July 19, 2016

Tracfone LG Stylo 2 (L81AL) Review

Review of the LG Stylo 2 (L81AL) from Tracfone

Below is our review for the LG Stylo 2. If you're new to TracfoneReviewer, be sure to take a look around at some of our recent articles. We share lots of news, reviews and other info about Tracfone.

tracfone LG stylo 2
Tracfone LG Stylo 2 Review
The LG Stylo 2 is a newly released smartphone available for use with Tracfone prepaid cell service and comes with Android 5.1.1, 8 MP camera, and uses GSM networks. It also features a large, 5.7" touchscreen which may be its biggest selling point.

Tracfone is releasing a large number of new smartphones over the summer of 2016 and the LG Stylo 2 is one of many that are already available. We're doing our best to keep up with ll these new devices, and you can learn more by taking a look at our recent posts; New Samsung and LG Tracfone Smartphones, New ZTE, Alcatel and Huawei Tracfone Smartphones, and News about iPhones coming to Tracfone.

The LG Stylo 2 is a mid-level phone that is a step up from the LG Treasure we previously reviewed (which is a step up from the LG Rebel).

The Main difference between the Treasure and the Stylo 2 is the screen size, which the Stylo 2 has the advantage on.

Let's take a look at our quick facts about the LG Stylo 2 to get a general idea of its strengths and weaknesses.

LG Stylo 2 Quick Facts

Pro's
-Android 5.1.1
-5.7" Touchscreen
-Good camera - 8 MP rear, 5 MP front
-Quad core processor

Con's
-Only 8 GB Internal Memory
-Only 1 GB RAM
-A little expensive - currently $200 with airtime bundle from HSN

The LG Stylo 2 is a little bit more expensive than most Tracfone smartphones, but it also has some better features than most. It is a newer phone, only released in April of 2016, and has mix of features that make it a capable device.

There are two versions of this phone, the GSM version we are reviewing here, and the CDMA version known as L82VL, which Tracfone should be releasing sometime in the near future and will likely be identical except for the cell towers it uses.

The naming of the Tracfone LG Stylo 2 is a little confusing, as many of the specs are more in line with the LG G Stylo, rather than the LG Stylo 2 unlocked version. But the size matches the LG Stylo 2. Spec-wise, the Tracfone version of the LG Stylo 2 is not as powerful as other versions listed on the internet.

Let's take a look at the full list of features for the Tracfone LG Stylo 2.

Tracfone LG Stylo 2 Features and Specs

Below are the phones features, followed by the specs
  • Android 5.1.1
  • 4G LTE capable using GSM Service on AT&T
  • 8 MP Rear Camera, 5 MP Front Camera
  • WiFI and Bluetooth
  • GPS
  • Access to Over 1 Million Apps through Google Play
  • 2 Home Screens
  • MP3 Player
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Voice Commands
  • Hands Free Speaker
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, and other basic phone functions
LG Stylo 2 Technical Specs
  • Size: 6.10" x 3.13" x .29"
  • 5,7" touchscreen at 720x1280 resolution
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad-Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory (compatible with up to 128 GB MicroSD card)
  • 3000 mAh Battery with 13 hours talk time, 12 days standby
There's not too much that is surprising about these specs beyond the large screen size on the Stylo 2. The rest of the specs are fairly consistent with other LG phones released recently like the LG Treasure, although the Stylo has some minor improvements such as the 8 MP camera.

Below we will cover the pro's and con's for this phone to highlight some of the things we think consumers should be aware of when making a buying decision for this device. With every phone, there are various pro's and con's and the Stylo 2 is no exception.

LG Stylo 2 Review - Our Likes and Dislikes

What we Like:
Obviously the big screen is the big selling point for the Stylo 2, and we like that Tracfone is making a device available to consumers with a nice large screen. While making it easier to see things on the screen, it is also easier to type on the virtual QWERTY keyboard because the keys will be larger compared to smaller phones. The resolution and quality of the screen is good, and delivers a nice viewing experience, although it doesn't quite keep up with higher-end devices such as the Samsung Galaxy S6.

tracfone lg stylo 2 review
LG Stylo 2 - with Stylus
The LG Stylo 2 runs Android 5.1.1 which is a newer version that doesn't have some of the security risks older versions like 4.1 and 4.3 had. With Android OS, you can use the Google Play Store to browse over 1 million apps that will do just about anything. When you find one you like, you can download it directly to your phone. If you're new to using Android, take a look at our post on the Best Apps to use on Android where we share some of our favorite apps.

The 8 MP rear facing camera is a nice step up from 5 MP which most other Tracfone devices come with. Plus, the LG Stylo 2 has a 5 MP front camera for video chatting and selfies. The quality is adequate for most needs, but don't expect to win any photography awards for your pictures.

There's a lot to like about this phone, and we find it to be one of the better options currently available from Tracfone, but there are a couple negatives that we want our readers to be aware of before they buy.

What we Don't Like about the LG Stylo 2
There are a few things about this phone that aren't ideal, and make our list of dislikes. The main things are the cost, the lack of a radio, and low memory and RAM.

The current price of the LG Stylo 2 is $199 with a bundle of minutes worth $100. That's not a bad deal to be honest, but at the same time, we can't help but mention a few phones that you could get for the same amount of money (but without the minutes bundle). The main one on our list is the new Motorola Moto G 4th generation currently available on Amazon. It has a 13 MP rear camera, 16 GB memory, octa-core processor, and much more. But it also has a smaller screen at 5.5" and you will have to use it with Tracfone BYOP.

One feature that many Tracfone users like is a radio, and sadly, the Stylo 2 appears to be lacking that. There are a number of alternatives to radio, like podcasts, and various music streaming services like Pandora and Spotify. So it isn't too hard to find a replacement.

Lastly, we aren't all that excited about the 8 GB internal memory in the Stylo 2 and 1 GB RAM. It would be nice if it had a little more memory for storing apps and other things. For most users, 8 GB of memory will be enough to have a fair number of different apps, along with some photos and other content.

That covers our list of likes and dislikes. We hope that helps our readers understand exactly what this phone offers, and were it might be lacking. Overall we don't have that is negative to write about this phone, it performs very well compared to other Tracfone smartphones.

LG Stylo 2 - Finding Covers and Cases

Finding a cover or case for certain Tracfone devices can be a challenge, but if you buy the Stylo 2 through HSN, the bundle includes a case which is very convenient. If you're still looking for a screen protector, or other case options, we've found some options on Amazon:

LG Stylo 2 Screen Protector - $7.95 on Amazon

LG Stylo 2 Cases (various) - on Amazon

LG Stylo 2 User Manual and Interactive Tutorial

We've gathered both the user manual and an interactive online tutorial from Tracfone for the Stylo 2 that you can use to learn how the phone works.

See the LG Stylo 2 User Manual Here, and take a look at the Interactive Tutorial here.

LG Stylo 2 Overview and Where to Buy

This phone has a nice, large screen. And for many, that will be very convenient and a lot of fun. It makes watching videos, viewing pictures, and even texting, easier. The rest of the performance features on this phone are adequate to keep up with the daily demands.

For those who don't like large screens, or need a lot of internal memory, then this isn't the phone for you. For more internal memory, consider looking into unlocked devices to bring to Tracfone BYOP. For a smaller screen, the LG Rebel and LG Treasure are two options.

The LG Stylo 2 is currently available from HSN for $199. It has occasionally been on sale for $179.

We will update when the phone is available elsewhere. If you find this phone at other retail locations, let us know in the comments section below.

That concludes our review of the LG Stylo 2, we hope the information is helpful. Leave a comment with any questions or thoughts, and let us know if you see any corrections.

For more Tracfone smartphone related content, take a look at our recent analysis of the changes Tracfone made to Smartphone Airtime cards.

Are you on Facebook? Because we are! Join our community of over 2000 on Facebook where we post the latest articles, and other news and info.

Thanks for visiting!

July 13, 2016

New Prices/Changes to Tracfone Smartphone Cards

Tracfone Updates Smartphone Only Cards with New Amounts/Prices

TracfoneReviewer is an independent website that provides news, reviews and other information about Tracfone. We always try to provide helpful and accurate information, and appreciate our readers who also help keep us informed.

best deal on Tracfone minutes
See the Changes to Tracfone's Smartphone Airtime Cards
At the end of 2015, Tracfone added new airtime cards that are for smartphones only. These cards gave certain amounts of talk time, texts and data. They are significantly different from the regular Tracfone airtime cards which come in amounts ranging from 60 to 450 minutes.

In general, the smartphone only cards were a better deal, as they gave a lot more texts compared to the regular cards, which is what most smartphone users run out of first.

We compared the Smartphone Only cards to Regular Airtime cards in this post from December 2015 (which is now outdated) but Tracfone has now changed the smartphone only cards with new prices and amounts of airtime you get. They also changed how many service days you get.

Below we will go through and compare the old smartphone-only cards with the new smartphone-only cards and see what the changes mean. We will also include the regular cards for comparison.

Tracfone has not made any changes to their regular airtime cards, and we expect they will continue to offer them at the same prices and amounts.

Before we get to that, we do have some information that will make many Tracfone customers happy:

Tracfone Reduces Price for Text and Data only Cards

Along with making changes to the smartphone only cards, Tracfone also made some changes to their Text-only card and Data-only card (these cards give only additional texts or data, and no extra service days). But the only change they made was to reduce the price, which is great! These prices are only available on the Tracfone website, but we expect retailers to eventually change their prices to match.

You can now get:
1000 texts for $5 (previously was $10 for 1000 texts)
1000 MB data for $10 (previously was $10 for 300 MB)

This is a huge reduction in price, and makes buying extra data or texts much more affordable.

Remember, these cards can only be used if you have a smartphone with Tracfone (which includes BYIO devices).

Comparison of New Smartphone Only Cards vs Old Smartphone Cards (plus Regular Cards)

Now let's get into the changes Tracfone has made to their smartphone cards. These changes are a little difficult to compare, because they changed the prices on the cards, the amounts of talk, text and data you get, and also the number of service days.

Below you can see our chart that has the card, the amount of airtime, the price and the price per unit of talk/text/data.
what is the best deal on tracfone minutes
Comparing Regular Airtime Cards vs Old Smartphone Cards vs New Smartphone Cards from Tracfone

What is hard to include in our comparison is the mount of service days you get with each card. But, as you can see from the chart, the new smartphone cards are somewhat similar to the old smartphone cards, just with different prices and amounts.

Do note the far right column, that lists the number of service days you get. For the 1500 minute smartphone only card, you get 365 service days, which is nice, but it costs $125. The other cards give 60 service days, or just 30 for the cheapest card.

Our take from this information is that the new cards are about the same value as the old smartphone cards. You get less talk/text/data but you also pay less compared to the old smartphone cards. The one thing we aren't so happy about is the reduced number of service days from 90 to 60 (and 30 in the case of the 200 minute smartphone card).

Here is one more chart that shows how many talk/text/data minutes you get per dollar:
best deal on tracfone minutes
Tracfone Airtime Card Comparison - Minutes per Dollar

Our general takeaway form this chart is that these new smartphone only cards give you more data for your money, but less service days.

Let's compare the the old 500 minute smartphone card to the new 750 minute smartphone card, because they both cost $35:

With the new smartphone card you get 250 more talking minutes, the same number of texts (1000) and 600 more MB of data for the same price ($35). However, you get 30 less service days.

This is the general trend for the new cards, you get more talk time and data, same amount of texts, but less service days. The 1500 minute smartphone card is the exception, as it gives 365 service days.

It appears then that Tracfone is just adjusting the smartphone cards to make them a little more balanced, and give users more data to use with each purchase, which may have been based on feedback they received.

The changes made to smartphone airtime cards is somewhat subtle, so it may be helpful for each user to take a look at the numbers and determine which airtime card best suits their needs.

Leave a comment below with your thoughts or questions about the changes to Tracfone smartphone airtime cards. We are interested to know what our readers think.

We've been sharing a lot of news on new Tracfone devices, including new Samsung and LG Tracfone Smartphones, New ZTE and Alcatel Smartphones, and news about iPhone devices coming to Tracfone. Follow the links to learn more, and look for reviews of these new phones soon!

Join over 2000 other Tracfone users who follow us on Facebook where we post the latest news, deals and tips about Tracfone. You can also send us a message there if you have specific Tracfone questions.

Thanks for visiting!

July 6, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for July 2016

Tracfone Promo Code List - July 2016

Every month TracfoneReviewer collects and shares the best promotional codes for Tracfone here on our blog. Below you can find just the latest codes that are working for the month of July. We hope these codes help get you some extra airtime for free!

tracfone promo code
Tracfone Promo Codes for July 2016
Summer is in full swing and we've got a new selection of promo codes to use with Tracfone.

These codes are released by Tracfone for their customers to use when adding a new airtime card. All you need to do is use the five digit pin along with the proper airtime card and you should get some extra minutes for free.

The bonus airtime ranges from 20-300 minutes, depending on which card you will be adding to your phone. Each promo code is for a specific airtime card, but can also be used with cards of greater value.

Some codes may only be used once, while others can be used multiple times. Remember, these promo codes will no work with Tracfone Android smartphones.

For those who might be considering upgrading, take a look at our atest post about New ZTE, Alcatel and Huawei phones coming to Tracfone, including news about the Nexus 6P.

We also recently shared details about Tracfone releasing iPhones to use with their service. So follow the links if you're interested in learning more.

Below you can find a list of promotional codes for the month of July. We also have many more codes you can try on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Tracfone Promo Code List for July 2016

The latest promotional codes for Tracfone. Note, these do not work with Android smartphones.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 for 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter 17286 to get 30 free minutes (or try the code for the 60 minute card)

200 Minute Card add code 12745 and receive 60 extra airtime

450 Minute Card use 16495 and get 50 minutes for free

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 13044 for 250 bonus minutes

These are the latest codes to use with Tracfone. Note, some of these codes may expire July 14th, but we will update if that is the case.

Leave a comment below with which code you tried and how it worked for you.

Also take a look around this blog if you're new, we offer lots of Tracfone related information beyond promo codes.

You can see our recent list of Tracfone deals and discounts, which may be helpful if you're considering a new phone.

Also take look at the New LG and Samsung Phones becoming available. There are some good phones coming out like the LG Stylo 2.

And join nearly 2000 other who follow us on Facebook and keep up with the latest news and posts. We also have a helpful community to share experiences and answer questions.

Thanks for visiting!

July 5, 2016

New ZTE and Nexus Smartphones Coming to Tracfone

More New Smartphones Coming Soon - Including ZTE, Alcatel and Nexus Brand Devices

Below is the latest news about several smartphones coming to Tracfone in the near future. TracfoneReviewer strives to share the latest news and information bout Tracfone and we hope you find this useful!

Tracfone Nexus 6p
New Smartphones coming to Tracfone
Tracfone is getting busy releasing new smartphones for consumers to use on their prepaid service and we are excited by a number of new mid-level phones by ZTE and Alcatel that will be coming to Tracfone.

We've already covered some of the new LG and Samsung phones that are coming soon, and some of these phones are already available such as the LG Treasure, LG Rebel, LG Stylo 2 and others.

Tracfone is also releasing a number of different Apple iPhone devices, including the iPhone 6 and 6S. Follow the link to learn about these high-end smartphones.

Here we will be sharing news and some basic features/specs about a variety of mostly ZTE brand smartphones, but also some new Alcatel and Huawei (Nexus 6P) devices, that Tracfone will be offering to consumers in the near future.

Some of these phones are actually already available, including the ZTE Lever, ZTE Whirl 2, ZTE Stratos and others.

Tracfone is offering these smartphones through several different channels, with some phones only available on the Tracfone website, others through retailers like BestBuy and WalMart, and a number of Devices only available through HSN.com.

ZTE, Alcatel and Huawei are all Chinese mobile phone manufacturers, with each one offering a wide range of devices. Some of the phones below are very inexpensive, but don't have great features. But several devices do look quite good, and come at a reasonable price. Let's take a look.

New ZTE, Alcatel and Huawei Devices Coming to Tracfone - 2016

We will look at each of the new phones, listing some of the key specs and features and information about availability. 

ZTE Scend Z791G

The Scend is a GSM device that comes with a 4.5" screen, Android 4.4 and 4G connectivity. It isn't overly exciting, but should be available for a reasonable price. It appears to only have about 2 GB usable memory, which may be a serious drawback for some.

Link to Tracfone Interactive Tutorial

Availability: Briefly available from various retailers, current availability unknown.

ZTE Citrine Z716G

Featuring only a 4" touchscreen, the Citrine makes up for it with Android 5.1, 4G LTE, quad-core processor and 8 GB internal memory. It uses GSM networks, which will be AT&T through Tracfone.

Compared to the Scend, the Citrine is better in just about every way if you don't mind the smaller screen. It is also currently available for just $29 through Tracfone.

There will also be a CDMA version of this phone, the Z717C.

Link to Tracfone Interactive Tutorial

Availability: Currently available from Walmart for $49 or available from Tracfone for $29. Will likely be available from other retailers as well.

ZTE Lever Z936VL

Here's a phone that caught our attention, the ZTE Lever. It has a large, 6" touchscreen, 16 GB internal memory, an 8 MP camera, and uses CDMA technology. The only drawback is that it appears to run the older, Android 4.4.

The Lever is retailing for $179, which also includes 1200 minutes and other add-ons. If you're looking for a large screen, this has pretty good bang for your buck. The other option might be the LG Stylo 2 which was just released (also on HSN) and has a 5.7" touchscreen.

Link to Tracfone Interactive Tutorial

Availability: Currently available from HSN.com for $179 with minutes bundle.

ZTE Paragon Z753G 

The Paragon comes with a 4" touchscreen, Android 4.4 and a 5MP camera. Most of the features on the Paragon are not overly exciting, and it is similar to the ZTE Scend. The Paragon is the GSM version of the ZTE Zypher, which was released in 2015 and we already reviewed. Go check our review if you want to learn more, the only difference between these phones is which network they will use (CDMA or GSM).

Link to Tracfone Interactive Tutorial

Availability: Currently available on the Tracfone website for $29.99.

ZTE Whirl 2 

Another Budget friendly smartphone, the Whirl 2 comes with Android 4.3, a 3.5" touchscreen, and 3 MP camera. None of these features are all that impressive, but it does have a quad-core 1.2 Ghz processor. This smartphone has one of the smallest screens, but might be a good option for those who just need a phone for making and receiving calls. 

It is hard for us to find a reason to recommend this phone, other than the fact that it is small. So if you really want a small device, this could be an option. But at $40, there are several phones that are slightly better for a similar price (the Paragon listed above), or some phones that are better for a little more money (like the ZTE Stratos below).

Availability: Currently available on the Tracfone website for $40

ZTE Stratos Z819L

The Stratos is a phone we really like, because it has enough 'good' features that will make it very usable for most people, while still available for a good price.

What kind of features? Well it comes with a 5" touchscreen, Android 5.1, and a 5 MP camera. The Stratos also has 8 GB internal memory and has 4G LTE using CDMA networks.

The ZTE Stratos is currently on sale for $79 from HSN and comes with 1200 minutes - worth $100 by itself. If you're really interested in this phone, you should act quickly, as the price will probably go up to $99 soon.

Link to Tracfone Interactive Tutorial

Availability: Currently available from HSN.com with airtime bundle for $79

ZTE ZMAX 2 Z955L

The ZTE ZMAX 2 is another smartphone that comes with some great features. It has a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 5.1 and an 8 MP camera. It uses 4G LTE through GSM networks and has 16 GB internal memory.

It is a bit more expensive than the Stratos, listed at $149 with airtime bundle from HSN, and it is currently out of stock. But it should be for sale again soon.

Link to Tracfone Interactive Tutorial

Availability: Currently out of stock, listed for $149 from HSN

Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Eclipse

The Pixi Eclipse has a 4" touchscreen, Android 4.4 and a 2 MP camera. It is a budget friendly phone that is low on any exciting features. For most people, some of the other more powerful phones listed above, will probably be a better option.

Availability: Currently available on the Tracfone website for $39.

There are several other Alcatel smartphones that appear to be coming sometime in the near future and have better features. We will update as we learn more.

Huawei Nexus 6P (H1511DL)

Here's a phone some Tracfone customers will be very excited about. When we first saw this phone listed on the Tracfone tutorial site, we didn't recognize it because it was listed as the Huawei H1511DL. But after some quick digging we realized it was the Nexus 6P.

You might be asking, so whats so special about the Nexus 6P? Well, it comes with a number of great features, like a 5.7" touchscreen, 12 MP camera, 3 GB RAM, and much more. It is also special because Huawei made the phone in a partnership with Google, and Nexus phones generally come with less pre-installed apps and other annoying things.

All this will likely come at a cost, and we suspect the Nexus 6P from Tracfone will be listed for somewhere around $500. If you really want this phone with Tracfone, but don't want to pay the price they will charge, you might be able to find refurbished options for less, and bring it to Tracfone's BYOP program.

Availability: The Nexus 6P is currently not available from Tracfone, but we will update as soon as more news is available.

That concludes this list of phones coming soon, and already available. We will be working hard to continue updating with the latest news and details.

Check out our recent list of Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone Devices, which also included some great deals on BYOP compatible phones.

Join nearly 2000 others and follow us on Facebook where we are most available for questions and post news, info and tips.

Thanks for visiting, leave a comment below to share your thoughts on these new smartphones! 

June 14, 2016

Tracfone Discounts and Sales - June 2016

List of Tracfone Discounts and Sales for June 2016

Below we share some great deals on Tracfone phones, as well as unlocked devices. TracfoneReviewer strives to provide money-saving tips and other helpful information, and we hope you find this post useful.
Tracfone deals
Tracfone Deals and Discounts June 2016

Tracfone offers a number of different cell phone options that consumers can purchase to use with Tracfones prepaid service. These phones, including plenty of smartphone options, are available from a wide variety of sources, which can make it hard to know where to buy from, or where to get the best deal.

Here at TracfoneReviewer, we spend a lot of time keeping up with the latest developments, and we usually see where to find certain phones for the cheapest.

In general, Tracfone devices are cheaper if you buy them on Amazon, eBay, HSN or other retailers rather than the Tracfone website.

Below we are providing some of the latest deals and discounts we have found on Tracfone cell phones.

We are also including a couple of unlocked smartphones that could be used with Tracfone BYOP if you're interested in going that route. With Tracfone BYOP, you can get a much more advanced phone compared to those offered by Tracfone, at a great price. Please note, while the phones we recommened below should work with Tracfone BYOP, you have to enter the phone's ESN or MEID to be sure. To learn more about bringing your phone to Tracfone, visit our Tracfone BYOP page.

Now, let's get to the list of deals!

List of Tracfone Discount Phones and Other Deals

Below are a collection of great deals on Tracfone devices, as well as some phones you could bring to BYOP. This list is in no particular order, and these are just some recommendations of phones at good prices.

1. Samsung Galaxy Core Prime on HSN for $89

This CDMA (Verizon) smartphone has a 4.5" touchscreen and comes with Android 4.4. It isn't the latest, but offers some really great features and performance, especially for the money. Take a look at our full review of the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime to learn more.

With this deal from HSN, you get the phone plus 1200 minutes and 1 year of service (a 1 Year/400 Minute card tripled) for just $90. The airtime alone is worth $100, making this a really great deal, even if you just want to airtime. You can always give the phone to someone else to use as a WiFi device, or activate it.

View the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime on HSN.

2. Alcatel Onetouch Sonic on Amazon for $20

The Sonic features a 4.6" touchscreen and is capable of 4G speeds using GSM networks (AT&T). It uses Android 4.1, and only has about 2 GB usable memory. See more specs and details in our review of the Alcatel Onetouch Sonic.

We don't recommend this phone unless you plan to use it for very little beyond calling, texting and surfing the web or email. But at the price of just $20, it might be a good option for a backup, a phone for kids, or just a WiFi device. It is a better choice than the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi, which retails for $10-20.

Find the Alcatel Onetouch Sonic on Amazon.

3. Tracfone LG 306G on Amazon for $7

When the LG 306G was released by Tracfone it was one of the most advanced phones a Tracfone users could get, but that was several years ago. Now, it is a fairly outdated phone, and doesn't have the Android OS, meaning you can't install apps. However, if you're looking for a phone to use for calling and texting, the LG 306G does that very well. See our full review of the LG 306G to learn more.

At just $7, this is the cheapest Tracfone you can buy if you just want a phone, or need a backup option.

Get the LG 306G on Amazon

4. Samsung Galaxy S5 (for Tracfone BYOP) on Amazon for $162

The Samsung Galaxy S5 has a ton of great features. Most notable is the 5.1" touchscreen, 16 MP camera, and 16 GB of internal memory. The phone comes with Android 4.4.2, but can be updated to 5.1, and perhaps even 6.0.

This unlocked smartphone can be brought to Tracfone's BYOP program. The main benefit of buying this unlocked is the much cheaper price. The Tracfone Samsung Galaxy S5 currently retails for $499. But you can get this unlocked (and refurbished) Galaxy S5 for just $162. View our Review of the Tracfone Samsung Galaxy S5 to see more specs, and understand your options.

View the Samsung Galaxy S5 on Amazon.

5. iPhone 5 (for Tracfone BYOP) on eBay for $119

The iPhone 5 has a 4.0" touchscreen, 8 MP camera and uses Apple's operating system which has access to many apps in the Apple App Store.

This version of the phone uses GSM technology. As some of you may know, Tracfone will be releasing a variety of iPhones to use with their service, including the iPhone 6S. Visit our recent post, New iPhones coming to Tracfone to learn more and see the latest. We don't know when the phones will be released, but it is very likely they will be expensive, closer to $500.

So if you want an iPhone on Tracfone, but don't want to spend the big money for it (or wait), buying an unlocked iPhone to use with Tracfone BYOP may be your best option.

You can get the refurbished iPhone 5 on eBay for $119

That concludes our list of Tracfone deals and sales for the month of June, we hope this help you find the best deal when buying a new phone.

If you're looking for a new phone, but didn't see any you liked in this list, you might want to check out our recent post about a number of new Samsung and LG phones coming to Tracfone.

Don't forget to also follow us on facebook to keep up with the latest news and information.

Thanks for visiting, and leave a comment below if you have any questions, or want to share a deal you've found.