March 22, 2018

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Tracfone Review

Review of the LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) from Tracfone

List of details specs, features and review from TracfoneReviewer for the Stylo 3

Tracfone lg stylo 3 review l84vl
Tracfone LG Stylo 3 L84VL Review
With a large, 5.7" screen and improved storage and RAM, the LG Stylo 3 offers similar features and performance compared to other recently released phones form Tracfone, but with a larger screen.

Tracfone has released over the last six months several phones with 2 GB RAM/16 GB Storage (about the minimum we would recommend for a new phone) and the LG Stylo 3 continues that trend.

The LG Rebel 3 and LG Fiesta 2  also have the same RAM/Storage as the Stylo 3, but with smaller screen sizes. It is nice to see that Tracfone is making several difference sized phones available for users, as people prefer difference screen sizes for a variety of reasons. We will share more comparison information further on in this review.

The Stylo 3 comes with Android 7.0, a quad core processor, 13 MP rear camera and much more.
Before we get too far into the full list of features, here are the quick pro's and con's for the LG Stylo 3.

LG Stylo 3 Quick Facts

What we Like
-5.7" HD Touchscreen
-16 GB Memory
-13 MP Camera
-Android 7.0

What we Don't Like
-Only CDMA version available currently (Tracfone needs more GSM options)
-No Triple Minutes
-A little expensive at this time (compared to competition)

There is a lot to like about the Stylo 3, but it also doesn't really deliver anything we haven't already seen or that isn't already available (except the larger screen).

If it were a GSM device that could use AT&T cell towers through Tracfone, we would be a little more excited. But it uses CDMA networks, like many of the other recently released smartphones from Tracfone.

There is a GSM version (L83BL), but we don't know if/when Tracfone will release that.

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Features and Specs

Key features followed by the technical specs.
  • Android 7.0 Nougat
  • 4G LTE Service using Verizon CDMA cell network
  • WiFi (802.11 b/g/n)
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS capable
LG Stylo 3 Technical Specs
  • Size: 3.2" x 6.1" x 0.3"  (5.28 oz)
  • Camera: 13 MP Rear Camera/ 5 MP Front Camera
  • Screen: 5.7" HD Touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
  • Processor: Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 425 1.4GHz Quad-Core (MSM8917)
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB (9.44 usable) and Micro SD Card slot (up to 1 TB)
  • Battery: 3200 mAh with 20 hrs talk time/ 13 days standby

LG is a global electronics manufacturing company with a popular line of smartphones ranging from budget to high end devices. There are several great unlocked LG phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP and they range in price from around $100 to $700 for the flagship LG V30.

Tracfone has offered many different LG phones over the years, and they usually have good performance and reliability, with some minor exceptions.

LG Stylo 3 Review

Time to dive into more details on the main features for the Stylo 3 starting with the touchscreen.

lg stylo 3 l84vl
Tracfone LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Review

The main feature on the Stylo 3 is the large, 5.7" HD touchscreen which has nice, bright screen and functions well. Another interesting feature is the stylus pen that comes with the Stylo 3, and is stored inside the phone. This can be convenient for those who want a little more dexterity in selecting things on the screen, or who enjoy taking notes or drawing on their phone.

Tracfone has several phones with similar specs and slightly smaller screens, specifically the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro and LG Fiesta 2. Both of these phones have slightly smaller, 5.5" screens.

Internal Specs - Processor, RAM and Storage
The LG Stylo 3 comes with the Snapdragon 425 processor (1.4 Ghz quad core) which is popular in many budget smartphones and pairs well with 2 GB RAM. Don't expect top-end performance, but it should keep up with most users' demands.

About 9 GB out of the 16 GB internal storage are usable, but the phone also has a Micro SD card slot for up to 1 TB additional storage.

Like the Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 has a 13 MP rear camera with a number of features including HDR, Flash, Autofocus and more. The front camera is 5 MP and also has many features like Selfie light, customizable timer and burst shot.

Video capability on the Stylo 3 is also good, with 1080p at 30 fps the highest quality. This might no be as good as many top of the line smartphone which now shoot 4k, but it is enough for capturing videos to share with friends and family on social media.

Battery performance is surprisingly good for a phone with such a large screen and is in part thanks to the Android 7.0 OS and conservative processor. Under normal use the 3200 mAh battery should last through a full day with little issue. Under heavy use, the phone may have a much shorter battery life.

Android OS
The LG Stylo 3 features Android 7.0 Nougat (just like the Fiesta 2 and Rebel 3) which is a fairly recent version of the operating system and gives access to over a million apps on the Google Play store. For some ideas, see our List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone.

Tracfone smartphones can not be upgraded due to various reasons, so the OS version your phone comes with will remain the same throughout the life of the phone. Thus it is usually best to try and get a phone with a fairly recent version of Android for best compatibility and performance.

Triple Minutes
The Stylo 3 does not come with Triple Minutes for Life, and you can learn more about the Changes to Triple Minutes here, but Tracfone may be offering Triple Minutes to new phone upgrades. We have several reports from users activating phones and receiving triple minutes even though the phone did not originally feature this. We are gathering more information, and in the mean time, suggest contacting Tracfone to learn more if you have questions.

That concludes our review for the LG Stylo 3. View the interactive tutorial for the Stylo 3 to learn more about using this phone.

LG Stylo 3 Comparison and Conclusion

The LG Stylo 3, LG Fiesta 2 and LG Rebel 3 all share fairly similar features and specs besides the difference in screen size. If you want a large screen, the Stylo 3 has the largest of the three. If you prefer something smaller, the Rebel 3 has a 5" screen that makes it easier to fit in a pocket.

Compared to the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro, the Stylo 3 has a slightly larger screen, and higher megapixel count on the camera, but otherwise fairly similar specs.

Currently, the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro and LG Fiesta 2 are both great smartphone options, and can be found for under $100 with airtime bundles. The Stylo 3 is around $50 more expensive, for 0.2" more screen size.

The LG Stylo 3 comes with all the features and specs to make it a popular choice for Tracfone users, particularly those who prefer a large screen. It is currently more expensive than several other similar Tracfone devices, but we expect some kind of sale in the near future.

If you want a Tracfone device with the largest screen and good performance, the Stylo 3 is a great option.

Where to Buy the LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)

The best deal we have currently found is for the Stylo 3 with an airtime bundle on HSN.

View the LG Stylo 3 with airtime bundle for $150

We have also found the phone available for less on Amazon (but without an airtime bundle)

Price updates and additional retail locations will be added as we gather them.

Leave a comment below with any questions or information to add, and we hope this review has been useful.

Join us on Facebook where we share the latest posts and news, as well as answer questions and messages.

If you are new to Tracfone, or unfamiliar with how it works, check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which explains some of the basics for airtime and managing minutes.

For help on activating or switching to a new phone, we have a Guide for Tracfone Smartphone Activation/Transfers.

For more reviews, head over to our Cell Phone Reviews page! Thanks for visiting!

March 12, 2018

Tracfone Deals and Sales - March 2018

Best Deals and Sales on Tracfone Devices and Minutes - March 2018

Updated deals for the month of March 2018
tracfone deals
Tracfone Deals and Sales - March 2018

Finding the best deal on a new Tracfone smartphone can be challenging with many different retailers offering the same or similar devices at different prices.

Some retailers also offer airtime bundles along with the phone, which makes for a great deal in most cases, but discovering the right phone with those deals might be challenging.

We are here to help with some of the best deals on Tracfone devices and airtime from around the web. If you're shopping for a new phone, check out the list below for some great options.

Tracfone offers a variety of cell phones to use with their prepaid service, but users can also bring their own unlocked smartphone and use it with Tracfone service. So we have also included some great options to use with the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the link to learn more about how it works.

It is a new year, and we've got predictions for Tracfone in 2018 that you might find interesting, including new phones on the way.

Now, let's get tot he Tracfone deals.

Tracfone Deals and Sales - March 2018

Tracfone smartphones listed first, followed by unlocked cell phones.

tracfone sale lg rebel 3
LG Rebel 3 on Amazon

LG Rebel 3 (CDMA) - $65/$59 with airtime bundles

One of the newest phones available from Tracfone, the LG Rebel 3 features several upgrades over previous models including 16 GB memory, 2 GB RAM, and Android 7.0.1. It also comes with a 5" touchscreen, quad-core processor and more. View our full Review of the LG Rebel 3 to learn more. 

Available on Amazon with 1000 Talk, 2000 Text and 2 GB Data for $65 (Limited stock/Availability)

LG Rebel 2 (CDMA) - $59 w/ airtime bundle

The LG Rebel 2 is a budget smartphone with Android 6.0, a quad core processor and 5" touchscreen. It is adequate for most daily smartphone uses, like texting, using Facebook and other apps, but may not be ideal for playing games or other more demanding apps. The Rebel 2 has 8 GB memory for storing apps, which does not leave a lot of room for downloading too many apps or other content.

View the Rebel 2 with 1000 talk, 2000 text and 2000mb data on Amazon
Also available with 1500 talk/text/data on QVC

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro J3 (CDMA) - $69/$79 w/ airtime bundle

Featuring a 5" touchscreen, 16 GB internal memory, a quad core processor and Android 6.0, the Galaxy Luna Pro J3 has good performance capabilities at a popular size. Read our Review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro to learn more.

View the Galaxy Luna Pro J3 deal with 1000 Talk, 2000 Text and 2 GB Data on Amazon for $69
View the Galaxy Luna Pro J3 deal with 1200 talk/text/data on HSN for $79

Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro J7 (CDMA) - $89/$99 w/ airtime bundle

With a large, 5.5" screen, 16 GB memory, quad core processor and Android 6.0, the Galaxy Sky Pro has been a popular choice for many Tracfone users, and this bundle is priced about as low as we've seen. Read our Review of the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro to learn more about the phone.

View the Galaxy Sky Pro J7 with 1000 talk, 2000 text and 2 GB data on Amazon for $99
View the Galaxy Sky Pro J7 deal with 1000 talk/text/data on HSN

LG Fiesta 2 (CDMA) - $89 w/ airtime bundle

Another smartphone with a large 5.5" screen, the LG Fiesta 2 also comes with 16 GB internal memory, a quad core processor and runs Android 7.0. Learn more about the features on this phone with our Full LG Fiesta Review.

Available on Amazon for $88
See the LG Fiesta 2 deal on HSN

Unlocked Smartphone Deals for Tracfone BYOP

If you are looking to bring your own phone to Tracfone, here are some great unlocked devices that will offer great performance and features.

ZTE Axon 7 Mini (GSM unlocked) - $149 ($50 off)

The Axon 7 Mini comes with a 5.2" screen, 32 GB internal memory, an octa-core processor and 3 GB RAM. It packs a lot of bang for your buck, and comes unlocked and ready to use with Tracfone BYOP. All you need is a SIM kit to activate with Tracfone 4G LTE GSM service.

The Axon also has a decent 16 MP camera, dual SIM card design, fingerprint reader and Android 6.0.

Check out the deal on BestBuy
(thanks Anonymous for sharing this int he comments!)

Moto E Plus (4th Gen) - $99 ($80 Amazon gift card with new prime membership)

The Moto E Plus is a popular budget phone because of the large, 5.5" screen and super long battery life. It also runs the latest Andorid OS (7.0) and has 16 GB storage, and a quad core processor. For those who are also interested in signing up for Amazon Prime, this is a bargain for this phone which retails at $199.

View the Moto E Plus (4th Gen) on Amazon

Blu R2 4G LTE (32 GB Version) - $134

Packed with a number of great features for the price, the Blu R2 4G LTE smartphone has a 5.2" screen, 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM and a quad core processor. Plus it has 13 MP front and rear cameras.

See the Blu R2 4G LTE on Amazon

Moto G Plus (5th Gen) - $249 on BH Photo (64 GB Version) ($50 off)

If you are looking for more storage capacity and a phone to keep up with various media activities and gaming, the Moto G Plus (5th Gen) is a great option. It has a 5.2" touchscreen, 64 GB storage, 4 GB RAM and an octo-core processor. It also features the latest Android OS and 12 MP rear camera. It is a powerful phone for the price, and this current deal has it $50 off retail price.

See the Moto G Plus (5th Gen) on BH Photo
Also at a good price but may be currently out of stock: Moto G Plus (5th Gen) on Amazon

That concludes our list of deals. Let us know in the comments below if we missed any great deals and we will try to add it to the list!

Join us on Facebook for the latest posts, news and deals. Plus get help from our community or send us a message directly with your questions.

We recently updated our post on the 6 Major Differences between Smartphones and Dumb Phones with some of the differences being a little surprising for some.

And check out our Guide to How Data Works with Tracfone including how to buy extra data if you run out.

Thanks for visiting!

March 2, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2018

Tracfone Promo Code List - March 2018

tracfone promo codes
Tracfone Promo Code March 2018
Spring is in the air (for some of us, at least), and with winter starting to thaw, we have new promotional codes to use with Tracfone airtime cards for extra minutes.

Tracfone promo codes can be used when adding an airtime card to receive additional minutes for free. These codes are usually for a specific card, but sometimes can also be used with cards of greater value.

Most smartphones can use these promo codes, like the recently released LG Rebel 3, and there are also some codes for the smartphone only cards Tracfone offers.

This list includes the latest promo codes for March 2018. We also have a larger list with more codes on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

If you are new to Tracfone, or are unsure how all the airtime or promo codes work, start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which shares some basics resources for how it all works.

Now let's get to the list of codes.

Tracfone Promo Codes - March 2018

Regular Airtime Codes
60 Minute Card use code 12745 to get 60 bonus minutes (still working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 90477 for 40 free minutes

200 Minute Card add code 98487 to receive 50 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card use 40741 for 50 extra minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 98580 and get 300 bonus minutes

Smartphone Only Codes
$15 Smartphone Card use code 40550 for 100 bonus talk minutes
$35 Smartphone Card enter 48757 to get 200 free talk minutes
1000 Text Only Card use 85882 for 500 free texts

These are the latest codes for March 2018. Let us know in the comments below which code you tried and how it worked.

Keep up with the latest news and info on our Facebook page where we also have a growing community of Tracfone users.

See the list of Latest Phones from Tracfone to keep up with new releases. Or visit our Cell Phone Reviews page.

And don't miss out on the best deals and sales on Tracfone cell phones and airtime which we update almost every month.

Thanks for visiting!

February 15, 2018

Tracfone Latest Phones 2018 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2018

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2018
List of New Tracfones in 2018
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2018.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2018

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • iPhone 7
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samusng, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2018

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL)
The LG Rebel 3 brings several updates to the popular Rebel lineup and is also one of the first new phones from Tracfone in 2018. With a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0.1, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM, it offers great specs for the price - which is currently $59 on HSN with an airtime bundle.

Learn more about the LG Rebel 3 in our Review.

We will continue to add new phones as they are released.

And below are phones released by Tracfone in 2017.

Tracfone Cell Phones Released in 2017

LG Fiesta 2
Almost identical to the original Fiesta, the new Fiesta 2 comes with 2 GB RAM instead of 1.5 GB. Otherwise it shares the same 5.5" screen, Android 7.0 and 13 MP Camera that also comes with the Fiesta.

Find the Fiesta 2 on Amazon for $99.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(Last check it was in stock!) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or with airtime bundle for $99

Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!


If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

And see where Tracfone is going in 2018 with our article, What to Expect from Tracfone in 2018.

Thanks for visiting!
(Updated - Feb 2018)

February 13, 2018

LG Rebel 3 (L!58VL) Review for Tracfone

Tracfone LG Rebel 3 (L 158VL) Review - Specs, Features and More!

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer - with news, reviews and much more!
lg rebel 3 tracfone review
Tracfone LG Rebel 3 Review

The LG Rebel 3 is now available from Tracfone featuring several significant updates over the older Rebel models that Tracfone still offers. Learn all about what this phone has to offer, how it compares to other Tracfone devices, and where to find it for a great price.

The Rebel 3 comes with a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0 Nougat, Quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal memory. The biggest changes over the older Rebel phones is the extra RAM and internal memory.

This phone is one of the first new devices from Tracfone in 2018 and while it doesn't offer any groundbreaking specs at first glance, it is very reasonably priced and will make a great budget smartphone. We expect Tracfone to release several more phones in the near future, and you can find any new phones on our list of Latest Tracfone Smartphones (2018).

Now let's look at the quick facts for the LG Rebel 3:

LG Rebel 3 Quick Facts

What we Like:
Android 7.0 Nougat
16 GB Memory
Reasonable Price

What we Don't Like
CDMA - Tracfone needs more GSM options
No Triple Minutes

As with many of the newer phones from Tracfone, the Rebel 3 does not include Triple Minutes for Life which is disappointing. Learn more about these changes in our post, Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life.

Let's see the full list of specs now.

Tracfone LG Rebel 3 (L158VL) Features and Specs

Features listed first, followed by the technical specs
  • Android 7.0 Nougat
  • 4G LTE (Verizon CDMA)
  • WiFi
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • MP3 Player
  • Alarm Clock
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, SMS/MMS
  • 5 MP Rear Camera/ 5 MP Front
LG Rebel 3 Specs
  • Size: 5.7" x 2.8" x 0.3"
  • 5" TFT Touchscreen (480x854 resolution)
  • 1.1 Ghz quad-core processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon)
  • 2 GB RAM
  • 16 GB Internal Memory (About 10 GB Usable)
  • Battery: 2500 mAh with 12 hrs talk time, 11 days standby
Several of the features on the LG Rebel 3 are similar to the Rebel 2 (such as the processor and screen size), but there are some improvements that go a long way in making the Rebel 3 much more usable for the majority of consumers. We will look more closely at some phone comparisons further on.

LG Electronics is a multinational electronics company based in South Korea that manufactures ans sells a wide variety of devices such as TVs, Appliances, cell phones and more.

They are one of the largest smartphone manufacturers and their flagship phone is currently the LG V30, which features a 6" touchscreen, octa-core processor and Android 7.1.2.  (And can be used with the Tracfone BYOP program).

While the LG Rebel 3 does not have the same performance capabilities as the V30, it is very capable none-the-less, and let's look at each of the main features on this phone.

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL) Review

The LG Rebel 3 comes with a 5" TFT touchscreen at a resolution of 480x854. This results in about 195 PPI, which is not quite as good as many phones with this size screen, although many of Tracfone's other devices have similar specs. The Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro, however, has an HD screen with higher resolution at the same 5" size. Brightness and colors are both good on the Rebel 3.

LG Rebel 3 tracfone
LG Rebel 3 (L158VL) Front, Side and Back
Many phones now have larger screens in the 5.5" to 6" range. A larger screen is nice for making it easier to see images and read text, but obviously creates a more bulky device. It may be worthwhile to visit an electronics store and try holding phones with various screen sizes to help choose what size is preferred. The LG Fiesta 2 and Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro both have 5.5" screens.

Internal Specs - Memory, RAM and Processor
One of the biggest improvements over the previous models is the expanded memory and RAM. the Rebel 3 has 16 GB internal memory which results in about 10 GB usable space for apps, music, pictures and more. Be aware that this space can fill quickly, so the external microSD card slot may come in handy which can hold up to 32GB.

The quad-core 1.1 Ghz processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon) and 2 GB RAM give enough power for multitasking and running most games. RAM allows the phone to run multiple apps at once, or run more resource intensive apps. We are happy to see Tracfone offering phones with enough RAM to make the phone effective for most activities. But remember that top of the line smartphones now come with closer to 4-6 GB RAM and octa-core processors.

The rear camera on the LG Rebel 3 is 5 MP and features HDR, HD video recording, flash, autofocus, 4x zoom and more. The front facing camera is also 5 MP and has a number of features for selfies including gesture shot, selfie light and cheese shot.

Overall the cameras are great for recording and sharing images or video on social media and to share with friends on family.

A 2500 mAh battery comes with the Rebel 3 which is on the small side, but fairly typical for phones of this size. Battery life is about 12 hrs with low to moderate use, 11 days on standby.

Reducing the screen brightness and putting the phone in airplane mode can go a long way to extending the battery if you are worried about running out. A car charger or external battery pack (like the Anker 10,000 mAh powercore battery) are also great options to always keep your phone powered.

Android OS
The Rebel 3 comes with the latest Android OS (7.0.1 Nougat) which is good because it is not possible to update the operating system on Tracfone devices. Android 7.0.1 features a number of improvements and appearance changes such as fast app changing (by double tapping the recent apps button), the ability to access notification settings more quickly, bundled notifications and more.

Triple Minutes
One drawback for the Rebel 3 is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. This means if you add a regular airtime card (60, 120, etc) it will only give you the amount listed on the card. You can learn more about these changes on our Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes post.

Network Connectivity
As with many of the smartphones from Tracfone, the Rebel 3 uses the CDMA network which is Verizon cell towers and is 4G LTE capable. The Rebel 2 was a GSM version, and we hope that Tracfone will release a GSM variant of the Rebel 3 but that may not happen. Tracfone offers many more CDMA phones than GSM currently. If you are looking for more GSM options, consider the Tracfone BYOP program.

Conclusion and Quick Comparison for the Rebel 3

With a number of improvements over the previous versions, the Rebel 3 is a well rounded budget smartphone that, at the current price, is a great deal. It has good performance and enough space for most user's needs.

Compared to the LG Fiesta 2, the Rebel 3 has a smaller screen, but the same storage, RAM and Android OS. The Fiesta 2 has a 13 MP camera and larger battery.

The closest comparison is with the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro, which also has a 5" screen, 16 GB memory and quad-core processor. The Luna Pro uses the older Android 6.0 and only has 1.5 GB RAM but is a very popular device and performs well for most users.

Where to Buy the LG Rebel 3

The LG Rebel 3 is currently available with an airtime bundle. We will update as it becomes available from more places

LG Rebel 3 on Amazon with 1000 Talk, 2000 Text and 2 GB Data for $45 (limited stock)
LG Rebel 3 on HSN with 1500 minutes for $59!

That is a very good deal, as the maritime alone is worth $100. This deal may not last for very long.

To learn more about the Rebel 3 take a look at the online tutorial for it.

Leave a comment below with your thoughts or questions, or join us on Facebook where we share the latest information and you can message us directly with specific questions.

Don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals and Discounts which also includes great unlocked phone options to use with the BYOP program.

And see our list of the Best Tracfone Smartphones in 2018!

Thanks for visiting!