April 25, 2019

How to Check Your Tracfone Airtime Balance

6 Ways to Check your Minutes Balance on Tracfone Smartphones

Below we share how you can check your airtime on Tracfone smartphones. If you're new to Tracfone, consider taking a look at our Beginners Guide to Tracfone (opens in new window).

tracfone airtime balance android
Check Airtime Balance on Tracfone Smartphone

On older, non Android phones, airtime and service days are displayed on the home screen and via the prepaid menu for easy monitoring.

But on Android Smartphones, there is no automatic menu or display for your airtime. So how can you check your balance? We will answer that here, with several different ways!

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that also sells phones to use with their service. They have a wide variety of phones, from flip phones to touchscreen smartphones. Visit the Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see recent options including some of the latest Android devices.

On Android smartphones, minutes are not treated the same as on feature phones, they are split into three buckets for texts/talk/data.

It is always important to keep track of your airtime and service days with Tracfone because if you run out of minutes or service days, you can't make any calls. Now with your texts, talk and data split into different buckets for Android phones, it is even more important to keep track of how many of each you have remaining. Take a look at our explanation of How Minutes Work on Android Phones for more information.

We've also Compared the New Smartphone-only cards to the Regular Airtime Cards to determine which card is the best deal.

Well, if you're having trouble checking your airtime on a Tracfone smartphone, we've got an easy solution for you, actually we have four different solutions!

How to Check your Tracfone Balance on a Smartphone

Because it is so important to manage your airtime with Tracfone, we've included several different ways to check your balance! Not all of these methods will work for everyone, but hopefully you can find a convenient way to check your balance.

1. Use the Tracfone My Account App

Tracfone provides an Android app to help manage your account and it is a helpful for tracking your airtime.

tracfone balance
Tracfone My Account App airtime balance
Once you download the The Tracfone App (follow the link to it on Google Play)  you can enter your details and keep up with your remaining minutes.

You can even add a widget to your home-screen that will display your airtime, much like on older feature phones!

Download the Tracfone My Account App:

Step 1 -  Go to the Google Play Store on your phone (through the Google Play Store App)  and search for 'Tracfone My Account'. (or follow the link) Select the app and choose 'Install'

Step 2 - Once the app is installed, launch it and enter your Tracfone account login details. If you don't already have a Tracfone account, simply go to the Tracfone website and create one.

Step 3 - Use the app to check your remaining balance. At this point you can also install a widget on your homescreen so you can always view your balance. To do this, tap and hold in an open space on your homescreen and then select widgets at the top of the screen. From the drop down of apps, select the Tracfone My Account widget.

If you don't have the space for this app on your phone, or want to check your balance online, you can use any of the following methods.

2. View Your Airtime on the Tracfone Website

You can always go to the Tracfone website, whether from your phone or on a computer, and log in and view your account details. From there you can check your airtime balance and it should show your remaining minutes, and/or send you a free text with this information.

Speaking of texts, you can now buy extra text messages for your phone. Read our analysis of the new Text Message card and more!

3. Use the Following URL to Check your Airtime Balance:

Some readers shared this easy trick for checking your airtime balance. It appears to sometimes redirect users to log into their Tracfone account, but it is a convenient method if it works.

You can enter the following URL to check your balance:
"https://www.tracfone.com/direct/CheckBalance?input_phone=1234567890" (replace 1234567890 with your phone number, and don't include the "" quotation marks). You should get a text with your balance.

And this next option for checking your airtime is maybe the fastest, but only works for GSM users.

4. Call *777*1# from your Smartphone to Check your Balance

Check Tracfone Balance
Check your Tracfone Balance from your Phone!
This is by far the fastest and easiest way to check your airtime on a Tracfone Smartphone or BYOP device. However, it only works for some devices (GSM). A number of readers have reported they are unable to use this, so if you try it and it doesn't work, use one of the other methods above.

All you do is call *777*1# and you should get a pop-up within a few seconds that shows your talk, text and data. If you get something else, or an error, then it doesn't work on your phone.

Need gift ideas? Check out our List of the Best Gift Ideas for Smartphone Users (2018)


5. Text 'Balance' to 611611 for your Airtime Balance

This is a newer option for Tracfone users to get their airtime balance sent directly to your text message inbox. You get your talk, text and data totals, plus your service end date.

Standard messaging rates apply, so you will be deducted for the texts.

6. Enter your Phone Number on this Page to See Your Airtime Balance:

Visit http://www.fastactportal.com/static/balance and enter your phone number to retrieve your balance.

check tracfone airitme
Bonus Method for Checking your Airtime
This appears to work for both smartphones and non-smartphones, and will display your service days as well. You can bookmark that site on your phone or computer, and check it at your convenience.

Tracking your airtime is important, so that you don't run out at an inconvenient time when you really need the phone.

Tracfone has expanded their options for monthly and automatic renewal plans, and they can be a good fit for many. You can sign up on the Tracfone website, and cancel at any time.

If you're shopping for a smartphone, be sure to check out our List of the Best Tracfone Smartphones in 2019, which includes some of best current smartphones available from Tracfone. And see our post on the Major Differences between Android and Non-Android phones from Tracfone.

Keep up with the latest Tracfone news, info, deals and tips by joining over 2500 others who Follow us on Facebook! It is also a great place to ask questions!

You can also Bring Your Own Phone to Tracfone, including devices like the Moto G7, iPhone X and Samsung Galaxy S10.

See our Latest list of Deals and Discounts on Tracfone cell phones, but be careful, you might find a deal too good to pass up!

Thanks for visiting and leave a comment if you have thoughts or questions to share.

Originally published on 2/272015 and updated on 4/25/2019.

April 8, 2019

Tracfone Deals and Sales - April 2019

List of Tracfone Deals and Sales for April 2019

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and promo codes!

Tracfone phone on sale
Tracfone Best Deals and Sales
Shopping for a new Tracfone device can be difficult with many options available from a variety of different retailers. It can be challenging to find the lowest price or even know if you are getting a good deal.

We are here to help! We are often monitoring various deals and each month we gather the best prices on popular Tracfone smartphones to give our readers the best deals here.

Prices and deals can change often, sometimes going up or down. We've included both Tracfone smartphone deals and several unlocked phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Keep up with the newest phones in our Latest list of Tracfone Smartphones (2019).

Now let's get tot he deals.

Tracfone Deals and Sales List - April 2019


ZTE Z233 Flip (Refurbished)
The ZTE Flip is a basic phone with 4G connectivity and CDMA service. It is probably best suited as a backup phone or for those who don't want to use a smartphone. With this deal you get a reconditioned Flip phones for just $9

Get the ZTE Flip on eBay for $9

LG Rebel 4
The Rebel 4 is a small, budget friendly smartphone with a 5" touchscreen, 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and runs Android 8.0 Oreo. The Rebel is smaller than most phones which makes it a popular choice for some users who prefer that. Learn more about this smartphone in our LG Rebel 4 Review.

Find the LG Rebel on Amazon for $49
Also available on QVC with 1200 minutes for $79

Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
The J7 Crown comes with a 5.5" touchscreen, octa-core processor and runs Android 8.0 Oreo. It also has 16 GB Storage and 2 GB RAM. It has been a popular choice for many Tracfone users but is also a little more expensive than many of the other prepaid devices from Tracfone. Now there are several deals on the Galaxy Crown including airtime bundles. Take a look at our full review for further details about the Crown.

See the Samsung Galaxy Crown on Amazon for $99
Find the Samsung Galaxy Crown on eBay with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $134
Get the Samsung Galaxy Crown with airtime bundle on QVC for $139

Alcatel TCL LX
With a 5.4" touchscreen, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage, the TCL LX is one of the cheapest smartphones from Tracfone that runs Android 8.1 Oreo. While the quality and reliability of this phone might not be quite at the same level as more expensive devices, it can make for a great backup or secondary phone.

Get the Alcatel TCL LX from Walmart, Target or Bestbuy for $29

Moto E5
Tracfone deals and sales 2019
Tracfone Moto E5
A low cost phone with a large screen, the Moto E5 comes with a 5.7" touchscreen, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM to go with the 1.4 Ghz quad-core processor. It runs on CDMA networks, has Android 8.0 Oreo and a surprisingly long battery life thanks to a 4,000 mAh battery. Get all the features and specs for the Moto E5 in our review.

Get the Moto E5 on Amazon for $69

Moto G6
The Tracfone Moto G6 has a large, 5.7" screen, octa-core processor, 3 GB RAM and 32 GB storage. It brings a number of higher end features and specs to a budget device and is available fro less than $200. We saw some really great discounts on the G6 around the holidays, but these deals are still quite good. For more on the Moto G6 visit our review.

Get the Moto G6 on eBay for $149
Get the Moto G6 on HSN with airtime bundle for $149 (limited time deal)
See the Moto G6 from Walmart for $169
Also available with airtime bundle from HSN for $199

Unlocked Smartphone Deals for Tracfone BYOP

Moto X (4th Gen)
While the Moto X was released a little while back, it still boasts performance on par with the Moto G6, or even a little better in some areas. It features a 5.2" touchscreen, 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage, Octa-core processor and Android 8.0 (upgradable to Android 9). It also has dual rear cameras (12 MP main shooter) and is water resistant with an IP68 rating. This deal from amazon is for prime members only and the phone comes with amazon Alexa.

Get the Moto X (4th Gen) from Amazon for $129

Moto G7
The latest in the Moto G lineup, the G7 features a large, 6.2" touchscreen, 64 GB storage, 4 GB RAM, and runs Android 9.0 Pie. It was released at the beginning of March 2019 and is unlocked for use with either GSM or CDMA service on Tracfone BYOP. Take a look at our Full Moto G7 Review to learn more about this new device.

Available from Amazon for $299 (Prime members get a $30 gift card with purchase)
Available from BHphoto for $299 (Get a $30 BHphoto gift card with purchase)

unlocked cell phone deals
BLU Vivo XL4
BLU VIVO XL4
Looking for a very large screen at a low price? The Vivo XL4 might be a good option with a huge, 6.2" touchscreen, 32 GB storage and 3 GB RAM, this phone packs a lot of features in at a low price. It also comes with dual rear cameras, Android 8.0 Oreo and is compatible with GSM networks.

Get the BLU Vivo XL4 on Amazon for $149

Moto G6
One of the best budget smartphones available, the G6 has the same specs as the Tracfone version, but the unlocked Moto G6 is compatible with either CDMA or GSM networks. Along with a 5.7" screen, 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM and dual rear cameras, it runs runs Android 8.0 Oreo and will likely be upgraded to Android Pie when that is available.

Get the Moto G6 unlocked from Amazon for $169

That concludes our deals and sales list for April 2019. We hope these help you get the best price on a new smartphone!

Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions and also join us on Facebook to connect with our growing community and get the latest info.

Take a look at what the future might hold for Tracfone in 2019 and some of our predictions.

If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares helpful information about how it all works.

And finally don't miss out on our Tracfone Promo Code list with many different codes to get free minutes when adding airtime!

Thanks for visiting!

April 1, 2019

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2019

Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2019

Get the latest news, reviews and promo codes here at TracfoneReviewer.

tracfone promo codes
Tracfone Promo Code List
Winter is thawing for many, spring is on the way, and we've got new Tracfone promo codes to share!

Each month we collect these codes and post them here for our readers to use and get the free minutes. These promo codes are for use with Tracfone when adding an airtime card.

We have promo codes for both the regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards. These codes are just the latest codes, and we have more options on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

If you are looking for a new phone, see the best options in our List of Latest Tracfone Smartphones or consider the unlocked Moto G7 we recently reviewed that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Now, let's get tot he codes.

Tracfone Promo Code List April 2019

Regular Airtime Cards

60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter 48189 for 40 extra minutes

200 Minute Card add code 17158 and receive 50 free minutes

450 Minute Card (no new codes at this time - use one of the codes above)

1 Year/400 Minute Card add 16756 for 300 extra free minutes

$15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 85206 (online only)


Smartphone Only Airtime Cards

83407 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Only Card - April 2019

22505 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Only Card - April 2019

38783 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Only Card - Working April 2019

14223 - 500 bonus MB Data - 1 GB Data Card - Working April 2019

These are the latest codes to use when adding a Tracfone airtime card. We hope these codes work for you! Leave a comment below and let us know which code you used and how it worked.

See what phones are on sale in our Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales post with both Tracfone smartphones and great deals on unlocked devices.

Join our growing community on Facebook with helpful members who can answer questions or message us directly with your questions!

Finally, if you are new to Tracfone start with our Beginners Guide which runs through the basics of how it all works and more!

Thanks for visiting!

March 21, 2019

Tracfone Latest Phones 2019 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2019

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2018
List of New Tracfones in 2019
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list contains the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month as we get into 2019.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2019

Several new high end phones may be coming to Tracfone including the iPhone 8, iPhone X, Moto G7 and more. We will be adding any information as soon as it is confirmed!

In fact, the Unlocked Moto G7 is already available and we've got a full Moto G7 Review with complete specs and more so check it out!

We don't always know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2019

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

Alcatel MyFlip A405DL
The MyFlip is, as the name suggest, a basic flip phone released by Tracfone for use on CDMA networks. It has 4G connectivity and basic features one would expect on a flip phone such as a 2 MP camera and a 2.8" screen. The phone will last about 18 days on standby, and is probably best suited for those looking for a backup phone. The Alcatel MyFlip is on the Tracfone website for $20.

Alcatel TCL LX A502DL
This Alcatel brand device features a 5.43" touchscreen with 18:9 ratio and 480x960 resolution along with 1.1Ghz processor and 16 GB Storage/2 GB RAM. It is relatively inexpensive for the features, at just $49 retail and often available for less, but this Android 8.1 smartphone doesn't pack a lot of performance and might be best suited to low to moderate users. Find the Alcatel TCL LX A502DL from several retailers including Amazon, Tracfone and HSN.

Motorola Moto G6
The latest budget smartphone from Motorola is now available directly through Tracfone. The Moto G6 features a 5.7" Full HD touchscreen, Octa-core processor with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB internal memory. It also has dual rear cameras and runs Android 8.0. Unlocked versions of the Moto G6 have been available for use with Tracfone BYOP since the phone was released but now the Tracfone version is available.

The Moto G6 is a very attractive phone at a reasonable price and visit our Moto G6 Review for full specs and features.

Samsung Galaxy J3 Orbit
Tracfone continues to update their cell phone lineup with the Galaxy J3 Orbit which has a 5" touchscreen, runs Android 8.0 Oreo and has 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon).

On paper the J3 Orbit looks a little overpriced compared to other options, and you can see the full details and specs in our Review of the J3 Orbit.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
The latest phone in the Galaxy J7 lineup, the Crown features a 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 8.0 Oreo and 13 MP camera. It also comes with an octa-core processor, 16 GB internal storage and 2 GB RAM.

It has a variety of improvements over the previous version, but also has a slightly higher price. Learn more and find out where to buy in our Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown Review.

LG Rebel 4 (L212VL/L211BL)
The latest version of the LG Rebel comes with a 5" screen, 1.4 Ghz quad-core processor, 8 MP rear camera, and most notably, Android 8.1 Oreo. It also features a removable battery and 2 GB RAM with 16 GB Storage.

The Rebel 4 brings modest upgrades compared to the previous version (Rebel 3) and is expected to have two versions, one for GSM and another for CDMA networks.

Learn more in our full Review of the LG Rebel 4

Moto E5 (XT1920DL)
The Moto E5 has a 5.7" screen with 18:9 screen ratio, 4000 mAh battery and runs Android 8.1 Oreo. The unlocked version was only just released in May, 2018, and now Tracfone is offering a slightly modified version as well.

The Moto E line is known for good battery life and dependable performance at a very budget friendly price.

See our full review of the Moto E5 to learn more!

LG Stylo 4 (L713DL)
Featuring the largest screen of any Tracfone device, the LG Stylo 4 has a 6.2" FHD touchscreen, 13 MP camera, octa-core processor, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM. It also comes with Android 8.1 Oreo which has access to over a million apps on Google Play.

It is currently available for CDMA networks.

Learn more and see where to buy, with our Full Review of the LG Stylo 4 from Tracfone

iPhone 7/ iPhone 6S Plus
The iPhone 7 and iPhone 6S Plus are both available on the Tracfone website and offer high-end features at a hefty price. The iPhone 7 comes with a 4.7" screen, iOS 10, 32 GB storage and a 12 MP camera. The iPhone 6S Plus features a larger, 5.5" touchscreen, iOS 9, 32 GB Storage and 12 MP camera. Apple smartphones are well known for their impressive camera performance, and these two iPhones are no exception, with the capability of capturing excellent photos and video.

The iPhone 7 is available form Tracfone for $599 now $324
the iPhone 6S Plus is available form Tracfone for $399 now $174


LG Premier Pro (L413DL)
Stepping in right between the Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the LG Premier Pro has a 5.3" screen, Android 7.1, 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and a quad core processor. It shares a number of similarities with other recent phones from LG but offers a middle ground in screen size.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Premier Pro

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)
With a lot of similar specs to the LG Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 does stand out with a large, 5.7" touchscreen. This phone also has 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, a 13 MP camera, and runs Android 7.0.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Stylo 3

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL/157BL)
The LG Rebel 3 brings several updates to the popular Rebel lineup and is also one of the first new phones from Tracfone in 2018. With a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0.1, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM, it offers great specs for the price - which is currently $59 on HSN with an airtime bundle.

Tracfone now offers both a GSM and CDMA version of this phone. The GSM version is only available from the Tracfone Website at this time and we include a link in our review.  Learn more about the LG Rebel 3 in our Review.

We will continue to add new phones as they are released.

And below are phones released by Tracfone in 2017.

Tracfone Cell Phones Released in 2017

LG Fiesta 2
Almost identical to the original Fiesta, the new Fiesta 2 comes with 2 GB RAM instead of 1.5 GB. Otherwise it shares the same 5.5" screen, Android 7.0 and 13 MP Camera that also comes with the Fiesta.

Find the Fiesta 2 on Amazon for $99.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(Last check it was in stock!) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

Learn how to Make your Airtime Last Longer and also check out our recent post on How Data works with Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!
(Last Update - December 2018)

March 15, 2019

Moto G7 (Unlocked) Review - Tracfone BYOP

Review of the Moto G7 with Specs and Features

Full review of the new unlocked Moto G7 by TracfoneReviewer
Tracfone byop moto g7
Moto G7 Review (unlocked)

The latest in a long line of popular budget smartphones from Motorola has been released in the form of the Moto G7.

It features a 6.2" touchscreen, Octa-core processor, dual rear cameras, 4 GB RAM and 64 GB internal storage. It also comes with the latest Android OS, 9.0 Pie.

Motorola announced the G7 in February 2019 and it was released in early March 2019. Along with the Moto G7, there are three variants, the Moto G7 Power, Moto G7 Plus, and Moto G7 Play. We will share further details about each of these phones a little later on.

The Moto G line has been very popular with Tracfone users because great features they offer at a reasonable price. And Moto G phones are compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks (including the Moto G7) making it very easy to add it to the Tracfone BYOP program.

The previous version, the Moto G6, was so popular that Tracfone even released a branded version for use with CDMA networks and it is still a popular choice.

Let's look at some quick pro's and con's for the unlocked Moto G7.

Moto G7 Quick Facts:
The Good
-Great processor, RAM and storage
-Unlocked for either GSM or CDMA
-Latest Android OS with minimal extra apps
-Large, bright screen

Not so Good
-More expensive than last year - $299
-No NFC
-Glass back
-Non-removable battery

The base price of the Moto G7 is more expensive than last year's model and for some, the increase may be a factor when considering this phone. But with the slightly higher price the G7 comes with several great features including 64 GB internal storage to hold plenty of apps and media, and 4 GB RAM to smoothly navigate multiple apps at once.

The G7 does not come wtih NFC and it also has a glass back which tends to attract fingerprints.

Let's take a look at the full list of features and specs now.

Moto G7 Features and Specs

  • Android 9.0 Pie
  • Unlocked for GSM or CDMA 4G LTE
  • Access to over 1 million apps on Google Play
  • WiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • Standard 3.5mm headphone jack
  • Micro USB Type-C charging port
  • Fingerprint reader
  • IP54 protection rating
  • Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Technical Specifications
Size: 6.18 x 2.96 x 0.31 in (6.07 oz)
Camera: Dual Rear Camera (12 MP + 5 MP) and 8 MP Front Camera
Screen: 6.2" full HD touchscreen with 2270x1080 resolution (405 ppi) and 19:9 ratio
Processor: 1.8 Ghz Octa-core (Qualcomm Snapdragon 632)
Memory: 4 GB
Storage: 64 GB and supports up to 128GB via MicroSD card
Battery: 3000 mAh (non-removable)

While the Moto G7 has some similarities to the previous Moto G6, such as a similar camera setup and battery size, it also has some very noticeable improvements including increased RAM and storage, as well as a larger screen.

Motorola first launched the original Moto G in November 2013 as a low cost, unlocked option to use with prepaid carriers and overseas. After only  a few months the Moto G was Motorola's top selling phone ever, and signaled a high demand for unlocked budget smartphones.

Since 2013 Motorola has released a new model every year while also changing ownership from Google to the current parent company, Lenovo.

How does the latest generation look and is it a good value for Tracfone BYOP? Let's get into the full review to find out.

Moto G7 Review

Touchscreen
moto g7 review
G7 vs G4 Plus Size Comparison
The G7's 6.2" touchscreen is bright, sharp and looks great even outdoors. It is full HD and has a resolution of 2270x1080 with a pixel density of about 405. The screen size is a jump up from previous versions, but the actual size of the phone hasn't changed much, thanks to a greater screen to body ratio. In fact, comparing the G7 to a Moto G4 Plus (with a 5.5" screen) the two phones are almost identical in size with the G7 slightly thinner and longer.

There is a notch at the top of the screen where the selfie camera is located that cuts into the screen a little and looks odd at first but a number of cell phone manufactures have gone this route in order to extend the screen as far as possible.


Internal Specs - RAM, Memory and Processor
The base Moto G7 model comes with 4 GB RAM for excellent multitasking as well as 64 GB internal storage. About 12 GB is used by the operating system and pre-installed apps leaving 52 GB for apps, media and more. The phone also has a micro SD card slot in the SIM tray that can add up to 128 GB additional storage.

While at first glance it seems the 1.8 Ghz Octa-core processor sounds the same as the one in the Moto G6, it is actually a newer, Snapdragon 632 processor (vs a snapdragon 450 in the G6). The newer processor leads to faster LTE speeds among other benefits.

If you are looking for ways to track and check your airtime, be sure to check out 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime including several bonus options.

moto g7 with tracfone
Front, side and back view of the Moto G7

Camera
We have a dual rear camera setup on the G7 with a 12 MP main camera and 5 MP depth sensor for getting portrait style photos. The rear camera also has flash, panorama, timelapse and slow motion. For video, the G7 can shoot 4K at 30fps or 1080p at 60fps and has electronic image stabilization. Image quality is good overall, but it does take a moment to process the photos sometimes, especially when shooting at night or in difficult lighting.

moto g7 cameras
Rear Cameras and Fingerprint Reader
The front 8 MP selfie camera does its job just fine without any issues and can record up to 1080p 30fps


Battery
With a 3000 mAh battery and such a large screen, one would not suspect the Moto G7 to be such a great performer when it comes to battery life but thanks to a combination of efficient processor and software tweaks and this phone easily lasts all day with moderate usage. And if it does start to get low, the fast charging (with the included 15W charger) has the phone back to full in an hour or less. The battery is not removable unfortunately.

Android OS
Featuring the latest Android OS, the Moto G7 comes with 9.0 Pie which has a number of features and upgrades over previous versions. Some of the most exiting include adaptive battery and brightness, which are tools that help your phone's battery last longer. Android Pie also has a number of navigation and display tweaks to help users seamlessly transition from one app to another, or find what they are looking for faster. And you also get a usage tracking dashboard to see how much time you are spending on your phone and with which apps. To learn more about all the new features, visit Android's official page.

And if you're looking for apps for your new phone, check out the Best Android Apps for Tracfone users.

Overall Design
moto g7 front screen design
Moto G7 Front Camera Notch
The Moto G7 feels sleek and beautiful with the glass back and rounded corners. But it also feels a little delicate (even though it does have Gorilla Glass 3 protection) and the back does attract fingerprints quickly. The placement of the volume and power buttons on the right side are fine, and the fingerprint reader on the back is actually very convenient in our testing. Adding a simple case to the G7 gives a little more peace of mind and a better grip without adding much bulk. The phone looks and feels great, which just goes to show how far manufacturers have come in the budget phone market.


The SIM card and Micro SD card are accessible in a tray on the top. An included thin metal key must be used to open the tray, but any paperclip would also work.

Moto G7 Play and Power
Two additional versions of the G7 will also be available in the US in the form of the G7 Play and G7 Power.

The G7 Play has a smaller, 5.7" touchscreen with 720x1512 resolution, a single, 12 MP rear camera and just 2 GB RAM and 32 GB storage. However, it does have the same 1.8 Ghz octa-core processor, runs Android 9 Pie, and many of the other features from the G7. With a retail price of $199, the G7 Play is a bit more budget friendly albeit with some performance sacrifices.

The G7 Power has the same sized, 6.2" screen, but with a lower 720x1570 resolution. The power is a little larger and heavier than the G7, but that is mostly due to the much larger 5000 mAh battery which should easily last two days of normal usage on a single charge. The G7 Power comes with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB storage for the US version, with the international version featuring 4 GB RAM and 64 GB  storage. It also has just a single 12 MP rear camera and will retail for $249.

Moto G7 vs G6
How does the new version stack up to the previous year? Is it worth upgrading? The G7 comes with some noticeable improvements, particularly the larger screen and increased RAM and storage as well as newer processor.

Somewhat surprisingly, even with the larger screen, the G7 is only just barely larger than the G6 with a 0.5" smaller screen.

But for those who already have the G6, it isn't that much more of an improvement to warrant an upgrade as the G6 is still a great phone with 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage and an octa-core processor.

For those with older devices like the Moto G4 or Moto G5 the G7 would make an excellent upgrade.

But what about The Moto G7 Play vs the Moto G6? Both phones are available for $199 (with the Moto G6 actually available for less from many retailers). Both phones have a 5.7" screen with the G7 Play featuring a lower resolution screen but a higher screen-to-body ratio (meaning the phone is a little smaller overall).

Both phones have 32 GB storage, but the G6 has 3 GB RAM vs only 2 GB in the Play. The G6 also has the dual rear camera for portrait mode, while the G7 Play just has a single rear camera. The Play does have a newer, more efficient processor and it comes with Android 9.0 Pie .The G6 is upgradable to 9.0 Pie as well.

The two phones are pretty close, and for us, it comes down to price, with many retailers offering discounts on the Moto G6 for as low as $150.

Conclusion
Motorola has released yet another generation in their Moto G line that brings great features at a reasonable price and will certainly be popular with Tracfone BYOP users. The Play and Power variants have their own pro's and con's but offer good value. While the higher price of the G7 may make it a little less desirable compared to last year's release, it does bring some significant upgrades as well.

Will we see the G7 released by Tracfone sometime in the near future like the G6 ? We're not sure yet, but it did work very well with the G6 so they may try that again.

Using the G7 with Tracfone BYOP is very easy. Simply purchase a SIM card kit (for $1) and transfer your service from your previous phone. Be sure to record your airtime balance just in case something happens. Additionally, if you are already using a Nano SIM card, you can just take it out of your old phone and put it in the G7 and it should work properly.

Where to Buy the Moto G7

Moto G7 on Amazon with Alexa
The Moto G7 is available on Amazon for $299

It is also available from Motorola and through BestBuy

This concludes our review of the Moto G7. We hope you found this information useful and leave a comment with any thoughts or questions!

If you're new to Tracfone, take a look at our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which will cover some of the basics of how airtime works, and the different phone options available.

Keep up with all the Deals, Discounts and Sales on both Tracfone devices and unlocked smartphones from around the web.

Join us on Facebook for the latest news and updates and to get any questions answered from our growing community.

Finally, don't miss our 8 Simple Tips to Take Better Cell Phone Photos.

Thanks for visiting!