April 20, 2018

Motorola G6 Coming Soon! And to Tracfone?

New Motorola G6 Features and Release Information

Motorola G6 tracfone
Motorola G6 Coming Soon!
The next Generation in the Motorola Moto G line is coming soon and may also be coming to Tracfone in the near future.

Motorola announced the Moto G6 on April 19th, 2018. It is the newest phone int he Moto G lineup which is well known for offering great smartphone features at an affordable price.

The G6 has a 5.7" full HD touchscreen, 1.8 Ghz Octa-core processor, Dual rear camera, and run Android 8.0 Oreo. There are two versions, one with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB internal storage, and the other with 4 GB RAM and 64 GB Storage.

Many of the past Moto G versions, such as the Moto G4 and Moto G5, have been very popular with the Tracfone BYOP program because they offer great features at a reasonable price. It is rumored that the Moto G6 will also be released directly from Tracfone, which would also be a great option for Tracfone customers. We will share additional information on this as we learn more.

Let's see the list of features and specs on the Moto G6

Motorola G6 Features and Specs


  • Dual Rear Camera - 13 MP and 5 MP
  • 1.8 Ghz Octa-Core Processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon 450)
  • 3/4 GB RAM
  • 32/64 GB Internal Storage
  • Android 8.0 Oreo
  • 5.7" 1080x2160px Touchscreen
  • Corning Gorilla Glass 3
  • 3000 mAh battery
  • Price: $250

One of the most notable specs is the large, 18:9 ratio full HD touchscreen. The previous generation, the Moto G5, had only a 5.2" screen, but the new Moto G6 bumps that up to 5.7".

The dual rear camera is another feature usually seen in much more expensive devices.

Motorola is also releasing two variants, the Moto G6 Play and Moto G6 Plus. The G6 Play will have the same size screen, slightly downgraded internal specs, a larger battery, and retail for $199.

The Moto G6 Plus is not expected to be released in the North American market, and only released internationally.

We will continue to update this as we gather more details, especially any news about Tracfone releasing their own Moto G6 version. If Tracfone does release the G6, it would certainly jump into our List of the Best Tracfone Smartphones.

Keep up with the latest news and info on our Facebook page.

Also check out the recent Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

Additional information and links:
Tracfone Moto G6 Listing
Moto G6 Specs - GSMARENA

April 10, 2018

Tracfone Deals and Sales - April 2018

List of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales on Cell Phones and More!

Updated deals for April 2018 by TracfoneReviewer

cheap tracfone smartphone
Tracfone Deals and Sales
Tracfone offers a variety of phones through many different retail sources, both online and regular stores. Sometimes it is hard to know where to find the best price for the phone you want. But that is what we have here for you today!

New deals and sales are happening all the time and we share the best from around the web in this list updated for April 2018.

We have included both Tracfone smartphones available at great prices (and with great airtime bundles) as well as unlocked phones at sale prices that can be used on the BYOP program.

If you are not sure which phones are the newest from Tracfone, see our Latest List of Tracfone Cell Phones (2018).

Buying a new phone with an airtime bundle is a great way to save, and there are several deals like that listed below. Additionally, Tracfone appears to be tripling many airtime bundle activations. Learn more in our Updated Changes to Tracfone Triple Minutes.

Now let's get to the deals list.

Tracfone Deals and Discounts April 2018

Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro
With a 5" touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and 16 GB internal storage, the Galaxy J3 Luna Pro is a versatile phone packing a lot of great features into a smaller sized device. It has been available since 2017, but still offers good performance and can be found at very reasonable prices. Learn more with our Review of the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro

View the Luna Pro on QVC with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $87
View the Luna Pro on Amazon with 1000 Talk/2000 Text/2GB Data for $93

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro has similar features to the J3 Luna Pro, but a larger 5.5" screen which is more convenient for reading, watching videos and most other activities. It also has 16 GB internal memory, runs Android 6.0.1 and has 2 GB RAM. The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro was released in 2017 but still is a great option especially now that it is available for under $100 with airtime bundles. View our Review of the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro to learn more about the specs and features.

The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is on HSN with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $99

LG Fiesta 2
The Fiesta 2 is another device released in 2017 that still has great features for the price. It comes with a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM. The Fiesta 2 also has a 13 MP camera. See more specs and features in our LG Fiesta 2 Review.

Get the Fiesta 2 on eBay with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for just $99

LG Stylo 3
Released by Tracfone in 2018 (although available through other carriers in 2017) the LG Stylo 3 has a large, 5.7" screen, 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM and runs Android 7.0. It is fairly similar to the LG Rebel 3 and LG Fiesta 2 on many of the specs other than the larger screen, which some users prefer. Learn more in our LG Stylo 3 Review.

The LG Stylo 3 can be found on QVC with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $129

Unlocked Smartphone News for Tracfone BYOP

We usually include some great deals on unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP. However, we wanted to share some news about upcoming phones.

The ever-popular Moto G budget lineup from Motorola (now owned by Lenovo) will be releasing the new Moto G6, Moto G6 Play and Moto G6 Plus in the next few months. These phones generally pack great features at a friendly price. Expect prices to range from $199 to $350 depending on which version and how much storage the phone comes with.

The Moto G line of phones are usually great options to use with Tracfone BYOP because they can be used with either GSM or CDMA cell towers.

Look for more information about these new unlocked phones in the near future.

That's it for our list of Tracfone deals. let us know if we missed a good one in the comment section below.

If you are unsure about switching to a new Tracfone device read up on our handy Guide to Activating/Transferring a New Tracfone Smartphone.

And our 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime may give you a faster and easier way to track your minutes.

Join us on Facebook for the latest news and posts.

Thanks for visiting!

April 3, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2018

Fresh list of promo codes for use with Tracfone airtime cards for the month of April 2018 by TracfoneReviewer

tracfone promo code 2018
Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2018
Every month we post the latest promotional codes to use with Tracfone for free minutes. There is nothing to click, no redirects, just a list of codes for our readers.

These codes are for use with Tracfone when adding a new airtime card either online, on your phone, or over the phone. There are promotional codes for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards.

Some codes are single use, or meant for certain types of phones or geographical areas, so it is always helpful to have a backup code to try.

The list below are the newest codes for April 2018, and we also have a more comprehensive list on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Looking for a way to keep track of your minutes? See our Four Ways to Check our Airtime on a Smartphone for some tips!

Let's get tot he codes.

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2018

Regular Airtime Card Codes
60 Minute Card add code 12745 for 60 extra minutes (working for some)

120 Minute Card use 35739 and get 40 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card enter 53415 to receive 50 free minutes

450 Minute Card (no new codes at this time - use any of the codes above)

1 Year/400 Minute Card (no new codes at this time)

$15 off 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 97248 (online only)

Smartphone Only Card Promo Codes
$15 Smartphone Card use 19838 for 100 bonus talk minutes

$25 Smartphone Card enter 44335 and get 100 extra MB data

$35 Smartphone Card use code 71371 to receive 200 bonus talk minutes


We hope these codes worked, and let us know in the comments below which one you tried.

Keep up with the Latest Phones from Tracfone including the LG Rebel 3 and LG Stylo 3 which were both released recently.

Also visit our post on the Best Deals and Discounts for Tracfone to see where you can find the lowest priced devices.

And join us on Facebook for the latest updates, news and to get in contact if you have specific questions.

Thanks for visiting!

March 28, 2018

Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life- What you Need to Know (Updated)

Facts about Tracfone's Triple Minutes for Life Changes

Updated March 2018

triple minutes for life
Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life
Tracfone has decided to end the Triple Minutes for Life (TMFL) program that gave all smartphones (both Tracfone branded and unlocked) as well as many feature phones triple the minutes when adding the regular airtime cards. (When adding the 60 minute card, for example, you would get 180 minutes, plus any bonus airtime).

There has been a lot of speculation and questions about whether phones will keep Triple Minutes for Life, if new phones will have it, and if Tracfone is really removing a very popular feature from their phones.

We've gathered information about the changes and contacted Tracfone directly, and now want to try and clear things up and provide the facts for everyone concerned about this.

First off, none of the Smartphone only cards would triple anyway, so these cards are completely unaffected, and if these are the cards you usually get, you are unaffected. In general, the smartphone cards are a better deal (especially for texts and data)l, and you can take a look at our Tracfone Airtime Comparison to learn more about which cards are the best deal for different situations.

But many Tracfone customers still use the regular airtime cards, especially the 60 minute card and 1 Year/400 Minute card. Plus, most bonus codes are for the regular airtime cards.

So what exactly is changing, and how will it affect you? Let's take a look (but first, here is an update!).

**Update!** All New Phone Activations May Come with Triple Minutes Now!

We wanted to add an update to the information here as Tracfone has made some changes, and may continue to adjust the Triple Minutes program.

triple minutes from tracfone udpate
Triple Minutes appears to be Back
Tracfone appears to be offering Triple Minutes as a promotion for any new phone activation. So if you activate a new phone, it seems that Tracfone is giving everyone Triple Minutes as a 'bonus'. We have not confirmed if this is occurring for every new phone activation, or just certain phones. See the information from Tracfone in the screen capture to the right:

We have received feedback from several readers who activated a new, LG Rebel 3 with airtime bundle (1500 talk, text and data) and received 4500 talk, text and data!

Let us know in the comments below your experiences, and if this happened for you.

 Tracfone had a very poor year in 2017, losing a number of customers, and so they may be trying to backtrack and reinstate the popular triple minutes program, at least for now. We will continue to update as needed.

**Update!**

Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life Changes - The Facts

Here are the facts about Tracfone's changes to TMFL program.
  • NOTE: See the update above - Tracfone now appears to be offering triple minutes to all new phone activations (after Dec 5th 2017)
  • All phones that already have Triple Minutes for Life will continue to have it.
  • New Smartphone releases will not include Triple Minutes for Life (Phones released after April 2017 and with Android 6.0 or newer will not come with TMFL, although some Android 6.0 and Android 7.0 smartphones do come with Triple Minutes)
  • SIM cards for BYOP phones will no longer include TMFL
  • All your airtime will transfer if you switch from a phone with TMFL to one without (Unless you are switching to a non-smartphone).
  • Regular airtime cards can still be added to non-TMFL smartphones, but only the face value will be given. (a 60 minute card will give 60 talk, 60 texts, and 60 MB data.)
The important information here is that no phone that already has triple minutes will lose that feature. But newer phones released by Tracfone will likely not include triple minutes.

This is a significant shift that Tracfone is making, and may drive away some long time customers. Why would they do this? Here is their response from the FAQ section on their website:

Why Tracfone is Making the Change to Triple Minutes for Life:
"As technology continues to improve, we found that more people were using smartphones and smartphone plans. People are especially using more data. So, we wanted to accommodate you by providing higher data plans with greater value." - Tracfone FAQ
That doesn't make a whole lot of sense as to why they need to get rid of TMFL, but it is true that the regular airtime cards are not a very good deal for data or texts.

Tracfone also cited 'technical compatibility' as another reason for the end of triple minutes, but that isn't very likely either.

Whatever the reason, Triple Minutes for Life will no longer come with new phones, but all existing triple minute phones will continue to keep it.

Tracfone Smartphones that Do Not have Triple Minutes

Here are phones that we have confirmed do not include triple minutes, although with Tracfone recently offering triple minutes to new phone activations, it may be possible to get triple minutes with these phones.
  • Samsung Galaxy Luna J3 Pro
  • ZTE Zfive2
  • ZTE Majesty Pro
  • LG Rebel 2
There may be more devices, and many of the newly released phones will likely not include triple minutes.

Share your thoughts or questions about these changes below, and if you have additional information or corrections please also let us know.

Continue the discussion on our Facebook page where we post the latest news and info with our growing community.

Catch up on some of our recent posts including 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal and How WiFi calling Works.

We also updated our list of the Best Android Apps which includes a variety of the most popular and most helpful apps to have on your smartphone.

Don't forget to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page if you're shopping for a new phone, or the BYOP page to learn about bringing an unlocked phone to Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

March 22, 2018

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Tracfone Review

Review of the LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) from Tracfone

List of details specs, features and review from TracfoneReviewer for the Stylo 3

Tracfone lg stylo 3 review l84vl
Tracfone LG Stylo 3 L84VL Review
With a large, 5.7" screen and improved storage and RAM, the LG Stylo 3 offers similar features and performance compared to other recently released phones form Tracfone, but with a larger screen.

Tracfone has released over the last six months several phones with 2 GB RAM/16 GB Storage (about the minimum we would recommend for a new phone) and the LG Stylo 3 continues that trend.

The LG Rebel 3 and LG Fiesta 2  also have the same RAM/Storage as the Stylo 3, but with smaller screen sizes. It is nice to see that Tracfone is making several difference sized phones available for users, as people prefer difference screen sizes for a variety of reasons. We will share more comparison information further on in this review.

The Stylo 3 comes with Android 7.0, a quad core processor, 13 MP rear camera and much more.
Before we get too far into the full list of features, here are the quick pro's and con's for the LG Stylo 3.

LG Stylo 3 Quick Facts

What we Like
-5.7" HD Touchscreen
-2 GB RAM
-16 GB Memory
-13 MP Camera
-Android 7.0

What we Don't Like
-Only CDMA version available currently (Tracfone needs more GSM options)
-No Triple Minutes
-A little expensive at this time (compared to competition)

There is a lot to like about the Stylo 3, but it also doesn't really deliver anything we haven't already seen or that isn't already available (except the larger screen).

If it were a GSM device that could use AT&T cell towers through Tracfone, we would be a little more excited. But it uses CDMA networks, like many of the other recently released smartphones from Tracfone.

There is a GSM version (L83BL), but we don't know if/when Tracfone will release that.

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Features and Specs

Key features followed by the technical specs.
  • Android 7.0 Nougat
  • 4G LTE Service using Verizon CDMA cell network
  • WiFi (802.11 b/g/n)
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS capable
LG Stylo 3 Technical Specs
  • Size: 3.2" x 6.1" x 0.3"  (5.28 oz)
  • Camera: 13 MP Rear Camera/ 5 MP Front Camera
  • Screen: 5.7" HD Touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
  • Processor: Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 425 1.4GHz Quad-Core (MSM8917)
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB (9.44 usable) and Micro SD Card slot (up to 1 TB)
  • Battery: 3200 mAh with 20 hrs talk time/ 13 days standby

LG is a global electronics manufacturing company with a popular line of smartphones ranging from budget to high end devices. There are several great unlocked LG phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP and they range in price from around $100 to $700 for the flagship LG V30.

Tracfone has offered many different LG phones over the years, and they usually have good performance and reliability, with some minor exceptions.

LG Stylo 3 Review

Time to dive into more details on the main features for the Stylo 3 starting with the touchscreen.

lg stylo 3 l84vl
Tracfone LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Review











Touchscreen
The main feature on the Stylo 3 is the large, 5.7" HD touchscreen which has nice, bright screen and functions well. Another interesting feature is the stylus pen that comes with the Stylo 3, and is stored inside the phone. This can be convenient for those who want a little more dexterity in selecting things on the screen, or who enjoy taking notes or drawing on their phone.

Tracfone has several phones with similar specs and slightly smaller screens, specifically the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro and LG Fiesta 2. Both of these phones have slightly smaller, 5.5" screens.

Internal Specs - Processor, RAM and Storage
The LG Stylo 3 comes with the Snapdragon 425 processor (1.4 Ghz quad core) which is popular in many budget smartphones and pairs well with 2 GB RAM. Don't expect top-end performance, but it should keep up with most users' demands.

About 9 GB out of the 16 GB internal storage are usable, but the phone also has a Micro SD card slot for up to 1 TB additional storage.

Camera
Like the Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 has a 13 MP rear camera with a number of features including HDR, Flash, Autofocus and more. The front camera is 5 MP and also has many features like Selfie light, customizable timer and burst shot.

Video capability on the Stylo 3 is also good, with 1080p at 30 fps the highest quality. This might no be as good as many top of the line smartphone which now shoot 4k, but it is enough for capturing videos to share with friends and family on social media.

Battery
Battery performance is surprisingly good for a phone with such a large screen and is in part thanks to the Android 7.0 OS and conservative processor. Under normal use the 3200 mAh battery should last through a full day with little issue. Under heavy use, the phone may have a much shorter battery life.

Android OS
The LG Stylo 3 features Android 7.0 Nougat (just like the Fiesta 2 and Rebel 3) which is a fairly recent version of the operating system and gives access to over a million apps on the Google Play store. For some ideas, see our List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone.

Tracfone smartphones can not be upgraded due to various reasons, so the OS version your phone comes with will remain the same throughout the life of the phone. Thus it is usually best to try and get a phone with a fairly recent version of Android for best compatibility and performance.

Triple Minutes
The Stylo 3 does not come with Triple Minutes for Life, and you can learn more about the Changes to Triple Minutes here, but Tracfone may be offering Triple Minutes to new phone upgrades. We have several reports from users activating phones and receiving triple minutes even though the phone did not originally feature this. We are gathering more information, and in the mean time, suggest contacting Tracfone to learn more if you have questions.

That concludes our review for the LG Stylo 3. View the interactive tutorial for the Stylo 3 to learn more about using this phone.

LG Stylo 3 Comparison and Conclusion

The LG Stylo 3, LG Fiesta 2 and LG Rebel 3 all share fairly similar features and specs besides the difference in screen size. If you want a large screen, the Stylo 3 has the largest of the three. If you prefer something smaller, the Rebel 3 has a 5" screen that makes it easier to fit in a pocket.

Compared to the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro, the Stylo 3 has a slightly larger screen, and higher megapixel count on the camera, but otherwise fairly similar specs.

Currently, the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro and LG Fiesta 2 are both great smartphone options, and can be found for under $100 with airtime bundles. The Stylo 3 is around $50 more expensive, for 0.2" more screen size.

The LG Stylo 3 comes with all the features and specs to make it a popular choice for Tracfone users, particularly those who prefer a large screen. It is currently more expensive than several other similar Tracfone devices, but we expect some kind of sale in the near future.

If you want a Tracfone device with the largest screen and good performance, the Stylo 3 is a great option.

Where to Buy the LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)

The best deal we have currently found is for the Stylo 3 with an airtime bundle on HSN.

View the LG Stylo 3 with airtime bundle for $150

We have also found the phone available for less on Amazon (but without an airtime bundle)

Price updates and additional retail locations will be added as we gather them.

Leave a comment below with any questions or information to add, and we hope this review has been useful.

Join us on Facebook where we share the latest posts and news, as well as answer questions and messages.

If you are new to Tracfone, or unfamiliar with how it works, check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which explains some of the basics for airtime and managing minutes.

For help on activating or switching to a new phone, we have a Guide for Tracfone Smartphone Activation/Transfers.

For more reviews, head over to our Cell Phone Reviews page! Thanks for visiting!