February 12, 2020

Tracfone Deals and Sales - February 2020

Best Deals and Discounts on Tracfone for February 2020

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and Tracfone promo codes!

tracfone cell phones on sale
Tracfone Deals and Sales Feb 2020
Shopping for a new Tracfone device can be difficult with so many different options available from a wide variety of retailers. It can be tough to find which phones are the best price and the best deal.

We are here to help! We keep track and monitor various deals and each month we gather the best prices on popular Tracfone smartphones and provide the updated deals to our readers below. Some of these deals include airtime bundles, and others just the phone. (The best value usually includes airtime deals).

Prices and deals can change often, sometimes going up or down. We've included both Tracfone smartphone deals and several unlocked phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Keep up with the newest phones in our Latest list of Tracfone Smartphones (2019).

Now let's get tot he deals.

Tracfone Deals and Sales List - February 2020

Samsung Galaxy A10e
One of the latest Samsung devices released by Tracfone, the Samsung Galaxy A10e features a 5.83" screen, 32 GB Storage, 2 GB RAM and an Octa-core processor. It runs Android 9.0 Pie and also has Bluetooth 5.0. Get the full list of feature and more in our Review of the Galaxy A10e.

View the Samsung Galaxy A10e on QVC with airtime bundle for $99

LG Journey
The LG Journey was released in late 2019 and offers some great features at a budget price. Some of those features include a 5.45" screen, Android 9 Pie,  quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB internal storage, and Bluetooth 5.0. Read our full review of the LG Journey to learn more.

View the Journey on QVC with airtime bundle for $69

Moto E5
The Moto e5 is another great budget phone option with a large, 5.7" touchscreen, quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB storage, and Android 8.1 Oreo. it has great battery life thanks to a large, 4,000 mAh battery and can be used on CDMA networks. See all the details in our Moto e5 Review.

View the Moto e5 on eBay with airtime bundle for $49!

Moto G6
If you are looking for a little more performance and internal storage, the Moto G6 is still a great option and can be found at a low price! It comes with a full HD 5.7" screen, 32 GB storage, octa-core processor, 3 GB RAM, Android 8.0 (my be upgradable to 9) and a dual rear camera with 12 MP sensor. See our full Moto G6 Review to learn more about this phone.

View the Moto G6 on Amazon with airtime bundle for $108
View the Moto G6 on eBay with airtime bundle for $99


Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP

Take a look at these great unlocked options for use with Tracfone BYOP. Many users prefer using the BYOP program because of the flexibility in choosing whatever phone best suits their needs. All you need is an unlocked phone, like one of the options below, and a Tracfone SIM Kit to get started! These are some of our top picks at a great price.

moto g8 plus deal
Moto G8 Plus
Moto G8+ Plus
Featuring a 6.3" FHD display and powerful Qualcomm Snapdragon 665 processor with 2 0GHz octa-core the unlocked Moto G8+ Plus is unlocked and compatible with GSM netowkrs (AT&T). It comes with a triple rear camera plus front selfie cam, and has a huge, 4000 mAh battery for plenty of charge to last through a full day.

View the Moto G8+ Plus on Amazon

Samsung Galaxy A10e
This unlocked budget phone has some similarities to the Tracfone version, but also comes with some upgrades such as a larger, 6.2" touchscreen and dual rear cameras. It also features an octa-core processor, 32 GB storage, 2 GB RAM and Android 9.0. The unlocked Galaxy A10e can be used on GSM networks with Tracfone BYOP.

View the Samsung Galaxy A10e on Amazon

Google Pixel 3a
The Google Pixel 3a has a number of impressive features for the price, with one of the most stunning the 12.2 MP rear camera capable of amazing images. It also features an octa-core processor, 64 GB storage, 5.6" full HD screen, and much more. The Pixel 3a can be used with GSM or CDMA networks.

View the Google Pixel 3a on Amazon

That concludes our deals and sales list and hope these help you get the best price on a new smartphone!

Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions and also join us on Facebook to connect with our growing community and get the latest info.

All the phones in our list above are VoLTE capable according to Tracfone, but you may want to take a look at our recent post about Tracfone Closing their 3G CDMA network and how it may affect you.

If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares helpful information about how it all works.

And finally don't miss out on our Tracfone Promo Code list with many different codes to get free minutes when adding airtime!

Thanks for visiting!

February 7, 2020

6 Best Tracfone Cell Phones 2020

Top 6 Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phones for 2020

(Updated on 2/2020)

Everyone wants to know, what is the best Tracfone device? Which cell phones are the best options from Tracfone? We have collected the information and now share the top 6 options from Tracfone below.

As you might expect, this list is dominated by more expensive smartphones Tracfone has released over the few years. But which one will receive the top pick? And where in the ranking do the rest of the phones fall?

best tracfone cell phone
Best Tracfone Cell Phones in 2018

If you would like to see all of our recent reviews, visit our Cell Phone Review page. Also keep up with new devices on our Latest Tracfone Cell Phone List.

We are judging this list of the best cell phones based primarily on features, specifications, and performance as well as feedback from consumers. Price and availability will only be small factors, as both of these variables change often.

We will provide a short description of each phone in the list, and a link to our full review if available. This list is written as a helpful guide, that can give you an idea of which phones are generally better than others. However, each phone has certain features which are more important to some people, thus making that phone the best choice, even if it isn't at the top of our list.

For most users, the top phones in our list are impractical due to their high cost. So a good option is to purchase an unlocked phone and use with the the Tracfone BYOP program. The Moto G6 (and now also in our list) was released about a year ago but is a smartphone that might be a great option as it blends a number of premium features at a more reasonable price.

We expect Tracfone to release several new Android and Apple smartphones in 2020, and will update this as needed!

Now let's see the list!

6 Best Cell Phones from Tracfone (2020)

The best phones available from Tracfone as of February 2020:

#1 Apple iPhone 7

The iPhone 7 is our pick for the best phone from Tracfone at this time. It brings updates and upgrades to older iPhone models including the A10 fusion quad core processing chip which results in around 2x better performance compared to the iPhone 6.

You also get a 12 MP camera with 4K video recording, 2 GB RAM, 32 GB storage, iOS 10 and a 4.7" retina display.

The iPhone 7 edges out the competition with Apple's well known performance and high quality screen, camera and app store.

The price may be the only drawback, at $599 currently on the Tracfone website. Note that there are newer models of the iPhone available, including the iPhone 8 and iPhone X but they are not available from Tracfone at this time.

Choosing between Apple and Android is usually a matter of personal preference, as the operating systems differ quote a lot, and many users prefer to stick with one or the other.

#2 Samsung Galaxy S7

The second best phone from Tracfone is the Samsung Galaxy S7. It beats almost all of the competition with incredible features and performance.

The S7 features a 5.1" quad HD screen, Android 6.0, 32 GB internal memory, octa-core processor and 12 MP camera with dual pixel technology.

The Galaxy S7 brings a handful of improvements and updates from the S6. However, it isn't the most recent Galaxy model and has been around for several years. As such the price has also been reduced accordingly, at $150 on the Tracfone website.

As with several of the other options in this list, finding an unlocked S7 and using it on Tracfone BYOP is a cheaper option.

#3 Apple iPhone 6S Plus

In third place in this list is the iPhone 6 Plus which is larger and more powerful compared to the iPhone 6, but also has a higher price. The iPhone SE has the same camera, but a much smaller screen.

The 6S Plus comes with Apple iOS, a 5.5" HD touchscreen, 32 GB internal memory, dual core processor, 2 GB RAM and 12 MP camera.

While the specs are not impressive on paper, Apple devices are well known for their great performance due to their unique operating system and tailored processors. The 12 MP rear camera has excellent image quality and can record 4K footage at 30 FPS for high resolution videos.

The iPhone 6S Plus is currently listed on the Tracfone website for $399 which is a pretty good deal. There are also unlocked refurbished options available on Amazon for $280 (GSM compatible)

#4 Moto G6

Released on Tracfone at the end of 2018, the Moto G6 is a very popular budget smartphone that packs a number of great features into a reasonable price.

With a 5.7" full HD touchscreen, Android 8.0 Oreo, 32 GB Storage, 3 GB RAM and Dual Rear Cameras, the G6 has a lot to like about it.

The Moto G6 is one of only a few smartphones from Tracfone that offer 32 GB storage, and certainly the least expensive at this time. For more details on this device, see the Full Tracfone Moto G6 Review.

There are several online retailers offering the Moto G6, including Tracfone, HSN, eBay and more, but we found the Moto G6 on Amazon with airtime bundle.

The Moto G6 is a great value for the money and it can also be found unlocked and used with either GSM or CDMA service on Tracfone BYOP.

#5 Samsung Galaxy S6

The Samsung Galaxy S6 comes in at number five on our list of the best Tracfone cell phones with a great list of features and specs that sets it apart from budget smartphone options.

It has a 5.1" quad HD touchscreen, octa core processor, 32 GB internal memory and 3 GB RAM. You also get a 16 MP camera with excellent video and photo capabilities.

Perhaps the only drawback (besides the price) for the Galaxy S6 is that it only has Android 5.0, a somewhat older version of the operating system, and it is not possible to upgrade it.

See more of the features in our Samsung Galaxy S6 Review which also includes how much you will have to pay to get one.

For those seriously interested in the Galaxy S6, you may want to consider buying an unlocked S6 and bringing it to the BYOP program. We've created a helpful Guide to Activating with Tracfone BYOP to make it as easy as possible.

In general, we would suggest users consider some of the newer phone options further down this list.

#6 iPhone SE 32GB

Even though the iPhone SE has a small, 4" screen, it packs some powerful features and specs into the small phone body including an excellent 12 MP camera, 32 GB storage and a fingerprint reader.

The iPhone SE actually has the same internal specs as the larger, iPhone 6S, and they were both released at the same time. The iPhone SE originally retailed for $399, but the Tracfone website has it available for around $200.

Many people like the iPhone SE for the sleek design and smooth operating system and great camera. Just be aware that the screen is much smaller than most phones these days, and newer options are available (further down our list...)

The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website and in some retail stores. Additionally, you can buy your own iPhone and bring it to the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the link to learn more.

That concludes our list of the Best Tracfone Cell Phones. For many, buying the S6, iPhone 6 Plus or S7 would be impractical because of the high cost, but these are the best options available through Tracfone. Leave a comment with your thoughts, and if you enjoyed this list, take a look at our List of the Best Phones for Tracfone BYOP.


Honorable Mentions - Unlocked Smartphones on Tracfone BYOP

The BYOP program from Tracfone makes it easy for consumers to have the phone they want at a reasonable price on Tracfone's prepaid service. Visit our main, Tracfone BYOP page for all the details.

The Moto G7 is an example of a popular unlocked smartphone that can be used with either GSM or CDMA service and is available for around $200.

We hope you found this article useful, leave a comment with your pick for the best Tracfone device. Also be sure to share this with your friends.

----------

We also want to share that Tracfone continues to add new phones to their lineup, and we will work to update this post as needed.

For more on the cell phones offered by Tracfone, visit our Cell Phones Review page.

Also don't forget about our most popular page, the Tracfone Promo Codes!

Finally, keep up with all the latest news and info on our Facebook page!

Thanks for visiting!

February 6, 2020

Tracfone Promo Codes for February 2020

Tracfone Promo Codes - February 2020

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share news, reviews and promo codes!

tracfone codes feb 2020
Tracfone Promo Codes
Winter is well underway for many, with long nights and cold days, but we've got some fresh Tracfone promo codes to warm everyone up!

Each month we gather the latest codes from around the web and share them here for our readers and visitors to use for free.

There is nothing you have to do to get the extra airtime, simply add the code when checking out online, on your phone, or over the phone. Some codes are for use with certain devices, or can only be used a few times.

Below are codes for regular airtime cards, add-on cards, and smartphone only cards. Select the code for the card you will use, and enjoy the bonus minutes!

These are the latest codes, but we also have more options listed on our main Tracfone promo code page.

Don't miss out on the newest phones from Tracfone with our List of the Latest Tracfone Smartphones.

Let's get tot he codes!

Tracfone Promo Code List - February 2020

Regular Airtime Cards

60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes (Can be used up to 10 times)

120 Minute Card add code 59305 for 30 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card enter 17662 to get 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card use 83755 for an additional 50 minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use code 23898 to get 300 bonus minutes


Smartphone Only Airtime Cards

51040 - $15 off - $125 Smartphone Only Card- Valid February 2020

98615 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Only Card - Valid February 2020

27913 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Only Card - Valid February 2020

14223 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Add-on Card - Working February 2020

49413 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Add-on Card - Working  February 2020

78439 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Add-on Card - Working February 2020

16311 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Add-on Card - Working February 2020

38783 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Add-on Card - Working February 2020

66975 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Add-on Card - Working February 2019


These are the latest promo codes from Tracfone. We hope these codes worked for you and leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions.

See the Changes and Predictions for Tracfone in 2020 to keep up with new phones, network changes and more!

New to Tracfone? Start with our Beginners Guide which walks through the basics of how it all works and some resources for learning more about adding airtime, activating new phones or getting the best deals. Or learn more about the new Unlimited Smartphone Cards and how they work.

How secure is your phone? We just shared our top Smartphone Security Tips!

Join us on Facebook for all the latest posts and send us a message if you have questions!

Don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals and Sales including unlocked phones for Tracfone BYOP.

And lastly, get 7 Tips to Make your Airtime Last Longer plus data saving tips.

Thanks for visiting!

January 27, 2020

Tracfone My Account App - How to Use It

How to Use the My Account App from Tracfone to Manage your Airtime

how to use tracfone my account app
Tracfone My Account App
Wondering if there is an easy way to keep track of your airtime on your phone? Or looking to add more airtime while on the go? The My Account app from Tracfone can do these things and more and we will go over what it offers, and how it works in this post!

What is the Tracfone My Account App?

The app from Tracfone is a great tool for tracking your airtime balance whether you have a Tracfone device or unlocked phone. Tracfone created this app for Android phones only (sorry iPhone users) as an easy way to manage your account from your phone.

It has been slowly improved on over the last few years since it was launched, with the app now offering everything from buying airtime, to getting customer service help.

How to Get the App

Start by downloading the Tracfone My Account app to your Android powered device. Once it is downloaded, you can sign in using your online account credentials.

If you have trouble signing in, or you don't have an online account, contact Tracfone for help or go on their website to create an account and link your phone to it.

Now that you are logged in on the app, you should be on the dashboard where you can see the phones, both active and inactive, on your account.

Now that you are on the app, let's look at what you can do with it.

What can you do with the Tracfone My Account App?

There are actually quite a few things that can be done from the Tracfone app including buy airtime, start auto-refill, manage your profile, and contact customer service.

Here is the full list of features from the app:
  • Purchase Airtime
  • Add Airtime with a PIN Card
  • View Service End Date
  • Enroll in Auto-Refill
  • Use a Widget to track your Balance
  • Chat with Customer Support
  • Create an Account and log in
  • Edit your Profile
  • View Transaction history
  • Manage credit cards
  • Find and connect to nearby available Wi-Fi networks with the Wi-Fi Optimizer based on your current location
  • Find nearby Retailer locations based on your current location or zip code
tracofne app check airtime
Track your airtime, get support, and more on the Tracofne My Account App

Adding a widget to your home screen to always have your airtime visible for you is one of the more popular features for Tracfone customers who were accustomed to the old Tracfone devices that always had your airtime amount listed on the homescreen. To do this, navigate to your widgets and look for the Tracfone app. On many smartphones, pressing on the homescreen will bring up several options, including your widgets.

Keeping track of your airtime and service end date is by far the most useful part of the app, but as you can see from this list there are a number of other good tools available as well.

If you're looking for other ways to check your airtime, be sure to read our post on 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime.

That concludes this post, but be sure to leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions.

Join us on Facebook to keep up with all the latest posts, news and other info.

Don't miss out on the latest Deals and Discounts on Tracfone smartphones.

Also check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone if you're new or just want to understand some of the basics of how it all works.

Thanks for visiting!

January 16, 2020

Best Apps for Tracfone Android Users (2020)

List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone

View a list of the best applications to use with Android OS for Tracfone users. This list is compiled by TracfoneReviewer, with help from our readers.

best apps to use with tracfone smartphone 2019
The Best Apps to use with Tracfone Android Smartphones

More and more Tracfone users are switching to Android powered smartphones that Tracfone has been making available, especially as new phones like the Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown and LG Rebel 4 or unlocked devices like the Moto G6 on Tracfone BYOP.

Android smartphones are incredibly powerful devices, offering many of the same functions as a laptop computer. Android is simply a standardized operating system, which allows many people to create applications, or programs, which can work on all the different Android devices. You can surf the web, check email, look up information, manage banking, and much, much more.

But sometimes it is hard to know exactly what you should be doing with your Android phone, and what apps are the best for making life easier, and more convenient.

So we are creating a list of the Best Apps for Tracfone Android users. And we want to hear from you! Leave a comment below with your top apps, and we'll work on adding the best to the list.

Now let's get to the list of apps!

List of the Best Apps for Android Tracfone Users

These apps are some of the most popular, and most useful and cover a variety of categories. We will try to share as many apps as are useful for using with Tracfone Android devices.

Not everyone uses the same apps, or has need of particular apps, but browse through the list and see what sounds useful to you!

1. Tracfone Specific Apps

Tracfone App
The app from Tracfone to check your balance, and manage your account. It is also possible to add airtime through the app, and a variety of other functions. If your phone doesn't have a lot of space, you can just bookmark the Tracfone website and check your balance there.

android tracfone apps
AppMgr III app
AppMgr III
A convenient app manager that can let you move apps to your SD card to free up space. AppMgr III is especially useful for Tracfone Android users because of the limited internal space on many of the phones. AppMgr III does more than just moving apps, it also can freeze apps, and do other management tasks.

Note: Some phones won't allow you to move Apps to your SD card. You will have to root your device if you want to do that.

2. General/Productivity Apps

Venmo
Pay and request payment from friends in this simple and easy to use money transferring app. Do you wish there was an easy way to pay back a friend who bought your lunch? With Venmo, it is very simple and seamless to send and receive money.

Amazon Kindle App
Have an entire library on your phone. The Amazon Kindle App allows you to download books from Amazon, and read them on your phone. This is a simple, powerful app that works well,
Plus, pair it with many sources for free kindle books, and you have an almost unlimited FREE supply of reading material.

Swiftkey
This app replaces your stock keyboard with one of the most popular, and best keyboards available for smartphones. Besides using advanced algorithms to track and predict your typing to speed it up, the app also looks great, and has a number of different styles and themes to choose from.

Pocket
A save for later app that makes it simple and easy to save webpages and many other things for later offline consumption. You can keep everything in one easy to find place, so you don't forget about that article or video you wanted to see.

Gas Buddy
Find the cheapest gas with this super convenient, community updated app. Whether your just driving around your town, or traveling across country, search for and find the cheapest gas in your area or along the route and save some extra cash! It isn't hard to check the prices, and sometimes gas can be significantly cheaper just a few miles away. But be careful you don't get too caught up, because driving 50 miles out of your way probably isn't actually saving you much money...

3. News, Note, Task and List Apps

Nwsty
Want to hear about current events without spending much time? Get just the top 6-10 headlines of current news from all over the world from Nwsty delivered to your phone. The app also delivers short news podcasts for those who want to listen on the go.

WakingNews Alarm Clock
Get the latest news stories from major news sites read to you while beginning your morning. The app allows users to set an alarm like old clock radios!

TheScore - Live Sports Scores, News and more
Looking for an all-in-one app to track all your favorite sports? TheScore has you covered! Get live score updates for all your teams and curate your own favorites list for news and highlights!

Evernote
This convenient app makes note taking a breeze. Jot down a to do list, or write up a few paragraphs, no matter what you are recording this app can do it. You also have great syncing functions across devices, including your computer.

best android apps 2015
Wunderlist app
Wunderlist
Managing lists and tasks is much easier with Wunderlist. It also has great syncing abilities with other devices, and is also very easy to share your to do lists with others. Where Evernote excels at note taking, Wunderlist excels at list making, both are valuable tools to staying organized and on track.

Google Keep
As a relatively new and unknown app, Google Keep is simple, and amazingly useful. It can be used for a variety of functions beyond simple list making and note taking, including setting reminders and recording photos and voice. This is a very handy app to have for when you need to run to the grocery store, or get a reminder about something at work, and it allows syncing across devices, and list sharing.

Any.do
Providing an 'all-in-one' to do list for anything from household chores, to work related tasks. Any.do is a clean and simple app that focuses on helping you remember what you need to do, and accomplish your daily goals. You can also sync between devices, and set reoccurring tasks.

4. Social Apps

Facebook
A standard for most smartphone users, the Facebook app allows you to surf Facebook with ease. The app works well, and is used by millions. Not much really needs to be said, although you do have to download an additional app if you want to use messenger, which is a bit annoying.

list of Android apps
Instagram for Android
Instagram
For sharing pictures with friends, Instagram is another great app, and a lot of fun to use with a smartphone as you can quickly snap a picture, and then share it with all your friends and family.

Other Social apps
There are plenty of other social apps, like twitter and snapchat, that we don't feel the need to go into. Social apps are much more preference based, and it usually depends on whether you have friends already using those networks.

5. Free Calling/Texting Apps

Skype
For everyone who already uses Skype on your computer, the app is fairly similar and allows you to make free calls to others with Skype, or use Skype Credit to make calls both locally and internationally. This is a convenient app, and works well between your computer and phone.

best free android apps 2015
Line app for Android
Line
Widely popular in Asia, this free messaging app is powerful and simple. Text friends, call, and even video call for free when your on a WiFi connection. A great way to stay in contact with friends and family for free.

Whatsapp
More popular in America, Whatsapp provides and great instant messaging service and has millions of users. It was recently bought by Facebook, but does not appear to be changing anything. While you don't get ads or annoying stickers with Whatsapp, you do have to pay for it after your first year. It costs $1 per year.

Google Hangouts
Another great resource from Google, Hangouts offers great group video calls and many other features. Text, send photos, and much more. One of the best for keeping in touch with people a long way away.

Textra
A replacement for the standard text messaging app, Textra offers more features, customization, and looks a lot better. Download it and you will never look back. Unlike the other free messaging apps listed above, Textra replaces your standard text messaging app with a stylish materialistically designed one. Not really a free messaging app, but a free app to replace your text messaging app.

5. Phone Management Tools

Tasker
Tasker is an automation tool, which allows you to set a wide variety of tasks to be done automatically at certain times, or with certain triggers. You can use it to do simple things like turn your cell phone to silent when you get to work, or turn WiFi off when you leave your house. It can also do a wide variety of more advanced options, and is a fun app for those who like to tinker and mess around with devices. It does cost a couple bucks, but is worth it for the convenience and fun.

Llama
If you don't want to spend money, Llama is a free alternative to Tasker and can do many of the same things. The key features include the ability to set certain profiles, like silent ringer, when you get to certain locations, like your office. Give it a test run and see what you think, and then consider if you want to pay a little to get Tasker.

IFTTT
If This Then That. Use this simple formula to create an endless array of options. For example, if the forecast calls for rain tomorrow, then send a notification. Or if I arrive/leave work, log the time to a Google doc. The options are amazing, and there are thousands of 'recipes' online that range from incredibly useful, to hilariously funny. Combine it with Tasker for even more power.

Clean Master
Clean Mater optimizes and cleans your phone to remove excess and temporary files, and close background apps to boost performance. It is a very useful app especially for those who have limited internal memory on their phone. Clean Master has a simple interface that is easy to navigate and understand even if you don't know what temporary files are.

6. Security Apps

Avast
Best Apps for Android Tracfone
Avast Android App
You should have a Security and Anti-virus app on your phone, and Avast is the best free option. It will do weekly scans, and check files you download. Avast also has a variety of other tools, and other related apps for more security and convenience.

Android Device Manager
In case you lose your phone, or it is stolen, you want to have downloaded Android Device Manager. It will allow you to locate your device, have it ring to help you find it, reset the lock screen, and even erase the data on the phone.

7. Podcast Apps

Podcast Republic
Download, listen and organize all your favorite podcasts with this easy and convenient app. Search for new podcasts, locate your favorites, and listen to them all in one place. If you don't know what a podcast is, or don't listen to them, you are missing out. Download the app and start listening and learning great new things from the thousands of free podcast shows available.

Podcast Addict
Another widely popular podcast app, use this to download, discover and listen to all your podcasts. Great search features make it easy to find new shows to follow. Seriously, if you aren't taking advantage of podcasts on your smartphone, do yourself a favor and check them out! You can conveniently download podcasts while using WiFi, and then listen to them later for free!

8. Fitness

Google Fit
This fitness tracking app will log your activities, and keep you updated on how far you are walking/running/biking. Set goals for your workout, and then track how you do. You can also track how far you walk in a day, and much more. Can integrate with other fitness apps, and Android Wear.

7 Minute Workout
Almost everyone wants to be more fit, but most of us find it hard to set aside the time for fitness. The 7 Minute Workout is a great solution, as it allows you to complete 12 different exercises in 7 minutes that improves your health and fitness. Give it a try, and start making fitness a reality. There is also another version of the app here, if you want more options.

9. Mapping/Navigation Apps

Android tracfone
Get the 1 Year card on Amazon!
Google Maps
The best when it comes to mapping and directions. If you don't already have it, download it. One feature many don't know about is that if you access Google Maps via WiFi, and save the maps for offline use, you can then navigate using GPS and saving your data.

My Tracks
A simple tracking app that can follow you in real time and give you information about distance, elevation, time, and much more. Save maps of your tracks to share with others, or for future reference. This app was created by Google.

Map My Hike GPS Hiking
A superior tracking app that can do way more than just track your hikes! See lots of detailed states for your hike, bike ride, walk, drive, and much much more! Get updates during your trip, and share your hikes with friends on Facebook.

NavFree
Traveling to a new city? Looking for a Navigation tool that won't burn through your data? NavFree is the solution! It is a free navigation app that uses maps saved on your device to navigate you through whatever city you're in. It has lots of additional features, and while it may not quite be up to par with Google Maps, it does a great job, and doesn't require data to work!

Waze
A GPS Navigation app with community based traffic updates which will keep you informed about the best routes, and even let your friends know your ETA. Waze can be connected with Facebook to import your contacts, and has turn by turn navigation over maps which are constantly updated by the community. This is a great app if you live in areas prone to congestion and traffic, or if you just like keeping up with your friends and family!

10. Music Apps

Spotify
Listen to music free on your phone. Choose a song, or artist, and enjoy a variety of songs related to it. Once you listen to a handful of songs, Spotify will give you a weekly playlist of new songs that are similar to what you listen to.

Pandora
A great way to discover new bands and artists, Pandora lets you pick a song, and then creates a radio station of related music that you can listen to on your phone.

Jango
Similar to the other music apps, Jango also works outside the US unlike Pandora or Spotify. Pick a song or musician, and then listen to a variety of related songs. Jango isn't quite as good as the other two options, but still works well.

11. Google Apps: (that aren't listed other places)

Google Now
Get faster access to Google and voice activated actions with Google Now. Huge number of neat features, including location based information, weather, news, and much more..

tracfone apps
Google Drive - Storage
Google Drive
A simple way to access your Google Drive from your phone. If you don't already use Google Drive on your computer, well, you're missing out to a whole suite of amazing and free tools. Google Drive syncs between your devices, and is great for accessing and sharing information.

Google Docs
Need to have an important document with you to reference in a meeting? Google Docs works with Google Drive, and supports a variety of document formats that you can take with you on your phone, and even create new docs as well. Easy to collaborate with others on a shared project.

Google Camera
A powerful camera application that you can use instead of your default camera. Give it a test, and you may be surprised by the improvement in features and functionality. Includes HDR+, Lens Blur, Video, Photo Stitching and more.

12. Photo Editing Apps

LightRoom Mobile
A powerful mobile version of the desktop photo editing app, LightRoom Mobile is free and gives access to a wide range of photo adjustments including contrast, exposure, shadow and highlight recovery, clarity and much more.

VSCO
The VSCO app allows you to not only edit photos, but also take them with a number of advanced camera controls. This app is most well known for their wide range of excellent presets, and also distinct community.

SnapSeed
With a number of different tools and filters, SnapSeed is a complete mobile photo editor that was developed by Google. It includes features like selective editing brush, healing, and lens blur. You can also edit RAW files or jpeg, and it has plenty of presets to use and adjust.

13. Games

android smartphone moto e
The Moto E Android phone
There are many great games available covering a wide range of categories, so we will just list a few of our favorites.

Disc Golf Valley (Free)
Call of Duty Mobile (Free)
Piano Tiles 2 (Free)
Plants Vs Zombies (Free)
Crashlands ($4.99)
Atomos (Free)
Angry Birds 2 (Free)
Guess the Song (Free)

We want to hear about your favorite games! Let us know in the comments which games are your top picks, and we will add to the list here!

We hope this list will give new Android users a good place to start when looking for apps, and possibly help Android power users find a new app to try.

If you don't have an smartphone, or are looking to upgrade, check out our List of the 5 Best Tracfone Smartphone which shows Tracfone's current options for top phones. Or visit our Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see what's new.

Tracfone is always adding new smartphones, and we have the latest on our Cell Phone Reviews page. These phones are usually available on the Tracfone website, and are also available many places online like Amazon and eBay.

You can also bring your own smartphone to use with Tracfone! Drop by our Tracfone BYOP page which includes a list of compatible phones.

We recently analyzed all the airtime cards from Tracfone and created our Guide to the Best Deal on Tracfone Airtime. Have a look and see if you are getting the best deal.

Thanks for visiting, and remember to leave a comment with your picks for the best apps on your Android device! Let us know if we missed any good options!