December 7, 2016

Top 10 Tracfone Gift Ideas - Christmas 2016

The Best Phone and Accessory Gift Ideas for Tracfone Users

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, below is our annual list of gift ideas. If you're new here, be sure to take a look at some of our other Tracfone related information! 



The holidays are fast approaching, and that means it's time to put up the Christmas tree, the lights, and all the other decorations (if you haven't already!)

It also means it is time to find presents for family and friends. This can be a real challenge sometimes, and we could all use some extra ideas for that one person who is hard to find gifts for...

We're here to help! With the latest phone and accessory gift ideas for Tracfone users. This list includes Tracfone smartphones, unlocked devices to bring to Tracfone, great accessories for smartphones, and a few extra ideas.

Here's the overview of our list:
1. Latest Tracfone Smartphones
2. Unlocked Smartphone Gift Ideas
3. Phone Case, Cover or Screen Protectors
4. External Battery Packs
5. Tracfone Airtime
6. Gift Cards for Purchasing Apps and Other Things
7. Car Charger and other On the Go Accessories
8. Headphones or Speakers
9. External Phone Storage
10. Personalized Coupon for a Phone, Accessory, Game etc.
Plus a Bonus idea!

While this list is geared towards those who use Tracfone, many of the ideas here (especially the accessories) are great for anyone who uses a smartphone.

Tracfone Wireless offers flexible prepaid service that can be a great way have a cell phone at a reasonable price. If you're not familiar with how Tracfone works, visit our Beginners Guide to Tracfone for some helpful information.

Now, let's get straight to our list of 10 Christmas gift ideas!

1. Tracfone Smartphone Gift Ideas

A new phone brings new features, and new possibilities. From improved performance, to better cameras, everyone enjoys an upgrade.

Here are some of the latest smartphones from Tracfone. These make great gifts for almost anyone, from kids to adults, and are usually fast and easy to set up. Most Tracfone cell phones are relatively inexpensive - between $50-150, which is great, but they don't always have the best cameras or a lot of memory. They generally make great phones for those who are low to moderate phone users, and stick with a handful of the basic apps.

It is important to know whether you need a GSM or CDMA compatible device. Tracfone uses several other major cell phone service providers, including AT&T for GSM service, and Verizon for CDMA. So check which service is best for your area. Some locations have service from both.

Here are some of the latest phones available form Tracfone:

Samsung Galaxy Luna - 4.5" Touchscreen, Android 6.0 and quad core processor. But the Luna only has 8 GB internal memory, and 5 MP rear camera. View our full review of the Luna or view the Luna on HSN or from eBay.

ZTE Max Duo - The largest screen on any Tracfone at 6", the Duo also has 16 GB internal memory and a 13MP rear camera. It is a little more expensive at around $200, but comes with an airtime bundle from HSN.

iPhone 5S - Tracfone now offers the iPhone 5S (and iPhone 6) for use on their prepaid network. While the 5S is a few years old now, it still has a great camera, and runs on iOS. Plus it is reasonably priced at $199. The iPhone 5S has been available from Target. Learn more about the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus also available from Tracfone by following the link.

Samsung Galaxy Sky - Released at the end of November, the Samsung Galaxy Sky is a great value with a 5" super AMOLED screen, 16 GB internal memory, Android 6.0 and quad core processor. The only drawback might be the 5 MP rear camera. Retailing for a round $150, you can find the Sky bundled with minutes from eBay and HSN.

ZTE Citrine - A very budget friendly option, the CItrine has a 4" touchscreen, 8 GB memory, 5 MP camera and runs on Android 5.1. It isn't a very powerful device, but at $30 from many retailers, it could make a great option for kids, or as a backup. Visit our ZTE Citrine Review for more details and where to buy. We've also found it for $30 on eBay.

For more phone options and ideas, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page where lists all our recent reviews of Tracfone devices.

Next are some unlocked phones that can be brought to Tracfone.

2. Unlocked Smartphone Gift Ideas

Almost any unlocked smartphone can be used with Tracfone. As with Tracfone smartphones, it is important to know whether you need a GSM or CDMA compatible device (although the first phone on our list is compatible with both).

tracfone gift ideas
Moto G4 Unlocked
Many unlocked smartphones, including the ones we've listed here, have more features and performance compared to most Tracfone smartphones. They generally have more memory and better cameras, which is important to some users (particularly teenagers).

Buying an unlocked smartphone for a friend or family member is best if they tend to use their phone often, and enjoy using a wide variety of apps like Facebook, Instagram and Google Maps (or games!). The newer the phone, and the better the specs, the faster it will run and the more apps it can handle.

Moto G4 (and Moto G4 Play) - The G4 has a large, 5.5" touchscreen, 16 GB memory, 2 GB RAM, Android 6.0 and 13 MP camera. It is one of the best all-round phones available for the price at this time. There are a number of other great phones in this price range, but the Moto G4 is convenient because it is compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks. There is also a cheaper version, called the Moto G4 Play, which has a 5" screen, 8 MP camera but many of the other same features, for $50 less. You can find the Moto G4 on Amazon for $199 and the G4 Play on Amazon for $149. They are also available from other retailers like BestBuy, Target and Walmart.

Visit our list of the Best Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP for more great ideas and also take a look at our Tracfone BYOP page which has details on requirements, how it all works and more.

3. Phone Case, Cover or Screen Protector

Most people use a case or cover for their smartphone to keep it safe and protected. Some cases are very simply, and offer a small amount of additional protection from drops. Other cases are fully waterproof, making the phone nearly indestructible.

For popular phones like iPhones, there are many different cases available, and you might even be able to find one that matches the personality of the person you're giving it to.

There are a lot of phone cases and covers on both Amazon and eBay. It can be hard to find the right case sometimes, but try searching using the name of the phone, plus case, or cover etc.. For example, if you're looking for a Moto G4 case, simply search on Amazon 'Moto G4 case' or 'Moto G4 waterproof case' and browse the results.

For some additional information on cases, including a short explanation of different types, visit our Tracfone Covers and Cases post.

4. External Battery Pack

tracfone christmas gifts
Anker External Battery
Remember the time when you could charge your flip phone once every two weeks? Well smartphones use a lot more power, and run out much faster, so why not gift an external battery pack/charger? The battery pack stores power for when your phone starts to run low, and then you simply connect them, and your phone gets recharged. No need for a wall socket, now you can recharge your phone from anywhere.

There are many external battery packs available, and they range in the amount of power they can hold, and other features. The Anker Astro (5200mAh) charger is a popular choice on Amazon and is also extremely small and compact. Last check it was just $16.

There are also solar powered chargers available that boast features like being waterproof, shockproof and more. Might be a fun gift for the adventurous.

5. Tracfone Airtime Cards

Every Tracfone user can enjoy the practicality of extra Tracfone airtime. You can purchase a range of cards at different prices, from the 60 Minute card for $20, to the 1 Year/400 Minute card for $99. Plus, there are several Smartphone-only airtime cards that also offer great value.

Data only refill cards and Text only cards are both reasonably priced at $10 for 1 GB data and $5 for 1000 texts. These might be ideal for teenagers.

Prepaid airtime cards can be a great way to say, 'I want to hear from you more!' and you can find them in almost any retail store, and also from eBay, Amazon and other retailers.

Check out our Tracfone Airtime Comparison for details on which airtime cards are the best deal.

6. Gift Cards for Purchasing Apps and Other Things

Some apps and games on the Apple and Google app stores cost a few dollars, and giving a gift card to cover these purchases is a convenient and safe way to allow kids (or adults) to have some fun.

There are many gift card options out there, here are some choices:

tracfone gift ideas 2016
Amazon eGift Card
iTunes Gift Card - Can be redeemed in the App Store or iTunes store for a wide variety of media including music, apps, books and more. Widely available in stores, from online retailers like Amazon and directly from Apple

Google Play Gift Card - Like the iTunes Gift Card, but for Android devices. The Google Play gift card works in the Google Play Store, and you can redeem for a wide variety of music, apps, games and more. Widely available in stores, online retailers like Amazon, and from Google.

Amazon Gift Card - Can be used to purchase almost anything from Amazon, which includes many options such as music, videos, apps, games, and more. Gift cards come in almost any amount. eGift cards are also available, which you can send via email or text. View amazon gift card options.

7. Car Charger and other On the Go Accessories

If you know someone who spends a lot of time commuting, they probably could use some phone accessories for their car. Here are some ideas:

8. Headphones or Speakers

Streaming music from a smartphone is a popular feature and whether you use Pandora, Spotify or something else, and headphones or a Bluetooth speaker are great for covering any music needs.

A Bluetooth speaker can wirelessly connect to a smartphone, and play music like you would from a CD player. It is great for get-togethers, parties, or even outdoor activities. There are many options available, including this portable waterproof speaker and poplar water-resistant Bluetooth speaker.

For headphones, there are several different styles, including over-ear noise canceling, or in-ear headphones.

9. External Phone Storage - Micro SD Card

christmas gift ideas
Samsung Micro SD Card (32 GB)
Many of Tracfone's smartphones only have 8 GB internal memory, which can be used up pretty quickly. Adding external memory with a Micro SD card is a nice way to expand the memory on the phone, and add additional music, photos or other content. Make sure to check first that the phone has a Micro SD card slot, which most Tracfone smartphones do have, but not all.

There are a lot of options for Micro SD cards, but the Samsung 32GB Micro SD card is a great value at just $10. You can also get 64GB, 128GB and 256GB, but make sure the phone can accept larger size cards before you buy.

10. Personalized Coupon for a Phone, Accessory, Game or anything else.

If you're having trouble narrowing down the gift ideas, you could always create a personalized coupon that is good for one Phone, Accessory and anything else.

Try to make the coupon specific, and personalized. This can be a fun and easy way to make sure a picky recipient ends up with what they want.

Bonus - How to Guide for using Android Smartphones
If you have a friend or family member who isn't very familiar with how to use a smartphone, consider this How-to book on using Android smartphones.

Additionally, if you already have some know-how, you could offer some lessons on the basics of using a smartphone, like turning it on and off, texting, and using basic apps.

There are also some great online tutorials that are completely free.

***

That concludes our Christmas gift ideas for 2016! We hope these ideas will help you find the perfect gift for everyone on your list.

Let us know in the comments if you have any thoughts or questions, or even additional Christmas gift ideas!

Join or Facebook page where we share the latest news, posts, deals and more.

We've updated our Tracfone Promo Codes for December, so take a visit before you add an airtime card. Promo Codes might also work on smartphones, so worth trying.

Also visit our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and advice on that process, or read up on 4 Ways to Check our Airtime Balance on Tracfone Smartphones.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

December 2, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for December 2016

Tracfone Promo Code List - December 2016

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog with the latest Tracfone Promo Codes plus much more about Tracfone prepaid cell phones. If you're new, be sure to take a moment a see what else we have to offer including cell phone reviews and lots of other information.

tracfone coupon code
December Tracfone Promo Codes
December is usually time of celebrating holidays with families and friends, and getting reconnected. So what could be better then some free Tracfone minutes to go with it!

Each month we gather and share the latest promo codes to use with Tracfone prepaid devices to get additional minutes for free. You can get form 20 to 250 free minutes, depending on which promo code you use.

Promo codes are used when adding a Tracfone airtime card, and each promo code is for a specific airtime card (and can also be used with cards of greater value). For example, a promo code for a 60 minute card, will also work on the 120, 200, and 450 minute airtime cards.

Promo codes are not supposed to work on Tracfone Android smartphones, or unlocked devices on the BYOP program, however, sometimes they do, so it may be worth trying. It appears that smartphone users are getting bonus talk minutes, but no additional text or data airtime.

Tracfone offers a wide variety of phones to use with their prepaid service, and we've created reviews for many of them on our Cell Phone Reviews page, so take a look if you're looking for a new phone (or just want to see what's new). We just finished our review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna.

We also just created a guide to the Best Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP. If you want some ideas on which phones you can bring to Tracfone (that won't break the bank either) check out that post.

Now, let's get tot he promo codes for December.

Tracfone Promo Codes for December 2016

We also have more codes on our main Tracfone Promo Code page. Below are the latest codes tested for December.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 for 60 extra minutes

120 Minute Card enter 33707 to get 30 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card add code 48567 and receive 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card use 59431 for 50 bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 97276 and get 300 additional minutes for free

Bonus: $15 off purchase of 1 Year/400 Minute card with code 83453 (only at Tracfone.com)

That concludes our promo codes for December. We hope these codes work for you, and please leave a comment with which code you tried or any other questions you might have.

We also have a great community on Facebook where our readers can ask, and answer questions as well as get the latest news and updates.

Check out our new Top 10 Christmas Gift Ideas for Tracfone users for some help in gift-giving this holiday season.

if you're curious about which airtime card is the best deal, we did a full breakdown on Tracfone Airtime Cards including the newer smartphone only cards.

For those who might be new to Tracfone, visit our Beginners Guide to Tracfone and also our Guide to Activating or Transferring to a Tracfone Smartphone.

Thanks for visiting!

November 28, 2016

Samsung Galaxy Luna (S120VL) Review - Tracfone Smartphone

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna (S120VL) Review

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a website with news, reviews and lots of other information. If you're new, take a moment to check out some of the other Tracfone related content we share!

tracfone samsung galaxy luna
Samsung Galaxy Luna Review
The Samsung Galaxy Luna is a budget friendly smartphone released by Tracfone in late 2016 to use with their prepaid cell phone network.

The Luna features a 4.5" touchscreen, 8 GB internal memory, 1.5 GB RAM, 5 MP rear camera and runs on Android 6.0.1. It has 4G LTE capability and uses Verizon's CDMA network. In general, it has pretty standard features and specs for a Tracfone smartphone device, with a few improvements.

Tracfone continues to release a variety of smartphones, including the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus (as well as the iPhone 5S). The Samsung Galaxy S5, S6 and S7 have also been available through Tracfone for several months now and offer high-end performance at prices of over $500.

But they are still heavily focused on budget devices listed between $50-$200 because that is where the largest demand among Tracfone users exists.

Don't forget that you can also buy an unlocked smartphone, and bring it to Tracfone. We just created a list of the Best Unlocked Phones to use with Tracfone BYOP so take a look if you want some ideas. You can also visit our BYOP page for more information on how it works.

let's get back to the Luna, and look at the quick facts:

Samsung Galaxy Luna Quick Facts

The Good:
-Android 6.0.1
-Reasonable Price

The Not So Good:
-Only 8 GB Memory
-5 MP Rear Camera

One of the key features on the Luna, and the reason it may be a good phone to upgrade to for some Tracfone users, is that it comes with Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow. This is a very recent version of the Android operating system, and has some nice improvements over past versions which we will explain more about later.

The majority of Tracfone's low cost smartphone devices have only 8 GB internal memory and 1 GB RAM. This includes many of the recent phones we've reviewed like the ZTE Citrine, LG Rebel and LG Treasure. If you have used smartphones with limited memory and run into the problem of filling up your storage, you may want to consider a phone with more internal memory, such as the ZTE ZMAX 2 or unlocked phone options.

We've just added the Luna to our List of 10 Tracfone Gift Ideas, follow the link to see the other Christmas gift ideas!

Lets take a look at the full list of features and specs for the Samsung Galaxy Luna, followed by our review.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specifications

  • Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
  • 4G LTE Capable using Verizon CDMA Cell Network
  • WiFi
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • MP3 Player
  • Alarm Clock
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play Store
  • 5 MP Rear Camera and 2 MP Front Camera
  • Caller ID, Voicemail, SMS, MMS
  • Triple Minutes for Life (on regular airtime cards)

Samsung Galaxy Luna Specs

  • Size: 5.22" x 2.73" x 0.35"
  • 4.5" Touchscreen at 800x480 resolution
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad Core processor
  • 1.5 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Memory (with MicroSD slot for up to 128 GB additional memory)
  • Battery: 2050 mAh with 19hrs talk time, about 20 days standby

There are a couple of interesting features to notice about this phone. First of all, it appears to have 1.5 GB RAM with a 1.2 Ghz quad core processor which is a step up from many other low cost Tracfone smartphones and will allow it to multitask much better. The Luna also has a long standby time, which is due, in part, to the newer operating system.

The Samsung Galaxy Luna is one of several great Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals we've shared, so take a look so see where you can buy it at a discount, and some of the other phones available for super low prices.

Let's dive into our full review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna where we will share the key features on this phone that make it good, and any drawbacks that might exist.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Review

What we Like about the Luna
This is a phone that comes with a few small improvements over other recent smartphones released by Tracfone that actually might make a big deal for some users. We like that the Luna comes with 1.5 GB RAM, Android 6.0 and a reasonable price.

tracfone luna review
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Review

We would like to see more phones from Tracfone with 2 GB RAM, which allows the phone to run more applications at once, and generally means better performance. But this is a lot to ask for in a budget smartphone, and 1.5 GB is an improvement over 1 GB which is what almost every other recent smartphone from Tracfone offers.

The most notable feature on the Luna in our opinion is that it comes with Android 6.0.1. This version of Android was released in 2015, but only newer phones are using it. Most of Tracfone's other smartphones use Android 5.1 or older.

Android 6.0 brings several improvements, including a 'doze' feature which does a number of things to improve battery life (and leads to a much longer standby time compared to most other smartphones). Android 6.0 also allows greater external memory support, which were lacking in several of the previous Android versions. What this means is that the 8 GB of internal memory may not be so limiting, and users should be able to load apps, music, photos and other content onto the external MicroSD card (once the card has been set as 'internal memory').

Finally, the Luna is widely available for about $109 with an airtime bundle from HSN and QVC, or closer to $80 for just the phone from Target, BestBuy and other retailers. (Target offered the phone for closer to $40 on Black Friday)

The Samsung Galaxy Luna is a smaller phone, but packs some good performance and features for the price, and we would see this phone outperforming many older Tracfone smartphones.

We we Don't Like
What is key to remember about the Luna is that it is a budget smartphone, which means that certain corners are cut to keep the cost low. In the case of the Luna, it comes with a somewhat small screen, low resolution camera, and low internal storage.

Screen size on a smartphone is a matter of personal preference. Many smartphones now come with a screen size of 5.5 inches or more, which is great for viewing photos or videos, but may be bulky when trying to fit into a pocket or purse. The Luna has a 4.5" touchscreen which is a little smaller, but may be more convenient for some users. The screen appearance and resolution is good, but nothing fancy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna only comes with 8 GB memory, which for many, isn't enough if you plan to run a variety of apps, store music and photos, or keep other content. However, the Luna does support up to 128 GB external MicroSD card, which should allow users not to expand the internal memory, although we haven't fully tested this yet.

Finally, the front and rear cameras on the Luna are more of an afterthought. And while they do a reasonable job, they can't compete with most modern smartphones camera capabilities. If you only plan to use the camera for occasional photos in good lighting, then it should be fine. Otherwise, consider a phone with an improved camera.

That concludes the main drawbacks we noticed on the Samsung Galaxy Luna. It performs very well compared to many of Tracfone's other smartphones, but isn't going to keep up with smartphones like the Moto G4 or iPhone 5S (but they are twice the price).

Overview and Where to by the Samsung Galaxy Luna

The Luna is a small, but capable smartphone that is ideal for low to moderate smartphone users. But it has potential, with the ability to integrate the external storage, it could end up with the ability to store quite a lot via a MicroSD Card.

Compared to the LG Rebel, which also has a 4.5" touchscreen and retails for a similar price, we would choose the Samsung Galaxy Luna for the newer Android OS, more RAM and overall better value.

Compared to older smartphones like the LG Ultimate 2, LG Sunset, and Samsung Galaxy Stardust, we would also recce mend the Galaxy Luna simply because of the newer Operating System which has a number of performance and security updates.

The Samsung Galaxy Luna is available from several online retailers, and from retail stores like Target and WalMart.

Find the Samsung Galaxy Luna on eBay Bundled with airtime for $69
Find the Samsung Galaxy Luna on HSN bundled with airtime for $109
Find the Samsung Galaxy Luna at Target for $109
Find the Samusng Galaxy Luna at BestBuy for $109

There are also several Cases on Amazon available for the Luna.

View the Samsung Galalxy Luna Interactive Tutorial.

That concludes our review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna, we hope you have found it useful and let us know if we've missed anything, or if you have any questions.

If you're new to Tracfone, check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which provides details on how Tracfone prepaid service works, and some other helpful tips.

We've also created a Guide to Activating or Transferring service to a Tracfone Smartphone or BYOP device.

We will also be sharing details soon on the Samsung Galaxy Sky, a very similar phone with a 5" touchscreen also available through Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

November 21, 2016

Best Unlocked Phones for Tracfone BYOP

Best Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone Prepaid Service

Tracfone offers a growing selection of smartphones to use with their prepaid cell service, including Apple iPhones, high end smartphones (Samsung Galaxy S6, S7), and many budget smartphones. But consumers can also choose to purchase their own unlocked phone to bring to Tracfone's BYOP program.

best unlocked smartphones
List of Best Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP
But many consumers who want to buy their own phone, have certain questions.

What's the best phone to bring to Tracfone's BYOP (Bring Your Own Phone) program? Are there any phones besides the Smartphones from Tracfone that I can use with Tracfone prepaid service? What phone should I buy as a Christmas present for my family member or friend? These are all good questions, and we will help answer them, and more, in this list of the best unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone prepaid service.

Tracfone's BYOP program allows consumers to find their own smartphone, and then activate it with Tracfone's prepaid service. It is a very convenient way to get to choose whatever phone you want, while keeping Tracfone's low cost service plans. But not everyone knows all the best options, so we are here to share our top picks for phones to bring to the BYOP program.

For specific details on the requirements for activating a phone with Tracfone, visit our Tracfone BYOP page (which also has a large list of phone options).

We are choosing these phones based on a variety of factors including popularity, value and cost. These are some of our best suggestions of phones we believe will fit most user's needs. In the end, each person needs to understand what they want out of a phone, and choose a phone according to that.

Most Tracfone users decide to use BYOP because they want a phone with a little more power and performance compared to most Tracfone smartphones, plus a wider selection of devices. In our list, we only include phones priced between $100-$400 as the majority of our readers are looking for a phone in that price range.

Now let's take a look at the list!

Top 6 Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone (that are Reasonably Priced)

Below are the six best phones (and a few others) to use with Tracfone based on several factors. We hope this list will act as a guide and suggestion, and allow you to choose which phone best fits your needs.

1. Motorola Moto G4
The Moto G4 is the fourth generation of a well-rounded line of phones that come at a reasonable price and offer great value. The G4 has a large, 5.5" touchscreen, 13 MP Camera, 2 GB RAM and octa-core processor. You can choose between 16 GB or 32 GB memory and it starts at $199.

Best of all the Moto G4 is compatible with both CDMA and GSM networks, so you can choose to use it with either one (depending what works best in your area). We recently activated a Moto G4 Plus on GSM network without any issues.

If you want to save a little money, and don't need such a large screen, you can go with the Moto G4 Play, which has a 5" touchscreen, 8 MP camera and quad-core processor for just $150 (on sale for $130 in many places).

Another option is the slightly more impressive Moto G4 Plus, which has an improved 16 MP camera and fingerprint reader for $250. Spend an additional $50 and you also get 4 GB RAM and 64 GB memory (for a total of $300). The additional storage and RAM on the Moto G4 Plus make it a very powerful phone, more than capable of handling whatever is thrown at it.

Since the Moto G first came out, it has been a popular choice with Tracfone users and the Moto G4 continues that trend. The Moto G4 is widely available, and we expect a possible discount on Amazon for Black Friday so stay tuned.

View the Moto G4 on Amazon
View the Moto G4 on BestBuy
Also available through many other retailers including Costco, Walmart, Target and more. Expect Black Friday discounts

View the Moto G4 Play on Amazon
Also Available from BestBuy and other retailers, expect Black Friday discounts.

View the Moto G4 Plus on Amazon
Also Available from BestBuy and other retailers, expect Black Friday discounts.


2. Apple iPhone 5S and SE
One of the main reasons many Tracfone users started switching to the BYOP program was to use an Apple iPhone with Tracfone service. Recently Tracfone has also started offering several iPhones including the 5S, 6 and 6 Plus. But there is a much wider variety of unlocked iPhones, and some lower prices.

The iPhone 5S is several years old now, but that means it can be found for around $200 and still packs a very impressive camera along with other good features. If you're looking for some improvements, the iPhone SE has improved specs, and camera, at a price of just under $400.

Look for the iPhone SE and 5S in some retail stores, but also online through Amazon or eBay. Make sure you choose an unlocked version that is compatible with the service in your area.

View the iPhone 5S on Amazon
View a Refurbished iPhone 5S on Amazon

View the Refurbished iPhone SE on Amazon

3. Samsung Galaxy S5
With a 5.1" full HD touchscreen, 16 MP camera, 2 GB RAM and Quad-core processor, the Galaxy S5 packs a lot of performance despite the fact it was released a few years ago. It runs on Android 4.4, but is upgradable to 5.1, and even 6.0 in some cases.

When it was released in 2014, the Galaxy S5 was the flagship phone for Samsung, packing in the latest and greatest performance and features that make it relevant even today.

This phone can be found for around $200, and even less if you're willing to buy a refurbished model. That's a bargain for a phone that can shoot 4K video at 30fps, and much more.

View the Samsung Galaxy S5 on Amazon
View a Refurbished Samsung Galaxy S5 on Amazon

4. OnePlus 2
The OnePlus 2 was created to give consumers a high-end phone at a mid-range price. It features a 5.5" full HD touchscreen, 4 GB RAM, 64 GB Internal memory and a 64 bit Octa-core processor. The camera is also impressive, with 13 MP photos, and 4K video at 30 fps.

Aesthetics were also important on the OnePlus 2, which has a stainless steal frame. The phone comes with Android 5.1, but is upgradeable to Android 6.0 Marshmellow

The OnePlus 2 was released in August 2015, and there is a newer model, the OnePlus 3, with improved features and specs, but also at a much higher price.

View the OnePlus 2 on Amazon

5. Asus Zenfone 2
Another phone with a large, 5.5" full HD touchscreen, the Asus Zenfone 2 was very popular when it was released partially due to the great specifications like 32 GB memory, 4 GB RAM, 13 MP camera, and quad-core processor.

It is also upgradeable to Android 6.0 and was released in 2015. It is a worthwhile option, especially since the price is a little lower than many of the other phones on this list, at $175.

Find the Asus Zenfone 2 on Amazon

6. Huawei Honor 5x 
Looking for that sleek, high-end feel? Consider the Honor 5x which comes with an Aluminium shell for protection and appearance. Inside it houses a 5.5" touchscreen, 13 MP camera, 64 bit Octa-core processor, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Memory.

Another great feature on the Honor 5x is the fingerprint sensor (also available on the Moto G4 Plus) which allows you to securely lock the phone, and quickly unlock it. All of this is available for under $200, making it another great option.

View the Huawei Honor 5x on Amazon

Several more phones that may be worth considering include:
-Alcatel Onetouch Idol 3 - 5.5" screen, 13 MP Camera, 16 GB Memory
-HTC Desire 626 - 16 GB Memory, 5" touchscreen, $129
-Google Nexus 5x - 32 GB Memory, 5.2" touchscreen, 12 MP Camera

That concludes our list of the the best budget friendly smartphones to use with Tracfone. We hope this list serves to provide some ideas of different phones available to use with Tracfone BYOP.

We want to hear from you! Share your current/favorite phone you use with Tracfone in the comments below!

Also join in on the discussion on our Facebook page where more than 2000 followers already get the latest news and information in their feed.

Black Friday deals are right around the corner, so check out our List of Tracfone Black Friday Deals which also includes some unlocked phone options.

Also take a look at our recent Review of the ZTE ZMAX 2 which comes with 16 GB memory and other great features.

And if you need some info on activating or switching your phone to Tracfone, read our full Guide to Activating or Transferring to a Tracfone Smartphone.

Thanks for visiting!

November 8, 2016

Tracfone Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals 2016

Black Friday Cell Phone Deals for Tracfone and Unlocked Smartphones

Full list of Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals for 2016 on both Tracfone and unlocked smartphones you can bring to Tracfone. TracfoneReviewer will continue to update and add to this list as more deals become available!

cell phones black friday 2016
Tracfone Black Friday Sale 2016
Black Friday is the largest day for deals and discounts, and we are here to share all the best cell phone deals for Tracfone, as well as unlocked devices you can bring to Tracfone's BYOP program.

While not many of us like the crowds on Black Friday, we all do like getting a good deal, and for most of these deals, you can get them online so there is no need to get stuck in a crowd!

This Black Friday deals list includes both Tracfone cell phones that are on sale, and also phones that are unlocked, and can be used with Tracfone through their BYOP program. Tracfone allows consumers to bring their own phone, and more and more people are doing just that. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page to learn more about how this weeks, and what the requirements are for your phone.

We will be posting and updating the latest Black Friday ads and deals below throughout the month of November, and will also share Cyber Monday deals as we get closer to the end of the month.

If you're new to Tracfone, or a little confused about how it all works, our Beginners Guide to Tracfone is a great place to start and learn some of the basics. We have also created a Guide to Activating Smartphones with Tracfone if you're switching or activating a new phone.

We also just created a List of the Best Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP so take a look if you're interested!

We can also use your help! Leave a comment with any deals you find that we missed and we will add it to the list, and be forever grateful!

Now let's take a look at these deals.

Tracfone Black Friday Deals List 2016

Below are all of the Black Friday deals for Tracfone. We will continue to add to this list and update it.

Tracfone - Visit Tracfone's Sale Page
Tracfone usually offers several phones at a discounted price for Black Friday and Cyber Monday.

Amazon - Visit Amazon's Black Friday and Cyber Monday Deals
Amazon always has some of the best discounts, especially on unlocked phones, and below are some of the special deals on both Tracfone devices and unlocked smartphones
-Daily deals - These change often, and consist of a wide variety of items
-Unlocked Phones
We expect the Moto G4 and/or Moto G4 Play to be on sale from Amazon during Black Friday and Cyber Monday
-Tracfone cell phones- No Tracfone Black Friday deals from Amazon

WalMart - Visit WalMart's Black Friday page
Offering several Straight Talk phones, but nothing for Tracfone at this time.

Target - Visit Target's Black Friday page
Offering the Samsung Galaxy Luna at around $50 (50% - 65% off)

Kmart - Visit Kmart's Black Friday page
Offering the LG Rebel for $20 ($60 off)

BestBuy - Visit BestBuy's Black Friday page
Offering the LG Rebel for $20 ($60 off)
Offering the Unlocked Alcatel Pop 4 Plus for $50 ($100 off)
Offering the Unlocked ZTE Axon 7 Mini for $200 ($100 off)
Offering $120 off an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S7

Newegg - View Newegg's Black November Deals page
Variety of unlocked smartphones on sale

Dollar General
No deals on Tracfone cell phones

eBay - Visit eBay's Black Friday page

HSN - Visit HSN's Tracfone page

QVC - Visit QVC's Tracfone page


That's our list of Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals for Tracfone. At this time, it doesn't have a whole lot of deals, but as we get closer to Black Friday we will add all the details. We hope these help you find the best deal on a new phone. If we've missed any deals, let us know in the comments.

We share a variety of information about Tracfone here on this blog, including Cell Phone Reviews, Tracfone Promo Codes and much more. Take a look around if you're new and see what else we have.

Join over 2000 others who Follow us on Facebook where we share the latest news, and are available to answer questions.

Thanks for visiting!