January 16, 2020

Best Apps for Tracfone Android Users (2020)

List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone

View a list of the best applications to use with Android OS for Tracfone users. This list is compiled by TracfoneReviewer, with help from our readers.

best apps to use with tracfone smartphone 2019
The Best Apps to use with Tracfone Android Smartphones

More and more Tracfone users are switching to Android powered smartphones that Tracfone has been making available, especially as new phones like the Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown and LG Rebel 4 or unlocked devices like the Moto G6 on Tracfone BYOP.

Android smartphones are incredibly powerful devices, offering many of the same functions as a laptop computer. Android is simply a standardized operating system, which allows many people to create applications, or programs, which can work on all the different Android devices. You can surf the web, check email, look up information, manage banking, and much, much more.

But sometimes it is hard to know exactly what you should be doing with your Android phone, and what apps are the best for making life easier, and more convenient.

So we are creating a list of the Best Apps for Tracfone Android users. And we want to hear from you! Leave a comment below with your top apps, and we'll work on adding the best to the list.

Now let's get to the list of apps!

List of the Best Apps for Android Tracfone Users

These apps are some of the most popular, and most useful and cover a variety of categories. We will try to share as many apps as are useful for using with Tracfone Android devices.

Not everyone uses the same apps, or has need of particular apps, but browse through the list and see what sounds useful to you!

1. Tracfone Specific Apps

Tracfone App
The app from Tracfone to check your balance, and manage your account. It is also possible to add airtime through the app, and a variety of other functions. If your phone doesn't have a lot of space, you can just bookmark the Tracfone website and check your balance there.

android tracfone apps
AppMgr III app
AppMgr III
A convenient app manager that can let you move apps to your SD card to free up space. AppMgr III is especially useful for Tracfone Android users because of the limited internal space on many of the phones. AppMgr III does more than just moving apps, it also can freeze apps, and do other management tasks.

Note: Some phones won't allow you to move Apps to your SD card. You will have to root your device if you want to do that.

2. General/Productivity Apps

Venmo
Pay and request payment from friends in this simple and easy to use money transferring app. Do you wish there was an easy way to pay back a friend who bought your lunch? With Venmo, it is very simple and seamless to send and receive money.

Amazon Kindle App
Have an entire library on your phone. The Amazon Kindle App allows you to download books from Amazon, and read them on your phone. This is a simple, powerful app that works well,
Plus, pair it with many sources for free kindle books, and you have an almost unlimited FREE supply of reading material.

Swiftkey
This app replaces your stock keyboard with one of the most popular, and best keyboards available for smartphones. Besides using advanced algorithms to track and predict your typing to speed it up, the app also looks great, and has a number of different styles and themes to choose from.

Pocket
A save for later app that makes it simple and easy to save webpages and many other things for later offline consumption. You can keep everything in one easy to find place, so you don't forget about that article or video you wanted to see.

Gas Buddy
Find the cheapest gas with this super convenient, community updated app. Whether your just driving around your town, or traveling across country, search for and find the cheapest gas in your area or along the route and save some extra cash! It isn't hard to check the prices, and sometimes gas can be significantly cheaper just a few miles away. But be careful you don't get too caught up, because driving 50 miles out of your way probably isn't actually saving you much money...

3. News, Note, Task and List Apps

Nwsty
Want to hear about current events without spending much time? Get just the top 6-10 headlines of current news from all over the world from Nwsty delivered to your phone. The app also delivers short news podcasts for those who want to listen on the go.

WakingNews Alarm Clock
Get the latest news stories from major news sites read to you while beginning your morning. The app allows users to set an alarm like old clock radios!

TheScore - Live Sports Scores, News and more
Looking for an all-in-one app to track all your favorite sports? TheScore has you covered! Get live score updates for all your teams and curate your own favorites list for news and highlights!

Evernote
This convenient app makes note taking a breeze. Jot down a to do list, or write up a few paragraphs, no matter what you are recording this app can do it. You also have great syncing functions across devices, including your computer.

best android apps 2015
Wunderlist app
Wunderlist
Managing lists and tasks is much easier with Wunderlist. It also has great syncing abilities with other devices, and is also very easy to share your to do lists with others. Where Evernote excels at note taking, Wunderlist excels at list making, both are valuable tools to staying organized and on track.

Google Keep
As a relatively new and unknown app, Google Keep is simple, and amazingly useful. It can be used for a variety of functions beyond simple list making and note taking, including setting reminders and recording photos and voice. This is a very handy app to have for when you need to run to the grocery store, or get a reminder about something at work, and it allows syncing across devices, and list sharing.

Any.do
Providing an 'all-in-one' to do list for anything from household chores, to work related tasks. Any.do is a clean and simple app that focuses on helping you remember what you need to do, and accomplish your daily goals. You can also sync between devices, and set reoccurring tasks.

4. Social Apps

Facebook
A standard for most smartphone users, the Facebook app allows you to surf Facebook with ease. The app works well, and is used by millions. Not much really needs to be said, although you do have to download an additional app if you want to use messenger, which is a bit annoying.

list of Android apps
Instagram for Android
Instagram
For sharing pictures with friends, Instagram is another great app, and a lot of fun to use with a smartphone as you can quickly snap a picture, and then share it with all your friends and family.

Other Social apps
There are plenty of other social apps, like twitter and snapchat, that we don't feel the need to go into. Social apps are much more preference based, and it usually depends on whether you have friends already using those networks.

5. Free Calling/Texting Apps

Skype
For everyone who already uses Skype on your computer, the app is fairly similar and allows you to make free calls to others with Skype, or use Skype Credit to make calls both locally and internationally. This is a convenient app, and works well between your computer and phone.

best free android apps 2015
Line app for Android
Line
Widely popular in Asia, this free messaging app is powerful and simple. Text friends, call, and even video call for free when your on a WiFi connection. A great way to stay in contact with friends and family for free.

Whatsapp
More popular in America, Whatsapp provides and great instant messaging service and has millions of users. It was recently bought by Facebook, but does not appear to be changing anything. While you don't get ads or annoying stickers with Whatsapp, you do have to pay for it after your first year. It costs $1 per year.

Google Hangouts
Another great resource from Google, Hangouts offers great group video calls and many other features. Text, send photos, and much more. One of the best for keeping in touch with people a long way away.

Textra
A replacement for the standard text messaging app, Textra offers more features, customization, and looks a lot better. Download it and you will never look back. Unlike the other free messaging apps listed above, Textra replaces your standard text messaging app with a stylish materialistically designed one. Not really a free messaging app, but a free app to replace your text messaging app.

5. Phone Management Tools

Tasker
Tasker is an automation tool, which allows you to set a wide variety of tasks to be done automatically at certain times, or with certain triggers. You can use it to do simple things like turn your cell phone to silent when you get to work, or turn WiFi off when you leave your house. It can also do a wide variety of more advanced options, and is a fun app for those who like to tinker and mess around with devices. It does cost a couple bucks, but is worth it for the convenience and fun.

Llama
If you don't want to spend money, Llama is a free alternative to Tasker and can do many of the same things. The key features include the ability to set certain profiles, like silent ringer, when you get to certain locations, like your office. Give it a test run and see what you think, and then consider if you want to pay a little to get Tasker.

IFTTT
If This Then That. Use this simple formula to create an endless array of options. For example, if the forecast calls for rain tomorrow, then send a notification. Or if I arrive/leave work, log the time to a Google doc. The options are amazing, and there are thousands of 'recipes' online that range from incredibly useful, to hilariously funny. Combine it with Tasker for even more power.

Clean Master
Clean Mater optimizes and cleans your phone to remove excess and temporary files, and close background apps to boost performance. It is a very useful app especially for those who have limited internal memory on their phone. Clean Master has a simple interface that is easy to navigate and understand even if you don't know what temporary files are.

6. Security Apps

Avast
Best Apps for Android Tracfone
Avast Android App
You should have a Security and Anti-virus app on your phone, and Avast is the best free option. It will do weekly scans, and check files you download. Avast also has a variety of other tools, and other related apps for more security and convenience.

Android Device Manager
In case you lose your phone, or it is stolen, you want to have downloaded Android Device Manager. It will allow you to locate your device, have it ring to help you find it, reset the lock screen, and even erase the data on the phone.

7. Podcast Apps

Podcast Republic
Download, listen and organize all your favorite podcasts with this easy and convenient app. Search for new podcasts, locate your favorites, and listen to them all in one place. If you don't know what a podcast is, or don't listen to them, you are missing out. Download the app and start listening and learning great new things from the thousands of free podcast shows available.

Podcast Addict
Another widely popular podcast app, use this to download, discover and listen to all your podcasts. Great search features make it easy to find new shows to follow. Seriously, if you aren't taking advantage of podcasts on your smartphone, do yourself a favor and check them out! You can conveniently download podcasts while using WiFi, and then listen to them later for free!

8. Fitness

Google Fit
This fitness tracking app will log your activities, and keep you updated on how far you are walking/running/biking. Set goals for your workout, and then track how you do. You can also track how far you walk in a day, and much more. Can integrate with other fitness apps, and Android Wear.

7 Minute Workout
Almost everyone wants to be more fit, but most of us find it hard to set aside the time for fitness. The 7 Minute Workout is a great solution, as it allows you to complete 12 different exercises in 7 minutes that improves your health and fitness. Give it a try, and start making fitness a reality. There is also another version of the app here, if you want more options.

9. Mapping/Navigation Apps

Android tracfone
Get the 1 Year card on Amazon!
Google Maps
The best when it comes to mapping and directions. If you don't already have it, download it. One feature many don't know about is that if you access Google Maps via WiFi, and save the maps for offline use, you can then navigate using GPS and saving your data.

My Tracks
A simple tracking app that can follow you in real time and give you information about distance, elevation, time, and much more. Save maps of your tracks to share with others, or for future reference. This app was created by Google.

Map My Hike GPS Hiking
A superior tracking app that can do way more than just track your hikes! See lots of detailed states for your hike, bike ride, walk, drive, and much much more! Get updates during your trip, and share your hikes with friends on Facebook.

NavFree
Traveling to a new city? Looking for a Navigation tool that won't burn through your data? NavFree is the solution! It is a free navigation app that uses maps saved on your device to navigate you through whatever city you're in. It has lots of additional features, and while it may not quite be up to par with Google Maps, it does a great job, and doesn't require data to work!

Waze
A GPS Navigation app with community based traffic updates which will keep you informed about the best routes, and even let your friends know your ETA. Waze can be connected with Facebook to import your contacts, and has turn by turn navigation over maps which are constantly updated by the community. This is a great app if you live in areas prone to congestion and traffic, or if you just like keeping up with your friends and family!

10. Music Apps

Spotify
Listen to music free on your phone. Choose a song, or artist, and enjoy a variety of songs related to it. Once you listen to a handful of songs, Spotify will give you a weekly playlist of new songs that are similar to what you listen to.

Pandora
A great way to discover new bands and artists, Pandora lets you pick a song, and then creates a radio station of related music that you can listen to on your phone.

Jango
Similar to the other music apps, Jango also works outside the US unlike Pandora or Spotify. Pick a song or musician, and then listen to a variety of related songs. Jango isn't quite as good as the other two options, but still works well.

11. Google Apps: (that aren't listed other places)

Google Now
Get faster access to Google and voice activated actions with Google Now. Huge number of neat features, including location based information, weather, news, and much more..

tracfone apps
Google Drive - Storage
Google Drive
A simple way to access your Google Drive from your phone. If you don't already use Google Drive on your computer, well, you're missing out to a whole suite of amazing and free tools. Google Drive syncs between your devices, and is great for accessing and sharing information.

Google Docs
Need to have an important document with you to reference in a meeting? Google Docs works with Google Drive, and supports a variety of document formats that you can take with you on your phone, and even create new docs as well. Easy to collaborate with others on a shared project.

Google Camera
A powerful camera application that you can use instead of your default camera. Give it a test, and you may be surprised by the improvement in features and functionality. Includes HDR+, Lens Blur, Video, Photo Stitching and more.

12. Photo Editing Apps

LightRoom Mobile
A powerful mobile version of the desktop photo editing app, LightRoom Mobile is free and gives access to a wide range of photo adjustments including contrast, exposure, shadow and highlight recovery, clarity and much more.

VSCO
The VSCO app allows you to not only edit photos, but also take them with a number of advanced camera controls. This app is most well known for their wide range of excellent presets, and also distinct community.

SnapSeed
With a number of different tools and filters, SnapSeed is a complete mobile photo editor that was developed by Google. It includes features like selective editing brush, healing, and lens blur. You can also edit RAW files or jpeg, and it has plenty of presets to use and adjust.

13. Games

android smartphone moto e
The Moto E Android phone
There are many great games available covering a wide range of categories, so we will just list a few of our favorites.

Disc Golf Valley (Free)
Call of Duty Mobile (Free)
Piano Tiles 2 (Free)
Plants Vs Zombies (Free)
Crashlands ($4.99)
Atomos (Free)
Angry Birds 2 (Free)
Guess the Song (Free)

We want to hear about your favorite games! Let us know in the comments which games are your top picks, and we will add to the list here!

We hope this list will give new Android users a good place to start when looking for apps, and possibly help Android power users find a new app to try.

If you don't have an smartphone, or are looking to upgrade, check out our List of the 5 Best Tracfone Smartphone which shows Tracfone's current options for top phones. Or visit our Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see what's new.

Tracfone is always adding new smartphones, and we have the latest on our Cell Phone Reviews page. These phones are usually available on the Tracfone website, and are also available many places online like Amazon and eBay.

You can also bring your own smartphone to use with Tracfone! Drop by our Tracfone BYOP page which includes a list of compatible phones.

We recently analyzed all the airtime cards from Tracfone and created our Guide to the Best Deal on Tracfone Airtime. Have a look and see if you are getting the best deal.

Thanks for visiting, and remember to leave a comment with your picks for the best apps on your Android device! Let us know if we missed any good options!

January 14, 2020

Tracfone Deals & Sales - January 2020

Best Tracfone Deals and Sales for January 2020

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and promo codes!

tracfone cheap phones january 2020
Best Deals & Sales on Tracfone Smartphones
Finding a new Tracfone device can be difficult with so many different options available from a wide variety of retailers. It can be tough to find which phones are the best price and the best deal.

We are here to help! We keep track and monitor various deals and each month we gather the best prices on popular Tracfone smartphones and provide the updated deals to our readers below. Some of these deals include airtime bundles, and others just the phone. (The best value usually includes airtime deals).

Prices and deals can change often, sometimes going up or down. We've included both Tracfone smartphone deals and several unlocked phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Keep up with the newest phones in our Latest list of Tracfone Smartphones (2019).

Now let's get tot he deals.

Tracfone Deals and Sales List - January 2020

LG Journey
The LG Journey was released in late 2019 and offers some great features at a budget price. Some of those features include a 5.45" screen, Android 9 Pie,  quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB internal storage, and Bluetooth 5.0. Read our full review of the LG Journey to learn more.

View the Journey on QVC with airtime bundle for $69

Moto E5
The Moto e5 is another great budget phone option with a large, 5.7" touchscreen, quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB storage, and Android 8.1 Oreo. it has great battery life thanks to a large, 4,000 mAh battery and can be used on CDMA networks. See all the details in our Moto e5 Review.
tracfone moto g6
Moto G6 on Amazon

View the Moto e5 on eBay with airtime bundle for $49!

Moto G6
If you are looking for a little more performance and internal storage, the Moto G6 is still a great option and can be found at a low price! It comes with a full HD 5.7" screen, 32 GB storage, octa-core processor, 3 GB RAM, Android 8.0 (my be upgradable to 9) and a dual rear camera with 12 MP sensor. See our full Moto G6 Review to learn more about this phone.

View the Moto G6 on Amazon with airtime bundle for $99
View the Moto G6 on eBay with airtime bundle for $99
View the Moto G6 on HSN with airtime bundle for $99


Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP

Take a look at these great unlocked options for use with Tracfone BYOP. Many users prefer using the BYOP program because of the flexibility in choosing whatever phone best suits their needs. All you need is an unlocked phone, like one of the options below, and a Tracfone SIM Kit to get started! These are some of our top picks at a great price.

Samsung Galaxy A10e
Samsung Galaxy A10e
This unlocked budget phone has some similarities to the Tracfone version, but also comes with some upgrades such as a larger, 6.2" touchscreen and dual rear cameras. It also features an octa-core processor, 32 GB storage, 2 GB RAM and Android 9.0. The unlocked Galaxy A10e can be used on GSM networks with Tracfone BYOP.

View the Samsung Galaxy A10e on Amazon

Google Pixel 3a
The Google Pixel 3a has a number of impressive features for the price, with one of the most stunning the 12.2 MP rear camera capable of amazing images. It also features an octa-core processor, 64 GB storage, 5.6" full HD screen, and much more. The Pixel 3a can be used with GSM or CDMA networks.

View the Google Pixel 3a on Amazon

That concludes our deals and sales list and hope these help you get the best price on a new smartphone!

Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions and also join us on Facebook to connect with our growing community and get the latest info.

All the phones in our list above are VoLTE capable according to Tracfone, but you may want to take a look at our recent post about Tracfone Closing their 3G CDMA network and how it may affect you.

If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares helpful information about how it all works.

And finally don't miss out on our Tracfone Promo Code list with many different codes to get free minutes when adding airtime!

Thanks for visiting!  

January 9, 2020

Tracfone Promo Codes for January 2020

Tracfone Promo Codes - January 2020

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and promo codes!

tracfone promo code 2020
Tracfone Promo Codes January 2020
It's not just a new year, but a new decade, and with 2020 here, we've got new promo codes to share!

Each month we gather and post the latest promotional codes from Tracfone for our readers to use and get additional airtime for free.

Most codes are for a specific airtime card, and there are codes for both regular and smartphone only airtime cards as well as the add-on cards. Tracfone has made some changes recently where some codes only work when purchasing airtime online or over the phone.

These are just the latest codes, for our full list visit the main Tracfone promo code page.

If you're shopping for a new device, Tracfone has released several new phones including the Samsung Galaxy A10e and LG Solo. You can follow the link to see our reviews or stop by our Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see all the new phones.

Now let's get to the codes!

Tracfone Promo Code List - January 2020

Regular Airtime Cards

60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes (Can be used up to 10 times)

120 Minute Card - no new codes at this time

200 Minute Card add code 21657 and receive 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card - no new codes at this time

1 Year/400 Minute Card - no new codes at this time

Get $15 off the 1 Year/400 minute card with code 76961 

Smartphone Only Airtime Cards

84737 - 100 bonus Talk - $15 Smartphone Only Card - Valid January 2020

22184 - 100 bonus Data - $35 Smartphone Only Card - Valid January 2020

38783 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Add-on Card - Valid January 2020

49413 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Add-on Card - Working  January 2020

78439 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Add-on Card - Working January 2020

16311 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Add-on Card - Working January 2020

38783 - 1000 bonus Texts - 1000 Text Add-on Card - Working January 2020

14223 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Add-on Card - Working January 2020

66975 - 500 bonus Data - 1 GB Data Add-on Card - Working December 2019


These are the latest promo codes from Tracfone. We hope these codes worked for you and leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions.

See the Changes and Predictions for Tracfone in 2020 to keep up with new phones, network changes and more!

New to Tracfone? Start with our Beginners Guide which walks through the basics of how it all works and some resources for learning more about adding airtime, activating new phones or getting the best deals. Or learn more about the new Unlimited Smartphone Cards and how they work.

How secure is your phone? We just shared our top Smartphone Security Tips!

Join us on Facebook for all the latest posts and send us a message if you have questions!

Don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals and Sales including unlocked phones for Tracfone BYOP.

And lastly, get 7 Tips to Make your Airtime Last Longer plus data saving tips.

Thanks for visiting!

January 8, 2020

The Future of Tracfone in 2020

New Phones, Predictions, and Changes for Tracfone in 2020

TracfoneReviewer shares the latest news, reviews and Tracfone promo codes!

tracfone new phones 2020
The Future of Tracfone in 2020
With 2019 gone and the decade coming to a close, there is sure to be plenty of changes, new phones, and more for 2020. Each year we look at what the future might hold for Tracfone with our predictions.

We will share some possible new phones coming soon, network closing news, and a look back at the most popular phones from last year.

For those curious about our previous predictions, look back at our post for 2019.

Note - TracfoneReviewer is not affiliated with Tracfone Wireless in any way, we make our predictions based on trends and our own experiences.

Let's begin with a quick review of what happened in 2019.

Looking Back at 2019 

The year of 2019 was relatively quiet when it came to the release of new phones. We saw a handful of new devices but many were low-end budget phones that are not very popular.  Some of the new phones include the Samsung Galaxy A10e, LG Journey, and LG Solo. Visit our List of the Latest Phones to see everything new.

One surprise was the launch of Tracfone's unlimited smartphone plans which offers $20, $25 and $30 monthly plans with unlimited talk and text, and a certain amount of data.

The biggest thing to happen in 2019 was the 3G CDMA network closure that was supposed to take place at the end of 2019. However, because Verizon delayed their 3G network closure, Tracfone has also delayed theirs until December 2020.

If you want to learn more and see a list of compatible phones, view the the full Tracfone 3G Network Closure post here.

Popular Tracfones from 2019

Based on our own data, these are the most popular phones in 2019 for Tracfone users. What is most surprising to us is that all of these phones were actually released in 2018.
Each of these devices offers great value with the Moto G6 featuring 32 GB internal storage. But they are also starting to be a little outdated.

What to Expect from Tracfone in 2020

New Phones from Tracfone
There are a variety of new phones likely to come to Tracfone in 2020, here are some of the possibilities.
  • LG Stylo 5 (LGL722DL)
  • Samsung Galaxy A20
  • Samsung Galaxy A50
  • Moto E6
  • Moto G7 Power/Play
  • iPhone 8
  • iPhone X
  • iPhone 11
Some of these phones are already available on Tracfone's other brands like Total Wireless and Straight Talk.

The phones released by Tracfone in 2019 were mostly underwhelming and not really worth upgrading to so we are expecting they will release some new phones early in 2020, such as a newer Samsung or Moto device with 32 GB storage.

What to Expect from Airtime
With the addition of monthly unlimited plans, Tracfone appears to be trying hard to promote these cards over anything else they offer. They also quietly removed the $20 smartphone card, which was one of the best deals for data and texts.

We don't expect to see any major changes to airtime in 2020, but Tracfone may work towards phasing out the regular airtime cards and focusing on smartphone cards.

What to Expect from Tracfone Promo Codes
Tracfone has continued to provide promotional codes for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards with some of the codes for add-on cards offering great bonuses. However, Tracfone did make some subtle changes, making it so the majority of their codes can only be used when buying airtime rather than just adding it to your phone.

Of course we continue to share and update codes on our Tracfone Promo Code page.

What to Expect from Network Closings
Verizon's 3G CDMA network is scheduled to close at the end of 2020 which means Tracfone will also have to get costumers to migrate to new compatible phones by the end of the year. Any phone currently for sale on the Tracfone website is compatible with VoLTE, so if you need to upgrade, take a look there to start.

AT&T also has plans to shut down their 3G network, but this isn't scheduled for another couple years.
'
Follow all the information on this in our 3G Network Closure post.

What we Want from Tracfone in 2020

Unfortunately, as we look back at the year, the things we hoped for in 2019 are still things we hope for today, specifically better customer service and more phones with better specs like 32 GB storage.

A few years back it seemed like Tracfone was working towards improving customer service but in the last year or two, based on reports from our readers and our own experience, it doesn't seem like much as improved. It can still be very frustrating and confusing when trying to sort out issues with Tracfone and we hope that they will work harder in 2020 at making customer service one of their strong points rather than such a problem.

Along with that point we also are eager for Tracfone to move more quickly in releasing smartphones on their network that have at least 32 GB storage and the amicability to keep up with the needs of an average consumer.

That's it for our predictions of the future of Tracfone in 2020. We hope you find this useful and interesting. Remember that these are just our predictions and always subject to change.

Got something you want Tracfone to do or change in 2020? Let us know in the comments below! And if you have any thoughts or questions form this post be sure to share that as well.

Join us on Facebook to keep up with all the latest posts, news and other info.

Don't miss out on the latest Deals and Discounts on Tracfone smartphones.

Also check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone if you're new or just want to understand some of the basics of how it all works.

Thanks for visiting and Happy New Year!

December 26, 2019

Tracfone Closing 3G CDMA Network- (Now Extended to end of 2020)

List of VoLTE Compatible Phones - Network Closure End of 2020

The latest news and information from TracfoneReviewer.

tracfone says i have to upgrade my phone
Why Tracfone is Making Users Get New Phones
Starting a early in 2019, some Tracfone users received messages from Tracfone that their CDMA devices won't work with Tracfone by the end of 2019. For a CDMA phone to work it must have VoLTE enabled in order to make calls.

What does this mean for you and why is it happening? We've got those answers for you plus additional information on phones that are VoLTE capable.

UPDATE: Verizon has decided to push back the closure until the end of 2020, thus allowing Tracfone users to also have a little more time before they will need to upgrade phones. We will continue to update with more information soon.

Tracfone has also confirmed that they are pushing back the date until the end of 2020 when users will need to have VoLTE compatible devices to send and receive calls.

Why is Tracfone Shutting Down 3G and 2G CDMA Networks?
Many users are asking why Tracfone is shutting down their network and forcing them to get a new phone.

The answer is, Tracfone uses Verizon's networks, and Verizon is shutting down their 2G and 3G networks which will affect any Tracfone CDMA devices using these networks.

Verizon has been planning this closure for several years and planning accordingly by including VoLTE with the phones they sell. But Tracfone doesn't seem to have planned it out so well, with only some of their more recent phone offerings including VolTE so some users will have to get a new phone to maintain service coverage.


Why do you need a new phone to get service? The answer is VoLTE capability.

What is VoLTE and Why Do I Need It?
The term VoLTE simply stands for Voice over LTE (with 4G LTE meaning 4th Generation Long Term Evolution) which means phone calls use the LTE data networks rather than the older voice networks.

In the past (and with many of Tracfone's CDMA phones), smartphones would use the LTE networks for data, while using the 2G or 3G networks for voice calls.  Only phones that are VoLTE capable can make voice calls on the 4G LTE network. Thus, with Verizon closing 2G and 3G networks, only VoLTE capable phones will be able to make calls.

Some may be asking why Verizon needs to close their 2G and 3G networks? The reasoning is that they will be able to repurpose these bands for higher speed 4G LTE and possibly 5G in the future.

Do I Need to Upgrade my Tracfone CDMA Smartphone?
If you received a message from Tracfone that your phone is not compatible after 2019, then you will likely need to buy a new phone.

Check out the Latest Tracfone Smartphones available.

However, in some cases it seems that the VoLTE capability can be 'turned on' for an account/SIM card. Information is still difficult to nail down, and how or why this works is also a bit murky, but some users have reported several different methods for getting VoLTE on their phone.

This only is working on somewhat newer phones, like the Samsung Galaxy J3 Sky, Sky Pro, and Luna among others. It may be worth trying before going out to buy a new phone.

To try and enable VoLTE turn off your phone, remove the SIM card and remove the battery (if possible) and wait for 20 minutes. Then reinstall the battery and SIM, and turn the phone on. To check if the phone has VoLTE, make a call and look in the top bar to see if the phone switches from 4G LTE coverage to 4G or 3G. If the phone switches out of 4G LTE, it is not using VoLTE.

Additionally, some users reported transferring service from a non VoLTE enabled device to a VoLTE capable device, and then transferring back and keeping the VoLTE. Activating a new SIM card in your phone may also turn on VoLTE.

Tracfone didn't activate VoLTE on the phones they were selling until more recently, but many are capable, they just need to be activated.

So what phones are VoLTE capable?

List of VoLTE Capable Phones from Tracfone

The phones listed below are compatible with VoLTE according to Tracfone. This list is not complete, and we will continue to add to it as we learn more. A number of older smartphones may be compatible, but

Tracfone Moto G6
Tracfone Moto G6 on Amazon
  • Samsung Galaxy S7
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 Orbit
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro
  • Samsung Galaxy J2
  • Samsung Galaxy A10e
  • Motorola Moto G6
  • Motorola Moto E5
  • LG Fiesta 2
  • LG Stylo 4
  • LG Stylo 3
  • LG Premier Pro
  • LG Rebel 4
  • LG Rebel 3
  • LG Rebel 2
  • LG Journey
  • LG Solo LTE
  • Alcatel TCL LX
  • Alcatel TCL A1
  • Alcatel MyFlip
  • ZTE Blade T2
  • ZTE ZFIVE C
  • ZTE Z233
  • iPhone 6 or newer

What About Unlocked Phones?
For unlocked devices, almost all recently released phones are VoLTE compatible. Here is a list of compatible phones that is from 2017 but includes which older devices (such as the iPhone 6 or Samsung Galaxy S5) have VoLTE.

For those who might want to dig deeper there is a lengthy thread on HowardForums on this topic.

Leave a comment if you have questions, thoughts or additional information. We will continue to update this post as more details emerge.

Join us over on Facebook with a growing community to stay up on all the latest news and information.

If you are new to Tracfone start with our Beginners Guide or take a look at 6 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime.

Also don't miss our list of the best Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone devices.

Thanks for visiting!