August 10, 2017

Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life- What you Need to Know

Facts about Tracfone's Triple Minutes for Life Changes

triple minutes for life
Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life
Tracfone has decided to end the Triple Minutes for Life (TMFL) program that gave all smartphones (both Tracfone branded and unlocked) as well as many feature phones triple the minutes when adding the regular airtime cards. (When adding the 60 minute card, for example, you would get 180 minutes, plus any bonus airtime).

There has been a lot of speculation and questions about whether phones will keep Triple Minutes for Life, if new phones will have it, and if Tracfone is really removing a very popular feature from their phones.

We've gathered information about the changes and contacted Tracfone directly, and now want to try and clear things up and provide the facts for everyone concerned about this.

First off, none of the Smartphone only cards would triple anyway, so these cards are completely unaffected, and if these are the cards you usually get, you are unaffected. In general, the smartphone cards are a better deal (especially for texts and data)l, and you can take a look at our Tracfone Airtime Comparison to learn more about which cards are the best deal for different situations.

But many Tracfone customers still use the regular airtime cards, especially the 60 minute card and 1 Year/400 Minute card. Plus, most bonus codes are for the regular airtime cards.

So what exactly is changing, and how will it affect you? Let's have a look.

Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life Changes - The Facts

Here are the facts about Tracfone's changes to TMFL program.

  • All phones that already have Triple Minutes for Life will continue to have it.
  • New Smartphone releases will not include Triple Minutes for Life (Phones released after April 2017 and with Android 6.0 or newer will not come with TMFL)
  • SIM cards for BYOP phones will no longer include TMFL
  • All your airtime will transfer if you switch from a phone with TMFL to one without.
  • Regular airtime cards can still be added to non-TMFL smartphones, but only the face value will be given. (a 60 minute card will give 60 talk, 60 texts, and 60 MB data.)
The important information here is that no phone that already has triple minutes will lose that feature. But newer phones released by Tracfone will likely not include triple minutes.

This is a significant shift that Tracfone is making, and may drive away some long time customers. Why would they do this? Here is their response from the FAQ section on their website:

Why Tracfone is Making the Change to Triple Minutes for Life:
As technology continues to improve, we found that more people were using smartphones and smartphone plans. People are especially using more data. So, we wanted to accommodate you by providing higher data plans with greater value. - Tracfone FAQ
That doesn't make a whole lot of sense as to why they need to get rid of TMFL, but it is true that the regular airtime cards are not a very good deal for data or texts.

Tracfone also cited 'technical compatibility' as another reason for the end of triple minutes, but that isn't very likely either.

Whatever the reason, Triple Minutes for Life will no longer come with new phones, but all existing triple minute phones will continue to keep it.

Share your thoughts or questions about these changes below, and if you have additional information or corrections please also let us know.

Continue the discussion on our Facebook page where we post the latest news and info with our growing community.

Catch up on some of our recent posts including 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal and How WiFi calling Works.

We also updated our list of the Best Android Apps which includes a variety of the most popular and most helpful apps to have on your smartphone.

Don't forget to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page if you're shopping for a new phone, or the BYOP page to learn about bringing an unlocked phone to Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

August 2, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for August 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes - August 2017

The latest promotional codes collected and shared by TracfoneReviewer

Tracfone Promo Code August 2017
Tracfone Promo Code List - August 2017
It's a new month, and summer is almost over, but we've got fresh Tracfone promo codes to make things a little better! Each month we gather these promo codes, test them, and then share them here for our readers!

There's nothing to click or do, the promo codes are free to use! Simple add the promo code when entering the Tracfone airtime PIN number in the spot marked for it. You can add airtime on your phone, over the phone or online.

Promo codes are meant for non-smartphones, but will usually work for both Tracfone smartphones and BYOP devices. If you're looking for a new phone, check out our Cell Phone Reviews or the BYOP page for recent reviews and information.

Some of the recent phones form Tracfone, like the LG Fiesta, don't come with Triple Minutes for Life, but promo codes should still work with them.

This page includes only the latest codes from Tracfone that a re for August 20177 but we also have a larger, Tracfone promo code page with more options, so if you don't see a code here that works, be sure to also visit there.

Let's get to the codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes List - August 2017

Some codes may be one time use, and others may be limited to certain airtime cards. But for most codes, they can be used with a specific airtime card or any card of greater value. Adding airtime over the phone may be the easiest way to ensure you receive bonus minutes.

60 Minute Card use promo code 22703 for 60 minutes (may be one time use) or try 12745 for 60 minutes

120 Minute Card add code 38007 for 30 extra minutes

200 Minute Card enter code 41993 and get 40 bonus minutes (valid until August 16th) or use 59905 for 40 minutes

450 Minute Card use code 85337 to receive 50 additional minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 89823 for 250 free minutes (valid until August 16th) or try 82024 to get 300 minutes!

$15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute card with code 91875 (from Tracfone website only)

We hope these codes get you the extra bonus minutes, let us know in the comments below which one you used, and how it worked.

Take a look at our 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal if you've ever wondered about how to boost your signal, or why you lose it in certain locations.

Also check out the latest post of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales which includes both Tracfone smartphones and BYOP devices.

Join us on Facebook, where our community of over 2600 offers helpful information and advice. And send us a message if you have a specific question, its the best place for us to respond.

And if you are curious about what WiFi Calling is and how it works or if you can unlock your Tracfone then follow the links to our recent articles!

Thanks for visiting!

July 31, 2017

10 Tips for Improving Your Tracfone Cell Signal

How to Check and Boost your Tracfone Cell Signal

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about Tracfone. If you're new, be sure to have a look around and some of the other news and information we share!

Tracfone cell signal strength
10 Tips to Boost your Cell Signal
Don't you hate it when you lose signal while on the phone, or when you can't send a text because you are in a dead zone?

In this post we look at how cell signal strength is measured, how to check your signal, and tips for improving it. We often get questions relating to signal strength, and hopefully this will help clear some of those up.

Tracfone users several other cell phone networks, including Verizon and AT&T, and the coverage is usually pretty good in most cities and towns. However, there are plenty of places where the signal can be partially blocked, or has much further to travel.

The information provided here is to help you get the most from your cell phone, so let's get started.

How Cell Signal Works (And How to Check yours)

Cell signal is measured in dBm (Decibel milliwatts) where about -60 dBm is a very excellent signal, and -110 very poor. Ranging between -70 and -98 dBm will usually result in a very adequate signal. As we will see further on in our tips for boosting signal strength, little things like holding the phone in certain ways, can significantly affect the signal.

The signal strength bars at the top of your device don't have any standardized correlation to your actual signal strength, but are a general representation. Different phones may report a different number of signal strength bars even with a similar dBm number. So, for example, if two phones both have -93 dBm signal strength, one might show three bars and the other four.

But how can you know what the actual signal strength is on your phone if you can only see the service bars? Well fortunately there is an easy way to check, for both iPhones and Android devices.

How to Check your Cell Signal Strength

Knowing your cell signal strength is very handy for avoiding dropped calls, and checking if there are ways to improve it. Here is how to check your signal (measured in dBm) on an Android device and an iPhone:

Android:
On an Android device go to Settings > About Phone > Status (or Network Status) > Signal Strength (On some devices you may need to tap SIM Status)

iPhone:
Dial *3001#12345#* on your iPhone then press Call. The signal strength will be displayed in the top right corner.

Once you see the number, try moving around or covering your phone with your hand, you should see the signal strength change. In our testing with a Moto G4, placing a hand over the top of the phone resulted in a loss of about 5 dBm signal strength.

Below is the steps for checking your signal strength on an Android, but be aware it might be slightly different for you. Start by going to settings, and then scroll to the bottom, following the steps below.
Improve cell signal tracfone
How to Check your Cell Signal Strength on Android

Now that you know how to check your signal strength, here are ten tips for improving it.

10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal

There are a number of different ways you can improve your cell signal and some of these may help more than others, depending on your situation.

1. Remove Obstructions
Anything that can block the radio waves reaching your phone could be reducing your signal strength. Things like a thick phone case, or leaving your phone in a purse or bag, could result in a worse signal, or even no signal. Test your phone case by checking your signal strength with it on, then off, and see if that makes a difference. Remember, closer to -60 is better, with anything between -70 to -100 still good, and beyond -110 very poor. If you notice your phone receives a lot of texts when you pull it out of your bag or purse, it could be getting blocked while in there.

2. Put your Phone in a Cup
This may sound a little odd, but it can actually helps amplify the reception in certain cases. If you get a poor signal, and are located in the lower levels of a building or the basement, try placing your phone in a cup to boost the reception. It might be hard to make any calls, but you will at least be able to check texts and voicemail. This also works well for improving the sound of your phone. You can also test with other objects that can catch and funnel the waves to your phone.

3. Check How you Hold your Phone
Cell phone manufactures put the antenna in a variety of different places, and sometimes the way you hold your phone could be reducing your signal. Check your signal strength with different ways you hold your phone and see if you might inadvertently be blocking the internal antenna.

4. Check your House for the Best Location
It can be helpful to walk around your house and check the signal strength in various parts. If you find a much stronger signal in certain areas, you can try and go there for making phone calls to help improve the signal.

5. Go Outside
Going outside, and away from buildings that might be blocking your cell signal, can make a huge difference in improving the connection. If you need to make an important call and find yourself with a low signal inside, make a quick trip outside and it will likely improve.

find tracfone cell tower
Using the Open Signal App to find the closest Cell Tower
6. Locate and get Closer to the Cell Tower
There are a number of free (and paid) apps that will show you where the nearest cell towers are, and which one you are currently using. This is very helpful if you need to get a better signal for an important call, or if you're just curious about where the cell towers are located.

Open Signal is available for free from the Google Play store and displays the nearby towers, and which one you are currently connected to.

Take a look at the screenshots from the app: on the left, it shows the dashboard which indicates which direction the cell tower you are currently connected to is located, and the map on the right side shows all nearby cell towers.

7. If in a car, open the window
Cars are basically large metal boxes and they do a pretty good job of reducing your signal strength. If it is not too noisy, try opening your window to improve your service. Obviously, you shouldn't be driving and talking on the phone, so maybe consider pulling over.

8. Create your own DIY Signal Booster
Using some everyday items you may be able to boost your signal with this DIY hack. There are lots of online guides and tips for creating and attaching signal boosters to your phone, but one we found was very simple, and made an improvement.

Simply attach the charging cord to your phone, and then wrap the other end around a metal object, such as a pen, and hold it up in the air. Try it for yourself and see what kind of an improvement it makes for you.

9. Keep your Battery Charged
Constantly sending and receiving signals does use a lot of battery power, especially when your phone has a weak signal, it has to send and resend several times. Keeping the battery charged will help your phone have plenty of juice to keep sending information even at low signal strength.

10. Use WiFi Calling
WiFi Calling works by using your home WiFi (or any WiFI) to transmit texts and calls for your device. You still have to pay for calls/texts, but at least you will be able to stay connected in locations with poor or no service.

We've just created a full Guide to WiFi Calling with Tracfone which includes more details about how it works, and how to check if your phone is compatible.

Bonus Tip! - Cell Phone Signal Booster
Cell phone signal boosters usually work by collecting the signal from outside your house, and sending it to another device that broadcasts it inside your house for a much stronger signal. They can be fairly expensive, sometimes several hundreds of dollars, but if you can't find another way to improve your poor signal inside, it may be an option worth looking into.

WeBoost (available form Amazon) is one such option that offers several different solutions. If you live in an area with a weak signal, this could dramatically improve your signal.

If you find that you still can't get a signal in places you commonly visit like your home or work, check with others to see if they have a better signal using a different network, and then consider switching. Tracfone uses several different networks, including Verizon and AT&T, so if you are using one service, you could consider switching to the other if you know that it has better service.

We hope this information about improving your cell signal helps boost yours! And let us know in the comments below if you have any thoughts or questions (and share your best signal boosting tips too!).

Keep up with the latest news and updates by joining us on Facebook with over 2500 followers.

Take a look at our Cell Phone Reviews list if you are considering a new phone, we've got lots of specs, details and where to buy the phones.

See the latest list of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales for the lowest prices on both Tracfone smartphones and unlocked devices.

Thanks for visiting!

July 24, 2017

Tracfone WiFi Calling - How it Works and More

How WiFi Calling Works with Tracfone and How to Make Free Calls

free calling wifi tracfone
Tracfone WiFi Calling
Is WiFi Calling Free? How does it work? We are here to help answer questions about WiFi Calling, and share an option for free calling using WiFi. If you're not sure how WiFi Calling works, if you have it or if you want it, this is the article to read.

Information about WiFi Calling with Tracfone is not completely clear, but we've tried to collect and share the most accurate details below. If you have anything to add, or if we made a mistake, let us know in the comments.

If you're new to TracfoneReviewer, take a look around. We offer lots of Tracfone related tips, news, info and reviews. A great place to start is our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Now, let's take a look at WiFi Calling with Tracfone.

What is WiFi Calling?

WiFi Calling is a feature that allows you to send and receive both calls and texts over a WiFi network instead of the cell network. The main benefit is that you can stay connected with calls/texts when cell service is not available but WiFi is, such as in the basement of a large building, or in a rural area.

WiFi Calling doesn't give you the ability to make free calls and texts. (Read further along to learn how to do this with Google Voice.) You are still charged the normal rate for calls and texts by Tracfone.

WiFi Calling works on both Android and iOS devices, although not all phones support it, and not all cell phone service providers support it.

Tracfone does support WiFi Calling, but only on some smartphones, and certain BYOP devices. It appears to depend on the phone and your location, as not all the networks Tracfone users support WiFi Calling.

To see if your phone is capable, take a look at the requirements for WiFi Calling:

Basic Requirements for WiFi Calling

There are a few basic requirements for WiFi Calling
  • SIM Card/Network that Supports it
  • Cell Phone with WiFi Calling Capability
  • e911 Registration
The first two requirements can be a little tricky to figure out. The easiest way is to just try and enable WiFi Calling to see if it will work. Tracfone uses several other cell phone networks, and a variety of different smartphones, so not all are capable or compatible.

You can visit https://e911-reg.tracfone.com/wps/portal/home/ and enter your phone number and last four digits of your SIM card number (located on your SIM card for BYOP devices).

Testing with an unlocked Moto G4 Plus with GSM SIM was unsuccessful.

How to Setup WiFi Calling

If you're phone is eligible, then follow these steps for WiFi Calling:
  1. Register an E911 address, which requires you to submit your home address, by visiting http://e911-reg.tracfone.com 
  2. Enable WiFi Calling on your device (if it isn't already enabled) by going to Settings > More > WiFi Calling. Here is a Tracfone tutorial for enabling WiFi Calling.
  3. If you run into problems, try double checking each step and if that doesn't work, contact Tracfone directly or leave a comment below.
If you're phone is capable of WiFi Calling, it should be a fairly quick and easy process to enable it.

But what if you can't enable WiFi Calling, or you want to make free calls using WiFi? Well we've got the answer!

How to Make Free Calls using WiFi

If you were expecting WiFi Calling to make it possible to make free calls and texts, you are probably disappointed. But don't worry, there are other options for free calling and texting, and we will share one of the more popular methods here.

Using Google Hangouts/Hangouts Dialer and a free phone number from Google Voice, you can make free calls from WiFi. Anyone you call will see your Google Voice number, not your Tracfone number, but you can port your Tracfone number to Google Voice if you prefer that.

Steps to Make Free Calls with Google Hangouts Dialer:
  1. Visit Google Voice and sign up for a free phone number. You are able to choose a phone number from a large variety available from many different area codes.
  2. Download Google Hangouts Dialer app on your smartphone
  3. Connect your Account and Verify your Phone Number
  4. Make a Test Call using the Google Hangouts Dialer app to check that everything is working.
Now you should be able to send and receive phone calls to your Tracfone smartphone using your Google Voice phone number and the Dialer app.

Here is a helpful YouTube video that also explains more about Google Hangouts Dialer and how it works.

If you are looking for free texting, there are a number of texting apps such as Whatsapp, Line App, and more, that allow free texting with anyone else who also has the app.

Using a Google Voice number and the Hangouts Dialer app is a great way for anyone to make calls using WiFi without using any Tracfone airtime.

We hope this information is helpful and leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

Check out the latest Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales if you are shopping for a new phone, or just want to see what is available.

Also take a look at our List of the Best Apps for Android, which includes several free texting apps.

And learn which Tracfone Airtime Card is the Best Deal with our comparison guide.

Thanks for visiting!

July 12, 2017

Tracfone Deals and Sales - July 2017

Best Deals on Tracfone Devices and Minutes - Summer 2017

cheap tracfone cell phone
Tracfone Deals and Sales - July 2017
Below are some of the best deals on Tracfone smartphones, regular phones, bundles and airtime. We know it can be a challenge to find the best price on a new cell phone, so we track, collect and share some of the best deals here for you.

Tracfone cell phones can be purchased not only from the Tracfone website, but also through many retailers like Walmart, Amazon, eBay and more.

Also included are some great prices for unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP

The best deal on a Tracfone device is to purchase a bundle which also includes airtime. In some cases you can get a new phone for very cheap, or even free with the purchase of airtime.

Be sure to also share any big discounts you find in the comments below. Let's get started.

Tracfone Smartphone and Bundle Deals

Deals updated for July 2017

LG Rebel with 1200 Minutes/1 Year service - $79
While the LG Rebel is a fairly basic smartphone, with Android 5.1, 8 GB memory and a 5" touchscreen, this bundle is very good. The airtime, a 1 Year service plus 1350 talk, text and data is worth over $100,, plus you get the phone for free. Visit our Review of the LG Treasure to learn more about this phone.

View the deal for the LG Treasure on eBay for $79

Also check out the LG Rebel, with a smaller 4.5" screen, available for $49 with 1200 minutes/1 year service from HSN.com

Samsung Galaxy Luna J1 with 1200 Minutes/1 Year Service - $99
The Galaxy Luna is a popular phone choice for its overall performance. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 6.0, quad core processor and 8 GB memory. It is generally best for people who use a small handful of apps, but don't do much more than that. This is a very good deal, as the Airtime bundle is worth $99, making the phone ($80-100 value) free!. View our review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna to learn more.

View the Deal on eBay.

Samsung Galaxy Core Prime with 1200 Minutes/1 Year service - $69
The Galaxy Core Prime is about a year old, but still offers some good features including a 4.5" touchscreen, 8 GB Memory, Quad-core processor and Android 4.4. The airtime is worth $99, making this a great deal. Note, the airtime may come pre-installed on the phone, meaning you can't immediately use the airtime on another device. View our review of the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime for more information.

View the Deal on eBay

Unlocked Smartphones for BYOP

These are great phones at a low price and ready for the Tracfone BYOP program.

Moto G4 Plus 64GB - $229 ($70 off)
If you want lots of onboard memory, a large, beautiful HD screen and long battery life, the Moto G4 Plus is an excellent option. It comes with Android 6.0 (upgradable to 7.0), 5.5" screen, 64 GB memory and plenty of other great features. The retail price is $299, but this deal has it available for $239. Check out our review of the Moto G4 Plus including adding it to Tracfone BYOP.

moto g5 plus tracfone
The Moto G5 Plus Unlocked
View the Deal on BH Photo

For the same price, the Moto G5 Plus (32 GB) is also available on Amazon. It is the newer version with upgraded processor, but smaller screen size (5.1")

Share any deals you find in the comments below and we will add them to the list!

Take a look at our recent Comparison of Tracfone Airtime which includes details on the cheapest ways to add airtime, and the best value cards.

We also updated our list of the Best Apps for Android.

And don't forget to join us on Facebook where we have a growing community of helpful people who share info, ask questions and give answers.

Thanks for visiting!