April 25, 2017

Tracfone Triple Minute Cell Phones (And How it Works)

Tracfone Cell Phones with Triple Minutes for Life

A list of Tracfone cell phones that come with Triple Minutes for Life conveniently organized by TracfoneReviewer for our readers to see which phones are the best deal on minutes.

tracfone triple minutes
List of Triple Minute Tracfones
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone company that provides both phones and service. Many of their phones come with a special bonus of Double or Triple Minutes. In this post we will share many of the phones that have Triple Minutes, and help provide details on how Triple Minutes work.

Let's start with our first question:

How Does Triple Minutes Work with Tracfone?

The way Tracfone service works is you buy airtime cards that come with certain amounts of minutes, like 60, 120 200 etc.

When you add the airtime card to your phone with Double Minutes, you will get twice the number of minutes. If you have Triple Minutes, you get three times the number of minutes.

So, for example. if you add a 200 minute card to your Triple Minute phone, you will get 600 minutes total (200 minutes plus 400 bonus minutes). And that's before you add a Promo Code!

If you have a smartphone, however, things are a little different. Smartphones split up the Talk/Text/Data into three different pools. But, all Tracfone smartphones come with Triple Minutes, so you end up getting 3x Talk minutes, 3x Data and 3x Texts. (example: if you add a 200 minute card, you will get 600 talk minutes, 600 texts, and 600 MB data.)

do tracfone smartphones have triple minutes
Triple Minute Cell Phones
Note: Smartphone only airtime cards do not triple, and can only be used with smartphones, but they are a good deal as we found in our smartphone airtime comparison chart.

We have several full posts providing further details on this including, How Do Minutes Work on Android Tracfones.

You can also learn about How Data Works on Tracfone Smartphones, and How to Buy More Texts for your Tracfone.

Now, here is the list of cell phones form Tracfone with Triple Minutes for life.

List of Tripe Minute Cell Phones from Tracfone

This is the list of Tracfone prepaid cell phones that come with Triple Minutes for Life. Found a triple minute phone that isn't listed here? Leave a comment so we can add it!

To get more info on each of these phones, and read our reviews of them, simply follow the link for each one.

All Android Smartphones have Triple Minutes for Life - All of the recently released smartphones, like the Samsung Galaxy Sky, LG X Style and iPhone 6, have Triple Minutes for Life. So these are good options to choose if you're looking to maximize your minutes. Visit our Cell Phone Reviews page or Android Phone List to see more smartphones available from Tracfone.

Top Android Phones with Triple Minutes:
Samsung Galaxy Sky
Samsung Galaxy Luna
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory
LG Premier
LG Sunset
LG Power
Samsung Galaxy Stardust
Moto E
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop
LG Ultimate 2

All BYOP Smartphones have Triple Minutes for Life - Any phone that you are able to use with the Tracfone BYOP program automatically gets Triple Minutes for Life! You can bring a wide variety of phones to use with Tracfone, and learn more about this on our Tracfone BYOP page.

Some popular phones to bring to Tracfone include:
Moto G5 Plus
iPhone 6S
And take a look at our list of the best BYOP devices for more options.

Below are additional devices that are not smartphones, but come with Triple Minutes.

tracfone triple minutes for life lg 505c
LG 505C
LG 306G - One of the newest of the options listed below, this non-Android feature phone has a 3.2" touchscreen, GPS connectivity, and plenty of useful features. Might be your best choice if you're avoiding upgrading to a smartphone.

LG 530G - This phone comes with a great QWERTY keyboard making texting fast and simple. It also has lots of other good features like an MP3 Player, and long battery life. This phone has a solid construction and is very durable.

LG 505C - A phone with both a touchscreen and slider qwerty keyboard, this phone is very modern and sleek. It also uses the CDMA network, typically Verizon towers, so it is a good option if other GSM Tracfone cell phones won't work in your area. Tracfone Reviewer will be reviewing this phone soon, but until then, you can check it out on Amazon.

LG 800G - A slightly older Tracfone mobile device that features a touchscreen and many other good features. This phone, while not the best, can often be found at deep discounts and serves well as a back up or temporary phone.

tracfone triple minute phone lg 840g
LG 840G
LG 840G - A big upgrade from the LG 800G, this stylish touchscreen phone comes with WiFi and 3G connectivity making it a great value and one of Tracfone's best cell phones. This phone also comes with a MicroSD card, and lots more. Read our full review to see all the great features and the best deals.

Samsung S390G - This phone is another great option from Tracfone that comes with a QWERTY keyboard for fast texting, and WiFi connectivity for free internet browsing from the phone. Anytime you are connected to a wireless internet network, you can browse the web without using your prepaid minutes, adding huge value to this phone. Be sure to read our full review by following the link to learn more.

Samsung R455C - Another cell phone from Tracfone that uses CDMA networks instead of GSM, this phone has very good features such as a sliding qwerty keyboard, and is a good option for those in areas where Verizon networks have better coverage than AT&T. View this phone on Amazon to learn more about it.

samsung t404g triple minutes for life tracfone
Samsung T404G
Samsung T404G - A slider QWERTY keyboard style phone that is similar to the R455C except that this phone uses GSM networks, like AT&T. Tracfone Reviewer hasn't reviewed this yet, so view this phone on Amazon to learn more.

Samsung S425G - An updated version of the T404G, this phone features 3G connectivity making browsing the web faster and easier. It has a full sliding QWERTY keyboard that allows for fast and simple texting, and impressive battery life.

Motorola Ex431G - A cell phone built for texting, the Moto EX431 is fairly similar to the LG 530G listed above. It has all the basic features you expect, like MP3 Player, Voicemail and MMS. This phone can sometimes be found for less than $10, making it a great deal. But pay close attention because some versions of this device only come with Double Minutes.

Know of another phone not listed here that comes with Triple Minutes for Life? Leave a comment so we can add it!

Learn more about the phones Tracfone offers by visiting our Cell Phone Reviews page.

And you might be interested in viewing the phones from Tracfone that have WiFI.

New to Tracfone? Start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which includes lots of helpful details and tips or you can also join our online community on Facebook!

Thanks for visiting!


This post was originally published in May 2013, and Updated April 2017

April 20, 2017

Tracfone Alcatel Pixi Glory (A621BL) Review

Tracfone Alcatel Pixi Glory Review

Pixi Glory tracfone review
Tracfone Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory Review
The Alcatel One Touch Pixi Glory is a large, budget friendly smartphone available from Tracfone since mid-2016.


It comes with a 5.5" screen, quad-core processor, 8 GB memory and Android 5.1. It is for use with Tracfone prepaid service and uses the GSM cell network with 4G capability.

In our review of the Pixi Glory we will share the full list of features and specs, look at key pros and cons, and compare it to some of the other popular smartphones available from Tracfone at this time.

To see all our reviews of, visit our Tracfone Cell Phone Reviews page.

Let's start with the main pro's and con's about the Alcatel Pixi Glory.

Alcatel Pixi Glitz Quick Facts

The Good:
Large Screen at 5.5"

The Not so Good:
Only 8 GB Memory
Only 1 GB RAM

There are a number of inexpensive smartphones from Alcatel available through Tracfone, with prices ranging from $20 (or sometimes less) to around $100. In general, spending more on a phone means you will get better performance and features, but there are also some great discounts on certain devices.

The Pixi Glory, not to be confused with the Pixi Glitz, Pixi Eclipse, Pixi Pulsar, or a number of other similarly named devices, is one of the more recent and better alcatel phones we've seen.

Let's see the full list of features and specs to get a better idea what this phone brings to the table.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specs
  • Android 5.1
  • 4G LTE capable using GSM networks
  • WiFi and GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • 5 MP rear camera with autofocus, 2 MP front camera
  • Hadsfree speaker
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • 2 Home Screens
  • MMS, SMS, Voicemail and more
Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory Specs
  • Size: 5.98" x 3.06" x 0.37"
  • 5.5" touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
  • 1.1 Ghz Quad Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory (MicroSD card slot for up to 32 GB)
  • Battery: 2500 mAh with 17hrs talk time, 16 days standby (non-removable)
Alcatel is a phone brand licensed by Chinese company TCL Corporation, which is known for a wide variety of electronic products including TV's and various appliances.

While the Pixi Glory has a good appearance and feel, a number of the cheaper alcatel onetouch devices feel and look somewhat 'cheap' and occasionally have quality issues. Any phone offered as a budget smartphone will have certain drawbacks in order to keep the price low.

Let's take a look at our review, with the key features we like, or found to be lacking.

Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory Review

We will start with the features we like about this phone, followed by a few drawbacks.

What we like:
The big feature on the Pixi Glory is the large screen, which is 5.5" with HD resolution (720x1280). For comparison, the Moto G4 Plus also has a 5.5" touchscreen, although it has full HD (1080x1920) resolution for an improved visual experience.

tracfone pixi glory review
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory 
The 5.5" screen size means the phone is fairly big by general standards, and can take some getting used to for those accustomed to smaller phones. However, it doesn't take long before the Pixi Glory feels normal, and you are enjoying the larger surface area for reading, watching or gaming. In our experience, everyone has certain preferences on phone size, but a large screen does make it easier to use the phone as long as you can still comfortably hold it.

The performance specs on the Alcatel Pixi Glory are not very exciting, but adequate for most activities and should keep up with the majority of apps.

Lastly, we are happy to see that even with a large screen, the Pixi Glory is available at a reasonable price of $99 with airtime bundle, and occasionally on sale for less.

Now for some negative points about this phone.

What we Don't Like
While the overall performance of the Pixi Glory is pretty good, we don't like that it is limited by just 8 GB internal memory, 1 GB RAM and running Android 5.1.

Many smartphone users are looking for closer to 16 or 32 GB memory to store the apps, photos videos and other content. With just 8 GB, the Pixi Glory limits how much you can load on the phone.

Tracfone smartphones don't receive OS updates, so the Pixi Glory will always run Android 5.1, which is now becoming a little outdated with Android 7.0 released for many newer (and more expensive) phones.

Another point to mention on the Pixi Glory is that the battery is non-removable, so if it dies, you will need to get a new phone.

Lastly, we do want to mention the front and rear cameras. The rear camera captures 5 MP images and look OK in good light. It can also shoot HD video (720 resolution) at 30 fps which is adequate for sharing on social media or sending to friends. There is also autofocus and LED flash. The front camera has a 2 MP camera that is more like a webcam and will struggle to take good images unless there is good lighting.

Overall the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory has some nice features for the price, and it also looks sleek, just don't expect to be wow'd by the performance. This phone is best suited for consumers who use a handful of apps, but would like a large screen for viewing photos and videos.

View the online tutorial for the Pixi Glory for help navigating on this phone.

Where to Buy the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory

tracfone alcatel pixi glory
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory
The Pixi Glory can be found at a variety of online retail websites, including the Tracfone website and Amazon, but we've found the best bundle deal is on HSN.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory with airtime bundle from HSN - $99
Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory on Amazon - $89

Under $100 for this phone is not a bad deal, as it is a capable device for most tasks.

Alcatel Pixi Glory Compared to the Samsung Galaxy Sky

One of the best budget phones currently available from Tracfone is the Samsung Galaxy Sky. It has a smaller, 5" screen, but comes with a number of improvements compared to the Pixi Glory, such as 16 GB memory, Android 6.0, and 1.5 GB RAM. The Sky is also often on sale for the same price as the Pixi Glory.

Be on the lookout for the new Samsung Galaxy J7, the step up from the Galaxy Sky, which we expect sometime int he near future and will have a 5.5" touchscreen, but likely cost upwards of $150.

We hope this review has been helpful in providing information about the Pixi Glory. Leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

It may be possible to unlock this phone. For more information, visit our step by step Tracfone Unlocking Guide.

And if you're looking for a new phone, don't miss out on our list of the Best Tracfone Smartphones in 2017.

Join our community on Facebook where we post the latest news, and check out our YouTube channel where we will be creating more content in the near future!

Thanks for visiting!

April 10, 2017

Unlock your Tracfone Cell Phone

How to Unlock your Tracfone Cell Phone

It is now possible to unlock some Tracfone devices, mostly smartphones, so that you can use them with other carriers in the US or around the world. TracfoneReviewer provides the requirements and a step by step guide below!

tracfone unlock code
How to Unlock a Tracfone
Owning an unlocked phone means that if you travel to another country that offers service for unlocked phones, you can buy a SIM card and service, and you will have cell phone use in that country. When you leave, you can switch your old SIM card back in to resume service with Tracfone.

Tracfone is well known for not allowing their phones to be unlocked, but because of FCC rules, and a ruling against Tracfone, they are required to unlock phones from after a certain date, offer a credit towards an exchange, or offer a partial cash refund for older devices.

We've got all the information you need about unlocking your Tracfone device. We will start with the requirements, including who can unlock their phone, and then give a step by step guide.

Let's get started.

Requirements for Unlocking a Tracfone Device

There are a number of requirements that you must meet in order to get your phone unlocked. Here are the requirements:

(You can also check if your phone is eligible by entering your phone number or serial number at the bottom of this page)
  • Customers must request handset unlocking.
  • Customers must have had their locked device activated on Tracfone service for no fewer than 12 months, redeemed air time cards in no fewer than 12 months, and not have had their telephone number recycled or ported.
  • Customers must request this interim unlocking solution while their service is active or within 60 days after their active service days expire. This 60-day grace period applies even if the customer's telephone number was recycled or ported.
  • Customers must currently own a Tracfone branded handset model launched on Tracfone's service after February 11, 2014 or activated with Tracfone's service after February 11, 2015.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is in working condition.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is not reported stolen, lost, or associated with fraudulent activity.
  • If a customer requesting handset unlocking is deployed military personnel, upon provision of deployment papers, Tracfone will honor that customer's unlocking request by sending a refund for the Trade-in Value of the used, locked phone returned by the customer without regard for the 12 months of service activation and air card redemption eligibility requirements. However, all other eligibility criteria apply to Tracfone's customers who are deployed military personnel. 
  • Customers are eligible for this program only once every twelve months.
  • (Source - www.tfwunlockpolicy.com/)
There are a lot of requirements, but the key points are that you need to have your phone active for 12 months with Tracfone, it needs to be a newer phone from after Feb 11, 2014, and you can only unlock a phone once every 12 months. While we haven't confirmed this yet, it is likely that only GSM smartphones are able to be unlocked. Let us know your experiences in the comments.

If you're phone is eligible for unlocking, you can continue with our guide to unlocking it.

How to Unlock a Tracfone Cell Phone in 3 Steps

Here is our step by step guide to unlocking your Tracfone cell phone. Be aware that not all Tracfone devices can be unlocked, many of their older phones are not eligible.

unlock tracfone smartphone
Steps for Unlocking a Tracfone
1. Go to www.tfwunlockpolicy.com and enter your phone number at the bottom of the page. You can also call 1-888-442-5102 during normal business hours.

2. If your phone is eligible, you will be able to continue the process to receive an unlock code for your phone. If your phone is not eligible to be unlocked, you may still qualify for a credit towards a new phone, or a cash refund

We tested a Motorola EX 431G Tracfone prepaid phone. It met the requirements to be unlocked, but because it is an old phone, it can't be unlocked. So Tracfone offered a $5 cash refund. To get the cash refund, you have to send the phone to Tracfone, and you lose any remaining airtime on the device.

We also tested an LG Ultimate 2, which is an Android smartphone. This phone also could not be unlocked, and Tracfone offered a $15 cash refund.

3, Once you get the unlock code from Tracfone, you can purchase a SIM card from another carrier, power off your phone, switch the SIM cards, and turn it back on. You should get a notification that your phone is locked, but there should be a place for you to enter your unlock code. After the code is entered your phone will be able to use the new SIM card. You can always switch SIM cards whenever you like, just remember to turn your phone off and back on.

And that is all it takes to unlock a Tracfone prepaid device. It is a fairly easy process, if your phone is eligible.

Going through the process of unlocking a Tracfone device doesn't seem worthwhile in most cases with the huge number of unlocked devices available on the market at very low prices. Amazon, eBay and many other online retailers have plenty of unlocked phones, and if you buy older models, or refurbished phones, you can often get a great deal.

Check out our list of the Best Unlocked Phones for Tracfone to get some ideas about the great options already available.

If you have an unlocked phone, you can activate it with Tracfone BYOP. Then, if you travel to another country and need to use cell phone service, simply power off the phone, switch the SIM cards, and you are ready to use your phone in the new country. Switch the SIM cards back when you return to the US.

The Moto G line of smartphones, with the G5 Plus the latest, are a popular unlocked phone choice for their high performance at a reasonable cost. Take a look at the Details and Specs for the Moto G5 Plus, and our Review of the Moto G4/ G4 Plus

We hope this information has been helpful. Leave a comment below with any questions or thoughts, and also share your experiences.

We are also on Facebook, with a large community who help answer questions, share news and much more.

See our last post about the Best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales including a great deal on the Samsung Galaxy Sky.

Thanks for visiting!

April 3, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2017

New list of Tracfone Promo Codes updated for April 2017 and provided by TracfoneReviewer.com. If you're new, be sure to check out all the other news, reviews and information we offer.

Tracfone codes
Tracfone Promo Codes April 2017
Every month we collect and share new promotional codes from Tracfone for our readers to use. With these promo code you can get 20-300 extra minutes for free when you add various Tracfone airtime cards.

Promo codes work on Tracfone's regular airtime cards, they don't work on the newer, smartphone only options. And these codes aren't supposed to work with smartphones, but they sometimes do work, so it is worth trying.

If you are interested in a new phone, be sure to take a look at our Cell Phone Reviews which include some of the latest phones from Tracfone. We also just shared information about the Moto G5 Plus, an unlocked smartphone that can be sued with Tracfone BYOP.

The best way to use a code is on the Tracfone website, but you can also use them on your phone, in the app, or over the phone. If you're looking for ways to track your airtime, be sure to have a look at 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime.

This list includes the newest promo codes for Tracfone, but we maintain a larger list with more codes on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Let's get tot he coupon codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes List for April 2017

Promo codes are for a certain airtime card, but can usually be used with any card of greater value. Some of these codes can only be used once per phone.

60 Minute Card enter 12745 to get 60 free minutes (only working for some)

120 Minute Card use code 79679 for 60 bonus minutes or 96512  or 32968 for 40 minutes

200 Minute Card enter promo code 82057 for 50 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card add code 74316 to and get 60 extra minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 99138 for 250 bonus minutes

We hope these codes worked for you, and let us know in the comments your thoughts or questions.

If you have questions about Tracfone, or are unfamiliar with how it works, start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which will walk you through some of the basics.

Find us on Facebook where we have a growing community who are helpful in answering questions ans sharing information.

Don't forget about our recent list of great Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone devices and Minutes!

Thanks for visiting!

March 22, 2017

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro S727VL Coming to Tracfone

Rumors/Specs for Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro (S727VL) 

tracfone sky pro j7 s727vl
Samsung Galaxy J7 coming to Tracfone
Photos and possible specs have leaked about a new mid-range smartphone coming to Tracfone.

The Samsung Galaxy J7 (called the Sky Pro) is the big brother to the Samsung Galaxy J3 Sky which has been available from Tracfone for several months now.

The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is expected to have a large, 5.5" touchscreen, quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal memory.

We've been expecting Tracfone to offer more smartphones with improved specs in 2017, and the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro might be one of the first mid-range devices to come to Tracfone with 2 GB RAM.

The LG X Style was released not long ago, and featured a quad core processor with 1.5 GB RAM.

Many Tracfone users have been looking for a phone from Tracfone that can offer performance at an affordable price, will the Galaxy J7 meet that need? Let's look at the possible specs to learn more.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro (S727VL) Rumored Specs

These specs have not been officially verified, and may change
  • 4G LTE using CDMA (Verizon) service
  • Android 6.0.1 (possibly Android 7.0)
  • 5.5" HD Touchscreen
  • 2 GB RAM
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1.4 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • 8 MP Rear Camera/ 5 MP Front Camera
The Galaxy J7 brings improvements in several areas over its predecessors, the Galaxy Sky and Galaxy Luna, most notably increased RAM and screen size.

The Galaxy Luna has a 4.5" screen, while the Galaxy Sky comes with a 5" screen. Both of these devices have been popular choices for their good performance, and reasonable price, which leads us to expect good things from the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro.

It seems likely that the Galaxy J7 will run Android 6.0.1 but there is a chance it will ship with the newer Android 7.0 Nougat. We will have to wait and see.

tracfone samsung galaxy j7 s727vl
Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro coming to Tracfone

Despite the newer specs on the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro, we don't expect it to change our List of the Top 5 Tracfone Cell Phones.

Verizon will also be getting their own version of the Samsung Galaxy J7, which may have different specs than the Tracfone version. And it may be possible to bring it to the Tracfone BYOP program at a cheaper cost.

No official announcement has been made about the J7 coming to Tracfone, so we don't know the price or release date. But we expect the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro to be available sometime during Spring 2017, and retail for around $179-$199 with airtime bundle.

Let us know if you have questions or thoughts by sharing a comment below. We will continue to update this as more information becomes available.

Keep up with the latest news and posts by following us on Facebook.

If you're new to Tracfone, get started with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which includes a lot of helpful information.

And also take a look at our recent list of Tracfone Deals and Discounts for some great bargains.

Thanks for visiting!