May 22, 2018

Moto E5 Plus and E5 Play Budget Smartphones Coming Soon

Unlocked Moto E5 Plus and E5 Play Specs and Release Info

News, Specs and more on the Moto E5 from TracfoneReviewer

tracfone moto e5
Moto E5 Plus and Play Coming Soon
Motorola has announced several new budget smartphones - the Moto E5 Plus, E5 Play and E5. Although these will be low cost devices, they will pack some impressive features which we will share more about below.

They will likely be great options to bring to the Tracfone BYOP program as they are unlocked and compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks.

Motorola also recently announced the Moto G6, G6 Play and G6 Plus and you can follow the link to learn more. The Moto G lineup generally offers a little more performance at a higher cost compared to the Moto E line.

The Moto E5 Plus might be the most notable (and also the highest priced) with a large, 6" touchscreen, enormous 5,000 mAh battery, 3 GB RAM and 32 GB Storage. Motorola isn't expected to release the Moto E5 in the US market, so only the Plus and Play versions will be available.

The E5 Play will have a much smaller, 5.2" screen, smaller battery, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage but likely priced closer to $150 or less.

Both Moto E5 variants will have Android 8.0 Oreo, Octa-core processors and expandable storage with a Micro SD card slot.

The previous version, the Moto E4 Plus, had similar specs except a smaller, 5.5" screen, only a quad-core processor and a few other differences.

Both the E4 and E5 Plus are clearly aiming for customers who want a large screen, long battery life, but don't demand intense performance from the phone (but it can still handle most apps and games).

Below is a full list o the features and specs for the Moto E5 Plus and Moto E5 Play

Moto E5 Plus Features and Specs

Network: GSM or CDMA Compatible, Unlocked
OS: Android 8.0 Oreo
Screen: 6.0" HD Touchscreen at 1440x720 Resolution (268 dpi, 18:9 ratio)
Processor: 1.4Ghz Octa-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 435 processor
RAM: 3 GB
Storage: 32 GB
Camera: 12 MP Rear, 8 MP Front with 1080 HD Video
Battery: 5,000 mAh battery
Size: 6.33 x 2.96 x 0.37 in (6.95oz)

Additional Features:
Micro SD Card slot with up to 128 GB additional storage
Headphone Jack
Micro USB connection
Fingerprint Reader (on back)
Expected Release: Late May/Early June 2018
Expected Price: ~$200

And now let's look at the smaller, Moto E5 Play:

Moto E5 Play Features and Specs

Network: GSM or CDMA Compatible, Unlocked
OS: Android 8.0 Oreo
Screen: 5.2" HD touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
Processor: 1.4 Ghz Octa-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 processor
RAM: 2 GB
Storage: 16 GB
Camera: 8MP rear, 5 MP front with 1080 HD video
Battery: 2800 mAh (removable)
Size: 5.94 x 2.91 x 0.35 in (5.29oz)

Additional Features:
Micro SD Card slot with up to 128 GB additional storage
Headphone Jack
Micro USB connection
Fingerprint Reader (on back)
Expected Release: Late May/Early June 2018
Expected Price: ~$100-150

There are several similarities between these models, such as the Operating System, fingerprint reader and other base features, but they also have some significant differences, with the most obvious the screen size and battery.

The Moto E5 Play has a 5.2" screen which is the same size as the Moto G5 Plus, but significantly smaller than the E5 Play. Not everyone prefers a larger phone, so this is a good option for users who prefer something that fits in one hand more easily, or in a smaller pocket. With the smaller screen, and overall smaller size, the E5 Play also has a battery almost half the size of the E5 Plus. But don't worry, that still puts it right inline with most phones of this size, and users should get all day battery life.

Also important to notice is the internal storage and RAM for each of the models, with the E5 Plus featuring 3 GB RAM and 32 GB Storage, while the E5 Play only has 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Storage. Tracfone offers a number of smartphones with 16 GB storage/2 GB RAM for under $100 including the LG Premier Pro and LG Rebel 3, so these might be worth considering, although the E5 Play does have a newer OS and better processor compared to the LG phones we mentioned.

The differences continue with the camera and processors, although these aren't as significant differences. The E5 Plus does have a slightly faster processor, and better rear camera.

And, as expected, the prices will also likely be quite different, with the E5 Play likely around $100-150 and the E5 Plus somewhere around the $200 price range.

We will continue to update this as more details become available. Share your thoughts or questions in the comment section below.

Follow us on Facebook for the latest posts, news and deals.

If you're shopping for a new phone, visit our Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see what is new from Tracfone.

And if you have questions about activating a new phone, look no further than our Tracfone Smartphone Activation Guide which includes tips for activating BYOP devices as well.

Thanks for visiting!

May 14, 2018

Tracfone Latest Phones 2018 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2018

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2018
List of New Tracfones in 2018
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2018.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2018

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • Motorola G6 Play
  • iPhone 7 - Now Available! (See below)
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samusng, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2018

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

iPhone 7/ iPhone 6S Plus
The iPhone 7 and iPhone 6S Plus are both available on the Tracfone website and offer high-end features at a hefty price. The iPhone 7 comes with a 4.7" screen, iOS 10, 32 GB storage and a 12 MP camera. The iPhone 6S Plus features a larger, 5.5" touchscreen, iOS 9, 32 GB Storage and 12 MP camera. Apple smartphones are well known for their impressive camera performance, and these two iPhones are no exception, with the capability of capturing excellent photos and video.

The iPhone 7 is available form Tracfone for $599
the iPhone 6S Plus is available form Tracfone for $399


LG Premier Pro (L413DL)
Stepping in right between the Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the LG Premier Pro has a 5.3" screen, Android 7.1, 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and a quad core processor. It shares a number of similarities with other recent phones from LG but offers a middle ground in screen size.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Premier Pro

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)
With a lot of similar specs to the LG Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 does stand out with a large, 5.7" touchscreen. This phone also has 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, a 13 MP camera, and runs Android 7.0.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Stylo 3

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL/157BL)
The LG Rebel 3 brings several updates to the popular Rebel lineup and is also one of the first new phones from Tracfone in 2018. With a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0.1, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM, it offers great specs for the price - which is currently $59 on HSN with an airtime bundle.

Tracfone now offers both a GSM and CDMA version of this phone. The GSM version is only available from the Tracfone Website at this time and we include a link in our review.  Learn more about the LG Rebel 3 in our Review.

We will continue to add new phones as they are released.

And below are phones released by Tracfone in 2017.

Tracfone Cell Phones Released in 2017

LG Fiesta 2
Almost identical to the original Fiesta, the new Fiesta 2 comes with 2 GB RAM instead of 1.5 GB. Otherwise it shares the same 5.5" screen, Android 7.0 and 13 MP Camera that also comes with the Fiesta.

Find the Fiesta 2 on Amazon for $99.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(Last check it was in stock!) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

And see where Tracfone is going in 2018 with our article, What to Expect from Tracfone in 2018.

Thanks for visiting!
(Last Update - May 2018)

May 9, 2018

LG Premier Pro (L413DL) Tracfone Review

Review of the LG Premier Pro (L413DL) from Tracfone

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer. We share news, reviews and Tracfone Promo Codes!

tracfone lg premier pro l413
Tracfone LG Premier Pro Review
Tracfone releases another upgraded LG phone in the shape of the Premier Pro which has a 5.3" touchscreen, 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, Android 7.1 and quad core processor.

It shares similar features and specifications to the recently released LG Rebel 3, LG Fiesta 2 and LG Stylo 3, with screen size the key difference between these phones (ranging from 5" on the Rebel to 5.7" on the Stylo 3).

The Premier Pro replaces the older LG Premier, which shared the same screen size, but half the storage and memory. We are glad to see Tracfone continuing to expand their lineup of smartphones that include 16 GB Storage/2 GB RAM as that is about the minimum for average smartphone users needs.

As with the other LG phones from Tracfone, the Premier Pro uses CDMA networks (Verizon) but we may see a GSM version in the future.

Let's look at the quick pro's and con's for a brief overview.

LG Premier Pro Quick Facts

What we Like
-Android 7.1 Nougat
-Low cost and airtime bundle available

What we Don't Like
-Quad core processor
-Only CDMA at this time

There isn't really anything new or too exciting about the Premier Pro, but it does include the latest Android OS and is available at a reasonable price. It is disappointing that Tracfone continues to releases CDMA phones and has neglected their GSM users.

Let's go straight to the full list of specs to see more of what this phone offers.

LG Premier Pro L413DL Features and Specs

  • Android 7.1 Nougat
  • 4G LTE connectivity on Verizon CDMA network
  • WiFi (802.11 b/g/n)
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS

LG Premier Pro Technical Specs

  • Size: 5.85" x 2.96" x 0.34"
  • Camera: 8 MP rear camera, 5 MP front camera
  • Screen: 5.3" HD touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
  • Processor: 1.4 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB internal storage (about 9.5 usable) and up to 2 TB external storage via MicroSD Card
  • Battery: 2880 mAh battery with 14 hrs talk time, 16 days standby
LG is a popular and well known electronics company with a wide range of smartphones available ranging from budget devices like the Premier Pro, to high end phones such as the LG V30 or LG (wats the latest).

The features and specs on the Premier Pro are in line with the budget phone status of most Tracfone smartphones. As we have mentioned, it is fairly similar to the LG Rebel 3 and LG Fiesta 2.

But let's take a closer look at some of the key features in our full review.

Tracfone LG Premier Pro Review

Touchscreen
The screen on the LG Premier Pro is 5.3" and has a resolution of 1280x720. The display is bright and clear, but nothing beyond similar phones in this price range. What is a little unique on the Premier Pro is the curved screen which wraps back to connect with the frame and leads to a more unique look.

Many smartphones come with screens somewhere between 5" and 5.5", so the Premier Pro is right in the middle. It has a larger screen than the LG Rebel 3 and Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro, but a smaller screen than the LG Fiesta 2, LG Stylo 3 and Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro.

lg premier pro tracfone
Tracfone LG Premier Pro
Internal Specs - Processor, RAM and Storage
Featuring what appears to be the new started for Tracfone smartphones, the Premier Pro has 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and a 1.4 Ghz quad-core processor. These specs are in line with other similar models and provide good performance and enough storage for a variety of apps. There is also a MicroSD card sot for up to 2 TB additional storage which is great for those who may want to load additional media or information.

For some ideas on apps to use, see our List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone.

Camera
The Rear 8 MP camera comes with auto focus, flash, and HD video shooting capability. The front 5 MP shooter has selfie lighting, and a wide angle to help get everyone in the shot. The camera on the LG Premier Pro is enough to capture moments to share with family and friends, but is not all that impressive when comparing to some of the other camera phones on the market.

If you are looking for a budget phone with a great camera, the newly released Moto G6 might be a great option.

Battery
Battery life on the Premier Pro is fairly good with a 2880mAh battery (non-removable) included. The newer Android OS uses a combination of battery saving features to help conserve power when the phone is not in use. This phone should last the day with low to moderate use, and if running out of power is a concern, consider a car charger or external battery pack. like the Anker 10,000 mAh pack which can recharge your phone several times.

Android OS
The Premier Pro comes with Android 7.1 Nougat which is the latest version of the OS at this time. It has a variety of improvements over past versions both for security and usability.

Tracfone smartphones can't receive OS updates, so whatever OS version your phone comes with it will be stuck with so getting a phone with a more recent OS version is usually  a good idea. It is expected that Android 8.0 Oreo will be available soon.

Triple Minutes
Although Tracfone officially says that phones released after April 2017 do not include Triple Minutes for Life, they have been offering a promotion for new phone activation which gave triple minutes as a bonus.

For more on this, see our post on Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life.

Time to see how the Premier Pro stacks up to the other smartphones from Tracfone.

LG Premier Pro Comparison to LG Rebel 3/LG Fiesta 2

The Premier Pro is quite similar to several other LG smartphones released by Tracfone with mostly small differences between them. We will provide a quick list of these phones to illustrate the differences:

LG Rebel 3 - 5" screen, 5 MP camera, 1.1 Ghz quad core processor (See Review)
LG Premier Pro - 5.3" screen, 8 MP camera, 1.4 Ghz quad core processor
LG Fiesta 2 - 5.5" screen, 13 MP camera, 1.4 Ghz quad core processor (See Review)
LG Stylo 3 - 5.7" screen, 13 MP camera, 1.4 Ghz quad core processor (See Review)

Each phone comes with 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM and Android 7.1 Nougat.

The Premier Pro is also comparable to the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro, but Luna Pro has a smaller screen, older OS, only 1.5 GB RAM and was released almost a year ago.

LG Premier Pro Conclusion and Where to Buy

The LG Premier Pro is another budget smartphone offered by Tracfone that has a good balance of features and specs, but is not spectacular. For users considering the LG Rebel 3 or Fiesta 2, this is another possibility.

Although the amount of internal storage and RAM is pretty good for a budget phone, we are seeing more and more phones in this category with 32 GB storage and 3 GB or more of RAM. Most of these phones are under $100 but will have to be used with Tracfone BYOP as they are not directly available through Tracfone. The Moto G Plus (5th gen) is currently $189 and has an octa core processor, 32 GB Storage and 2 GB RAM.

The LG Premier Pro is currently available at $99 through HSN with an airtime bundle which is a great deal.

See the LG Premier Pro on HSN with Airtime Bundle.

For more specific details on this phone, see the LG Premier Pro User Manual. An interactive tutorial is available as well.

That concludes our review of the Premier Pro. We hope you found this information useful. Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions!

Keep up with the latest news and review on our Facebook page.

Be sure to also check our List of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales for the latest bargains.

Thanks for visiting!

May 2, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for May 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2018

This promo code list is gathered and shared by TracfoneReviewer.

tracfone promo codes
Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2018
We share the newest codes for May in this post with nothing to click or do - just updated Tracfone promo codes to use with your Tracfone device!

There are codes for both Smartphones and non-smartphones, and be aware that some of the codes for non-smartphones may not work on smartphones (but sometimes they do work).

To use a promo code simply include the code in the 'promo code' section while adding a Tracfone airtime card online, on your phone or over the phone.

Looking to keep track of your airtime? See our Guide to Checking your Airtime Balance which includes four different ways to do it.

And if you are shopping for a new phone, take a look at the Latest Tracfone Smartphones or our Cell Phone Reviews page for some recent options.

Let's get to he codes!

Tracfone Promo Code List - May 2018


60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes (note - still working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 59643 for 30 free minutes

200 Minute Card use 61658 to get 40 extra minutes

450 Minute Card add code 55159 to receive 50 additional minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter 81111 and get 300 free minutes

$15 Off 1 Year/400 Minute Card use code 44412 (online only)

Note that most codes can also be used on cards of greater value. For example, the code for the 120 minute card can also be used with a 200 or 450 minute card.

Smartphone Only Card Promo Codes List

These codes are for specific Smartphone Cards and cannot be used with other cards. Valid through May 2018!

$15 Smartphone Card get 100 free talk minutes with code 23523

$25 smartphone card receive 100 free MB Data using code 59427

1000 Text Only Card get 500 extra texts with code 87641

These are the latest codes for may 2018. We hope they work for you and leave a comment below with which one you tried and any thoughts or questions!

Also visit our main Tracfone promo code page for additional code options.

Get the latest news about the Motorola G6 and the possibility of it coming to Tracfone in our recent post!

See our Tracfone Deals and Discounts section for recent sales on Tracfone devices and unlocked phones.

And join us on Facebook with a community of helpful users to answer questions or send us a message directly.

Thanks for visiting!

April 23, 2018

How to Unlock your Tracfone Cell Phone

Step by Step Guide to Unlocking a Tracfone Device

It is now possible to unlock some Tracfone devices, mostly smartphones, so that you can use them with other carriers in the US or around the world. TracfoneReviewer shares the requirements and a step by step guide below! (Updated April 2018)

tracfone unlock code
How to Unlock a Tracfone
Owning an unlocked phone means that if you travel to another country that offers service for unlocked phones, you can buy a SIM card and service, and you will have cell phone use in that country. When you leave, you can switch your old SIM card back in to resume service with Tracfone.

Tracfone is well known for not allowing their phones to be unlocked, but because of FCC rules, and a ruling against Tracfone, they are required to unlock phones from after a certain date, offer a credit towards an exchange, or offer a partial cash refund for older devices.

We've got all the information you need about unlocking your Tracfone device. We will start with the requirements, including who can unlock their phone, and then give a step by step guide.

Let's get started.

Requirements for Unlocking a Tracfone Device

There are a number of requirements that you must meet in order to get your phone unlocked. Here are the requirements:

(You can also check if your phone is eligible by entering your phone number or serial number at the bottom of this page)
  • Customers must request handset unlocking.
  • Customers must have had their locked device activated on Tracfone service for no fewer than 12 months, redeemed air time cards in no fewer than 12 months, and not have had their telephone number recycled or ported.
  • Customers must request this interim unlocking solution while their service is active or within 60 days after their active service days expire. This 60-day grace period applies even if the customer's telephone number was recycled or ported.
  • Customers must currently own a Tracfone branded handset model launched on Tracfone's service after February 11, 2014 or activated with Tracfone's service after February 11, 2015.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is in working condition.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is not reported stolen, lost, or associated with fraudulent activity.
  • If a customer requesting handset unlocking is deployed military personnel, upon provision of deployment papers, Tracfone will honor that customer's unlocking request by sending a refund for the Trade-in Value of the used, locked phone returned by the customer without regard for the 12 months of service activation and air card redemption eligibility requirements. However, all other eligibility criteria apply to Tracfone's customers who are deployed military personnel. 
  • Customers are eligible for this program only once every twelve months.
  • (Source - www.tfwunlockpolicy.com/)
There are a lot of requirements, but the key points are that you need to have your phone active for 12 months with Tracfone, it needs to be a newer phone from after Feb 11, 2014, and you can only unlock a phone once every 12 months. While we haven't confirmed this yet, it is likely that only GSM smartphones are able to be unlocked. Let us know your experiences in the comments.

If you're phone is eligible for unlocking, you can continue with our guide to unlocking it.

How to Unlock a Tracfone Cell Phone in 3 Steps

Here is our step by step guide to unlocking your Tracfone cell phone. Be aware that not all Tracfone devices can be unlocked, many of their older phones are not eligible.


unlock tracfone smartphone
Steps for Unlocking a Tracfone
1. Go to www.tfwunlockpolicy.com and enter your phone number at the bottom of the page. You can also call 1-888-442-5102 during normal business hours.

2. If your phone is eligible, you will be able to continue the process to receive an unlock code for your phone. If your phone is not eligible to be unlocked, you may still qualify for a credit towards a new phone, or a cash refund

We tested a Motorola EX 431G Tracfone prepaid phone. It met the requirements to be unlocked, but because it is an old phone, it can't be unlocked. So Tracfone offered a $5 cash refund. To get the cash refund, you have to send the phone to Tracfone, and you lose any remaining airtime on the device.

We also tested an LG Ultimate 2, which is an Android smartphone. This phone also could not be unlocked, and Tracfone offered a $15 cash refund.

3, Once you get the unlock code from Tracfone, you can purchase a SIM card from another carrier, power off your phone, switch the SIM cards, and turn it back on. You should get a notification that your phone is locked, but there should be a place for you to enter your unlock code. After the code is entered your phone will be able to use the new SIM card. You can always switch SIM cards whenever you like, just remember to turn your phone off and back on.

And that is all it takes to unlock a Tracfone prepaid device. It is a fairly easy process, if your phone is eligible.

Going through the process of unlocking a Tracfone device doesn't seem worthwhile in most cases with the huge number of unlocked devices available on the market at very low prices. Amazon, eBay and many other online retailers have plenty of unlocked phones, and if you buy older models, or refurbished phones, you can often get a great deal.

Check out our list of the Best Unlocked Phones for Tracfone to get some ideas about the great options already available.

If you have an unlocked phone, you can activate it with Tracfone BYOP. Then, if you travel to another country and need to use cell phone service, simply power off the phone, switch the SIM cards, and you are ready to use your phone in the new country. Switch the SIM cards back when you return to the US.

The Moto G line of smartphones, with the Moto G6 the latest, are a popular unlocked phone choice for their high performance at a reasonable cost. Take a look at the Details and Specs for the Moto G5 Plus, and our Review of the Moto G4/ G4 Plus

We hope this information has been helpful. Leave a comment below with any questions or thoughts, and also share your experiences.

We are also on Facebook, with a large community who help answer questions, share news and much more.

See our last post about the Best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales including several recent smartphones with airtime bundles.

Thanks for visiting!