May 17, 2019

Tracfone Deals and Sales - May 2019

List of Tracfone Deals and Sales for May 2019

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and promo codes!

tracfones on sale
Tracfone Deals and Sales May 2019
Shopping for a new Tracfone device can be difficult with many options available from a variety of different retailers. It can be challenging to find the lowest price or even know if you are getting a good deal.

We are here to help! We are often monitoring various deals and each month we gather the best prices on popular Tracfone smartphones to give our readers the best deals here.

Prices and deals can change often, sometimes going up or down. We've included both Tracfone smartphone deals and several unlocked phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Keep up with the newest phones in our Latest list of Tracfone Smartphones (2019).

Now let's get tot he deals.

Tracfone Deals and Sales List - May 2019


Alcatel MyFlip A405 Phone 
The ZTE Flip is a basic phone with 4G connectivity and CDMA service. It is probably best suited as a backup phone or for those who don't want to use a smartphone. With this deal you get a Flip phone plus $15 airtime card for just $9.

Get the ZTE Flip on eBay with $15 airtime card for $29

LG Rebel 4
The Rebel 4 is a small, budget friendly smartphone with a 5" touchscreen, 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and runs Android 8.0 Oreo. The Rebel is smaller than most phones which makes it a popular choice for some users who prefer that. Learn more about this smartphone in our LG Rebel 4 Review.

Find the LG Rebel on Amazon for $59
Also available on QVC with 1200 minutes for $79

Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
The J7 Crown comes with a 5.5" touchscreen, octa-core processor and runs Android 8.0 Oreo. It also has 16 GB Storage and 2 GB RAM. It has been a popular choice for many Tracfone users but is also a little more expensive than many of the other prepaid devices from Tracfone. Now there are several deals on the Galaxy Crown including airtime bundles. Take a look at our full review for further details about the Crown.

See the Samsung Galaxy Crown on Amazon for $117
Find the Samsung Galaxy Crown on eBay with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $134
Get the Samsung Galaxy Crown with airtime bundle on QVC for $139

Alcatel TCL LX
With a 5.4" touchscreen, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage, the TCL LX is one of the cheapest smartphones from Tracfone that runs Android 8.1 Oreo. While the quality and reliability of this phone might not be quite at the same level as more expensive devices, it can make for a great backup or secondary phone.

Get the Alcatel TCL LX from Walmart, Target or Bestbuy for $29

Moto E5
Tracfone deals and sales 2019
Tracfone Moto E5
A low cost phone with a large screen, the Moto E5 comes with a 5.7" touchscreen, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM to go with the 1.4 Ghz quad-core processor. It runs on CDMA networks, has Android 8.0 Oreo and a surprisingly long battery life thanks to a 4,000 mAh battery. Get all the features and specs for the Moto E5 in our review.

Get the Moto E5 on Amazon for $79

Moto G6
The Tracfone Moto G6 has a large, 5.7" screen, octa-core processor, 3 GB RAM and 32 GB storage. It brings a number of higher end features and specs to a budget device and is available fro less than $200. We saw some really great discounts on the G6 around the holidays, but these deals are still quite good. For more on the Moto G6 visit our review.

Get the Moto G6 on HSN with airtime bundle for $159 (limited time deal)
See the Moto G6 from Walmart for $169
Also available with airtime bundle from HSN for $169
Get the Moto G6 on eBay for $199

Unlocked Smartphone Deals for Tracfone BYOP

Moto X (4th Gen)
While the Moto X was released a little while back, it still boasts performance on par with the Moto G6, or even a little better in some areas. It features a 5.2" touchscreen, 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage, Octa-core processor and Android 8.0 (upgradable to Android 9). It also has dual rear cameras (12 MP main shooter) and is water resistant with an IP68 rating. This deal from amazon is for prime members only and the phone comes with amazon Alexa.

Get the Moto X (4th Gen) from Amazon for $119

Moto G7
The latest in the Moto G lineup, the G7 features a large, 6.2" touchscreen, 64 GB storage, 4 GB RAM, and runs Android 9.0 Pie. It was released at the beginning of March 2019 and is unlocked for use with either GSM or CDMA service on Tracfone BYOP. Take a look at our Full Moto G7 Review to learn more about this new device.

Available from Amazon for $299 (Prime members get a $30 gift card with purchase)
Available from BHphoto for $299 (Get a $30 BHphoto gift card with purchase)

unlocked cell phone deals
BLU Vivo XL4
BLU VIVO XL4
Looking for a very large screen at a low price? The Vivo XL4 might be a good option with a huge, 6.2" touchscreen, 32 GB storage and 3 GB RAM, this phone packs a lot of features in at a low price. It also comes with dual rear cameras, Android 8.0 Oreo and is compatible with GSM networks.

Get the BLU Vivo XL4 on Amazon for $149

Moto G6
One of the best budget smartphones available, the G6 has the same specs as the Tracfone version, but the unlocked Moto G6 is compatible with either CDMA or GSM networks. Along with a 5.7" screen, 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM and dual rear cameras, it runs runs Android 8.0 Oreo and will likely be upgraded to Android Pie when that is available.

Get the Moto G6 unlocked from Amazon for $151

That concludes our deals and sales list for May 2019. We hope these help you get the best price on a new smartphone!

Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions and also join us on Facebook to connect with our growing community and get the latest info.

Take a look at what the future might hold for Tracfone in 2019 and some of our predictions.

If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares helpful information about how it all works.

And finally don't miss out on our Tracfone Promo Code list with many different codes to get free minutes when adding airtime!

Thanks for visiting!

May 7, 2019

How to Buy Only Texts for your Tracfone Smartphone

How Texting Works with Tracfone and How to Add More

buy texts for tracfone
How to Buy Texts for Tracfone
For many of us, texting is our biggest drain of minutes on our Tracfone smartphone. And up until now, the only way to add more texts was by getting a card for more calling and data as well.

With Tracfone smartphones, each text you send or receive deducts from your total amount of texts. When you buy prepaid airtime cards, they allow you to make calls, send texts and surf the web on data. Tracfone sells a variety of prepaid cards (for both regular devices and smartphones), and each card adds more texts, data and calling minutes at the same time in different amounts.

With airtime split for smartphones into Talk, Text and Data buckets,, you can run out of data or texts and have to buy more calling minutes to refill your data and texts, even if you don't want any more calling minutes.

But Tracfone now offers a prepaid card you can purchase to add 1000 extra texts for $5. It is also possible to buy extra Data for your Tracfone as well and you can follow the link to learn more.

It is very convenient to be able to just buy additional texts, especially as Tracfone offers more and more smartphones. And remember that these data and text specific cards only work with smartphones.

Let's break down how the text card works, and where to get it.

What is the Text Only Card and What do you Get?

There are three kinds of prepaid cards you can buy from Tracfone to use with your smartphone:

  • Regular Airtime Cards - available for all phones
  • Smartphone Only Airtime Cards - only available with smartphones
  • Add-on Cards - only available with smartphones

The regular airtime cards (with varying amounts from 60 minutes to 450 minutes) are generally not the best deal, especially for heavy data or text users as they don't give you as many texts/data for the price. However, some phones with triple minutes help make these cards a more reasonable deal.

buy text 1000 card
Text Refill Card available at Target
Smartphone Only cards have specific amounts of talk/text/data and generally give more text/data than talk time because most users tend to use more texts and data. The smartphone only cards range in price from $15 to $125.

Finally, Tracfone also offers add on cards which, unlike the other two kinds of cards, only add one type of airtime (either talk, text, data or service days).

Here are the current Tracfone Add On Cards:
  • Talk - 500 Talk Minutes for $10
  • Text - 1000 Texts for $5
  • Data - ! GB Data for $10
  • Service Days - 1 Year of Service for $50 (Currently unavailable, Tracfone may have removed this)
At first glance, 1000 texts for $5 looks like a good deal, but is it? Let's break it down.

Comparing the Cost Per Text for Airtime and Text Cards

Is it cheaper to buy an Airtime card or a Text card to refill your Texts?

If you buy the 60 Minute Airtime card, you will get 60 texts, which is tripled to 180 on some smartphones (you also get 180 calling minutes, and 180 mb of data, plus 90 days of service) for $20. This works out to just over 1.4 cents per text after factoring out the value of the talk, data and service days you also get.

If you get the $25 Smartphone Only Card you get 500 minutes, 1000 texts, 500 mb data and 60 service days. This works out to 0.6 cents per text, which is a little better than the 60 minute card.

And what does the 1000 texts for $5 come to per text? 0.5  cents per text, which is the best deal.

buy texts for tracfone
Tracfone Text Card 1000
As you can clearly see, if you only need text messages for your phone, the special text card is the best deal. But if you need additional calling, data or service days, some of the smartphone only cards are also a good deal.

We recently created a Full Comparison of Tracfone Airtime Cards which looks at which airtime card is the best deal, and includes information on text and data only cards.

So what should you do if you need just a few calling and data minutes, plus service days, but go through texts quickly? Try buying some of the lower cost airtime cards that include plenty of service days, like the 60 minute card which as 90 service days, and then buy additional text add on cards as needed.

Where to Buy the 1000 Texts Card

The 1000 Texts Card is available as an add-on from the Tracfone website. The cards can also be found in many retail stores including Target and Walmart, and also online from many sources such as Amazon.

Get Bonus Texts when adding the Text Only Card! Don't forget that there are often promo codes for extra texts (500 to 1000) when adding the 100 text card! Visit our Tracfone Promo Code page to see the codes!

We hope this analysis is help for you if you're comparing airtime cards. Drop us a comment below if you have questions, or additional insight to share.

If you are new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide!

Be sure to take a look at our Tracfone BYOP page, which has information about using unlocked phones with Tracfone, such as the new Moto G7 which we reviewed recently.

Find the lowest prices on new phones with our Tracfone Deals and Sales List which includes both Tracfone devices and unlocked phones.

Finally, join us on Facebook with a growing community of helpful people and send us a message if you have specific questions!

Thanks for visiting!

May 1, 2019

Tracfone Promo Codes for May 2019

Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2019

Gathered and shared by TracfoneReviewer

tracfone promo code may
Tracfone Promo Codes May 2019
Spring is in full swing, flowers are blooming, and we've got new Tracfone Promo Codes to share with you!

Listed below are the latest promotional codes from Tracfone that we gather and share each month for our readers to use and get additional airtime for free.

With these codes you can get 40 to 300 extra minutes, plus bonus data or texts for some of the cards. We have promo codes for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards. The list below is just the freshest codes for May, but we have many more options on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Some of these codes only work for certain devices, or may be one time use. To get the bonus minutes, simply enter the code at the appropriate time when adding an airtime card to your phone.This can be done online, on your phone, or over the phone.

If you are looking for a new phone to add airtime to, take a look at the Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones (2019) to see what phones are available or consider an unlocked phone like the Moto G7 we recently reviewed.

Now let's get tot he list of codes.

Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2019

Regular Airtime Cards

60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes (Working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 10106 for 30 extra minutes

200 Minute Card add code 37227 and receive 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card use code 26642 to get 50 bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card add 54654 for 300 extra free minutes

$15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 70362 (online only)


Smartphone Only Airtime Cards

15397 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Only Card - May 2019

16311 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Only Card - May 2019

14223 - 500 bonus MB Data - 1 GB Data Card - Working May 2019

38783 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Only Card - Working May 2019

These are the latest codes to use when adding a Tracfone airtime card. We hope these codes work for you! Leave a comment below and let us know which code you used and how it worked.

Find cheap phones and low prices in our Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales post including both Tracfone smartphones and unlocked devices.

Join us on Facebook with a growing community of over 3000 and plenty of helpful advice from other members.

And don't miss out our recently updated guide to Checking your Tracfone Airtime Balance which includes six different ways to do that.

Thanks for visiting!

April 25, 2019

How to Check Your Tracfone Airtime Balance

6 Ways to Check your Minutes Balance on Tracfone Smartphones

Below we share how you can check your airtime on Tracfone smartphones. If you're new to Tracfone, consider taking a look at our Beginners Guide to Tracfone (opens in new window).

tracfone airtime balance android
Check Airtime Balance on Tracfone Smartphone

On older, non Android phones, airtime and service days are displayed on the home screen and via the prepaid menu for easy monitoring.

But on Android Smartphones, there is no automatic menu or display for your airtime. So how can you check your balance? We will answer that here, with several different ways!

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that also sells phones to use with their service. They have a wide variety of phones, from flip phones to touchscreen smartphones. Visit the Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see recent options including some of the latest Android devices.

On Android smartphones, minutes are not treated the same as on feature phones, they are split into three buckets for texts/talk/data.

It is always important to keep track of your airtime and service days with Tracfone because if you run out of minutes or service days, you can't make any calls. Now with your texts, talk and data split into different buckets for Android phones, it is even more important to keep track of how many of each you have remaining. Take a look at our explanation of How Minutes Work on Android Phones for more information.

We've also Compared the New Smartphone-only cards to the Regular Airtime Cards to determine which card is the best deal.

Well, if you're having trouble checking your airtime on a Tracfone smartphone, we've got an easy solution for you, actually we have four different solutions!

How to Check your Tracfone Balance on a Smartphone

Because it is so important to manage your airtime with Tracfone, we've included several different ways to check your balance! Not all of these methods will work for everyone, but hopefully you can find a convenient way to check your balance.

1. Use the Tracfone My Account App

Tracfone provides an Android app to help manage your account and it is a helpful for tracking your airtime.

tracfone balance
Tracfone My Account App airtime balance
Once you download the The Tracfone App (follow the link to it on Google Play)  you can enter your details and keep up with your remaining minutes.

You can even add a widget to your home-screen that will display your airtime, much like on older feature phones!

Download the Tracfone My Account App:

Step 1 -  Go to the Google Play Store on your phone (through the Google Play Store App)  and search for 'Tracfone My Account'. (or follow the link) Select the app and choose 'Install'

Step 2 - Once the app is installed, launch it and enter your Tracfone account login details. If you don't already have a Tracfone account, simply go to the Tracfone website and create one.

Step 3 - Use the app to check your remaining balance. At this point you can also install a widget on your homescreen so you can always view your balance. To do this, tap and hold in an open space on your homescreen and then select widgets at the top of the screen. From the drop down of apps, select the Tracfone My Account widget.

If you don't have the space for this app on your phone, or want to check your balance online, you can use any of the following methods.

2. View Your Airtime on the Tracfone Website

You can always go to the Tracfone website, whether from your phone or on a computer, and log in and view your account details. From there you can check your airtime balance and it should show your remaining minutes, and/or send you a free text with this information.

Speaking of texts, you can now buy extra text messages for your phone. Read our analysis of the new Text Message card and more!

3. Use the Following URL to Check your Airtime Balance:

Some readers shared this easy trick for checking your airtime balance. It appears to sometimes redirect users to log into their Tracfone account, but it is a convenient method if it works.

You can enter the following URL to check your balance:
"https://www.tracfone.com/direct/CheckBalance?input_phone=1234567890" (replace 1234567890 with your phone number, and don't include the "" quotation marks). You should get a text with your balance.

And this next option for checking your airtime is maybe the fastest, but only works for GSM users.

4. Call *777*1# from your Smartphone to Check your Balance

Check Tracfone Balance
Check your Tracfone Balance from your Phone!
This is by far the fastest and easiest way to check your airtime on a Tracfone Smartphone or BYOP device. However, it only works for some devices (GSM). A number of readers have reported they are unable to use this, so if you try it and it doesn't work, use one of the other methods above.

All you do is call *777*1# and you should get a pop-up within a few seconds that shows your talk, text and data. If you get something else, or an error, then it doesn't work on your phone.

Need gift ideas? Check out our List of the Best Gift Ideas for Smartphone Users (2018)


5. Text 'Balance' to 611611 for your Airtime Balance

This is a newer option for Tracfone users to get their airtime balance sent directly to your text message inbox. You get your talk, text and data totals, plus your service end date.

Standard messaging rates apply, so you will be deducted for the texts.

6. Enter your Phone Number on this Page to See Your Airtime Balance:

Visit http://www.fastactportal.com/static/balance and enter your phone number to retrieve your balance.

check tracfone airitme
Bonus Method for Checking your Airtime
This appears to work for both smartphones and non-smartphones, and will display your service days as well. You can bookmark that site on your phone or computer, and check it at your convenience.

Tracking your airtime is important, so that you don't run out at an inconvenient time when you really need the phone.

Tracfone has expanded their options for monthly and automatic renewal plans, and they can be a good fit for many. You can sign up on the Tracfone website, and cancel at any time.

If you're shopping for a smartphone, be sure to check out our List of the Best Tracfone Smartphones in 2019, which includes some of best current smartphones available from Tracfone. And see our post on the Major Differences between Android and Non-Android phones from Tracfone.

Keep up with the latest Tracfone news, info, deals and tips by joining over 2500 others who Follow us on Facebook! It is also a great place to ask questions!

You can also Bring Your Own Phone to Tracfone, including devices like the Moto G7, iPhone X and Samsung Galaxy S10.

See our Latest list of Deals and Discounts on Tracfone cell phones, but be careful, you might find a deal too good to pass up!

Thanks for visiting and leave a comment if you have thoughts or questions to share.

Originally published on 2/272015 and updated on 4/25/2019.

April 1, 2019

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2019

Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2019

Get the latest news, reviews and promo codes here at TracfoneReviewer.

tracfone promo codes
Tracfone Promo Code List
Winter is thawing for many, spring is on the way, and we've got new Tracfone promo codes to share!

Each month we collect these codes and post them here for our readers to use and get the free minutes. These promo codes are for use with Tracfone when adding an airtime card.

We have promo codes for both the regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards. These codes are just the latest codes, and we have more options on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

If you are looking for a new phone, see the best options in our List of Latest Tracfone Smartphones or consider the unlocked Moto G7 we recently reviewed that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Now, let's get tot he codes.

Tracfone Promo Code List April 2019

Regular Airtime Cards

60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter 48189 for 40 extra minutes

200 Minute Card add code 17158 and receive 50 free minutes

450 Minute Card (no new codes at this time - use one of the codes above)

1 Year/400 Minute Card add 16756 for 300 extra free minutes

$15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 85206 (online only)


Smartphone Only Airtime Cards

83407 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Only Card - April 2019

22505 - 100 bonus Data - $25 Smartphone Only Card - April 2019

38783 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Only Card - Working April 2019

14223 - 500 bonus MB Data - 1 GB Data Card - Working April 2019

These are the latest codes to use when adding a Tracfone airtime card. We hope these codes work for you! Leave a comment below and let us know which code you used and how it worked.

See what phones are on sale in our Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales post with both Tracfone smartphones and great deals on unlocked devices.

Join our growing community on Facebook with helpful members who can answer questions or message us directly with your questions!

Finally, if you are new to Tracfone start with our Beginners Guide which runs through the basics of how it all works and more!

Thanks for visiting!