December 29, 2017

The Future of Tracfone in 2018

New Phones, Changes, and Predictions for Tracfone in 2018

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer. We share news, reviews and other information about Tracfone!

tracfone new phones 2018
The Future of Tracfone in 2018
A New Year is upon us and whether last year was a good year, a bad year, or just another year, it is coming to a close with the opportunity for next year to be something new.

With 2018 here, we are sharing our expectations and predictions for what Tracfone will do in the near year, what we hope Tracfone will do, and also a look back at what went on in 2017 and the major changes and new phones.

Each year we share our predictions and expectations, and you can look back at our post from last year to see how we did.

Remember that this site (TracfoneReviewer) is not affiliated with Tracfone in any way. But we are passionate about learning and sharing information, and while our predictions are based on years of experience, they may not always be accurate and so we cannot guarantee any of our predictions.

Let's begin with some of the highlights of 2017.

Looking back at 2017 - Major News and Changes

Tracfone made some significant changes in 2017, and also released several popular phones. Here are the highlights.

  • Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life - This was probably the biggest news story from Tracfone from 2017.
  • Expended iPhone options including the iPhone 5S, 6 ad 6S and iPhone SE
  • Tracfone releases several smartphones with large screens and 16 GB memory/2 GB RAM at under $200 (LG Fiesta 2/Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro)
  • Tracfone Expands Brick and Mortar Stores

Although Tracfone released some great phones, they did not help their customer satisfaction level by ending the popular Tripe Minutes for Life program.

Most Popular Phones in 2017
We looked at which of our Tracfone cell phone reviews had the most hits, and created our list from there. This is somewhat unofficial, but we still found it interesting and wanted to share it.
  1. Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
  2. LG Fiesta 2 (and LG Fiesta)
  3. Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro
The Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro was the most popular phone from last year which comes at no surprise, considering it offers some of the best features and specs of any budget Tracfone to date.

Now that we've looked back at last year, let's get into our predictions and expectations for Tracfone in 2018.

What to Expect From Tracfone in 2018

The Future Phones from Tracfone
We expect Tracfone to release several new phones in the next few months that will be modest upgrades to the current smartphones such as the LG Fiesta 2 and Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro.

In 2017 we saw Tracfone release several popular budget phones from major brands (LG and Samsung), and we predict they will offer updated versions of these phones, or similar offerings.

Tracfone will likely also continue to offer older high end phones at a discount, such as the iPhone SE that they offered in 2017. Could we see the iPhone 8 or other popular high end smartphones? Perhaps, but they will come at a high cost which is .

The Future of Tracfone BYOP
Tracfone's 'Bring Your Own Phone' program has grown in popularity as they ironed out issues and made most phones compatible. We will have noticed users running into issues activating certain phones, but with enough patience this can usually be overcome. In many cases it is even possible to simply swap the SIM card from one phone to another, effectively switching service to a new phone at any time with no other effort involved.

We expect Tracfone to maintain the BYOP program although they likely won't make any significant changes to it. Users can already bring almost any unlocked GSM or CDMA device to use with Tracfone.

The Future of Airtime
Tracfone will continue to encourage customers to use the smartphone cards instead of the regular airtime cards. For many users, the smartphone cards are a better deal because they offer more data and texts compared to regular cards. But for those who don't use their data or texts, it still doesn't make sense to use smartphone only cards.

A major change from 2017 was when Tracfone stopped including new phones with Triple Minutes for Life. The obvious aim with this is to encourage (force) users to buy the smartphone only cards instead of regular airtime cards (because without triple minutes, the regular airtime cards are not a very god deal).

We don't expect any major changes to Tracfone going forward into 2018 and see them working at streamlining their product offerings to make it more simple, and more attractive to potential customers.

What we Want from Tracfone in 2018

Here are some of the things we want Tracfone to do in 2018 (just in case someone from Tracfone reads this)

Add Triple Minutes for Life Back to New Phones.
While we understand why Tracfone ended triple minutes (to move users to the smartphone only cards) we think they should add triple minutes back to new phones because of the large number of unhappy customers. We noticed numerous comments stating dissatisfaction in Tracfone for changing this from loyal customers. While we hope Tracfone changes this, we don't expect they will.

Improve Customer Service and Fix Lingering Issues with BYOP Compatibility.
Small steps were taken by Tracfone in 2017 to improve customer service by opening several physical stores. However, there is still plenty of room for improvement and we hope they will make customer service more of a priority.

Tracfone also has some lingering issues with the BYOP program as a number of customers have run into issues trying to activate certain unlocked smartphones. Tracfone needs to fix this immediately.

Add More Budget Smartphones at Reasonable Prices
What we really want from Tracfone are more budget phones with good performance at under $200. Devices with 32 GB of memory and at least 2 GB RAM are generally necessary for an everyday device for most users. There are a number of unlocked devices in the sub $200 range that some consumers are already buying to use with the BYOP program (such as the Moto E4 Plus) but we want Tracfone to offer them directly for greater availability.

That concludes our Tracfone predictions, expectations and hopes for 2018!

Share your own thoughts in the comments below! What should Tracfone change in 2018?

Join us on Facebook with our growing community of Tracfone users where we share the latest news and information!

If you are new to Tracfone, start with our convenient Beginners Guide to Tracfone which will share the basics of how it all works.

And we also have a Tracfone Airtime comparison for those trying to find the best deal on Tracfone airtime.

Thanks for visiting and Happy New Year!

December 22, 2017

Tracfone Latest Phones 2017 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2017
List of New Tracfones in 2017
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2017.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2017/2018

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • iPhone 7
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samusng, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2017

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

LG Fiesta 2
Almost identical to the original Fiesta, the new Fiesta 2 comes with 2 GB RAM instead of 1.5 GB. Otherwise it shares the same 5.5" screen, Android 7.0 and 13 MP Camera that also comes with the Fiesta.

Find the Fiesta 2 on Amazon for $99.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(Last check it was in stock!) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

And see where Tracfone is going in 2017 with our article, What to Expect from Tracfone in 2017.

Thanks for visiting!
(Last Updated - December 2017)

December 13, 2017

Top 10 Tracfone Gift Ideas - Christmas 2017

Best Tracfone Gift Ideas Including Phones, Accessories and More!

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer. We share the latest news, information and reviews for Tracfone cell phones.
tracfone gift ideas 2017
10 Tracfone Christmas Gift Ideas

The Christmas season is upon us! And that means hot cocoa, Christmas cookies and staying warm by the fire.

It is also time to find gifts for all the people on our lists. That's not always an easy task, as we all have that family member or friend who is hard to find the right gift for. But don't worry! We are sharing our best Tracfone related gift ideas here for you today!

Our list includes many different helpful accessories, popular cell phones, and a few last minute options. Whether you are

If you are new to Tracfone, be sure to start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which shares the basics of how it all works.

Now let's get to these gift ideas!

Top 10 Tracfone Christmas Gift Ideas for 2017

Many of these gift ideas will work for anyone using a smartphone, not just Tracfone users.

1. New Tracfone Smartphone
Smartphones, like most other electronics, tend to slow down and run into problems over time. So upgrading to a new phone every couple of years (or every year) is a good way to avoid the frustrations of a slow device. Here are some great new smartphone options from Tracfone.

LG Fiesta 2
The Fiesta 2 has a large, 5.5" screen, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB memory and a quad core processor. Plus it runs on Android 7.0 and has a 13 MP camera. This is one of the more popular phones from Tracfone right now, and packs a lot of great performance and features. See our review of the Fiesta to learn more.

View the LG Fiesta 2 on Amazon
View the LG Fiesta 2 on HSN

Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro
Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro
Featuring a 5" touchscreen, 16 GB memory ad Android 6.0.1, the Galaxy Luna Pro is a very capable and popular device from Tracfone that is generally available for under $100 and also available with airtime bundle. View our review of the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro to learn more.


See the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro on Amazon
See the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro on HSN

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Similar to the LG Fiesta, the Galaxy Sky Pro also has a large, 5.5" touchscreen, 16 GB memory, 2 GB RAM and quad core processor. It can be found with airtime bundles and is another popular Tracfone deice because of the good specs and features. Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro.

View the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro on Amazon
View the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro on HSN

Keep up with all the new phones on our Latest Tracfone Smartphone List.

And if you're giving a new phone, don't forget to also share our List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone.

2. Unlocked Smartphone
More and more users are looking to unlocked smartphones to bring to Tracfone because of the wider range of phones available, and the huge flexibility it offers. Bringing an unlocked phone to Tracfone is fairly simple, you just need a Tracfone SIM kit and unlocked phone to start the process. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page for more information or our Guide to Activating a Tracfone Smartphone/BYOP Device.

Here are some popular unlocked phone options to bring to Tracfone:

Moto G5 Plus
iPhone 6 GSM Unlocked - 4.7" screen, A9 Processor, 8 MP camera, and access to the Apple App Store. 16, 64 or 128 GB memory options available.

iPhone SE GSM Unlocked - 4" screen, A9 Processor, 12 MP Camera (4K video) and access to the Apple App Store. 16, 32, 64 and 128 GB Memory options available.

Moto G5 Plus - 5.2" screen, Android 7.0, 32 or 64 GB memory, 2.0 Ghz octa-core processor, 12 MP camera and more. On Amazon for $199 (for prime members) with 64GB memory/4GB RAM. Compatible with GSM or CDMA.


Moto E4 Plus - 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 or 32 GB memory, 1.4 Ghz quad-core processor, 5,000 mAh battery and more. Available on Amazon for $135 with 16 GB memory/2 GB RAM. Compatible with GSM or CDMA.

Samsung Galaxy S6 GSM Unlocked - 5.1" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 32 GB memory and a 16 MP camera.


iPhone SE Screen Protector
3. Phone Case/Cover
Phone covers and cases can go a long way to not only protect a device, but also add personal flair. There are many different types and colors of phone cases available, and many at a low cost. Here are some popular options.

Glass Screen Protector - Thin durable glass protector that keeps the screen from getting scratches or cracks. Options for many different phones (mostly high end phones such as iphones)


Here are links to covers and cases for popular Tracfone devices:
Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro Cases
Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro Cases
LG Fiesta/Fiesta 2 Cases
iPhone cases - 6/6S, 7, 8 and 10

Ebay is also a popular place to look for phone covers and cases with many different options available.

Anker 10,000 mAh Battery
4. External Battery
Most smartphone batteries will last about a day, which is fine if you have access to a charger. But for those who live an active, on the go life, they don't always have time to let their phone charge from a wall. Which is where an external battery pack is very convenient. It stores a charge until needed, and then can charge a phone typically multiple times depending on the capacity. Most external battery packs are no larger than a phone, making them easy to carry along as a safeguard against a dead battery in your phone. Below are some popular options.

Anker Powercore 10000 mAh Battery Pack - A popular choice that can recharge most cell phones 3-4 times.
Solar battery pack and charger - 10000 mAh battery and solar panel charger for powering a device while away from any electrical sources.

5. Tracfone Airtime!
Everyone loves extra airtime. Give an airtime card, a data only card, or text only card to show you want to communicate. Add the airtime on the Tracfone website, or purchase an airtime card.

Find airtime cards in many local retail stores like Walmart, BestBuy, Target and more. Also available on Amazon and eBay.

View Tracfone Airtime Cards on Amazon
View Tracfone Airtime Cards on eBay

6. Gift Card for Buying Apps or Games
A great option for kids who might change what they like by the minute, a gift card for buying apps and games is a great option to give a gift for those that might be hard to give to.

For buying apps and games, a Google Play Gift Card or iTunes Gift Card are the best options. An Amazon Gift Card is also great for buying all kinds of items from the online retailer.


Bluetooth Speaker
7. Headphones and Speakers
Headphones are a great way for anyone to enjoy music, a podcast, or movie without disturbing those around them. There are many different options, from in ear headphones, to large, over the ear. We have also included a great wireless option for those who like to listen to music while running or working out.

In ear headphones
Bluetooth Waterproof running headphones
Over ear headphones

But don't forget about wireless speakers which create subtle background music, or be the life of the party. And many speakers are very portable, and some even waterproof. Here are some great speaker options:


Portable Waterproof Bluetooth Speaker and carabiner clip
Anker SoundCore Bluetooth Speaker with 24hrs playtime

8. Camera Accessories
More and more people are using their cell phone as a camera, and the quality of the cameras are improving rabidly. Take it to the next level with external lenses you can mount on the outside of your phone to get anything from Macro shots, telephoto images, and fisheye!

Most lenses can be used on a variety of different phones. View smartphone lens kits on Amazon.

For anyone who really wants to step up the quality of their video recording, a stabalizer will create perfectly smooth shots even whie you're walking and moving.

The DJI OSMO Mobile holds almost any smartphone and provides stabilized video capture for professional level video recording.

9. Extra Phone Storage
Most phones allow extra storage via a Micro SD card, like the Moto G5 Plus. This is very handy to keep extra music, photos, videos or anything else on.

See Micro SD Card options on Amazon. Most phones will accept up to 32 GB, and some up to 64 GB or more.

10. Photo/File Transfer Thumb Drive
Dual USB/Micro USB Thumb Drive
Have you ever had a photo on your phone that you wish you could put on your computer? Well the photo transfer thumb drive is an easy solution. One side can plug into your cell phone through the Micro USB port, and the other can pug into your computer through a regular USB connection. Now you can back up your mobile device, share those photos or videos you took, or load music onto your device.


The Sandisk Ulta 128GB Dual USB/Micro USB thumb drive makes it incredibly easy to move files from your Android smartphone to a computer. Back up your phone, or add music and videos to it, there is lots of flexibility with this 128 GB thumb drive.

--------
We hope this list of Christmas gift ideas helps you find the perfect gift for everyone on your shopping list. Share any ideas you have in the comments below.

Join us on Facebook for the latest news and reviews. Plus it is a great place to get in contact if you have specific Tracfone questions.

Get free minutes by using a promo code from our Tracfone Promo Code list!


Learn more about how Tracfone works with some of our helpful guides including How Texting works with Tracfone, How Data works with Tracfone and 4 Ways to Check your Airtime Balance.

Thanks for visiting and Merry Christmas!

December 5, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for December 2017

Tracfone Promo Code List - December 2017

Promotional codes gathered and shared by TracfoneReviewer

tracfone promo codes dec 2017
Tracfone Promo Codes December 2017
It's December, the last month of 2017, and that means holiday celebrations, hot cocoa, and new Tracfone promo codes!

We collect these codes from around the web and share the latest valid Tracfone promo codes below in one easy list. These codes are used when adding airtime to your Tracfone device, and each code is for a specific airtime card, but some may be used with cards of greater value.

This list includes promo codes for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only airtime cards. We also have a more extensive list on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Most promo codes will work on smartphones. And you can keep up with the newly released devices in our Latest Tracfone Smartphones List.

Christmas is almost here and we are working on our annual list of gift ideas, so look for that soon!

Let's get to the list of new promo codes.

Tracfone Promo Codes - December 2017

For Regular Airtime Cards use these codes:
60 Minute Card use code 22703 or 12745 to get 60 free minutes

120 Minute Card enter 68879 for 30 bonus airtime

200 Minute Card add code 75830 and get 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card use 57597 to receive 50 additional minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 68806 and get 300 extra minutes

$15 off 1 Year/400 Minute card with code 56254 (Online only)

Smartphone Only Promo Codes:
Get 1 GB Data with Promo Code 53629 on $25 and $35 smartphone cards

These are the latest promo codes for Tracfone. We hope these work for you. Let us know in the comments which code you used and how it worked.

Keep up with the latest news and info on our Facebook page! It is also a great place to send us a message if you have questions.

Learn how Data Works with Tracfone including the best way to buy more data.

Also take a look at our post on 10 Tips to Boost your Cell Signal if you've ever hard a hard time connecting or making a call.

Thanks for visiting and Merry Christmas!

November 17, 2017

How Data Works on Tracfone Smartphones

All About Tracfone Data Cards

Welcome to the TracfoneReviewer blog! This post will share specifics on how data works on smartphones with Tracfone. Be sure to also take a look at some of our other posts while you're here.

how does data work on tracfone
Data Cards for Tracfone
Update - Some of the prices and information in this post have changed, take a look at our new article, New Prices/Changes to Tracfone Smartphone Cards to learn more about the changes to data prices.

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that offers both phones and airtime cards. On their newer smartphone devices, you also get data when adding an airtime card which you can use to surf the web when not connected to WiFi.

Data is very useful on smartphones, but how does the data work on Tracfone smartphones, how can you get more, and what can you do with the data you have?

We are going to cover these questions and more in this post sharing all the details about how Tracfone Data works on smartphones.

Some of the popular smartphones that Tracfone offers include the LG Power, the LG Ultimate 2, and the LG Sunset which uses 4G LTE service on GSM networks.

Or you might be interested in the Tracfone BYOP program, which allows users to bring their own smartphone. Follow the link to learn more, and see a list of the possibilities.

Both the smartphones offered by Tracfone, and the BYOP devices, use data in the same way. So let's get started looking at how data works on these phones.

What is Data on Tracfone Smartphones?

Data is the term generally used to describe the amount (usually in megabytes) you can download or upload on your smartphone via the cell phone network. So data is basically information you download or upload from the internet. This can include many different activities, like checking email, posting photos on Facebook, reading webpages, or watching videos.

Data is used based on the amount of megabytes you download or upload. So if you download a 20 MB image, that will use 20 MB of your data. If you visit a webpage that takes 1 MB to load, you will use 1 MB of data. (further down we will share more on estimating how much different online activities will use up your data.)

On older, non-smartphone devices, data was used at a rate determined by the amount of time you were on a website, but this is not the case for smartphones which is a nice improvement.

As you can see, data works similarly to your calling minutes, in that you are charged based on how much you use. But calling minutes are based on time, rather than megabytes. (For example, if you make a 20 minute call, you will be deducted (about) 20 minutes of talk time.)

On Tracfone Smartphones and BYOP devices, airtime is split into three pools, Talk, Text and Data. Learn more about How Airtime Works with Tracfone Smartphones in our recent post.

How Can you Buy More Data for your Tracfone Device?

There are two ways to get more data for your smartphone:

Airtime Cards - You can add both Regular Airtime Cards or Smartphone Only Cards and get a certain amount of data along with talk, text and service days.
Data Only Card - You get only Data, at 1 GB for $10

For most situations you will probably want to add an Airtime card to your phone to increase all your 'buckets' of talk/text/data.

But sometimes you may only want to add data, in which case the data only cards are useful. Let's take a closer look at Data cards to better understand how to use them.

What Are Data Only Cards?

As mentioned above, the Data only card increase the amount of data for your smartphone, without adding any additional texts or talk minutes.

This is similar to the Text only cards we recently discussed.

There are some important things to be aware of the make the Data only cards unique.

First, they can only be used with smartphones, including the Android devices offered by Tracfone, and all phones offered through the BYOP program.

Second, like the Text only card, Data only cards do not triple, so you get the amount listed on the card (1 GB).

Data Card Amount and Cost Per MB Compared to Airtime Cards

Tracfone just offers one Data only card option at this time:
  • 1 GB for $10
This results in 1 cent per MB of data.

Cost per MB for Tracfone Data cards and Airtime cards Compared:

Below is a table with all of the current airtime cards from Tracfone and how much data comes with each one. We've included both Smartphone only cards and regular airtime cards.
how much data do you get with tracfone
Tracfone Data Amounts and Cost per MB
There are two key points to take note of from this Chart:

  • Smartphone only cards come with a lot more data compared to regular airtime cards
  • Smartphone only cards are a better deal for data (except the 1500 and 200 minute cards)

In general, if you only need data, the data only card is a good deal. But if you also need talk and texts, then the 300 or 750 minute smartphone cards are a good deal.

Where to Buy Tracfone Data Cards

Tracfone Data cards are available form a variety of sources, as is the case for Tracfone Airtime cards. You can find Data cards on the Tracfone website under Airtime.

You can also find the Tracfone Data cards in many retail stores, and even online through other retailers. We have found Data cards on eBay in various amounts.

Now let's cover one more question that we see asked quite often.

How Much Can you Do Online with 300 MB of Data?

A common question we see is, what can you do online with a certain amount of data? This is a very good question, because many people tend to estimate how many airtime minutes they will need, and then buy the airtime card that suits their needs best. But if you're unfamiliar with how much data is used by smartphones, it makes it hard to estimate.

It is a little hard to give a straight answer to this question, it all depends on what you do online  Take a look at this image (provided by Tracfone) to help give you a better idea:

tracfone 300mb of data what you can do
Estimated usage for 300 MB of data with Tracfone
From this table we see you can visit about 245 webpages with 300 MB of data, or send/receive about 4000 emails. Hopefully this information will help you gain a better understanding of how data is used with Tracfone, and where your data is going.

If you notice, doing certain things online, like streaming music, or even more so, streaming video, will use your data quickly, while visiting webpages or sending emails, especially those with few images, will use less of your data.

Another good resource for estimating your data usage is the Data Calculator on Verizon's website. Enter your estimated activities, and it will tell you about how much data you will use in a month.

Remember, that if you want to stop using data, you can go into the settings on your device, select data, and turn it off. Using WiFi networks, like at your home or work, does not deduct from your data.

Tips for Reducing Data Use
Here are some helpful tips to reduce the amount of data you use.
  • Download/upload large files over WiFi as much as possible
  • If you use Google Maps often in a certain area, download the map of that area over WiFi. Here is some helpful information about using Google Maps without using data.
  • Download songs/podcasts over WiFi instead of streaming them.
  • Set your Apps to only update over WiFi.
  • Download Images/Videos only when using WiFi
As you can see, the best way to reduce data usage is to avoid using it for large downloads or uploads, which will quickly drain your data. Using free WiFi whenever possible will go a long way in extending your data.

Here is a helpful article on what online activities use data, and some other basic details about data usage from an AT&T Forum.

We hope you found this information helpful, and please leave a comment with any questions, or if you have something to add!

Learn the basics of how Tracfone works with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Find us on Facebook and join over 2000 followers who get the latest news and updates.

Take a look at one of our other popular posts, the Over 30 Great Android Apps to use with your Smartphone.

And check our Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals List (2017) for all the best Tracfone deals this year!

Thanks for visiting!

Originally published 8/2015 and Updated 11/2017

November 8, 2017

Tracfone Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals 2017

List of Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals for Tracfone - 2017

Gathered and shared by TracfoneReviewer

tracfone black friday ad
Tracfone Black Friday Deals 2017
Black Friday and the Holiday season is right around the corner and we've got you covered for the latest deals and sales on Tracfone related items including smartphones, unlocked devices and airtime bundles!

Many of the best Black Friday deals are available online, and we've got the best list of cell phones and Tracfone related items on sale.

We will continue to update this list as Black Friday and Cyber Monday get closer, so be sure to check back often.

Tracfone offers a variety of smartphones and we've got a List of the Latest Tracfone Smartphones to keep up with what's new. Most unlocked phones can also be used with Tracfone BYOP, and you can follow the link to learn more about how that works.

If you're new to Tracfone, be sure to visit our Beginners Guide which covers some of the basics of how airtime works and more.

Now, let's get to the deals.

Tracfone Black Friday/Cyber Monday Sales List 2017

Here are the Black Friday deals, with a link to the full ad for each store, as well as any specific deals also included. More deals coming soon!

Tracfone.com
No Black Friday Deals listed yet

HSN
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro - $79 ($80 off) with airtime bundle

Evine
ZTE ZMAX Champ - $49 ($30 off)

Amazon - Various daily deals - Free Shipping on orders over $25
Link to Black Friday deals page
Cell Phones and Accessories Deals- Including battery packs, Cases and Covers, cords and more
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro - $59 ($40 off) plus Airtime Bundle!
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro - $119 ($30 off) plus airtime bundle!
Anker 20000 mAh portable battery charger - 20% off
LG Q6 Unlocked GSM Smartphone, 5.5" screen, 32 GB storage, Android 7.1 - $179 ($120 off) with prime membership
Try Amazon Prime Free for 30 days

eBay
Link to Black Friday Cell Phone Deals page
Unlocked Phone Deals:
Samsung Galaxy S7 GSM Unlocked (refurbished) - $209
Sony Xperia X 32GB GSM Unlocked (new) - $219
Apple iPhone 6S 16GB GSM Unlocked (refurbished) - $269
Apple iPhone 5C 16GB GSM Unlocked (refurbished) - $84

Kmart
Link to Black Friday Ad

Target
Link to Black Friday Ad
Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro - $39 ($60 off) - link

Walmart
Link to Black Friday Ad
Samsung Galaxy S7 on Straight Talk - $299 ($200 off)
Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro on Straight Talk - $49 ($100 off)
LG Rebel 2 on Straight Talk - $19 ($40 off)

Best Buy
Link to Black Friday Ad
Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro - $49 ($50 off) - link
View all Best Buy Cell Phone Deals - link

Dollar General
Link to Black Friday Ad
ZTE Majesty Pro for Tracfone $19 ($29 off)

Newegg
Link to Newegg - various deals during November

We are continuing to add deals as we find them, be sure to share any deals you find in a comment below and we will include it in the list.

Join us on Facebook where we share the latest posts, deals and information. We also get a lot of great feedback from our growing community.

If you are getting a new smartphone, check out our List of the Best Apps for Android.

Also take a look at the Best Deal on Tracfone Airtime where we look at which airtime cards are the best deal and why.

We hope you this list helps you find the best deal during Black Friday! Thanks for visiting!

November 1, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for November 2017

Tracfone Promo Code List - November 2017

List of promotional codes collected and shared by TracfoneReviewer


tracfone code nov 2017
Tracfone Promo Codes November 2017
Winter might be on the way but these new Tracfone codes will warm you up. Each month we collect and share the latest promo codes from Tracfone for our readers to use to get extra airtime for free.

These promo codes are usually for a specific airtime card and we have codes listed below for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards. Some codes can also be used with any airtime cards of greater value.

The latest promo codes from Tracfone are listed below, but we also share many more options on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Sometimes these codes may not work, either they are one time use, or somehow expired, so we suggest to add airtime over the phone if you really want to ensure that you receive the bonus minutes.

Keep up with the new phones from Tracfone by visiting our Latest Tracfone Cell Phones List.

Let's see the codes for November!

Tracfone Promo Codes - November 2017

Regular Airtime Cards:

60 Minute Card use code 12745 or 22703 for 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter 20500 and get 40 free minutes or 74450 for 30 minutes

200 Minute Card add code 89280 to receive 50 extra minutes or 91471 for 40 minutes

450 Minute Card - No new codes yet

1 Year/400 Minute Card - No new codes yet

Get $15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 52484 or 62118 (online only)

Smartphone Only Cards:

$25 or $35 Smartphone Card - 1 GB Data Free with code 53629

We hope the codes work for you and be sure to leave a comment with which one you tried.

If you are not sure which airtime card is the best value for what you need, visit our Airtime Comparison Article which looks at the best value cards for different situations.

Or you might be interested in 10 Tips for Boosting your Cell Signal - including several very simple options.

Also check out the latest Deals and Discounts on Tracfone cell phones.

And keep up with the latest news and information by joining us on Facebook.

Thanks for visiting!

October 20, 2017

ZTE ZMAX Champ (Z917VL) Review - Tracfone Android

Tracfone ZTE ZMAX Champ Review (Z917VL)

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, with news, reviews and other information about Tracfone!

A large screen at a budget price, the ZTE ZMAX Champ has a 5.5" touchscreen and can be found for just over $100. It also has a quad-core processor and runs Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow.

tracfone zmax champ specs
Tracfone ZTE ZMAX Champ Review
Find the full list of feature and specs listed below for the Champ, along with our review and how it compares to some of the other Android phones available from Tracfone.

There are currently several smartphones available from Tracfone with 5.5" screens, which is becoming a popular choice for many. The LG Fiesta and Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro both have large screens like the ZMAX Champ, and we will be looking closer at how these phones compare.

Tracfone continues to release new smartphones to use with their wireless prepaid network. You can keep up with the new devices in our List of Latest Tracfone Smartphones or simply visit our Cell Phone Reviews page where we include all the reviews we've done for Tracfone devices.

The ZTE ZMAX Champ has some great features, but it also cut some corners to keep the price low. Here are the main pro's and con's for the Z917VL.

ZTE ZMAX Champ (Z917VL) Quick Facts

The Good:
-Large 5.5" touchscreen
-Decent 8 MP rear camera
-Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
-Triple Minutes for Life

The Not so Good:
-8 GB Internal Memory
-Low Screen DPI (267)

The ZMAX Champ includes Triple Minutes, which not all new phones from Tracfone include anymore. In fact, Tracfone is slowly removing that feature as they release new phones. (You can learn more by reading Tracfone Makes Changes to Triple Minutes.)

A major downside for this device is the lack of internal storage, with just 8 GB. Uses may be able to use a Micro SD card as internal storage, but it is still a hassle to deal with a phone that is out of space.

Below are the full features and specs for the ZMAX Champ.

ZTE ZMAX Champ Features and Specs


  • 4G LTE service using CDMA (Verizon) network towers
  • Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • WiFi, GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
  • 8 MP rear camera with Auto Flash/Auto focus
  • 2 MP front camera
  • SMS, MMS, and Voicemail
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Handsfree Speaker
  • Sensors: Accelerometer, Light, and Proximity

ZTE ZMAX Champ Technical Specs


  • Size: 3" x 6.07" x 0.37" (6.16oz)
  • 5.5" IPS Touchscreen (HD) with 1280x720 resolution (267 dpi)
  • 1.3 Ghz Quad Core Processor
  • 1.5 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory
  • Battery: 3080 mAh with 20 hrs talk time, 10 days standby

We recently reviewed the ZTE ZFIVE which shares many of the same features and specs as the ZMAX Champ. However the Champ does have a larger screen, and more RAM.

ZTE is a major electronics company based in China and one of the largest cell phone manufacturers in the world. They usually focus on low-cost devices, especially those targeted at prepaid users, and distribute throughout the world.

ZTE's phones generally offer a reasonable mix of features and performance to handle basic smartphone activities, like surfing the web, using a few apps and taking photos, while maintaining a low price tag.

In the case of the ZMAX Champ, it features a large touchscreen, but makes sacrifices in other areas to keep the price low. Lets take a closer look in our review for the ZTE ZMAX Champ features.

ZTE ZMAX Champ (Z917VL) Review

Screen:
The Champ comes with a 5.5" HD touchscreen that has good viewing angles and brightness. It lacks a little in pixel density, with just 267 dpi, but for most this won't really be noticeable. Not everyone prefers a large screen, and Tracfone does offer several other devices with 4.5" or 5" screens. A 5.5" screen is great for easier viewing of photos, videos or text.

Internal Specs - Memory, Processor and RAM:
Although it has a 1.3 Ghz quad core processor, the ZTE Champ cuts corners with just 1.5 GB RAM and 8 GB Memory. Most smartphones, even low cost options, are using closer to 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal memory. While 1.5 GB RAM is enough for most activities on this phone, users may be limited in multitasking (such as having many different webpages or apps open at once).

zmax champ review z917vl
ZTE ZMAX Champ front, back and side view
8 GB internal memory will limit the number of apps and media users are able to store on this device significantly. A possible upside is that the ZMAX Champ does have a Micro SD Card slot that can be used to store media, and apps (if formatted as internal storage - here is an article with details).

Camera:
The 8 MP rear camera on the Champ is surprisingly decent for a low cost phone. It has flash and auto focus, and can shoot 1080p HD video at 30 fps. The 2 MP selfie camera on the front is nothing special, but adequate for video catting etc.

Battery:
Included with the ZMAX Champ is a 3080 mAh non-removable battery that gives about 20 hrs talk time and 10 days on standby, although real world use will probably result in slightly lower battery life. A large phone usually results in a larger batter, but a large screen will also drain it faster. The ZMAX Champ strikes a good balance with battery life.

Android OS:
The ZTE ZMAX Champ runs Android 6.0.1 which is a relatively new OS. Some Tracfone devices, like the LG Fiesta, come with the newer Android 7.0 OS. One downside to Tracfone smartphones is that they do not receive OS updates, so it is not possible to upgrade to a newer operating system. If this is an important feature for you, consider the BYOP program which allows users to bring unlocked smartphones that can still receive OS updates.

Additional Details:
The ZMAX Champ includes Triple Minutes which many users will like. This only affects regular airtime cards (60, 120, 200 etc.). In some cases, the new Smartphone only airtime cards are a better deal, especially for texts and data. Visit our Tracfone Airtime Comparison Guide to learn more about which airtime cards are the best deal.

Comparison to LG Fiesta and Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro:
There are several newer phones available from Tracfone that all have a 5.5" touchscreen, so how do they compare to the ZTE Champ? Let's look at the comparison table below with the LG Fiesta and Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro:

ZTE ZMAX Champ comparison
ZTE ZMAX Champ vs LG FIesta vs Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro


The ZTE ZMAX Champ can generally be found for less money compared to the Fiesta and Sky Pro, but those devices boast better storage and performance. As you can see from the table above, the Fiesta has a higher megapixel camera (13 MP) compared to the Sky Pro and Champ. However, the Galaxy Sky Pro has better performance specs, with 2 GB RAM and an Octa Core processor.

Last we checked, the LG Fiesta is actually available on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle and the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is also available with airtime bundle for $149.

Each of these phones are capable devices, but have certain areas where they are a little better or worse, so take that into account when choosing which to purchase.

Where to Buy the ZTE ZMAX Champ

The ZTE ZMAX Champ is available from several different online retailers as well as in certain retail stores.

Find the ZMAX Champ on Amazon bundled with 1000 talk, 2000 texts and 2 GB Data for just $89

Also take a look at Cases and Covers for the ZMAX Champ.

The ZMAX Champ is also available from HSN for $110 with 1200 talk/text/data.

That concludes our review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ. We gather and share the information in this review with the goal of helping our readers make a more informed buying decision. Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions!

For the latest reviews and news, join us on Facebook with more than 2700 followers.

We've got lots of other useful articles, including 10 Tips to Boost your Cell Signal and 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime.

If you are new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide which shares lots of helpful info about using Tracfone.

And don't forget to check the latest Tracfone Deals and Discounts!

Thanks for visiting!

October 11, 2017

Tracfone Deals and Sales - October 2017

Best Deals and Discounts on Tracfone - October 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about all things related to Tracfone. Deals updated for October!

tracfone discount cell phone october 2017
Tracfone Deals - October 2017
Looking for a new phone? Or just curious about any good deals? We have collected some great deals and discounts on Tracfone devices here for you!

Tracfone sells their phones through a wide variety of methods, including most retail stores like Walmart and Target, and many online retailers such as HSN, Amazon and eBay. You can also buy directly from Tracfone.

But how can you find the best prices on a new phone with so many different sellers? Right here!

We spend a lot of time checking and monitoring different phones available for Tracfone and the prices, and are sharing some of the best deals on a variety of phones here with our readers.

Often the best deals for a new phone are airtime bundles, where you can get a certain amount of airtime along with a new phone. In some cases, the airtime comes preloaded, so be aware of that.

Tracfone has made some Changes to Triple Minutes for Life. Follow the link to learn more about these changes, and how it may affect you. Some newer phones offered by Tracfone no longer include triple minutes.

We have included some smartphone options that you can bring to Tracfone's BYOP program, which is a great way to choose a smartphone that really fits your needs but continue to use prepaid service from Tracfone.

Let's take a look at the deals.

Tracfone Deals and Discounts List for October 2017

Remember that some of these deals go quickly!

LG Fiesta - $119 with 1500 Minutes Bundle
The LG Fiesta (L64VL) comes with Android 7.0,  a 5.5" touchscreen, 16 GB memory and a 1.4 Ghz processor. It is a nice upgrade over many of Tracfone's other smartphone options such as the LG Rebel, and uses CDMA network (Verizon).

At $119 including a 1 year/1500 minute airtime bundle on HSN, this is a fantastic deal.

The LG Fiesta is also available on Amazon at $139 with 1000 talk minutes, 2000 texts, and 2 GB data.

Be sure to read our Review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the specs and features on this phone.


iPhone SE from Tracfone $159
tracfone deals and discounts
iPhone SE from Tracfone
Tracfone is offering the iPhone SE for use on their prepaid CDMA network for just $159 which is a great deal for this device.

The iPhone SE has a small, 4" screen, abut excellent 12 MP camera, 32 GB internal memory and runs Apple's iOS which gives users access to the Apple App store. It is a powerful device known for good performance. At just $159, it is a good price (originally retailed for $399)

Visit the Tracfone website, and select 'shop' from the menu and continue to their list of phones to view the iPhone SE. If it is not listed, it could be out of stock or not available in your area.

There are unlocked iPhone SE devices available on Amazon, but they are a little more expensive (but are capable of using GSM networks).


Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) - $89 with 1200 Minutes
The Luna Pro is a recently released smartphone that comes with several nice upgrades over the original Galaxy Luna such as a larger screen and more internal memory.

You get a 5" touchscreen, Android 6.0,1, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and much more. Plus with the deal on HSN you also get 1200 talk/text/data and a year of service (worth $99) for just $99 (now $89). The Luna Pro does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life.

See the deal on HSN. And on QVC for $99 with 1500 minutes bundle.

The Galaxy Luna Pro is also available on Amazon for $99 with a $40 airtime bundle that includes 1000 talk, 2000 texts and 2 GB data. For some users, this is actually a better deal!

Read our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review to learn more about this phone.

Great Deals on Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP

For those who are looking for a little more flexibility, and performance, here are a couple great options on unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Moto E4 (Unlocked) - $129
tracfone cheap phone
Moto E4 (Unlocked)
The E4 from Motorola is a low cost smartphone that still packs a punch when it comes to performance and the latest OS. The E4 features a 5" touchscreen, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB Memory, quad core processor and Android 7.1. It comes unlocked and can be used with either CDMA or GSM networks.

While just a little more expensive than some of the Tracfone smartphones, it is a step above in terms of performance, but still geared towards moderate cell phone users who want to run a handful of apps.

It is currently available from Amazon for $129 but Prime members can get it at a discount.


Moto G5 Plus (Unlocked) - $219
If you are looking for daily demands including a variety of apps and games, the Moto G5 Plus is a great option. It has a 5" touchscreen, 32 or 64 GB Memory, 2 or 4 GB RAM, an octa core processor, and Android 7.1. Learn more about this phone, including how to bring it to Tracfone BYOP, in our Moto G5 Plus Specs and Info post.

The G5 Plus is available for $219 from BHphotovideo or also available from Amazon (at a discount for Prime members).

****
That concludes the deals for this month, we hope these give you some options and ideas if you're shopping for a new phone.

Leave a comment below with any great deals we missed, or if you have questions.

Join us on Facebook for the latest news and posts, and feel free to ask questions to our helpful community, or message us directly.

See the latest Tracfone Cell Phones in our recently updated list.

And if you have ever had problems with signal strength and dropped calls, take a look at the 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal.

Thanks for visiting!

October 2, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for October 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes - October 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, with news, reviews, and monthly promo code list!

tracfone promo code
October 2017 Tracfone Promo Codes
The leaves are changing, the weather is cooling, and we've got new Tracfone promo codes for October!

Each month we share new Tracfone promo codes to get free airtime when adding a Tracfone airtime card. These bonus codes can be used by anyone, simply find the code code for the airtime card you are adding, and include it in the promo code area.

There are promo codes for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards. Each code is usually for a specific airtime card, but may also be used with cards of greater value.

We also have a larger list of codes with many more options on our main Tracfone promo code page. The codes listed here are the latest and have been tested for October 2017.

Tracfone offers these codes through a variety of outlets, and we collect and share them here for our readers. Be aware that Tracfone doesn't always offers codes for every airtime card, and some codes may only work once, or are for certain phones.

If you're unsure what Tracfone airtime card to purchase, take a look at our recent post on the Best Deal for Tracfone Minutes which shares several options depending n your situation.

Let's take a look at the new codes.

Tracfone Promo Code List - October 2017

Regular airtime card promo codes:

60 Minute Card use code 12745 or 22703 for 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card add 65813 to get 40 free minutes

200 Minute Card enter 81544 and receive 50 extra minutes

450 Minute Card - (No new codes, use one of the above codes)

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 34674 to get 300 additional minutes

$15 off 1 year/ 400 minute card with code 62118 (valid online only)

Smartphone only card promo codes:

53629 - 1 GB free data on $15, $25 and $35 smartphone cards

These are the latest codes for Tracfone. We hope you find a bonus code that works for you! Let us know in the comments which code you used and how it worked.

Check out the latest Tracfone Deals and Discounts for lowest prices on new smartphones.

And if you're shopping for a new phone, be sure to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page and the list of Latest Tracfone Cell Phones 2017.

Finally, don't miss out on our community of over 2600 on Facebook where we often post deals, news and other information, plus help answer questions.

Thanks for visiting!

September 20, 2017

Tracfone GSM Vs. CDMA Phones

What is the Difference Between GSM and CDMA Tracfones?

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer! This post was originally published in 2013 but updated Sept 20th 2017.

gsm vs cdma how to
Tracfone GSM vs CDMA Guide
Tracfone Wireless is a low cost, prepaid cell phone service provider that uses other major cell service towers from Verizon, Sprint, AT&T and others to provide service.

Tracfone offers two general types of phones - CDMA and GSM. But what is the difference, and how can you tell which one you have, and which one you should get? Get those questions and more answered right here!

What Are GSM and CDMA Cell Phones?

Let's start by giving a little more information about GSM and CDMA:

GSM, which stands for Global System for Mobile communication, is the more popular cell phone standard worldwide, but not as much here in the United States. AT&T and T-Mobile use GSM networks for all their cell phone service, and Tracfone cell phones that use GSM run off of one of those two major carriers (mostly AT&T).

CDMA stands for Code Division Multiple Access and is less popular world wide, but more popular in America. It is used by Sprint and Verizon for their cell phone service, and any Tracfone devices that use CDMA typically run off of Verizon..

So, GSM or CDMA cell phones are simply cell phones that run on one of those two networks.

For more general details on the differences between GSM and CDMA networks visit GSM vs CDMA on Diffen

How to Tell If You Have a GSM or CDMA Tracfone:

GSM vs CDMA tracfone cell phones
LG 505C (CDMA)
This is a common question with Tracfone users that has a very simple answer.

For Older Tracfone Devices:
If your cell phone ends with a 'C' it uses the CDMA Network. An example is the LG 505C. Notice the 'C' at the end of the name. All Tracfone mobile devices that end with "C' use either Verizon or sometimes other  CDMA networks.

If your cell phone ends with a 'G' it used the GSM Network. An example is the LG 840G. All Tracfone cell phones that end with this 'G' use the GSM network, which is either T-Mobile or AT&T. GSM phones have been very popular with Tracfone, but recently there has been a wave of Android smartphones for Tracfone and they all use Verizon CDMA service.

For Newer Smartphones:
Tracfone has also started using 'VL' at the end of some of their smartphones, which indicates it is Verizon - LTE. The Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an example.

Some Tracfone GSM smartphones also use 'AL' or 'BL' to indicate LTE service with either AT&T or T-Mobile.

Check your SIM Number:
Another way to check what carrier you are using is to check your SIM number and compare the first 6 numbers with those below:
890141 + AT&T (GSM)
890126 + T-Mobile (GSM)
891480 + Verizon (CDMA)

On most smartphones you can find the SIM number on the SIM card, or with the packaging. Here is a tutorial from Tracfone that walks through finding and checking your SIM card number.

For more on these smartphones, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page where we have a full list including all of the recent Android smartphones.

Should I Buy a GSM or CDMA Tracfone?

This is also a question we get here at TracfoneReviewer quite often. Many people are unsure which type of phone to get, those ending with 'C' or 'G'?

Here is what it comes down to: As mentioned above, Tracfone cell phones ending with 'C' or 'VL' use the CDMA networks of Verizon and phones ending in 'G' or 'AL'/'BL' use AT&T and T-Mobile. Thus, you should get the phone that will use the network that has the best coverage in your area.

This may take a little research to discover, you may want to talk with friends or look up information online, but when you have found which major cell phone provider works best in your area, use the cell phone from Tracfone that will use that network.

Many cities have either GSM or CDMA as the more dominant provider for a variety of reasons, so be sure to find out which will work better. You can go on the Tracfone website and shop for cell phones there, where they will ask for your zip and determine which type of phone you should get.

Many of the Android smartphones Tracfone has released use CDMA (Verizon) cell service. There are a few that also use GSM service. Check before you buy that you are getting the right one for your area.

In some cases, Tracfone may indicate that only GSM or CDMA works in your area, but in reality both may work..

And remember, you can always buy an unlocked smartphone and bring it to Tracfones BYOP program using either CDMA or GSM service. The Moto G5 Plus is compatible with both GSM and CDMA.

In the end, do a little research and you should find which type of phone will work best in your area.

Tracfone Cell Phones for GSM and CDMA Networks

Tracfone cell phones use either GSM or CDMA. Below we will share a list of cell phones from Tracfone organized by which type of network they use. This list does not include all of Tracfone's devices, but many of the most popular ones with newer devices listed first.

Additionally, you can visit the Tracfone website and go to 'Shop' and they will ask for your ZIP code, and then show you currently available phones for your area.

GSM phones - AT&T and T-Mobile
(Limited Android smartphones use GSM)
ZTE ZFIVE 2 (Available on Tracfone website)
LG Rebel
LG Sunset
LG 306G
Motorola EX431G
Samsung S425G
LG 840G
LG 530G
LG 500G
Samsung S390G
LG 440G

CDMA phones - Verizon and Sprint
(Most Android smartphones use CDMA)
LG Fiesta
Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro
Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro
ZTE ZFIVE
Samsung Galaxy Centura
Huawei Glory
ZTE Valet
LG Optimus Dynamic
LG Optimus Dynamic II
LG 505C
Samsung R455C
LG 501C
LG 290C

Tracfone allows users to bring GSM or CDMA smartphones (usually unlocked) to use with their BYOP 4G LTE service. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page to learn more.

There are many more cell phone options from Tracfone besides these, but this is just a sample of cell phones categorized by which network they use.

Take a look at our Latest Tracfone Cell Phones List for 2017 to keep up with the newest releases.

You may also find our recent posts, Top 3 LG Phones from Tracfone and the Best Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone interesting and useful in finding a cell phone.

We hope this helped to answer questions, and ifyou have any more, just ask them in the comments. Share this with others who also might find it beneficial!

EDIT: For those who might be looking for zip codes that will allow you to shop for CDMA cell phones on the Tracfone website, here is one that worked: 89301 - Ely, NV.