February 3, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for February 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes - February 2016

Thanks for visiting TracfoneReviewer! We provide lots of information about Tracfone including news, reviews and Tracfone Promo Codes, which you can find the latest for February listed below!

Tracfone promo code feb
Tracfone Promo Code list Feb 2016
Each month we gather and share with you the latest promotional codes to use with Tracfone. Each time you add an airtime card, you can also use a five digit coupon code to get additional minutes for free!

Each code works with a specific airtime card, or any card of greater value (except the 1 Year/ 400 Minute card). So a code for a 60 Minute Card will also work for the 120, 200 and 450 Minute Airtime Cards.

For those who might not know, Tracfone is a wireless prepaid cell phone service provider that sells both airtime, and cell phones. You can find many phones available through Tracfone and they usually cost less than $100. Take a look at our Cell Phone Reviews page to learn more about the different phone options available.

Tracfone allows users to also bring unlocked smartphone devices to use with their prepaid service. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page to learn more, and see a list of some of the compatible phones.

Be aware, however, that Android and Apple devices can't use promotional codes.

Let's take a look at these new promo codes.

Tracfone Promo Code List for February

These are the latest promo codes that are valid and working for February 2016. To view many more codes, visit our main Promo Code page.

These codes may sometimes only be used once, so we suggest adding the code online, or over the phone in order to test multiple codes if the first doesn't work.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 to get 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter 17286 and receive 30 free minutes

200 Minute Card add promo code 66969 for 40 extra minutes

450 Minute Card use 59981 and get 50 additional airtime

1 Year/400 Minute Card add code 50486 for 300 extra minutes for free!

Bonus Code - Get $15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 72010

These are the latest codes that are valid throughout the month of February 2016. We hope you enjoy the free minutes and leave a comment with which codes you used!

Tracfone just released three new smartphones that are capable of 4G LTE speeds using CDMA networks including the Samsung Galaxy S5. Follow the link to read our thoughts on the new phones and learn where you can find them.

Stay up to date with the latest Tracfone news and promo codes by following us on Facebook!

Thanks for visiting!

January 31, 2016

New Phones Available for Tracfone Including Samsung Galaxy S5

Samsung Galaxy S5 and 2 More Phones with 4G LTE Service Now Available from Tracfone

This post contains the latest news on the release of three new phones from Tracfone. Check back soon for more information, and full reviews of each of these devices.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Core Prime and S5
New Samsung Devices with 4G LTE available from Tracfone!
Tracfone has released three new smartphone devices for use on their prepaid network. These three new Android phones are the first to use CDMA 4G LTE service, which will allow users to have faster connectivity speeds on their device.

Until now, users who wanted a 4G LTE capable device had to either use the GSM LG Sunset, or use their own device on the BYOP program. Now users have the option to choose one of these three news smartphones from Tracfone.

The three new phones are the Samsung Galaxy S5, Samsung Galaxy E5, and Samsung Galaxy Core Prime. We are going to share a little about each phone, and also include where you can find these devices. We will also be working on our reviews for each of these phones in the near future, so stay tuned for that.

What is really exciting beyond the fact that these new phones use CDMA 4G LTE technology is that these smartphones are some of the most advanced devices, particularly the Samsung Galaxy S5. However, that appears to come at a price.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy S5 Quick Look

The Samsung Galaxy S5, when it was released in April 2014, was one of the best devices available that money could buy. It is in Samsung's flagship lineup and comes with a full list of great features.

Let's take a brief look at some of the Samsung Galaxy S5's features and specs:

  • 5.1" Touchscreen made with Gorilla Glass 3 and 1920x1080 resolution
  • 16 MP Rear Camera
  • 16 GB Internal Memory with 2 GB RAM and Micro SD card slot
  • 2.5 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • Android 4.4.2
  • And more

These are just some of the more notable features that show that this device is a very capable device even though it is almost 2 years old. There isn't a phone currently available from Tracfone that has the same list of impressive specs. But, as we said, it comes at a price, and that price is $499.

The Samsung Galaxy S5 can be found on HSN bundled with 1200 Minutes. We haven't found it anywhere else yet, but expect it to show up in stores, and on the Tracfone website sometime in the near future.

The question we are asking, however, is would it be cheaper to just buy an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S5 and bring it to Tracfone through the BYOP program? You can find a Refurbished Samsung Galaxy S5 on Amazon for just $235 that can work with either GSM or CDMA. That's less than half the price, although you don't get the 1200 minutes. There are also new S5's for a little over $300 on Amazon and eBay.

What is nice about buying a phone that is released by Tracfone versus using the BYOP program is that you don't have to worry about comparability issues. You can just buy the phone and activate it. However, if you're looking for the cheapest option, it looks like buying your own unlocked Galaxy S5 and then using the BYOP program is the best bet. The nice thing about Tracfone BYOP is you can choose from many different devices, and find the phone that will fit your needs at the price you want to pay.

So, we are very excited about the Galaxy S5 coming to Tracfone, but the cost is way beyond the typical sub $200 range most phones from Tracfone are released at. If you've been looking for a high end smartphone from Tracfone, the Samsung Galaxy S5 will not disappoint.

Look for our review soon!

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy E5 Quick Look

The Samsung Galaxy E5 is like the younger brother to the S5. It comes with somewhat reduced performance features, but still has 16 GB of internal memory, which is a huge plus. It is also $150 cheaper than the S5.

Let's take a look at some of the Samsung Galaxy E5's features

  • 5.0" touchscreen at 720x1280 resolution
  • 8 MP Rear Camera
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • Android 4.4
  • And more

As you can see, the Galaxy E5 has a slightly smaller screen, a little less processing power, and a smaller resolution rear camera. It doesn't impress as much as the S5, but it is more budget friendly.

However, as with the Samsung Galaxy S5, we can't help but wonder if you could find a phone similar to the Samsung Galaxy E5 on Amazon or eBay and use it with the Tracfone BYOP program.

The Samsung Galaxy E5 is available on HSN for $350 with 1200 minutes.

We will be working on a review for the E5 very soon!

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Core Prime Quick Look

The third device released by Tracfone is the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime. This Android-powered smartphone is more in line with other smartphones currently available from Tracfone, and the price is actually a really great deal.

The Feature and Specs for the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime are below:

  • 4.5" Touchscreen with 480x800 resolution
  • 5 MP Rear Camera
  • 8 GB Internal Memory
  • Android 44
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • And More

The Galaxy Core Prime actually matches up very similarly to the LG Sunset which has been available with Tracfone for some months now. They both have 1.2 Ghz processores, both come with 8 GB memory, and both allow 4G LTE connectivity. The Galaxy Core Prime uses CDMA while the Sunset uses GSM.

The real news here is that the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime is available on HSN for $99 with 1200 minutes. So you are basically buying a 1 Year/400 Minute Airtime card and getting a very good Android smartphone for free!

We will be sharing our full review for the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime in the near future!

We are expecting several more Samsung smartphones to be released from Tracfone in the near future, but the Samsung Galaxy S5 is probably the best phone we will see from Tracfone for a little while. Stay up to date with the latest news by following us on Facebook.

Let us know what you think about these new devices, and if you will be spending the money to upgrade.

You can take a look at the other smartphones available from Tracfone on our Android Tracfone List.

Also view our recent list of Deals and Discounts for January 2016.

Thanks for visiting!

January 21, 2016

Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz Review - Tracfone Android

Review of the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz from Tracfone

Below are the specs, features and our review for the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi available from Tracfone. We have compiled the information here to provide our readers with the best resources for making decisions about buying phones from Tracfone.

pixi glitz tracfone
Alcatel Pixi Glitz Review
The Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz is a budget smartphone that comes with some surprising features like Android 4.4, and a price that is almost unbeatable. But is this phone worth it? And what about a few specs that could be serious drawbacks? We will be covering all this and more in our review of the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi.

For those who might not know, Tracfone is a prepaid wireless phone company that offers both airtime, and cell phones throughout America. Tracfone doesn't actually own any cell phone towers though, but rather contracts with other carriers like Verizon and AT&T to use their networks. With Tracfone, you can have cell phone service for less than $10 a month if you don't need to use your phone very much, and they have more airtime options for those with more needs.

For more about Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which will cover the basics, and then you might want to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page to see the various phones they offer.

The Pixi Glitz is one of the newer phones from Tracfone, and it uses GSM towers from AT&T. It was released in the Fall of 2015 as Tracfone continues to roll out more smartphone options for their network.

Alcatel is a Chinese mobile phone manufacturer (as is ZTE) that was founded in 2004 and is a subsidiary to another Chinese company called TCL, according to Wikipedia sources.

On first glance one can immediately tell that the Pixi Glitz doesn't have the same performance as some of the other phones Tracfone has recently released like the LG Sunset and ZTE Quartz, however the price on the Pixi is what sets it apart, as many consumers have found the phone for $10 in stores, or sometimes even less.

Before we get into the full specs for this smartphone, we want to share our quick pro's and con's.

Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz Quick Facts

The Good:
-Android 4.4
-Inexpensive - $10-20

The Not so Good:
-Small Screen and Poor Pixel Density- 3.5" at 167 PPI
-Low RAM and Internal Memory
-No Front Camera

There are certainly some trade-offs for this phone, but let's take a look at the full list of features and specs before we get any further.

Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specifications.
  • Android 4.4
  • 4G Connectivity on AT&T GSM network
  • GPS
  • WiFi
  • Bluetooth
  • FM Radio
  • Voice Dailing and hearing aid compatible
  • 3 Home Screens
  • MP3 Player
  • MMS
  • Voicemail, call waiting, caller ID
  • Access to over 1 million apps on Google Play
  • Triple Talk, Text and Data for life
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz Specs
  • Size: 4.41" x 2.45" x 0.47"
  • 3.5" Touchscreen - TFT LCD
  • 1.3 Ghz Processor 
  • 512 RAM
  • 2 GB Memory (up to 32 GB external Micro SD card)
  • Battery: Talk Time 5.7 hrs, Standby 12 days
Android 4.4, while not the newest, is a relatively recent version of the operating system and one that will allow a number of apps to be compatible with this device, we just wish the phone and more memory and RAM. It appears that some sources indicate this phone comes with 4 GB internal memory, but we only noticed 2 GB total space, of which a little over 1 GB is actually available to the users. The RAM is also on the low side, at only 512 mb.

So let's get straight to our review of the Pixi Glitz and discuss what we like and don't like about this Tracfone smartphone.

Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz Review

What we Like:
tracfone pixi glitz review
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz 
As we mentioned, this phone uses Android 4.4 which is a relatively recent version and we would be disappointed if it used an older version. One of the more popular features is the ability to ask Google questions by simply saying 'OK Google'. This is a very handy feature when you want to look up something in a hurry.

The Pixi Glitz uses GSM networks and has 4G connectivity. Before you buy this phone check that you will have service in your area for the Tracfone GSM network, which would be AT&T.

Finally, the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi does come with all the basic calling and texting features like voice dailing, Caller ID, MMS, and more. You also get Triple Talk, Text and Data for life - which means anytime you add airtime it will get split into three buckets, and also be tripled. Note, triple minutes doesn't work on the new smartphone airtime cards.

What we really find great about this Tracfone Android phone is the price. But remember how much the phone costs we looking at the performance

Now we will share some of the drawbacks for this device.

What we Don't Like:
There are a number specifications that are just not up to par for this phone including the RAM and internal memory.

The minimum RAM most phones have these days is 1 GB and many phones even have 2 or 3 GB in order to handle the more resource intense apps that are available. RAM also helps with multitasking, so only 512 MB of RAM will mean the Pixi Glitz can't run as many apps at once. The internal memory is limited, but not as low as the old LG Optimus Dynamic.

Screen size on the Pixi is also small at only 3.5" and with a rather low pixel density of about 167. For some, this might be a positive because the phone will be easier to fit in a picket, but the small screen size does make the keyboard a little harder to use and type on. The larger the screen, the larger the keyboard which generally makes for easier typing.

The Pixi Glitz also lacks and front camera, and the rear camera is just 2 MP. It is hard to complain about this phone too much, since the price is so low, but we just want everyone to be aware that you will not be getting everything on this phone that a more expensive phone might have.

Lastly, the phone does feel a little cheap. This is as expected however, for a device at this price point.

tracfone android $10 phone
Maps on the Pixi Glitz
This phone mainly comes down to the money (as you could probably tell), and for the money it is pretty good value. But those looking for a phone to run a variety of different apps and keep up with various daily needs, this device might not cut it.

At the price, one could just take a risk and buy the phone to see how it works, but if you're actually looking for a phone to use in the long run, you're better off with a higher quality and better performing device.

What the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi might be good for are people who only need a smartphone for one or two things like checking email. It might also be good for children as a first phone, because if they drop it or lose it, the investment is very small.

You can find the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz on Amazon, and also on many other online retailers like BestBuy and Walmart. You can also phone the phone in many stores.

There is an interactive tutorial for the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glitz to help show how it works and where to find various features on the phone.

Resources for Tracfone Android Smartphones

We have created a number of helpful articles about using Android phones with Tracfone, and you can read them for yourself to help learn more about how these phones work, and how to get he most form your device.

First off, read more about How Airtime Works on Tracfone Smartphones which includes an explanation of the differences between smartphones and non-smartphones with Tracfone.

Learn how you can Check your Airtime Balance on Tracfone Smartphones which is not as simple compared to non-Android devices, but there are several different options.

Also read up on the new Smartphone only Airtime cards and see our analysis on whether they are a good deal. And lastly, visit our Android Tracfone List which you can use to browse the different smartphones offered by Tracfone, and quickly compare the options.

We hope this information has been help, and leave a comment below with your thoughts or questions!

January 14, 2016

Tracfone Deals and Sales January 2016

List of the Best Tracfone Deals for January 2016

TracfoneReviewer is an independent blog sharing the latest news, reviews and information about Tracfone cell phones. We have articles covering lots of things relating to Tracfone Wireless, so take be sure to take a look around!

tracfone smartphone discounts
List of Tracfone Deals for Jan 2016
Tracfone devices and airtime can be found in many stores, both online and in brick and mortar locations. It can be hard to know where to find the best prices if you're buying a new phone, or even when shopping for minutes.

But here at TracfoneReviewer we monitor the prices and share with you the sales and deals we find! These are the best deals we could find on Tracfone smartphones, regular phones and airtime for January 2016.

For those who might not know, Tracfone is a wireless prepaid cell phone company that provides both phones, and airtime, to consumers.

With Tracfone you can either buy one of the phones they offer, or you can also bring your own smartphone to their BYOP Program. Then you can add airtime to your phone as needed, depending on your usage.

Let's get to our list of Tracfone deals and discounts current for January 2016.

Top 5 Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales on Phones - Jan 2016

Below are a variety of deals and discounts we have found. They are listed in no particular order and may not last long so take advantage quickly!

tracfone sales january 2016
LG Sunset with 4G LTE
#1 LG Sunset 4G LTE Smartphone - Listed at $129 - On Sale for $79 ($50 off)
The LG Sunset is one of the first smartphones available through Tracfone that also has 4G LTE coverage through AT&T's GSM network. This phone is very similar to the LG Power, and LG Destiny, except for the 4G capability.

With the Sunset you get Android 5.0, a 4.5" touchscreen, and almost 4 GB of usable space on the phone to store apps, music, pictures and more. Take a look at our full Review of the LG Sunset to learn more about this phone.

View the LG Sunset on Amazon for just $79

#2 ZTE Quartz 5.5" Touchscreen Smartphone +1200 Minutes ($100 value) - Listed $129 (phone only) - On Sale for $99 ($130 off)
If you're looking for a large screen, the ZTE Quartz provides the largest currently available through Tracfone at 5.5". The Quartz also features a quad core processor, 8 GB internal memory, and uses Android 4.3. Take a look at all the specs by visiting our Review of the ZTE Quartz.

This is probably one of the best deals we've seen in a while because you get both the phone (currently listed on the Tracfone site for $129) and a 1 Year/400 Minute Airtime Card (a $100 value) plus some additional accessories for just $99. This deal likely won't last long, so check it out quickly if you're interested.

View the ZTE Quartz on HSN for $99

#3 Moto E Android 4.4 Smartphone - Listed at $119 - On Sale for $39 ($80 off)
With great battery life, a 4.3" touchscreen, and the popular Android 4.4 OS, the Moto E is a great value. It uses Verizon CDMA service, and comes with a 4 GB SD card, as well as 4 GB internal memory.

Take a look at our review of the Moto E to learn more. At this price (which might not last long) you really can't go wrong with picking up a Moto E to use a backup, or to gift to someone who wants to use a few basic apps and surf the web.

View the Moto E on eBay for $39

tracfone smartphone discounts
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop On Sale!
#4 Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop 5" Touchscreen Smartphone - Listed at $129 - On Sale for $50 ($80 off)
The Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop features a large 5" touchscreen and runs on Android 4.4 OS. You can use this CDMA device to surf the web, play games or use many other apps.

You also get a quad core processor, 4 GB internal memory, and a 5 MP camera. Read more about this phone and see what users have to say on our Review of the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop.

This deal for the Icon Pop is very good as this is one of the lowest prices we've ever seen the phone listed. The Icon Pop has been available for around a year, but it will still perform well for most smartphone needs, just don't expect to run graphics-heavy games or other resource intensive apps (if you're looking for something that can do that, you will want to buy a much more expensive smartphone and bring it to Tracfone).

View the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on Amazon for $49

#5 LG 306G (non-Android) 3.2" touchscreen - Listed at $30 - On Sale for $9
While the 306G is not a smartphone, it does have one benefit many users like - all the airtime is in one 'bucket' unlike the way airtime is split for Android Smartphones on Tracfone. What this means is that each text will deduct .3 minutes from your total. On smartphones, airtime is split into Talk, Text and Data.

The LG 306G is a basic phone with your typical calling and texting features. It is a dependable phone at a super cheap price that might make it worth getting as a backup. It also comes with Triple Minutes for Life. Take a look at our Review of the LG 306G to learn more about this phone. Note, the 306G is very similar to the 305C but the G means it uses GSM networks, and the C means it uses CDMA networks.

View the LG 306G on Amazon for $9

That wraps up our list of deals. We hope you are able to find a deal and save some money! Please let us know of any deals we missed by leaving a comment below!

Be sure to take a look at our Facebook page where over 1600 followers get the latest news and info on Tracfone!

If you're going to be adding airtime to your Tracfone device, then stop by our Tracfone Promo Code page to get some free minutes. Or if you have a smartphone, read our analysis of the new Tracfone Smartphone Airtime Cards and see if they are a better deal than the regular airtime cards.

Thanks for visiting!

January 6, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for January 2016

List of Tracfone Promo Codes - January 2016

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a website dedicated to providing information and promotional codes for Tracfone! Below you will find the latest codes for the month of January 2016 listed for your convenience.

tracfone codes jan 2016
Tracfone codes for the New Year!
Welcome to the New Year! With a new year we've got new promo codes to use with Tracfone. For those who might not know, Tracfone is a prepaid wireless phone company that offers both airtime, and cell phones to use on their networks.

Each time you add airtime to your phone you can also use a promotional code to get 20-250 extra minutes for free, depending on what airtime card you use. Please note that these Tracfone codes do not work on Android phones or devices on the BYOP program.

Promo codes are listed with the airtime card they can be used with, but you can also use them with any card of greater value (except the 400 Minute/1 Year card). So if you have a 120 minute card, you can use a code for either the 120 or 60 minute card.

We work hard to collect and share these codes here in an easy to use list with nothing you need to do other than find the code you want and use it! The codes listed here are only the latest that have been tested and are working for January 2016. For more code options, visit our main Tracfone Promo Code page!

We also share more than just coupon codes here! You can read our recent analysis of the Smartphone Only Airtime cards, or take a look at our predictions for the Future of Tracfone in 2016.

Now let's get to the codes for this month!

Tracfone Promo Codes - January 2016

Below are the latest promotional codes listed for the month of January. Leave a comment with which code you used and how it worked! Remember that you can use a promo code for the card it is listed with, or any card of greater value (excluding the 1 year card).

60 Minute Card use promo code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter code 64567 for 30 minutes, or 79679 for 60! (or try the code above)

200 Minute Card use 13496 to add 40 free minutes (or try the codes above)

450 Minute Card use coupon code 12745 or 79679 for 60 bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter 54934 to get 250 minutes for free

These are the codes that are valid for the month of January. We update our codes often and post a list of codes each month. We hope you enjoy the free minutes!

Remember that these codes won't work on smartphones, but we do have a lot of information on this site about Tracfone smartphones. For a list of our reviews and a quick comparison, visit our Android Tracfone List.

For those who might be a little new to Tracfone, we have written a Beginners Guide to Tracfone that will share the basics on how Tracfone works, and how to choose from the different options they offer.

We also are on Facebook with over 1600 followers! We share news, deals, and the latest posts there and it is a great place to interact with other Tracfone users.