July 1, 2020

Tracfone Promo Codes for July 2020

Tracfone Promo Code List - July 2020

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and promo codes!
Tracfone codes july 2020
Tracfone Promo Codes July 2020
Summer is in full swing with backyard BBQ's and sunny days, and we have new Tracfone Promo Codes to share!

Every month we share new codes from around the web and test and post them here for our readers and visitors to use for free.

To get the free minutes, just enter the code when checking out online, on your phone, or over the phone. Some codes are for use with certain devices, or can only be used a few times.

Below are codes for regular airtime cards, add-on cards, and smartphone only cards. Select the code for the card you will use, and enjoy the bonus minutes!

These are the latest codes, but we also have many more options listed on our main Tracfone promo code page.

Don't miss out on the newest phones from Tracfone, like the Samsung Galaxy A20 or the Moto G7 Optimo MAXX, with our List of the Latest Tracfone Smartphones.

Let's get tot he codes!

Tracfone Promo Code List - July 2020

Smartphone Only Airtime Cards

85254 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Card - Working July 2020
27913 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Card - Working July 2020

13772 - 200 bonus Talk - $35 Smartphone Card - Working July 2020
56955 - 200 bonus Talk - $35 Smartphone Card - Working July 2020

14223 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Card - Working July 2020
66975 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Card - Working July 2020
78439 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Card - Working July 2020

49413 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - Working July 2020
16311 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - Working July 2020
88620 - 500 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Card - Working July 2020

22448 - $50 off - $125 Smartphone Only Card - Working July 2020


Regular Airtime Cards

60 Minute Card use code 55698 and get 20 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card use 72760 for 40 extra minutes

200 Minute Card
 enter 28835 to get 50 minutes free

450 Minute Card
 (no new codes yet)

1 Year/400 Minute Card add code 16950 for 300 bonus minutes

These are the latest promo codes from Tracfone for July 2020. We hope these codes worked for you and leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions.

What is the best Tracfone smartphone? Check out our updated post to find out!

New to Tracfone? Start with our Beginners Guide which walks through the basics of how it all works and some resources for learning more about adding airtime, activating new phones or getting the best deals. Or learn more about the new Unlimited Smartphone Cards and how they work.

How secure is your phone? We just shared the top Smartphone Security Tips!

Join us on Facebook for all the latest posts and send us a message if you have questions!

Don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals and Sales including unlocked phones for Tracfone BYOP.

And lastly, get 7 Tips to Make your Airtime Last Longer plus data saving tips!

Thanks for visiting!

June 23, 2020

Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life- What you Need to Know (Updated)

Facts about Tracfone's Triple Minutes for Life Changes

Updated June 2020
Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life
Facts about the Phase Out of Triple Minutes for Life from Tracfone
In 2017, Tracfone started to phase out the Triple Minutes for Life (TMFL) program that gave all smartphones (both Tracfone branded and unlocked) as well as many feature phones triple the minutes when adding the regular airtime cards. (When adding the 60 minute card, for example, you would get 180 minutes, plus any bonus airtime).

There has been a lot of speculation and questions about whether phones will keep Triple Minutes for Life, if new phones will have it, and if Tracfone is really removing a very popular feature from their phones.

We have gathered information about the changes and contacted Tracfone directly, and want to  provide the facts for everyone concerned about this.

Let's start with the simple facts:

Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life Changes - The Facts

  1. Only Regular Airtime Cards are affected by this change, Smartphone Only Cards or Unlimited Cards are not affected, as they never offered double or tripling.
  2. Customers with phones or SIM kits that already have Triple Minutes for Life will keep them indefinitely
  3. New phones or SIM kits from Tracfone do not com with Triple Minutes for Life
  4. Regular airtime cards can still be added to non-TMFL smartphones, but only the face value will be given. (a 60 minute card will give 60 talk, 60 texts, and 60 MB data.)
  5. For a short time, Tracfone offered TMFL with any phone upgrade starting Dec 5th, 2017. This promotion appears to have ended.
First off, none of the Smartphone only cards would triple anyway, so these cards are completely unaffected, and if these are the cards you usually get, you are unaffected. In general, the smartphone cards are a better deal (especially for texts and data), and you can take a look at our Tracfone Airtime Comparison to learn more about which cards are the best deal for different situations.

But many Tracfone customers still use the regular airtime cards, especially the 60 minute card and 1 Year/400 Minute card. Plus, most bonus codes are for the regular airtime cards.
The important information here is that no phone that already has triple minutes will lose that feature. But newer phones released by Tracfone will likely not include triple minutes.

This is a significant shift that Tracfone is making, and may drive away some long time customers. Why would they do this? Here is their response from the FAQ section on their website:

Why Tracfone is Making the Change to Triple Minutes for Life:
"As technology continues to improve, we found that more people were using smartphones and smartphone plans. People are especially using more data. So, we wanted to accommodate you by providing higher data plans with greater value." - Tracfone FAQ
That doesn't make a whole lot of sense as to why they need to get rid of TMFL, but it is true that the regular airtime cards are not a very good deal for data or texts.

Tracfone also cited 'technical compatibility' as another reason for the end of triple minutes, but that isn't very likely either.

Whatever the reason, Triple Minutes for Life will no longer come with new phones, but all existing triple minute phones will continue to keep it.

What if my phone has been deactivated or the account is past due? Will I be able to keep my triple minute benefit?

Yes. By reactivating your triple minute phone and getting your account in good standing, you will be able to keep your triple minute benefit so long as you stay with your current triple minute phone.

Tracfone Smartphones that Do Not have Triple Minutes

Phones manufactured before April 1, 2017 will still have the triple minute benefit. New phones that are currently rolling out will not have the triple minute benefit. And all future phones that are introduced will not have the triple minute benefit.

Tracfone has phased out their Triple Minutes for Life policy and all new phones do not include it anymore. This is a surprising change for us, and many Tracfone customers.

Share your thoughts or questions about these changes below, and if you have additional information or corrections please also let us know.

Continue the discussion on our Facebook page where we post the latest news and info with our growing community.

Catch up on some of our recent posts including 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal and How WiFi calling Works.

We also updated our list of the Best Android Apps which includes a variety of the most popular and most helpful apps to have on your smartphone.

Don't forget to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page if you're shopping for a new phone, or the BYOP page to learn about bringing an unlocked phone to Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

June 16, 2020

Tracfone Deals and Sales - June 2020

Best Deals on Tracfone Cell Phones June 2020

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and Tracfone promo codes!

Tracfone Smartphone Discounts

If you are looking for a new Tracfone cell phone there are a number of online retailers to choose from. But where can you get the best deal on a Tracfone smartphone?


We are here to help! We track and monitor various deals online and each month we gather the best prices on popular Tracfone smartphones and provide the updated deals to our readers below. Some of these deals include airtime bundles, and others just the phone. (The best value usually includes airtime bundles).


Prices and deals can change often, sometimes going up or down. We've included both Tracfone smartphone deals and several unlocked phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.


Keep up with the newest phones in our Latest list of Tracfone Smartphones (2020).


Now let's get to the deals.


Tracfone Deals and Sales List June 2020

Moto G7 Optimo MAXX

With a 6.2" screen and 5,000 mAh battery, the G7 Optimo MAXX has a lot of performance for the price. It also features 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM, Octa-core processor, and Android 9 Pie. The Optimo MAXX (or G7 Power, as the unlocked version is called) was released for Tracfone in April 2020 and is certainly a great option for everyday smartphone users. Learn more in our full Review of the G7 Optimo MAXX.


Find the Moto G7 Optimo MAXX with airtime bundle for $99


Moto G7 Optimo

The Moto G7 Optimo (AKA Moto G7 Play) has a 5.7" HD+ touchscreen, Octa-core processor, 32 GB storage, and Android 9.0 Pie. The G7 Optimo has a lot of potential to be a dependable, everyday smartphone for many Tracfone users. It was released in March 2020 and currently is one of our top budget smartphone picks. Check out our full review for more details.


Get the Moto G7 Optimo with Airtime Bundle on HSN for $99!

View the Moto G7 Optimo on Amazon for $119


Moto E6

Just released in early March 2020 from Tracfone, the Moto E6 is a budget smartphone with a large, 5.5" touchscreen, runs Android 9.0 Pie, and comes with 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Storage. It also has a 13 MP rear camera and is for use on CDMA networks through Verizon. This phone follows the popular Moto E lineup and we will be sharing our review soon.


Get the Moto E6 on eBay with $30 airtime bundle for $49

View the Moto E6 on HSN with airtime bundle for $69


Samsung Galaxy A20

Released in June 2020, the Galaxy A20 comes with a huge, 6.4" screen, 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM and an octa-core processor. It packs in dual rear cameras and fingerprint sensor, and runs Android 9 Pie. This smartphone has a lot to offer but is also a little more expensive than most Tracfone devices. Learn more in our Samsung Galaxy A20 Review.


View the Samsung Galaxy A20 with airtime bundle on QVC for $165


Samsung Galaxy A10e

One of the latest Samsung devices released by Tracfone, the Samsung Galaxy A10e features a 5.83" screen, 32 GB Storage, 2 GB RAM and an Octa-core processor. It runs Android 9.0 Pie and also has Bluetooth 5.0. Get the full list of feature and more in our Review of the Galaxy A10e.


Get the Samsung Galaxy A10e  on eBay with 1500 talk/text/data and 1 year/service for $99

View the Samsung Galaxy A10e on QVC with airtime bundle for $109


LG Journey

The LG Journey was released in late 2019 and offers some great features at a budget price. Some of those features include a 5.45" screen, Android 9 Pie,  quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB internal storage, and Bluetooth 5.0. Read our full review of the LG Journey to learn more.


View the Journey on QVC with airtime bundle for $69


Moto G6

The G6 is a few years old at this point but still comes with a number of impressive features including more storage and performance than most of Tracfone's similarly priced options. It has 5.7" touchscreen, 32 GB internal storage, Android 8.0 Oreo and a 12 MP camera. You also get 3 GB RAM and an Octa-core processor. Deffinitly still a good option for some users, and especially with this great deal.


Get the Moto G6 with 1 Year/1200 minutes on eBay for $69


That concludes our deals and sales list and hope these help you get the best price on a new smartphone!


Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions and also join us on Facebook to connect with our growing community and get the latest info.


All the phones in our list above are VoLTE capable according to Tracfone, but you may want to take a look at our recent post about Tracfone Closing their 3G CDMA network and how it may affect you.


If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares helpful information about how it all works.


And finally don't miss out on our Tracfone Promo Code list with many different codes to get free minutes when adding airtime!


Thanks for visiting!

June 12, 2020

Best Tracfone Smartphones - 2020

List of the Best Tracfone Cell Phones for 2020

best tracfone cell phone 2020
Best Tracfone Smartphone for 2020
Everyone wants to know, what is the best Tracfone device? Which cell phones are the best options from Tracfone? We have collected the information and now share the top options from Tracfone below.

As you might expect, this list is dominated by more expensive smartphones Tracfone has released over the last few years. But which one will receive the top pick? And where in the ranking do the rest of the phones fall?

If you would like to see all of our recent reviews, visit our Cell Phone Review page. Also keep up with new devices on our Latest Tracfone Cell Phone List.

We are judging this list of the best cell phones based primarily on features, specifications, and performance as well as feedback from consumers. Price and availability will only be small factors, as both of these variables change often.

Here's the our picks for the top Tracfone smartphones in 2020:

Best Tracfone Smartphone (2020)

  1. Apple iPhone 8
  2. Apple iPhone 7
  3. Moto G7 Optimo MAXX
  4. Samsung Galaxy A20
  5. Apple iPhone 6S Plus (and iPhone SE)
  6. Moto G6
For most users, the top phones in our list are impractical due to their high cost. So a good option is to purchase an unlocked phone and use with the the Tracfone BYOP program. The Moto G7 (unlocked) was released about a year ago but is a smartphone that might be a great option as it blends a number of premium features at a more reasonable price.

We expect Tracfone to release several new Android and Apple smartphones in 2020, and will update this as needed!

Now let's see the list!

Best Smartphones from Tracfone (2020)

tracfone iphone 8
iPhone 8

#1 Apple iPhone 8/8 Plus

Screen: 4.7" HD touchscreen/ 5.5" screen on iPhone 8 Plus
Camera: 12 MP camera with OIS and 4K video up to 60 fps
Storage: 64 GB
Processor: A11 Bionic Chip
Operating System: Apple iOS

The iPhone 8 is our pick for the best phone from Tracfone at this time. It brings updates and upgrades to the iPhone lineup, including the new A11 Bionic hexa-core processing chip which results in better performance compared to older iPhone models.

You also get a 12 MP camera with 4K video recording, 2 GB RAM, 64 GB storage, iOS 11 and a 4.7" retina display. The iPhone 8 is also built with durability in mind with a strong, aluminium band around the outside, and it is water and dust resistant.

The iPhone 8 edges out the competition with Apple's well known performance and high quality screen, camera and app store.

The price may be the only drawback, at $374 currently on the Tracfone website.

Note that there are newer models of the iPhone available, including the iPhone 8 which is available from Tracfone, and the iPhone X which is not available from Tracfone at this time.

Choosing between Apple and Android is usually a matter of personal preference, as the operating systems differ quote a lot, and many users prefer to stick with one or the other.

#2 Apple iPhone 7

Best apple tracfone smartphones 2020
Apple iPhone 7
Screen: 4.7" HD touchscreen
Camera: 12 MP iSight camera
Storage: 32 GB
Processor: A10 FUSION CHIP
Operating System: Apple iOS

The iPhone 7 is our pick for the next best phone from Tracfone at this time. It brings updates and upgrades to the older iPhone 6 with faster processor and improved camera..

You also get a 12 MP camera with 4K video recording, 2 GB RAM, 32 GB storage, iOS 10 and a 4.7" retina display.

Apple devices are well known for the combination of a great user experience and solid design. However, the iPhone 7 is a few years old, and it might be worth the money to go with the more expensive but newer iPhone 8.

The price may be the only drawback, at $239 currently on the Tracfone website. Note that there are newer models of the iPhone available, including the iPhone 8 which is available from Tracfone, and the iPhone X but it is not available from Tracfone at this time.

tracfone moto g7 best smartphone
Unlocked Moto G7 Play

#3 Moto G7 Optimo MAXX

Screen: 6.2" HD touchscreen
Camera: 12 MP camera
Storage: 32 GB
Processor: 1.8 Ghz Octa-core (Qualcomm Snapdragon 632)
Operating System: Android 9 Pie

Released in early 2020, the Motorola Moto G7 Optimo MAXX is a powerful budget smartphone that comes with a nice, 6.2" HD screen, 32 GB internal storage, 3 GB RAM and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 processor to keep everything humming.

While it might not have some features, like a high-resolution screen, that more expensive phones have, it does have a powerful processor and the latest Android OS version which is very important.

Get the full specs and details, in our Moto G7 Optimo MAXX Review.

The smaller, Moto G7 Optimo has a 5.7" screen, smaller battery and a few other differences, but otherwise many of the same specs for those who don't want a device with such a large screen as the MAXX.

For those with Tracfone BYOP consider the unlocked Moto G7.

top tracfone cell phone smartphone
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy A10e

#4 Samsung Galaxy S20 (S205DL)

Screen: 6.4" HD Super AMOLED Infinity display
Camera: 13 MP Rear Camera with 5 MP Ultra-wide and 8 MP Front Camera with LED Flash, Autofocus
Storage: 32 GB
Processor: Octa-core (2x1.6 GHz Cortex-A73 & 6x1.35 GHz Cortex-A53)
Operating System: Android 9 Pie

A popular new phone from Samsung, the Galaxy A20 was released in mid 2020 and comes with a large, 6.4" screen, 32 GB internal storage, Octa-core processor and runs Android 9 Pie.

The Galaxy A20 comes with Samsung One UI which adds a unique look and feel on top of the Android 9.0 Pie operating system. Some of the unique features you get include optional theme and icon packs from Samsung. With a 4,000 mAh battery and 3 GB RAM, the A20 is very comparable to the Moto G7 Optimo MAXX, although it runs a little more expensive.

Learn more about this phone and what it has to offer in our Samsung Galaxy A20 Review.

Find the A20 from QVC at this time, with more retailers coming soon.

#5 Apple iPhone 6S Plus (and iPhone SE)

tracfone best smartphones apple iphone
iPhone 6S Plus Unlocked
Screen: 5.5'' Retina HD display
Camera: 12 MP iSight camera
Storage: 32 GB
Processor: A9 Chip
Operating System: Apple iOS

Next in this list is the iPhone 6 Plus which is larger and more powerful compared to the iPhone 6, but also has a higher price. The iPhone SE has the same camera and internal specs, but a much smaller screen.

The 6S Plus comes with Apple iOS, a 5.5" HD touchscreen, 32 GB internal memory, dual core processor, 2 GB RAM and 12 MP camera.

While the specs are not impressive on paper, Apple devices are well known for their great performance due to their unique operating system and tailored processors. The 12 MP rear camera has excellent image quality and can record 4K footage at 30 FPS for high resolution videos.

The iPhone 6S Plus is currently listed on the Tracfone website for $189 which is a pretty good deal. There are also unlocked refurbished options available on Amazon for $148 (GSM compatible)

The iPhone SE actually has the same internal specs as the larger, iPhone 6S, and they were both released at the same time. The iPhone SE has a smaller, 4" screen, and originally retailed for $399, but the Tracfone website has it available for under $200.

The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website and in some retail stores. Additionally, you can buy your own iPhone and bring it to the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the link to learn more.

#6 Moto G6

best tracfone smartphone
Tracfone Moto G6
Screen: 5.7" HD touchscreen
Camera: Dual Rear Camera (12 MP + 5 MP)
Storage: 32 GB
Processor: 1.8 Ghz Octa-core (Qualcomm Snapdragon 450)
Operating System: Android 9 Pie

Released on Tracfone at the end of 2018, the Moto G6 is a very popular budget smartphone that packs a number of great features into a reasonable price.

With a 5.7" full HD touchscreen, Android 8.0 Oreo, 32 GB Storage, 3 GB RAM and Dual Rear Cameras, the G6 has a lot to like about it.

The Moto G6 is one of only a few smartphones from Tracfone that offer 32 GB storage, and certainly the least expensive at this time. For more details on this device, see the Full Tracfone Moto G6 Review.

There are several online retailers offering the Moto G6, including Tracfone, HSN, eBay and more, but we found the Moto G6 on Amazon with airtime bundle.

The Moto G6 is a great value for the money and it can also be found unlocked and used with either GSM or CDMA service on Tracfone BYOP.


More Tracfone Smartphones to Consider:
For more options, visit the Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones.

That concludes our list of the Best Tracfone Cell Phones. For many, buying the S6, iPhone 6 Plus or S7 would be impractical because of the high cost and older release date, but these are the most high-end options available through Tracfone. Leave a comment with your thoughts, and if you enjoyed this list, take a look at our List of the Best Phones for Tracfone BYOP.

Honorable Mentions - Unlocked Smartphones on Tracfone BYOP

The BYOP program from Tracfone makes it easy for consumers to have the phone they want at a reasonable price on Tracfone's prepaid service. Visit our main, Tracfone BYOP page for all the details.

The Moto G7 is an example of a popular unlocked smartphone that can be used with either GSM or CDMA service and is available for around $200.

We hope you found this article useful, leave a comment with your pick for the best Tracfone device. Also be sure to share this with your friends.

----------

We also want to share that Tracfone continues to add new phones to their lineup, and we will work to update this post as needed.

For more on the cell phones offered by Tracfone, visit our Cell Phones Review page.

Also don't forget about our most popular page, the Tracfone Promo Codes!

Finally, keep up with all the latest news and info on our Facebook page!

Thanks for visiting!

June 9, 2020

Samsng Galaxy A01 (S111DL) Tracfone Review

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy A01 (S111DL) Specs and Review

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer with the latest news, reviews and Tracfone promo codes!
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy A01 S111DL
Samsung Galaxy A01 Review (S111DL)
Featuring a 5.7" screen, Octa-core processor and Android 10, a new budget friendly device from Samsung called the Galaxy A01 is now available for use with Tracfone's prepaid service as of June 2020.

The Galaxy A01 is under $100 and comes with dual rear cameras, 2 GB RAM, and 16 GB internal storage. It looks like good replacement for some of the older Samsung phone options including the Galaxy J2 and Galaxy J3 Orbit.

The Samsung Galaxy A01 follows several other devices recently released by Tracfone including other Samsung smartphones like the Galaxy A20. Keep up with all the new phone sin our List of the Latest Tracfone Smartphones.

The Galaxy A20, by contrast, has a much larger screen at 6.4", but for consumers interested in a device that more easily fits in a pocket or your hand, the Galaxy A01 may be a good option.

Let's get into the details on the A01 starting with our pro's and con's

Samsung Galaxy A01 Quick Facts

What we Like:
-Android 10
-Dual rear facing cameras
-Under $100
-Octa-core processor

What we Don't Like:
-2 GB RAM
-16 GB internal storage

With any budget smartphones there are trad offs and in the case of the Galaxy A01, we see that it only has 16 GB internal storage which for many users is not enough, and it only has 2 GB RAM which may limit the phone when it comes to performance.

But, somewhat surprisingly, the Samsung Galaxy A01 comes with the newest Android OS and is one of the first devices on Tracfone to offer that. Android 10 offers a number of new features and improvements over previous versions including dark theme, new privacy and location settings, and greater control over notifications.

The latest Android OS is a great feature, but what else does this phone offer? Now for the full list of features and specs on the Galaxy A01 (S111DL)

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy A01 Features and Specs

Below are the features followed by the technical specs
  • Android 10
  • 4G LTE capability
  • Wi-Fi: 802.11 a/b/g/n, 2.4 GHz + 5.0 GHz
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • Alarm Clock
  • GPS
  • MP3 Player
  • Standard 3.5mm Headphone Jack
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS
  • USB Charger
  • Compatible with Samsung Gear Smartwatches
  • Face unlock
Samsung Galaxy A20 Technical Specs
Size: 5.80'' x 2.79'' x 0.33'' inches (5.29 oz)
Camera: 13MP rear camera with 2MP Depth camera and 5 MP Front Camera
Screen: 5.7'' HD+ TFT LCD, 720 x 1520 resolution
Processor: Qualcomm SDM439 Snapdragon 439 Octa-core processor
Memory: 2 GB
Storage: 16 GB internal storage, supports up to 512 GB MicroSD Card
Battery: 3,000 mAh battery (non-removable) with talk time up to 19 hrs, standby 11 days

Many consumers are familiar with the Samsung brand as they are a global manufacture and the largest consumer electronics maker (by revenue) in the world. They are based in South Korea and have a broad lineup of smartphones with their high end device, the Samsung Galaxy S10, a contender for one of the best phones in the world.

The Galaxy A01 does get some of the classic design elements of Samsung phones with a familiar layout for the charging and headphone ports and it also features an edge-to-edge Infinity Display.

Now let's get into the details with our review of the A01.

Samsung Galaxy A01 (S111DL) Review

Touchscreen
The Galaxy A01 comes with a relatively small, 5.7" PLS TFT capacitive touchscreen. It has a resolution of 720 x 1520 pixels and 19:9 screen ratio which is fairly common these days. While the screen is small by comparison to the Galaxy A20, which has a 6.4" screen, both phones actually have the same resolution, which gives the A01 a better pixel density of 301 ppi. This just means that images and media on the Galaxy A01 are just a little sharper, but probably won't be noticeable for most. One thing that is noticeable is that the A20 is a bit brighter with its super AMOLED display compared to the screen on the A01.

Samsung Galaxy A01 S111DL from Tracfone
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy A01 Review

Internal Performance - Processor, RAM and Storage
Here is where the A01 cuts corners to keep the price low. We see an Octa-core processor which is good, but it is an older, Qualcomm Snapdragon 439 with average performance. Combined with only 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage, this phone just doesn't have the specs to keep up with the apps and activities of most users these days as apps become larger and more resource intensive.

There is a microSD card slot for expanding the storage. 

Camera
Image quality is surprisingly good with the 13 MP rear sensor that has autofocus, LED flash and more. There is also a 2 MP depth sensor for those portrait mode shots. For video, the A01 can shoot standard 1080p at 30fps.

On the front of the phone there is a small notch in the top of the screen where the 5 MP selfie camera is located. It captures decent photos and video and has selfie focus plus a timer.

Read our 8 Simple Tips for Taking Better Photos to get the most from your cell phone photography.

Battery
A 3,000 mAh battery comes with the Samsung Galaxy A01 which gives it about 19 hrs talk time and standby up to 11 days. The battery is non-removable and it does not have fast-charging capability.

Android OS
The Android 10 OS on the Galaxy A01 is a big highlight for this phone and one of the first from Tracfone with the updated Operating System. It also has Samsung's One UI 2.0 which gives it a number of the same features as Samsung's high-end devices including night mode and much more.

Android 10 brings a number of new features as well as security updates. Some of the features include focus mode, dark theme, sound amplifier and live caption. Learn more about all the Android 10 improvements here.


Design
Samsung has given the A01 a sleek and polished look that makes it appear much more expensive than it is and follows a number of design trends from the more expensive Samsung Galaxy S10. The back of the phone is made from plastic but looks very good with a matte finish that keeps it from getting fingerprints. On the right side of the phone are the traditional volume and power buttons with the 3.5mm headphone jack and micro USB on the bottom.

The bezels on the touchscreen are reasonable with just a bit of space at the bottom of the phone and the overall design is clean and simple. There is no fingerprint sensor on the phone, but it does have facial recognition software for unlocking.

Conclusion
With the new Android 10 OS and classic dependability of a Samsung device, the Galaxy A01 looks and feels good. However, the performance side of the phone suffers, and users who enjoy more than a few different apps or like playing some of the latest games will push the A01 to the limits of its storage and performance capabilities.

The A01 then is more suited for consumers looking for a dependable phone but don't need it for much more than calling, texting, some social media and maybe a few photos. It would make a nice upgrade over the Samsung Galaxy J2 or J3 Orbit as both of these devices have older Android OS, but share the same RAM and internal storage.

For a phone that is more capable, consider the Samsung Galaxy A20 which has more RAM, storage, and improved processor but also a higher price tag.

Where to Buy the Samsung Galaxy A01

The Galaxy A01 is currently only available from Tracfone. We will update as more retailers become available.


Also take a look at the device tutorials and user manual to learn more.

This concludes our review of the Galaxy A01, we hope you found it useful! Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions.

If you are new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide!

Join us over on Facebook for the latest news and posts or send us a message for more direct help questions.

Take a look at some of our recent posts, including a Guide for Making your Airtime Last Longer and Everything you Need to Know about Data Cards.

And don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales!

Thanks for visiting!