September 24, 2020

No Bonus Minutes from a Promo Code?! Here's What To Do

What to do When You Don't Get Your Bonus Minutes from a Tracfone Promo Code

Tracfone didn't give me my bonus minutes

Have you ever entered a Tracfone Promo Code, while adding airtime, only to not get any bonus minutes added to your balance?

It can be frustrating to not get the extra bonus minutes, as they do make a big difference for many people.

Recently, this error of not giving out bonus minutes seems to be occurring a lot on the Tracfone website. If this is something that has happened to you, or you like getting your bonus airtime, then this guide will help show you what to do to get your extra Tracfone minutes.

How To Get Your Promo Code Bonus Minutes Added

Not long ago this situation happened to me. I added a $5 text only card for 1000 texts and used a promo code for our Tracfone Promo Code List for an extra 1000 bonus texts.

In the checkout screen the promo code was applied, and I purchased the airtime.

tracfone bonus minutes problem

But when I checked my balance, only the 1000 texts from the $5 airtime card had been added. There was no sign of the additional 1000 bonus texts. 

Now, be aware that there is a delay sometimes on the Tracfone account page for showing airtime you have just purchased, but there are other ways to also check your airtime, and sometimes they show the updated airtime balance faster. Take a look at our Guide to Checking Your Airtime Balance to learn some different option for keeping track of your minutes.

I double checked my airtime balance and still no bonus minutes. If this happens to you, here is what to do.

tracfone stole my airtime

On the Tracfone Contact Page there are three option for contacting Tracfone - online chat, over the phone, or by mail. The best option in my experience is to start an online chat. Click the red box 'online chat' to get started. If you don't see the red chat box, try waiting a minute to see if it loads, or refresh the page. The hours that chat is available are from 8AM - 11:45PM (EST) 7 days a week.

Explain your issue as succinctly as possible, that you made a transaction and did not receive the bonus airtime. Have the promo code ready. and also your transaction ID, just in case they may want to check it.

In my situation, after about 10 minutes, the customer service agent was able to verify my purchase, and add the bonus airtime manually. 

Be sure to be clear about the problem, and have some patience as they work out the issue. I was a little surprised they were able to fix the problem so quickly, and I hope this is a sign of improving customer service from Tracfone.

Let us know how it goes for you! Leave a comment below with your thoughts, experiences or questions. Also head over to our Facebook page to join our growing community and to send us a message directly for technical questions or problems.

If you are new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide!

Take a look at some of our recent posts, including a Guide for Making your Airtime Last Longer and Everything you Need to Know about Data Cards.

And don't miss out on the our monthly Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales!

Thanks for visiting!

September 21, 2020

Verizon to Buy Tracfone - What You Need to Know

What You Need to Know About Verizon Buying Tracfone Wireless

Verizon Buying Tracfone
Verizon Buying Tracfone - What you need to know

Verizon announced in a statement that it had entered into an agreement to buy Tracfone Wireless from parent company América Móvil SAB for just under $7 Billion in cash and stock.

The statement, released on their website on Sept. 14th, 2020, indicates that the deal could close sometime in the second half of 2021. 

For current Tracfone customers, this could lead to some big changes and we will be sharing all the details we have about this acquisition including what might change, and what it means for current customers.

What Tracfone Customers Need to Know

First of all, this deal isn't set to be completed until sometime later in 2021, so for the near future, nothing is changing.

For many Tracfone customers, not much will change, as 13 million of Tracfone's 21 million total subscribers, already use the Verizon network. It is likely Verizon will continue to offer the same services and prices for prepaid customers going forward. In fact, Verizon just recently announced a new $30 unlimited plan for Verizon prepaid customers.

However, for the 7 million Tracfone customers not currently on Verizon's network, they may be faced with some changes. 

Verizon plans to make use of its existing 4G LTE network as well as its emerging 5G network to accommodate and provide service to the new subscribers.

Obviously there are a number of questions Tracfone customers might have, including, whether Verizon will honor existing service days/airtime, whether prices will change, and if ATT and T-Mobile users will be able to keep their service the same. We don't have answers for these questions yet, but will share as more information becomes available.

It is very likely that Verizon will do as much as they can to keep current Tracfone customers, and even entice new customers from other brands. The post-paid cell phone service market is fairly stagnant, with few customers changing their service provider. But for prepaid, the market is more fluid, with many consumers willing to jump to another service for a better deal. Verizon is looking to boost their own prepaid efforts, and also gain subscribers through purchasing Tracfone.

What Brands Are Affected by Verizon Buying Tracfone?

The Tracfone brand also includes a number of other brands under them that will also be affected by the acquisition:

  • Tracfone Wireless
  • Net 10 Wireless
  • Total Wireless
  • Walmart Family Mobile
  • Straight Talk
  • Simple Mobile

With such a broad variety of brands under Tracfone, it is possible Verizon may move to consolidate some of them. 

Verizon is sure to announce more details and plans as the deal progresses, and we will update with any news or changes.

Leave a comment below with your thoughts and questions, or join us on Facebook to keep up with the latest updates.

For the best deals and sales on Tracfone devices, head over to our Deals and Discounts category which features periodically updated blog posts that share the lowest prices on Tracfone devices and minutes.

And be sure to visit our Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see what's newly available!

Thanks for visiting!

September 14, 2020

Tracfone Deals and Sales - September 2020

 Best Tracfone Deals and Sales for September 2020
Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, with the latest news, reviews and promo codes!

Tracfone cheap phones
It can be a challenge when looking for a new Tracfone cell phone as there are a number of online retailers to choose from as well as in stores. But where can you get the best deal on a Tracfone smartphone?

We are here to help! We track and monitor various deals online and each month we gather the best prices on popular Tracfone smartphones and provide the updated deals to our readers below. Some of these deals include airtime bundles, and others just the phone. (The best value usually includes airtime bundles).

Prices and deals can change often, sometimes going up or down. We've included both Tracfone smartphone deals and several unlocked phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Keep up with the newest phones in our Latest list of Tracfone Smartphones (2020) like the newly available LG Stylo 5.

Now let's get to the deals.

Tracfone Deals and Sales List August 2020

LG Premier Pro Plus
Newly available for Tracfone in mid-2020, the Premier Pro Plus comes with a 6.1" HD screen, Android 9 Pie, 32 GB Storage and dual-rear cameras. It is a successor to some of the older LG devices from Tracfone, including the LG Premier Pro. Learn more about all the features on this device in our LG Premier Pro Plus Review.

The LG Premier Pro Plus is on QVC with airtime bundle for $94

Moto G7 Optimo MAXX
With a 6.2" screen and 5,000 mAh battery, the G7 Optimo MAXX has a lot of performance for the price. It also features 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM, Octa-core processor, and Android 9 Pie. The Optimo MAXX (or G7 Power, as the unlocked version is called) was released for Tracfone in April 2020 and is certainly a great option for everyday smartphone users. Learn more in our full Review of the G7 Optimo MAXX.

Get the Moto G7 Optimo MAXX with airtime bundle on HSN for $104
Find the Moto G7 Optimo MAXX with airtime bundle on QVC for $104

Moto G7 Optimo
The Moto G7 Optimo (AKA Moto G7 Play) has a 5.7" HD+ touchscreen, Octa-core processor, 32 GB storage, and Android 9.0 Pie. The G7 Optimo has a lot of potential to be a dependable, everyday smartphone for many Tracfone users. It was released in March 2020 and currently is one of our top budget smartphone picks. Check out our full review for more details.

Get the Moto G7 Optimo on eBay for $59 (Refurbished)

Moto E6
Just released in early March 2020 from Tracfone, the Moto E6 is a budget smartphone with a large, 5.5" touchscreen, runs Android 9.0 Pie, and comes with 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Storage. It also has a 13 MP rear camera and is for use on CDMA networks through Verizon. This phone follows the popular Moto E lineup and we will be sharing our review soon.

Get the Moto E6 on eBay with $30 airtime bundle for $49

Samsung Galaxy A20
Released in June 2020, the Galaxy A20 comes with a huge, 6.4" screen, 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM and an octa-core processor. It packs in dual rear cameras and fingerprint sensor, and runs Android 9 Pie. This smartphone has a lot to offer but is also a little more expensive than most Tracfone devices. Learn more in our Samsung Galaxy A20 Review.

View the Samsung Galaxy A20 with airtime bundle on HSN for $199
Get the Samsung Galaxy A20 on eBay for $169
Get the Samsung Galaxy A20 on Amazon for $147

Samsung Galaxy A10e
One of the latest Samsung devices released by Tracfone, the Samsung Galaxy A10e features a 5.83" screen, 32 GB Storage, 2 GB RAM and an Octa-core processor. It runs Android 9.0 Pie and also has Bluetooth 5.0. Get the full list of feature and more in our Review of the Galaxy A10e.


Moto G6
The G6 is a few years old at this point but still comes with a number of impressive features including more storage and performance than most of Tracfone's similarly priced options. It has 5.7" touchscreen, 32 GB internal storage, Android 8.0 Oreo and a 12 MP camera. You also get 3 GB RAM and an Octa-core processor. Definitely still a good option for some users, and especially with this great deal.


That concludes our deals and sales list and hope these help you get the best price on a new smartphone!

Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions and also join us on Facebook to connect with our growing community and get the latest info.

All the phones in our list above are VoLTE capable according to Tracfone, but you may want to take a look at our recent post about Tracfone Closing their 3G CDMA network and how it may affect you.

If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares helpful information about how it all works.

And finally don't miss out on our Tracfone Promo Code list with many different codes to get free minutes when adding airtime!

Thanks for visiting!

September 9, 2020

Tracfone Promo Codes for September 2020

 Tracfone Promo Codes - September 2020

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and promo codes!

Tracfone code sept 2020
Tracfone Promo Codes

Summer is coming to an end, the weather is slowly changing, but we are going to try and keep you cool with some fresh promotional codes for Tracfone!

Each month we post new codes from around the web after test them for our readers and visitors to use for free.

To get the free minutes, just enter the code when checking out online, on your phone, or over the phone. Some codes are for use with certain devices, or can only be used a few times.

Below are codes for regular airtime cards, add-on cards, and smartphone only cards. Select the code for the card you will use, and enjoy the bonus minutes!

These are the latest codes, but we also have many more options listed on our main Tracfone promo code page.

Don't miss out on the newest phones from Tracfone, like the Samsung Galaxy A20 or the Moto G7 Optimo MAXX, with our List of the Latest Tracfone Smartphones.

Let's get tot he codes!

Tracfone Promo Code List - September 2020

NOTE - many of these codes are one time use. We are also getting reports of some codes coming back as valid, but not actually giving the bonus airtime. If this happens to you, leave a comment or send us a message on facebook to help us understand how widespread this might be.

Smartphone Only Airtime Cards
48724 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Card - September 2020
27301 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Card - working September 2020
45999 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Card - working September 2020 
16174 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Card - working September 2020

54715 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Card - working September 2020
34603 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Card - working September 2020
27913 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Card - working September 2020
85254 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Card - working September 2020

54957 - 200 bonus Talk - $35 Smartphone Card - September 2020
13772 - 200 bonus Talk - $35 Smartphone Card - working September 2020
56955 - 200 bonus Talk - $35 Smartphone Card - working September 2020

14223 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Card - working September 2020
66975 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Card - working September 2020
78439 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Card - working September 2020

83041 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - September 2020
49413 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - working September 2020
16311 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - working September 2020
38783 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - working September 2020
88620 - 500 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - working September 2020

44282 - $15 off - $125 Smartphone Only Card - September 2020
67472 - $15 off - $125 Smartphone Only Card - working September 2020
22448 - $50 off - $125 Smartphone Only Card - working September 2020

Regular Airtime Cards
60 Minute Card - no new codes at this time

120 Minute Card  - no new codes at this time

200 Minute Card
  - no new codes at this time

450 Minute Card 
 - no new codes at this time

1 Year/400 Minute Card  - no new codes at this time

$15 off 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 69582 (online only)

These are the latest promo codes from Tracfone for September 2020. We hope these codes worked for you and leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions.

What is the best Tracfone smartphone? Check out our updated post to find out!

New to Tracfone? Start with our Beginners Guide which walks through the basics of how it all works and some resources for learning more about adding airtime, activating new phones or getting the best deals. Or learn more about the new Unlimited Smartphone Cards and how they work.

How secure is your phone? We just shared the top Smartphone Security Tips!

Join us on Facebook for all the latest posts and send us a message if you have questions!

Don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals and Sales including unlocked phones for Tracfone BYOP.

And lastly, get 7 Tips to Make your Airtime Last Longer plus data saving tips!

Thanks for visiting

August 12, 2020

Tracfone Data-Only Card and How to Reduce Data Use

Guide to Tracfone Data Cards and How to Buy Data for your Smartphone

Welcome to the TracfoneReviewer blog! This post will share specifics on how data works on smartphones with Tracfone.
tracfone data cards
How Data Works and How to Save on Data

Note - We created a full breakdown and comparison of Tracfone airtime in this post: New Prices/Changes to Tracfone Smartphone Cards.

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that offers both phones and airtime cards. On their smartphone devices, you also get data when adding an airtime card which you can use to surf the web when not connected to WiFi.

Data is very useful on smartphones, but how does the data work on Tracfone smartphones, how can you get more, and what can you do with the data you have?

We are going to cover these questions and more in this post sharing all the details about how Tracfone Data works on smartphones.

Tracfone offers a number of different smartphones and you can see all the newest devices in our List of the Latest Smartphones from Tracfone.

Or you might be interested in the Tracfone BYOP program, which allows users to bring their own smartphone. Follow the link to learn more, and see a list of the possibilities.

Both the smartphones offered by Tracfone, and the BYOP devices, use data in the same way. So let's get started looking at how data works on these phones.

What is Data on Tracfone Smartphones?

Data is the term generally used to describe the amount (usually in megabytes) you can download or upload on your smartphone via the cell phone network. So data is basically information you download or upload from the internet. This can include many different activities, like checking email, posting photos on Facebook, reading webpages, or watching videos.

Data is consumed based on the amount of megabytes you download or upload. So if you download a 20 MB image, that will use 20 MB of your data. If you visit a webpage that takes 1 MB to load, you will use 1 MB of data. (further down we will share more on estimating how much different online activities will use up your data.)

On older, non-smartphone devices, data was used at a rate determined by the amount of time you were on a website, but this is not the case for smartphones which is a nice improvement.

As you can see, data works similarly to your calling minutes, in that you are charged based on how much you use. But calling minutes are based on time, rather than megabytes. (For example, if you make a 20 minute call, you will be deducted (about) 20 minutes of talk time.)

On Tracfone Smartphones and BYOP devices, airtime is split into three pools, Talk, Text and Data. Learn more about How Airtime Works with Tracfone Smartphones in our recent post.

How Can you Buy More Data for your Tracfone Device?

There are two ways to get more data for your smartphone:

Airtime Cards - You can add both Regular Airtime Cards or Smartphone Only Cards and get a certain amount of data along with talk, text and service days.
Data Only Card - You get only Data, at 1 GB for $10

For most situations you will probably want to add an Airtime card to your phone to increase all your 'buckets' of talk/text/data.

But sometimes you may only want to add data, in which case the data only cards are useful. Let's take a closer look at Data cards to better understand how to use them.

What Are Data Only Cards?

As mentioned above, the Data only card increase the amount of data for your smartphone, without adding any additional texts or talk minutes.

This is similar to the Text only cards we recently discussed.

There are some important things to be aware of the make the Data only cards unique.

First, they can only be used with smartphones, including the Android devices offered by Tracfone, and all phones offered through the BYOP program.

Second, like the Text only card, Data only cards do not triple, so you get the amount listed on the card (1 GB).

Data Card Amount and Cost Per MB Compared to Airtime Cards

Tracfone just offers one Data only card option at this time:
  • 1 GB for $10
This results in 1 cent per MB of data.

Cost per MB for Tracfone Data cards and Airtime cards Compared:

Below is a table with all of the current airtime cards from Tracfone and how much data comes with each one. We've included both Smartphone only cards and regular airtime cards.
how much data do you get with tracfone
Tracfone Data Amounts and Cost per MB
There are two key points to take note of from this Chart:
  • Smartphone only cards come with a lot more data compared to regular airtime cards
  • Smartphone only cards are a better deal for data (except the 1500 and 200 minute cards)

In general, if you only need data, the data only card is a good deal. But if you also need talk and texts, then the 300 or 750 minute smartphone cards are a good deal.

Where to Buy Tracfone Data Cards

Tracfone Data cards are available form a variety of sources, as is the case for Tracfone Airtime cards. You can find Data cards on the Tracfone website under Airtime.

You can also find the Tracfone Data cards in many retail stores, and even online through other retailers. We have found Data cards on eBay in various amounts.

Now let's cover one more question that we see asked quite often.

How Much Can you Do Online with 300 MB of Data?

A common question we see is, what can you do online with a certain amount of data? This is a very good question, because many people tend to estimate how many airtime minutes they will need, and then buy the airtime card that suits their needs best. But if you're unfamiliar with how much data is used by smartphones, it makes it hard to estimate.

It is a little hard to give a straight answer to this question, it all depends on what you do online  Take a look at this image (provided by Tracfone) to help give you a better idea:

tracfone 300mb of data what you can do
Estimated usage for 300 MB of data with Tracfone
From this table we see you can visit about 245 webpages with 300 MB of data, or send/receive about 4000 emails. Hopefully this information will help you gain a better understanding of how data is used with Tracfone, and where your data is going.

If you notice, doing certain things online, like streaming music, or even more so, streaming video, will use your data quickly, while visiting webpages or sending emails, especially those with few images, will use less of your data.

Another good resource for estimating your data usage is the Data Calculator on Verizon's website. Enter your estimated activities, and it will tell you about how much data you will use in a month.

Remember, that if you want to stop using data, you can go into the settings on your device, select data, and turn it off. Using WiFi networks, like at your home or work, does not deduct from your data.

Tips for Reducing Data Use

tracfone data saving tips

Here are some helpful tips to reduce the amount of data you use.
  • Keep track of your data use and set data use warnings to help
  • Turn off background data (learn more here)
  • Download/upload large files over WiFi as much as possible
  • If you use Google Maps often in a certain area, download the map of that area over WiFi. Here is some helpful information about using Google Maps without using data.
  • Download songs/podcasts over WiFi instead of streaming them.
  • Set your Apps to only update over WiFi.
  • Download Images/Videos only when using WiFi
As you can see, the best way to reduce data usage is to avoid using it for large downloads or uploads, which will quickly drain your data. Using free WiFi whenever possible will go a long way in extending your data.

Here is a helpful article on what online activities use data, and some other basic details about data usage from an AT&T Forum.

We hope you found this information helpful, and please leave a comment with any questions, or if you have something to add!

Learn the basics of how Tracfone works with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Find us on Facebook and join over 4000 followers who get the latest news and updates.

Take a look at one of our other popular posts, the Over 30 Great Android Apps to use with your Smartphone.

And check our recent post on 7 Ways to Reduce Your Airtime Usage with Tracfone including some more tips for making your data last longer.

Thanks for visiting!

Originally published 8/2015 and Updated 8/2020