November 17, 2017

How Data Works on Tracfone Smartphones

All About Tracfone Data Cards

Welcome to the TracfoneReviewer blog! This post will share specifics on how data works on smartphones with Tracfone. Be sure to also take a look at some of our other posts while you're here.

how does data work on tracfone
Data Cards for Tracfone
Update - Some of the prices and information in this post have changed, take a look at our new article, New Prices/Changes to Tracfone Smartphone Cards to learn more about the changes to data prices.

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that offers both phones and airtime cards. On their newer smartphone devices, you also get data when adding an airtime card which you can use to surf the web when not connected to WiFi.

Data is very useful on smartphones, but how does the data work on Tracfone smartphones, how can you get more, and what can you do with the data you have?

We are going to cover these questions and more in this post sharing all the details about how Tracfone Data works on smartphones.

Some of the popular smartphones that Tracfone offers include the LG Power, the LG Ultimate 2, and the LG Sunset which uses 4G LTE service on GSM networks.

Or you might be interested in the Tracfone BYOP program, which allows users to bring their own smartphone. Follow the link to learn more, and see a list of the possibilities.

Both the smartphones offered by Tracfone, and the BYOP devices, use data in the same way. So let's get started looking at how data works on these phones.

What is Data on Tracfone Smartphones?

Data is the term generally used to describe the amount (usually in megabytes) you can download or upload on your smartphone via the cell phone network. So data is basically information you download or upload from the internet. This can include many different activities, like checking email, posting photos on Facebook, reading webpages, or watching videos.

Data is used based on the amount of megabytes you download or upload. So if you download a 20 MB image, that will use 20 MB of your data. If you visit a webpage that takes 1 MB to load, you will use 1 MB of data. (further down we will share more on estimating how much different online activities will use up your data.)

On older, non-smartphone devices, data was used at a rate determined by the amount of time you were on a website, but this is not the case for smartphones which is a nice improvement.

As you can see, data works similarly to your calling minutes, in that you are charged based on how much you use. But calling minutes are based on time, rather than megabytes. (For example, if you make a 20 minute call, you will be deducted (about) 20 minutes of talk time.)

On Tracfone Smartphones and BYOP devices, airtime is split into three pools, Talk, Text and Data. Learn more about How Airtime Works with Tracfone Smartphones in our recent post.

How Can you Buy More Data for your Tracfone Device?

There are two ways to get more data for your smartphone:

Airtime Cards - You can add both Regular Airtime Cards or Smartphone Only Cards and get a certain amount of data along with talk, text and service days.
Data Only Card - You get only Data, at 1 GB for $10

For most situations you will probably want to add an Airtime card to your phone to increase all your 'buckets' of talk/text/data.

But sometimes you may only want to add data, in which case the data only cards are useful. Let's take a closer look at Data cards to better understand how to use them.

What Are Data Only Cards?

As mentioned above, the Data only card increase the amount of data for your smartphone, without adding any additional texts or talk minutes.

This is similar to the Text only cards we recently discussed.

There are some important things to be aware of the make the Data only cards unique.

First, they can only be used with smartphones, including the Android devices offered by Tracfone, and all phones offered through the BYOP program.

Second, like the Text only card, Data only cards do not triple, so you get the amount listed on the card (1 GB).

Data Card Amount and Cost Per MB Compared to Airtime Cards

Tracfone just offers one Data only card option at this time:
  • 1 GB for $10
This results in 1 cent per MB of data.

Cost per MB for Tracfone Data cards and Airtime cards Compared:

Below is a table with all of the current airtime cards from Tracfone and how much data comes with each one. We've included both Smartphone only cards and regular airtime cards.
how much data do you get with tracfone
Tracfone Data Amounts and Cost per MB
There are two key points to take note of from this Chart:

  • Smartphone only cards come with a lot more data compared to regular airtime cards
  • Smartphone only cards are a better deal for data (except the 1500 and 200 minute cards)

In general, if you only need data, the data only card is a good deal. But if you also need talk and texts, then the 300 or 750 minute smartphone cards are a good deal.

Where to Buy Tracfone Data Cards

Tracfone Data cards are available form a variety of sources, as is the case for Tracfone Airtime cards. You can find Data cards on the Tracfone website under Airtime.

You can also find the Tracfone Data cards in many retail stores, and even online through other retailers. We have found Data cards on eBay in various amounts.

Now let's cover one more question that we see asked quite often.

How Much Can you Do Online with 300 MB of Data?

A common question we see is, what can you do online with a certain amount of data? This is a very good question, because many people tend to estimate how many airtime minutes they will need, and then buy the airtime card that suits their needs best. But if you're unfamiliar with how much data is used by smartphones, it makes it hard to estimate.

It is a little hard to give a straight answer to this question, it all depends on what you do online  Take a look at this image (provided by Tracfone) to help give you a better idea:

tracfone 300mb of data what you can do
Estimated usage for 300 MB of data with Tracfone
From this table we see you can visit about 245 webpages with 300 MB of data, or send/receive about 4000 emails. Hopefully this information will help you gain a better understanding of how data is used with Tracfone, and where your data is going.

If you notice, doing certain things online, like streaming music, or even more so, streaming video, will use your data quickly, while visiting webpages or sending emails, especially those with few images, will use less of your data.

Another good resource for estimating your data usage is the Data Calculator on Verizon's website. Enter your estimated activities, and it will tell you about how much data you will use in a month.

Remember, that if you want to stop using data, you can go into the settings on your device, select data, and turn it off. Using WiFi networks, like at your home or work, does not deduct from your data.

Tips for Reducing Data Use
Here are some helpful tips to reduce the amount of data you use.
  • Download/upload large files over WiFi as much as possible
  • If you use Google Maps often in a certain area, download the map of that area over WiFi. Here is some helpful information about using Google Maps without using data.
  • Download songs/podcasts over WiFi instead of streaming them.
  • Set your Apps to only update over WiFi.
  • Download Images/Videos only when using WiFi
As you can see, the best way to reduce data usage is to avoid using it for large downloads or uploads, which will quickly drain your data. Using free WiFi whenever possible will go a long way in extending your data.

Here is a helpful article on what online activities use data, and some other basic details about data usage from an AT&T Forum.

We hope you found this information helpful, and please leave a comment with any questions, or if you have something to add!

Learn the basics of how Tracfone works with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Find us on Facebook and join over 2000 followers who get the latest news and updates.

Take a look at one of our other popular posts, the Over 30 Great Android Apps to use with your Smartphone.

And check our Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals List (2017) for all the best Tracfone deals this year!

Thanks for visiting!

Originally published 8/2015 and Updated 11/2017

November 8, 2017

Tracfone Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals 2017

List of Black Friday Deals for Tracfone - 2017

Gathered and shared by TracfoneReviewer

tracfone black friday ad
Tracfone Black Friday Deals 2017
Black Friday and the Holiday season is right around the corner and we've got you covered for the latest deals and sales on Tracfone related items including smartphones, unlocked devices and airtime bundles!

Many of the best Black Friday deals are available online, and we've got the best list of cell phones and Tracfone related items on sale.

We will continue to update this list as Black Friday and Cyber Monday get closer, so be sure to check back often.

Tracfone offers a variety of smartphones and we've got a List of the Latest Tracfone Smartphones to keep up with what's new. Most unlocked phones can also be used with Tracfone BYOP, and you can follow the link to learn more about how that works.

If you're new to Tracfone, be sure to visit our Beginners Guide which covers some of the basics of how airtime works and more.

Now, let's get to the deals.

Tracfone Black Friday Sales List 2017

Here are the Black Friday deals, with a link to the full ad for each store, as well as any specific deals also included. More deals coming soon!

Tracfone.com
No Black Friday Deals listed yet

Amazon
Link to Black Friday deals page
Various daily deals

eBay
Link to Black Friday Cell Phone Deals page

Kmart
Link to Black Friday Ad

Target
Link to Black Friday Ad
Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro - $39 ($60 off) - link

Walmart
Link to Black Friday Ad
Deals coming soon

Best Buy
Link to Black Friday Ad
Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro - $49 ($50 off) - link
View all Best Buy Cell Phone Deals - link

Dollar General
No Black Friday Deals listed yet

Family Dollar
No Black Friday Deals listed yet

Newegg
Link to Newegg - various deals during November

We are continuing to add deals as we find them, be sure to share any deals you find in a comment below and we will include it in the list.

Join us on Facebook where we share the latest posts, deals and information. We also get a lot of great feedback from our growing community.

If you are getting a new smartphone, check out our List of the Best Apps for Android.

Also take a look at the Best Deal on Tracfone Airtime where we look at which airtime cards are the best deal and why.

We hope you this list helps you find the best deal during Black Friday! Thanks for visiting!

November 1, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for November 2017

Tracfone Promo Code List - November 2017

List of promotional codes collected and shared by TracfoneReviewer


tracfone code nov 2017
Tracfone Promo Codes November 2017
Winter might be on the way but these new Tracfone codes will warm you up. Each month we collect and share the latest promo codes from Tracfone for our readers to use to get extra airtime for free.

These promo codes are usually for a specific airtime card and we have codes listed below for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards. Some codes can also be used with any airtime cards of greater value.

The latest promo codes from Tracfone are listed below, but we also share many more options on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Sometimes these codes may not work, either they are one time use, or somehow expired, so we suggest to add airtime over the phone if you really want to ensure that you receive the bonus minutes.

Keep up with the new phones from Tracfone by visiting our Latest Tracfone Cell Phones List.

Let's see the codes for November!

Tracfone Promo Codes - November 2017

Regular Airtime Cards:

60 Minute Card use code 12745 or 22703 for 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter 20500 and get 40 free minutes or 74450 for 30 minutes

200 Minute Card add code 89280 to receive 50 extra minutes or 91471 for 40 minutes

450 Minute Card - No new codes yet

1 Year/400 Minute Card - No new codes yet

Get $15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 52484 or 62118 (online only)

Smartphone Only Cards:

$25 or $35 Smartphone Card - 1 GB Data Free with code 53629

We hope the codes work for you and be sure to leave a comment with which one you tried.

If you are not sure which airtime card is the best value for what you need, visit our Airtime Comparison Article which looks at the best value cards for different situations.

Or you might be interested in 10 Tips for Boosting your Cell Signal - including several very simple options.

Also check out the latest Deals and Discounts on Tracfone cell phones.

And keep up with the latest news and information by joining us on Facebook.

Thanks for visiting!

October 23, 2017

Tracfone Latest Phones 2017 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2017
List of New Tracfones in 2017
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2017.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2017

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • iPhone 7
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samusng, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2017

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(currently out of stock) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

And see where Tracfone is going in 2017 with our article, What to Expect from Tracfone in 2017.

Thanks for visiting!
(Last Updated - October 2017)

October 20, 2017

ZTE ZMAX Champ (Z917VL) Review - Tracfone Android

Tracfone ZTE ZMAX Champ Review (Z917VL)

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, with news, reviews and other information about Tracfone!

A large screen at a budget price, the ZTE ZMAX Champ has a 5.5" touchscreen and can be found for just over $100. It also has a quad-core processor and runs Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow.

tracfone zmax champ specs
Tracfone ZTE ZMAX Champ Review
Find the full list of feature and specs listed below for the Champ, along with our review and how it compares to some of the other Android phones available from Tracfone.

There are currently several smartphones available from Tracfone with 5.5" screens, which is becoming a popular choice for many. The LG Fiesta and Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro both have large screens like the ZMAX Champ, and we will be looking closer at how these phones compare.

Tracfone continues to release new smartphones to use with their wireless prepaid network. You can keep up with the new devices in our List of Latest Tracfone Smartphones or simply visit our Cell Phone Reviews page where we include all the reviews we've done for Tracfone devices.

The ZTE ZMAX Champ has some great features, but it also cut some corners to keep the price low. Here are the main pro's and con's for the Z917VL.

ZTE ZMAX Champ (Z917VL) Quick Facts

The Good:
-Large 5.5" touchscreen
-Decent 8 MP rear camera
-Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
-Triple Minutes for Life

The Not so Good:
-8 GB Internal Memory
-Low Screen DPI (267)

The ZMAX Champ includes Triple Minutes, which not all new phones from Tracfone include anymore. In fact, Tracfone is slowly removing that feature as they release new phones. (You can learn more by reading Tracfone Makes Changes to Triple Minutes.)

A major downside for this device is the lack of internal storage, with just 8 GB. Uses may be able to use a Micro SD card as internal storage, but it is still a hassle to deal with a phone that is out of space.

Below are the full features and specs for the ZMAX Champ.

ZTE ZMAX Champ Features and Specs


  • 4G LTE service using CDMA (Verizon) network towers
  • Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • WiFi, GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
  • 8 MP rear camera with Auto Flash/Auto focus
  • 2 MP front camera
  • SMS, MMS, and Voicemail
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Handsfree Speaker
  • Sensors: Accelerometer, Light, and Proximity

ZTE ZMAX Champ Technical Specs


  • Size: 3" x 6.07" x 0.37" (6.16oz)
  • 5.5" IPS Touchscreen (HD) with 1280x720 resolution (267 dpi)
  • 1.3 Ghz Quad Core Processor
  • 1.5 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory
  • Battery: 3080 mAh with 20 hrs talk time, 10 days standby

We recently reviewed the ZTE ZFIVE which shares many of the same features and specs as the ZMAX Champ. However the Champ does have a larger screen, and more RAM.

ZTE is a major electronics company based in China and one of the largest cell phone manufacturers in the world. They usually focus on low-cost devices, especially those targeted at prepaid users, and distribute throughout the world.

ZTE's phones generally offer a reasonable mix of features and performance to handle basic smartphone activities, like surfing the web, using a few apps and taking photos, while maintaining a low price tag.

In the case of the ZMAX Champ, it features a large touchscreen, but makes sacrifices in other areas to keep the price low. Lets take a closer look in our review for the ZTE ZMAX Champ features.

ZTE ZMAX Champ (Z917VL) Review

Screen:
The Champ comes with a 5.5" HD touchscreen that has good viewing angles and brightness. It lacks a little in pixel density, with just 267 dpi, but for most this won't really be noticeable. Not everyone prefers a large screen, and Tracfone does offer several other devices with 4.5" or 5" screens. A 5.5" screen is great for easier viewing of photos, videos or text.

Internal Specs - Memory, Processor and RAM:
Although it has a 1.3 Ghz quad core processor, the ZTE Champ cuts corners with just 1.5 GB RAM and 8 GB Memory. Most smartphones, even low cost options, are using closer to 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal memory. While 1.5 GB RAM is enough for most activities on this phone, users may be limited in multitasking (such as having many different webpages or apps open at once).

zmax champ review z917vl
ZTE ZMAX Champ front, back and side view
8 GB internal memory will limit the number of apps and media users are able to store on this device significantly. A possible upside is that the ZMAX Champ does have a Micro SD Card slot that can be used to store media, and apps (if formatted as internal storage - here is an article with details).

Camera:
The 8 MP rear camera on the Champ is surprisingly decent for a low cost phone. It has flash and auto focus, and can shoot 1080p HD video at 30 fps. The 2 MP selfie camera on the front is nothing special, but adequate for video catting etc.

Battery:
Included with the ZMAX Champ is a 3080 mAh non-removable battery that gives about 20 hrs talk time and 10 days on standby, although real world use will probably result in slightly lower battery life. A large phone usually results in a larger batter, but a large screen will also drain it faster. The ZMAX Champ strikes a good balance with battery life.

Android OS:
The ZTE ZMAX Champ runs Android 6.0.1 which is a relatively new OS. Some Tracfone devices, like the LG Fiesta, come with the newer Android 7.0 OS. One downside to Tracfone smartphones is that they do not receive OS updates, so it is not possible to upgrade to a newer operating system. If this is an important feature for you, consider the BYOP program which allows users to bring unlocked smartphones that can still receive OS updates.

Additional Details:
The ZMAX Champ includes Triple Minutes which many users will like. This only affects regular airtime cards (60, 120, 200 etc.). In some cases, the new Smartphone only airtime cards are a better deal, especially for texts and data. Visit our Tracfone Airtime Comparison Guide to learn more about which airtime cards are the best deal.

Comparison to LG Fiesta and Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro:
There are several newer phones available from Tracfone that all have a 5.5" touchscreen, so how do they compare to the ZTE Champ? Let's look at the comparison table below with the LG Fiesta and Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro:

ZTE ZMAX Champ comparison
ZTE ZMAX Champ vs LG FIesta vs Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro


The ZTE ZMAX Champ can generally be found for less money compared to the Fiesta and Sky Pro, but those devices boast better storage and performance. As you can see from the table above, the Fiesta has a higher megapixel camera (13 MP) compared to the Sky Pro and Champ. However, the Galaxy Sky Pro has better performance specs, with 2 GB RAM and an Octa Core processor.

Last we checked, the LG Fiesta is actually available on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle and the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is also available with airtime bundle for $149.

Each of these phones are capable devices, but have certain areas where they are a little better or worse, so take that into account when choosing which to purchase.

Where to Buy the ZTE ZMAX Champ

The ZTE ZMAX Champ is available from several different online retailers as well as in certain retail stores.

Find the ZMAX Champ on Amazon bundled with 1000 talk, 2000 texts and 2 GB Data for just $89

Also take a look at Cases and Covers for the ZMAX Champ.

The ZMAX Champ is also available from HSN for $110 with 1200 talk/text/data.

That concludes our review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ. We gather and share the information in this review with the goal of helping our readers make a more informed buying decision. Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions!

For the latest reviews and news, join us on Facebook with more than 2700 followers.

We've got lots of other useful articles, including 10 Tips to Boost your Cell Signal and 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime.

If you are new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares lots of helpful info about using Tracfone.

And don't forget to check the latest Tracfone Deals and Discounts!

Thanks for visiting!