November 18, 2015

Tracfone Black Friday Deals List 2015

The Best Black Friday and Cyber Monday Deals on Tracfone in one List

Below you will find a collection of great deals and discounts for Black Friday, Cyber Monday, and the Holiday season. We will continue to update as more deals are discovered and shared.

Tracfone deals and sales
Tracfone Black Friday Deals
Black Friday is the biggest day for discounts on all kinds of stuff including Tracfone devices and minutes. But it can always be challenging to figure out which stores have the best deals, or even what deals they may be offering.

For those who might not know, Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone company that provides both airtime and cell phones. They are one of the cheapest cell phone options available, but you do pay for each minute, text or megabyte you use. Learn more about Tracfone by visiting our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Tracfone also allows users to bring their own device to Tracfone, opening the door to many of the top end smartphones some consumers desire. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page to learn more and view a growing list of phones to use with BYOP.

In this list of Black Friday deals we will include everything we can find, both reports of in-store deals and links to the deals on other websites. We want to include as many options to help you find the best deals on a new phone or minutes.

So let's get to the deals and savings!

Tracfone Black Friday Deals - 2015

We will collect all the Black Friday, Cyber Monday and any other holiday deals below and continue to update, so check back often!

Kmart - $1 for the Alcatel A206G Big Easy Flip Phone - View Kmart's Black Friday Ad

Wal-Mart - no deals on Tracfone devices yet - View Walmart's Black Friday Ad

Target - Discounted Tracfone Airtime Cards! (and other airtime cards too) - View Target's Black Friday Ad

BestBuy - no deals on Tracfone devices yet - View BestBuy's Black Friday Ad

Dollar General - Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz for $1 - View Dollar General's Ad

Family Dollar - LG 440G Flip Phone for $1 - View Family Dollar's Ad

RadioShack - LG 440G Flip Phone for $2.99 - View RadioShack's Ad - browse through Tracfone's own website and view their deals, although they aren't always the best - Visit Tracfone Sales page

Amazon - Various daily deals leading up to Black Friday, Cyber Monday - View Amazon's Daily and Black Friday Deals - ZTE Quartz with 1200 minutes for $129 and the LG Ultimate 2 with 1200 minutes for $99

That concludes our list of Tracfone Black Friday deals, but we will continue to add to it throughout the shopping season.

We need your help! Share any deals you find and we'll include them here and post 'em on the Facebook page for everyone to see.

If you're looking for a new phone consider visiting our Cell Phone Reviews page where we have collected a number of reviews of different Tracfone devices. You can also compare and learn more about the Android devices offered by Tracfone on our Android Tracfone List.

We will be creating a Christmas Gift Guide soon so be on the lookout for that too!

Thanks for visiting and we hope this helped you locate some great deals for Black Friday and the Holidays!

November 11, 2015

Tracfone Match & Win - What Is It?

How to Play the Match & Win Contest from Tracfone

In this post by TracfoneReviewer we share information on a contest offered by Tracfone between October and November of 2015. We hope this information will be useful and help you win some prizes!

win prizes tracfone
Learn about the Tracfone Match and Win Contest here!
Towards the end of October I received a text to my Tracfone cell phone promoting a contest and sharing a link to click for more details.

I immediately thought it might be a scam and didn't click the link, and soon forgot about it. Then a few days ago I was on the Tracfone website and noticed a promotion for the Tracfone Match & Win contest there.

Following the steps I quickly learned that it was a legitimate contest from Tracfone offering the chance to win prizes for Tracfone users. The text I had received about the contest looked like something that followed the general scam pattern - 'Win something great, just click this link/give us your information'. I'm confident in confirming now that it is not a scam, and is a real contest form Tracfone, in case anyone was concerned about that.

But what is this contest, how does it work, and how long will it be available? We'll share our answers to these questions and more below!

For those who might not know, Tracfone is a low cost cell phone carrier that contracts with other major carriers like AT&T and Verizon to use their cell towers for providing prepaid coverage. Tracfone is great for consumers who would prefer to be charged based on how much they use their cell phone, rather than a flat fee.

Tracfone offers a variety of cell phones to use with their prepaid service, and you can visit our Cell Phone Reviews page to see many of them reviewed by us. You can also bring your own phone to Tracfone with their BYOP program. Follow the link to learn about which phones will work.

Now let's start sharing details on what this Tracfone contest is all about.

What is the Match & Win Contest from Tracfone

The Match & Win contest is a promotion sponsored by Tracfone that runs from October 8th, 2015 through November 25th, 2015.

This contest is put together by HelloWorld Inc, a company that specializes in social media and web marketing.

To be eligible to win prizes, contestants must be at least 18 years old, and live in the United States. You will also need to have a Tracfone account.

You can take a look at the full contest details in this PDF.

Prize List
There are quite a few prizes for this contest, although many of them are of lower value.

  • Grand Prize - 14 winners get a $100 gift card to retailers of winners choice, selected from a list of options
  • First Prize - 200 winners get a magazine subscription of winners choice, selected from a list of options 
  • Second Prize - 125 winners get a $25 gift card to retailers of winners choice, selected from a list of options
  • Third Prize - 313 winners get a $10 gift card to retailers of winners choice, selected form a list of options
  • Fourth Prize - 250 winners get a $5 gift card to retailers of winners choice, selected form a list of options

There's almost $15,000 worth of gift cards and magazine subscriptions available for contestants to win, but there is a limit of only once prize per person.

For those who are already Tracfone customers, it doesn't cost anything to play this contest once a day, and possibly win a gift card, even if it is only worth $5.

How to Enter the Match & Win Contest

To enter the contest simply visit the Match & Win website and start from there. You will be required to register the first time you play the contest, by entering your first and last name, the email address connected to your Tracfone account, and your Tracfone telephone number.

Each time you return and play (which you can do once every day) you will have to confirm your phone number.

So if you don't have an account with Tracfone already, you will need one for this Contest. Obviously, if you don't have a Tracfone phone number, you can't play.

No purchase is necessary for this contest, and you can return to the contest page everyday for a chance to win until the contest closes.

Once you are registered and logged in, you will be directed to a page with three options to click, and you get to choose one.

So far in our testing, if you have multiple phones under one account, you only get one play for the entire account.

Let us know if you win! We want to hear if anyone wins anything, and if so, what did you win. We've played three times, and won nothing so far.

Is the Match and Win Contest Rigged?

One user posted on the Tracfone forums their concern about the contest possibly being rigged.

tracfone coupon prizes
'rigged' contest' forum post - click to enlarge
Take a look at the forum post here, or see the image of the post on the right.

The user took a look at the source code for the contest page, and pointed out that it has already determined he hasn't won, before he selected anything.

This could suggest that, either no winners will be allowed at all and this contest is rigged, or that a winner is determined when the page loads, not when one of the three options is selected.

It would seem more likely to us that the second theory is correct, but we don't have any proof, nor are we experts in coding. What may occur is, every so often, the page loads a 'winning' page, giving contestants the chance to win, while the majority of the time it is just loading pages with no winners.

The interesting thing about this is, you can check before you select an option, whether any of the options are winners if you know what to look for in the source code. We're not suggesting you try this, or that it will work, it's just an observation.

We'd really love some input from those of you who might have experience with coding, and can confirm/explain what is going on here. Also, if we do start getting comments from people who are winning, that would confirm the contest is working properly, and assuage most concerns.

When the contest concludes, there is supposed to be a list of winners published.

Check back, as we will be updating this as we learn more.

If you're new to Tracfone, take a look at our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which will walk you through some of the basics of how Tracfone works, and what options you have for using them.

We share lots of information about Tracfone on this blog, so don't be afraid to browse the homepage, or use the search box on the right.

You can also join over 1400 followers on Facebook where we share news, promo codes, and each new post.

Thanks for visiting!

November 4, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for November 2015

List of Tracfone Promo Codes - November 2015

Each month TracfoneReviewer collects and shares the latest promotional codes from Tracfone. We work hard to find and post only the latest codes that are working for this month and hope you find a promo code that works for you!

tracfone coupon code
Tracfone Promo Codes Nov 2015!
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless phone company that provides both cell phones, and cell phone service by contracting with other major cell phone carriers to use their coverage.

With Tracfone, each time you add an airtime card to your phone you can also use a promo code to get additional minutes for free. Each code is for a specific airtime card amount, but can also be used with cards of greater value. For example, a code for a 60 minute card can also be used for the 120 or 200 minute cards and so on.

Tracfone does not allow promo codes with their newer Android Smartphone Selection, but these phones already offer a lot of great features. Phones that you bring to Tracfone through their BYOP program will also not accept promotional codes.

If you're looking for a new phone, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page, which includes a variety of different phones, both Android and non-Android.

The bonus coupon codes listed below are just the newest codes we have found for the month of November. You can view all the codes we've found on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Now let's take a look at the list of codes for this month.

Tracfone Promo Codes for November 2015

These codes are for use during the month of November. Some codes can be used multiple times, others only once. You can add codes on the Tracfone website, over the phone, or on your phone.

60 Minute Card use 12745 and get 60 free minutes

120 Minute Card try the code above, and we'll update when we find a new code!

200 Minute Card enter 42021 to get 40 free minutes (valid until Nov 16th)

450 Minute Card add promo code 35744 and receive 50 bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use code 12543 for 250 bonus minutes (valid until Nov 16th)

Special Code - Get $15 off the 1 Year/200 Minute Card on the Tracfone website with code 51995

These are the latest Tracfone coupon codes for November 2015 and we hope you find a code that works! Leave a comment below with which code you tried, and how it worked (Or let us know of any new codes!).

You can keep up with the latest Tracfone news and information by checking back on the blog here, or simply follow us on Facebook!

We recently shared our picks for the Worst Tracfone Device Ever and are interested in what your experiences have been, so take a look and let us know.

If you're still new to Tracfone, you should really check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone that covers a lot of the basic and general information regarding using Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting and we hope you enjoy the free minutes!

October 31, 2015

Tracfone Alcatel Sonic Review - Android 4G LTE

Review of the Alcatel Onetouch Sonic - 4G LTE Android Tracfone Smartphone

Below is TracfoneReviewer's review of the Alcatel Sonic. We will share a variety of features and details for the phone, and provide information on where to buy this phone. We hope you find this review helpful!

review of the alcatel sonic
Tracfone Alcatel Sonic Review
Tracfone is steadily releasing new smartphones and the latest release is only the second phone with 4G LTE coverage.

Tracfone Wireless is a prepaid service and cell phone provider with a variety of low cost devices and airtime options. They contract with other major cell phone carriers like Verizon and AT&T to provide coverage over their existing networks.

Tracfone is a smart choice for people who want a cell phone, but don't want to pay monthly contract prices.

Over the last few years Tracfone has released a number of Android powered smartphones to use with their service. This review will cover the Alcatel Onetouch Sonic, which is the latest phone available with Tracfone and comes with 4G LTE coverage.

If you're interested in the other Android phones from Tracfone, look no further than our Android Tracfone list which contains almost every smartphone available with Tracfone.

The Alcatel Onetouch Sonic is the second phone from Alcatel, following the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop. The Icon Pop had a large 5" screen, but the Sonic has a slightly smaller 4.6" screen.

We want to share our quick points about this phone, and then get into the full list of features.

Alcatel Onetouch Sonic A851L Quick Points:

The Good:
-4.6" Touchscreen

The Not so Good:
-Only about 1.7 GB internal memory
-Android 4.1
-Overall, no specs or features that really stand out besides 4G LTE

There are a couple of things about the Sonic that make it desirable, but there are also several features that are similar, or even worse than other phones available from Tracfone.

Let's take a look at the full list of features and specifications for the Sonic.

Alcatel Sonic Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specs.
  • Android 4.1
  • 4G LTE Connectivity
  • WiFi
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.0
  • 5 MP Rear Camera, VGA Front Camera
  • Hearing Aid Compatible and Handsfree Speaker
  • Access to over a Million Apps on Google Play
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • MicroUSB Connection
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, etc.
Alcatel Sonic Specifications List
  • Size: 5.28" x 2.74" x 0.43"
  • 4.6" Touchscreen (480x854 resolution with 212 DPI)
  • 1.4 Ghz Dual Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 4 GB Internal Memory (about 2 GB Usable, up to 32 GB External memory with MicroSD Card)
  • Battery: Talk Time 14 hrs, Standby 20 days
tracfone review alcatel sonic
Alcatel Onetouch Sonic front and back view
Several interesting features listed for the Sonic, particularly 4G LTE connectivity, but also the 4.6" touchscreen, and the 1.4 Ghz dual core processor.

The Alcatel Sonic has all the other features you would expect from an Android smartphone such as front and rear camera, WiFi, Bluetooth and speaker. It also has all the features you would expect from a Tracfone device like Triple Minutes for Life, Caller ID, Voicemail and more.

While there are some good features on the Sonic, there are also a few things we want to point out so that consumers are aware of them before purchasing this device. Let's get into our review of the Alcatel Onetouch Sonic with what we like, and don't like, about this device. If you want to see some phones we really don't like, take a look at our list of the Worst Tracfone Cell Phones.

Alcatel Onetouch Sonic Review - Likes and Dislikes

What We Like about the Sonic
The Alcatel Sonic is, overall, a pretty average Android phone except for one main feature - 4G LTE. This faster connectivity speed (4G really means 4th generation) allows you to download and surf the web much more quickly than 3G devices. And the nice thing is, you are paying the same for it with Tracfone.

We believe the Sonic will use GSM networks from AT&T, just like the LG Sunset. 

The 4.6" touchscreen is good, and similar to many of the other smartphones available with Tracfone.

Now let's take a look at some of the features that we weren't happy with.

What We Don't Like About the Sonic

alcatel sonic tracfone
Alcatel Sonic Internal Memory
There are several features this phone comes with that we don't like because they are similar or slightly worse than what we can get form other Tracfone devices.

The Sonic comes with Android 4.1, which is not the latest, or even almost the latest. There are several phones available from Tracfone that have Android 5.0, like the LG Sunset, or LG Power. While it isn't a big deal to use an older version of Android, it would be nice if it were updated.

Loading and storing apps, photos and other media on the Sonic may create a problem since the Sonic only comes with 4 GB of internal memory, with about half of that used up by the operating system. Again, several other Tracfone smartphones offer about double the internal memory as the Sonic. You will probably want more space if you're going to put more than a handful of apps on this device.

The camera on the Alcatel Sonic is also nothing impressive. It does the job, and has a front facing VGA camera for video chats, but doesn't stand apart from other devices.

We like that this phone has 4G LTE, but the rest of the features on this phone seem a little outdated. For those who don't plan to use their phone too much, this device will probably be just fine. But if you want to get more from your device, you probably want to go with something else, and maybe even consider the Tracfone BYOP program.

Overview and Where to Buy the Alcatel Sonic

As we said above, the Sonic is a pretty good phone, but there are other phones that are better for a similar price. The LG Ultimate 2, ZTE Quartz, LG Power and LG Sunset are each similar to the Sonic, but with improvements in various ways. This phone will probably perform just fine for the majority of users who purchase it, but if you want the most for your money, you may want to consider the LG Sunset, or the BYOP program.

Even the LG Ultimate 2, which was released over a year ago, has a number of features that are similar or better than the Sonic, most notably, more internal memory for storing apps, pictures and other things.

We're not saying the Sonic is a bad phone, but just that there are some other good phones out there as well. We'll let you make your own decision.

The Alcatel Sonic hasn't been found on the Tracfone website yet, but it is available through several other online retailers.

You can find the Sonic at the following websites:

Alcatel Onetouch Sonic for $99 on Amazon

Alcatel Onetouch Sonic for $99 on eBay

Alcatel Onetouch Sonic with 1 Year Service Card for $200 on eBay

Alcatel Onetouch Sonic with 1 Year Service Card for $130 on Evine

We expect that the Sonic will be available in stores and on the Tracfone website sometime in the near future. It is not uncommon for the phone to be available on eBay and Amazon before the Tracfone website.

Tracfone Android Resources - Helpful Information for Smartphone Users

Android phones work a little differently than non-smartphones with Tracfone. One of the biggest differences is that you get you minutes split up into talk, text and data pools that are each separate. You also get Triple Minutes for life on every Android phone.

For more information on using Android phones with Tracfone, take a look at the following resources we've published about Tracfone smartphones:

How Do Minutes Work on Tracfone Smartphones?

How to Check your Airtime on Android Devices

How to Buy Only Texts for your Smartphone

How Data Works on Android Tracfone Devices

and lastly, The Best Apps for Android

You can also take a look at the Alcatel Sonic Interactive Tutorial to help you learn how to use the phone.

That completes our review of the Alcatel Sonic. We hope you found it informative and useful. If you have questions or something to share, leave a comment below (we review every comment before posting, to keep out spam).

Visit our Cell Phone Reviews page to see all our reviews in one place, and you might find

Don't forget we also have Tracfone Promo Codes, although they won't work with smartphones.

And join more than 1300 followers on Facebook where we share our latest updates, news and posts!

Thanks for visiting!

October 22, 2015

Worst Tracfone Cell Phones

List of the Worst Devices from Tracfone

This post is created by TracfoneReviewer and shares some of the phones we wouldn't recommend for most Tracfone users. 

bad tracfone cell phones
Worst Tracfone Cell Phone - photo from
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone company that provides low cost phones and cell coverage. The phones they offer are usually a few years behind the latest technology, and sometimes have some serious drawbacks.

Here at TracfoneReviewer we provide lots of cell phone reviews, and are generally very excited about the new phones Tracfone releases, because we like the value (cost vs benefits) Tracfone provides and the new phones bring.

However, over the years there have been several phones released by Tracfone that have really been pretty poor, especially as we've had time to look at user reviews and compare them to other devices.

So which Tracfone cell phones are the worst? We're going to share our pick below!

Before we get to our pick, we want to clarify a few things first.

What Makes a Phone 'Bad'

We want to quickly clarify how we are defining a 'bad' phone. Basically any phone that either:

  • Has issues that the majority of users experience - thus not a case of one defective phone, but all phones being defective.
  • Or lacks proper features/specs to make the phone usable for the majority of people (and there are other phones available that do).

Both of these points are sometimes hard to recognize in a newly released phone because we either don't have enough input from user reviews, or we don't have other phones to compare the new device to.

Over time we are able to gain a better picture of whether a phone is 'good' or 'bad' based on how it is performing, and how it compares to other phones available.

This brings us to an important point:

'Bad' Phones can Still be 'Good' for Some People

Let's be clear, each person has different needs and expectations for a phone, and so some phones may not meet the needs/expectations of the majority of people, but for a few people it may perfectly meet their need.

Some Tracfone users prefer a smaller touchscreen and don't want the features that come with an Android powered smartphone.

So while we will be highlighting a few phones and designating them as 'bad' phones, they may still be a good choice for some people.

Drop a comment below if you want to add your thoughts on 'good' and 'bad' phones, or if we weren't clear in defining this.

Now, let's get to our picks for the worst Tracfone cell phones.

The Worst Tracfone Cell Phone

There are three phones that rise to the top of the list for worst cell phone from Tracfone. Number two and three are the ZTE Valet and the LG Optimus Dynamic. These two phones are basically tied for second worst phones from Tracfone.

The LG Optimus Dynamic, when it was released, had some of the best and most advanced features for a Tracfone device yet. It came with Android version 2.3 which allowed users access to thousands of apps on Google Play. Until the Optimus Dynamic, Tracfone users had not had access to a true smartphone.

When the LG Optimus Dynamic was only about $20, I picked one up and enjoyed using it for a while.

However, the Dynamic had a major flaw which brings it onto our list - very little internal memory for installing apps (the phone has 1 GB internal memory, but less than 200 MB that is actually usable)

One of the major strengths of a smartphone is the ability to install applications that can do many different things. So when the Optimus Dynamic could only hold a small handful of apps, it was defeating the purpose of being a smartphone. Some users were able to move apps to the external SD card, but not all users were interested in trying this, and were left with a phone that would often have 'memory full' messages pop up.

If you're looking for new apps, take a look at our List of the Best Apps for Android which may contain some new ideas for you!

The ZTE Valet came after the Optimus Dynamic, and improved on it in a few ways, such as a newer OS, Android 4.1. However the quality of the Valet was soon brought into question as many users noticed both poor sound quality when making phone calls, and poor WiFi reception in their home.

unimax maxpatriot worst cell phone
The Worst Tracfone is the Unimax MaxPatriot
These issues were prevalent for the majority of Valet users and caused many to look for a new phone soon after getting the Valet. The new and improved LG Optimus Dynamic II was a popular choice. Let's hope the issues with the ZTE Valet are cleared up for the more recently released ZTE Quartz.

And finally, the worst phone released by Tracfone is the Unimax MaxPatriot.

Unlike the ZTE Valet and LG Optimus Dynamic, the MaxPatriot was an inferior phone from the start. When it was released there were several other phones from Tracfone that were significantly better (specifically, the LG Ultimate 2). Plus, user comments and reviews quickly outlined a number of quality issues with the phone, and the phone manufacturer.

It is the only phone that we couldn't recommend for anyone, because there were phones that were both better and cheaper available at the same time. But some people still decided to try out the Unimax, and here are some of their comments:

bad tracfone reviews
Comment on the Unimax MaxPatriot
unimax MaxPatriot worst phone
Comment on the Unimax MaxPatriot

And finally this user was clearly unhappy with the Unimax phone:

worst tracfone cell phone
Comment on the Unimax MaxPatriot

Other comments were more restrained and merely read, "ditto on all the bad reviews."

To be fair, there were some comments from users who actually liked the phone, or at least weren't unhappy with it.

While there are other phones from Tracfone that do have their issues, none (as far as we know) were as bad as the Unimax MaxPatriot.

Let us know in the comments what your choice for the worst Tracfone would be, or if you have had a good experience with any of the phones in our list.

If you're looking for a new phone, we recommend taking a look at our Tracfone BYOP page where you can learn all about bringing your own phone to Tracfone. This includes a wide variety of GSM and CDMA phones, and even 4G LTE devices. You can find a list of compatible phones on that page as well.

We also recently reviewed the Call Detector App, which you can use on Android devices to block unwanted calls.

Stay up to date with the latest Tracfone news and information by following us on Facebook! As Black Friday and Christmas approach, Tracfone has traditionally released new phones or great deals, and we will share them both on the Facebook page, and here on the blog as we find them.

Thanks for visiting and we hope this post was useful and informative!