaker, MMS, Alarm clock
  • MP3 Player, Proximity Sensor
  • Call Waiting, Caller ID, Voice Dialing
  • Triple Minutes for Life
Moto E Technical Specs and Features:
  • Size: 4.91" x 2.55" x 0.48"
  • 4.3" qHD Touchscreen at 256ppi (540x960) and Gorilla Glass 3
  • 1.2 Ghz Dual-core processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 4 GB Internal Memory, up to 32 GB External MicroSD slot
  • Weight: 5 ounces
  • 1980 mAh battery with 16.5 hrs talk time/30 days standby

Some of you might be very excited for the opportunity to have a Tracfone Smartphone with a dual-core processor and 1 GB of RAM. The Moto E is expected to be a great overall smartphone with its solid features and specs. And because it was made in partnership with Google, it will likely continue to be updated with the latest Android OS.

We could go on about the 4.3" screen, 1.2 Ghz processor, and all the other specs, but you probably get the idea that the Moto E comes with many features that beat Tracfone's other smartphones. So, let's move on and look at when the Moto E might even be available.

A quick note, as one visitor mentioned in the comments, the Moto E doesn't have a front facing camera, nor flash, and the battery cannot be removed. These are some cons for the phone worth being aware of.

What to Expect and When is the Moto E Available with Tracfone?

The Moto E will be for use on Verizon CDMA towers and you can probably expect the same kind of service as many of Tracfone's other current smartphones.

All of Tracfone's Android smartphones come with Triple Minutes for Life, and minutes are separated into talk, text and data. For a full explanation about this, view our Guide to How Minutes Work with Tracfone Android Phones.

Now, the big question most of you are asking is, when will the Moto E be available on Tracfone? This is a great question, but unfortunately we don't have a great answer for you: We don't really know.

Previously, we heard about the LG Optimus Fuel in early 2014, but it was only released at the end of September 2014. So if this is any guide, it could be several months before the Moto E comes to Tracfone. However, the Moto E, and other phones coming to Tracfone soon, could make great Black Friday sales or Christmas deals so let's hope this happens.

The retail price for an unlocked Moto E is about $120 but we expect the Moto E for Tracfone to be less, perhaps under $100 or even closer to $80.

We will keep you updated with the latest information on the Moto E. As soon as we find it available we will update this page. Stay even more up to date by following us on Facebook where we share lots of information on the latest Tracfone devices, as well as Tracfone Promo Codes!

For more on the Moto E, take a look at the Tracfone Motorola XT830C Tutorial.

If you're looking for a new phone, be sure to visit our Cell Phone reviews page where we have a list of all our reviews of Tracfone cell phones.

You might also find our Guide to the Tracfone Family Value Plan useful because it shares all the details on how to put your whole family on a monthly no-contract Tracfone plan! (And all for less than $10 per phone!)

Thanks for visiting, and leave a comment with your thoughts or questions about this phone!

October 3, 2014

Tracfone Promo Codes for October 2014

List of New Tracfone Promo Codes October 2014

Provided below are a list of promotional codes for use with Tracfone cell phone devices for the month of October 2014. These codes are collected and shared here for your convenience by TracfoneReviewer.

tracfone promo code october 2014
Promo Codes for October 2014!
Tracfone is a cell phone and service provider offering many low cost options to consumers. They provide a variety of promo codes that can be used when adding a prepaid minute card to your phone to get additional minutes for free.

Each month we find and share the latest codes from around the web here, and also on our main Tracfone Promo Codes page, where we list both past and present codes.

To use a promo code, simply enter it when prompted while adding a Tracfone minutes card. If you're on the Tracfone website, add the code in the 'Promotional Code' box.

Note, codes are sometimes for certain regions or phones, and don't always work, or may work only once per phone. Also be aware that Tracfone promo codes don't work on Android smartphones.

But the smartphones from Tracfone are pretty exciting, so take a look at our Tracfone Android Smartphone list where we have each current smartphone listed for quick comparison or take a look at our Tracfone BYOP page and learn about bringing your own smartphone to Tracfone!

Of course, you can also see all the phones on our Cell Phone Reviews page.

Now, here are the latest promo codes for October!

Tracfone Promo Codes - October 2014

Each code will work for a certain minute card, or any card of greater value. (So a code for a 60 minute card will work with any card). Remember, you enter these codes along with a prepaid minutes card, and this can be done online, on your phone, or over the phone!

60 Minute Card - Use code 59396 or 84464 to get 30 extra minutes

120 Minute Card - Enter 17202 or 11679 and receive 30 bonus minutes (or use the codes above)

200 Minute Card - Add promo code 86942 or 23154 for a total of 40 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card - Enter code 93528 or 42855 for 50 extra bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card - Use codes 80087 or 73538 to get 250 bonus minutes

Codes don't always work for all phones in every area, so please let us know in the comments which codes are working! All codes above should be valid through October 31st 2014!

We just posted a list of great deals and discounts on Tracfone Cell Phones and Minutes, so check it out if you want to see the latest sales.

The LG Optimus Fuel, an Android phone with the latest OS, is now available to buy online. Visit our post (linked above) to learn more about the phone, and where it is available online (for just $60).

We hope this means the Samsung Galaxy Ace Style will be released very soon. Follow us on Facebook, where we will share as soon as the phone becomes available!

We hope you found this codes useful, and got some free minutes! Thanks for visiting!

September 22, 2014

Tracfone Sales, Discounts and Deals -Fall 2014

Sales and Discounts on Tracfone Cell Phones and Minutes - Sept. 2014

Tracfone sales and discounts graphic
Save Money on Tracfone with these deals!
There are plenty of great deals and discounts on Tracfone devices and minutes, but it can be hard to find them when you need it most. So below we share with you some of the latest and greatest deals we've found from around the web.

Tracfone is a wireless prepaid cell phone company that sells both phones and service minutes. They are usually very low cost, and make it easy to own a cell phone for less than $20 a month. Visit About Tracfone to learn more about them, or see our Cell Phone Reviews page to check out the phones.

Here at TracfoneReviewer, we keep track of the best prices on Tracfone mobile devices and minutes, and then share them with you. These deals don't always last long, so don't wait.

We try to find and share a variety of deals here to appeal to what you're looking for. Many of these discounted Tracfone products will save you a few bucks, but that can go a long ways sometimes.

If you're looking for more ways to save money, visit our Tracfone Promo Codes page. And don't forget to check out our recently updated post on How to Set Up the Tracfone Family Value Plan which can be a great money saver.

Well, let's get to these Tracfone Sales.

Tracfone Deals and Sales - September 2014

These are some great deals and discounts we've found, but please let us know in the comments if you find others!


1. ZTE Valet Android with 200 Minutes (Tripled to 600) for $45

ZTE Valet on sale
ZTE Valet for $45
Buying phones bundled with minutes is almost always a great deal, and this ZTE Valet with 600 total minutes is no exception.

The Valet is a touchscreen Android smartphone with 3.5" screen and many great features. See all the details by reading our Tracfone ZTE Valet Review.

This deal is great because the 600 minutes would normally cost $40, so for $5 more (plus another $5 for shipping) you get an Android smartphone!

View the deal on Amazon for all the details!


2. Alcatel 382G "The Big Easy" for $10

This phone is simple and practical; made for ease of use and good durability. It is a popular phone with Tracfone users because it does the basic things of calling and texting with large easy to use keys. Take a look at our Alcatel 382G Review for more information on this phone.

You can get the Alcatel 382G with Double Minutes right now on Amazon for just $10. It normally goes for $40!


3. Motorola EX431G with Triple Minutes - $7!

If you're just looking for a simple phone that has Triple Minutes for Life, or you don't have a phone with Triple Minutes for life, you should seriously consider this great deal!

The Motorola EX 431G is a QWERTY keyboard phone with lots of great features like MP3 Player and 2MP camera. It also comes with Triple Minutes for Life, and is on sale for just $7!

View our review of the Motorola Ex431G to see if it might be the right phone for you.


4. LG Optimus Dynamic II with 600 Minutes for $99

The LG Optimus Dynamic II is one of the most popular Tracfone devices right now for good reason, it comes with a 3.8" touchscreen and is powered by Android. The majority of users who have tried other Tracfone smartphones prefer the LG Optimus Dynamic II.

Take a look at our Review of the LG Optimus Dynamic II, and be sure to read through the comments.

At just $99 (and free shipping!) for the phone and 600 minutes, you are really getting the Dynamic II for just $60 with a $40 200 minute card - which is a great deal.

View the deal on eBay for more information.


5. 200 Minute Card for $32!

If you're looking for minutes, and don't mind waiting for the PIN to be mailed to you, buying cards online can be a great deal. Normally, a 200 minute Tracfone card goes for $40, but this deal has the card for just $32 and free shipping.

So plan a little in advance, and take advantage of the $8 off a 200 minute card!


6. LG Optimus Dynamic II w/ 1200 Minutes for $99 from HSN

This deal probably won't last long, but it is a good one if you're looking for an Android phone bundled with lots of minutes! The 1200 minutes are worth $99 by themselves, so you basically get a great Android smartphone for free!

View the deal on HSN but you better hurry because it probably won't last!


TracfoneReviewer works hard at finding the best prices, and biggest deals. We are dedicated to providing information and helping save you money. Please let us know if you see better deals around! Leave a comment or visit our Facebook page!

Continue learning about all that Tracfone offers by checking out our Tracfone Android Phone List which has all the latest smartphones from Tracfone listed and easy to compare.

You may also find our Tracfone BYOP page useful for learning about which phones you can bring to Tracfone, including the iPhone 4.

Also, the LG Optimus Fuel, with Android 4.4 is now available. View our full post on the LG Optimus Fuel to learn more, and find where you can buy it (and how much it costs!).

Thanks for visiting, and we hope you enjoy these deals!

September 11, 2014

LG 305C Tracfone Review

Review of the LG 305C Touchscreen Phone from Tracfone

This review by TracfoneReviewer will provide specs and features for the LG 305C, along with likes and dislikes, and where you can buy the phone for the best price.

LG 305C tracfone
Tracfone LG 305C Review
Tracfone Wireless is a low cost prepaid cell phone and service provider in America. They contract with major companies like AT&T and Verizon to use their networks.

The LG 305C uses the CDMA Verizon network and is very similar to the LG 306G which uses AT&T and other networks. If you know which network is better in your area, you can go with the appropriate phone, otherwise you might want to read our GSM vs CDMA Review to learn more about the two network options.

As we mentioned, the LG 305C is very similar to the LG 306G (click for our review), in fact they share almost all the same features. the key difference is that the LG 305C will use Verizon service.

The LG 305C is a touchscreen phone with a 3.2" screen and has 3G and WiFi connectivity. It is not an Android phone however, and thus does not have access to the wide variety of apps Android users enjoy.

Let's take a look at the features for this phone, followed by the phone specifications.

LG 305C Features and Specs

This phone comes with most standard features Tracfone devices usually come with like Voicemail, Caller ID, etc. It also comes with some other great features:
  • WiFi and 3G access for Mobile Web Browsing
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • 5 Home Screens
  • 2 MP Camera and Recorder
  • SMS/MMS messaging (text/picture)
  • 4 GB Micro SD card included
  • Up to 32 GB Micro SD Card
  • Bluetooth 2.1
  • MP3 Player
  • Gravity/Tilt sensor
  • 1000 Entry Phonebook
  • Alarm, Handsfree speaker, voice recorder
LG 305C Specs and Size:
  • 3.2" Touchscreen 
  • Size: 4.08" x 2.47" x 0.47" (inches) 
  • Weight: 3.80 OZ 
  • Battery: 3 Hours talk time, 10 days on Standby
Most of the features for the LG 305C are similar to many of Tracfone's other touchscreen phones like the LG 840G, LG 306G and LG 800G. But the main difference, which we mentioned above, is that the LG 305C uses CDMA towers.

Let's get into what we like and dislike about the LG 305C to better understand if it will fit your needs and how it compares to other devices.

LG 305C Review - Likes and Dislikes

Starting with What We Like:

There are two big things we like about this phone, and they go together (kind of). They are WiFi and CDMA cell service. Why we like these features is because this is the first non-android phone that uses Verizon CDMA towers, and has WiFi. So for everyone out there who has been using phones like the LG 505C or Samsung R455C, you may want to consider switching to the LG 305C just for the WiFi feature.

LG 305C
LG 305C Review
WiFi allows you to connect to any wireless internet and surf the web for free, provided you can connect to the wireless network.

Another great feature is the included 4 GB Micro SD card which you can use to store lots of picture and music on. You can then use the MP3 player feature for the music. Transferring music to your phone from a computer can be done by either connecting a cable or putting the Micro SD card into a card reader.

Battery life for the LG 305C is good, with the standby time longer than most smartphones. However, the LG 306G has 17 days on standby while the LG 305C only has 10. This may be due in part to the way CDMA technology interacts with the phone.

Lastly, we like that the LG 305C does not use the '3 buckets' system that all new Android smartphones use. When you add minutes to the LG 305C they all go into one 'bucket' and are automatically tripled. If you are a heavy texter, using a phone with the single 'bucket' for minutes will allow you to have more texts.

We also want to mention that Promo Codes will also work on the LG 305C (but don't work on Android phones).

Dislikes for the LG 305C
When evaluating dislikes for the LG 305C, there are not many. It is a very solid phone that does the basic stuff of calling and texting well. But it doesn't exceed expectations much, and some users have found a variety of minor problems (which many phones have).

Two of the features which we wish were better are the camera and operating system.

The camera is 2 MP which is OK for quick pictures and for use on the phone, but if you want to actually use the pictures for anything beyond social media, the quality might not be there.

The LG 305C uses a proprietary Java based operating system which basically means you can't access apps like you would on an Android phone, with the same ease. You can still install apps, but there are less options to choose from.

The LG 305C has mixed reports regarding GPS ability. It appears to have GPS listed as a feature, but none can be found on the phone. It may be that the GPS is for use in emergency situations only.

Overall, the LG 305C has many great features, and the dislikes will probably not be a issue for most. 

Overview and Where to Buy the LG 305C 

We are excited about the LG 305C because it offers WiFi while using a Verizon CDMA cell service. Be sure to check if your area is usable for Verizon before you buy.

lg 305c
LG 305C on Amazon
If you're considering the LG 306G vs LG 305C, they are almost identical, with the main difference being which cell network they use.

The LG 305C is available both online and in stores and retails for $40, but we have found the LG 305C at half price for just $20 on Amazon. (we also found the LG 305C on eBay at the same price!)

For further information about this phone, check out the interactive LG 305C tutorial

We would recommend the LG 305C if you're in an area where Verizon service is your main option. But you may want to look into some of the other phones Tracfone has.

Tracfone currently has a wide variety of phones, ranging from Android Smartphones to simple flip phones, and even iPhone 4/4S on their BYOP program. If you're looking for phones, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for more information.

If you're interested in learning more about Android phones, check out our recent post with the 6 Major Differences between Android and Non-Android phones.

Thanks for visiting, and leave a comment with your thoughts or questions!