October 11, 2017

Tracfone Deals and Sales - October 2017

Best Deals and Discounts on Tracfone - October 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about all things related to Tracfone. Deals updated for October!

tracfone discount cell phone october 2017
Tracfone Deals - October 2017
Looking for a new phone? Or just curious about any good deals? We have collected some great deals and discounts on Tracfone devices here for you!

Tracfone sells their phones through a wide variety of methods, including most retail stores like Walmart and Target, and many online retailers such as HSN, Amazon and eBay. You can also buy directly from Tracfone.

But how can you find the best prices on a new phone with so many different sellers? Right here!

We spend a lot of time checking and monitoring different phones available for Tracfone and the prices, and are sharing some of the best deals on a variety of phones here with our readers.

Often the best deals for a new phone are airtime bundles, where you can get a certain amount of airtime along with a new phone. In some cases, the airtime comes preloaded, so be aware of that.

Tracfone has made some Changes to Triple Minutes for Life. Follow the link to learn more about these changes, and how it may affect you. Some newer phones offered by Tracfone no longer include triple minutes.

We have included some smartphone options that you can bring to Tracfone's BYOP program, which is a great way to choose a smartphone that really fits your needs but continue to use prepaid service from Tracfone.

Let's take a look at the deals.

Tracfone Deals and Discounts List for October 2017

Remember that some of these deals go quickly!

LG Fiesta - $119 with 1500 Minutes Bundle
The LG Fiesta (L64VL) comes with Android 7.0,  a 5.5" touchscreen, 16 GB memory and a 1.4 Ghz processor. It is a nice upgrade over many of Tracfone's other smartphone options such as the LG Rebel, and uses CDMA network (Verizon).

At $119 including a 1 year/1500 minute airtime bundle on HSN, this is a fantastic deal.

The LG Fiesta is also available on Amazon at $139 with 1000 talk minutes, 2000 texts, and 2 GB data.

Be sure to read our Review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the specs and features on this phone.


iPhone SE from Tracfone $159
tracfone deals and discounts
iPhone SE from Tracfone
Tracfone is offering the iPhone SE for use on their prepaid CDMA network for just $159 which is a great deal for this device.

The iPhone SE has a small, 4" screen, abut excellent 12 MP camera, 32 GB internal memory and runs Apple's iOS which gives users access to the Apple App store. It is a powerful device known for good performance. At just $159, it is a good price (originally retailed for $399)

Visit the Tracfone website, and select 'shop' from the menu and continue to their list of phones to view the iPhone SE. If it is not listed, it could be out of stock or not available in your area.

There are unlocked iPhone SE devices available on Amazon, but they are a little more expensive (but are capable of using GSM networks).


Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) - $89 with 1200 Minutes
The Luna Pro is a recently released smartphone that comes with several nice upgrades over the original Galaxy Luna such as a larger screen and more internal memory.

You get a 5" touchscreen, Android 6.0,1, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and much more. Plus with the deal on HSN you also get 1200 talk/text/data and a year of service (worth $99) for just $99 (now $89). The Luna Pro does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life.

See the deal on HSN. And on QVC for $99 with 1500 minutes bundle.

The Galaxy Luna Pro is also available on Amazon for $99 with a $40 airtime bundle that includes 1000 talk, 2000 texts and 2 GB data. For some users, this is actually a better deal!

Read our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review to learn more about this phone.

Great Deals on Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP

For those who are looking for a little more flexibility, and performance, here are a couple great options on unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Moto E4 (Unlocked) - $129
tracfone cheap phone
Moto E4 (Unlocked)
The E4 from Motorola is a low cost smartphone that still packs a punch when it comes to performance and the latest OS. The E4 features a 5" touchscreen, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB Memory, quad core processor and Android 7.1. It comes unlocked and can be used with either CDMA or GSM networks.

While just a little more expensive than some of the Tracfone smartphones, it is a step above in terms of performance, but still geared towards moderate cell phone users who want to run a handful of apps.

It is currently available from Amazon for $129 but Prime members can get it at a discount.


Moto G5 Plus (Unlocked) - $219
If you are looking for daily demands including a variety of apps and games, the Moto G5 Plus is a great option. It has a 5" touchscreen, 32 or 64 GB Memory, 2 or 4 GB RAM, an octa core processor, and Android 7.1. Learn more about this phone, including how to bring it to Tracfone BYOP, in our Moto G5 Plus Specs and Info post.

The G5 Plus is available for $219 from BHphotovideo or also available from Amazon (at a discount for Prime members).

****
That concludes the deals for this month, we hope these give you some options and ideas if you're shopping for a new phone.

Leave a comment below with any great deals we missed, or if you have questions.

Join us on Facebook for the latest news and posts, and feel free to ask questions to our helpful community, or message us directly.

See the latest Tracfone Cell Phones in our recently updated list.

And if you have ever had problems with signal strength and dropped calls, take a look at the 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal.

Thanks for visiting!

October 2, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for October 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes - October 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, with news, reviews, and monthly promo code list!

tracfone promo code
October 2017 Tracfone Promo Codes
The leaves are changing, the weather is cooling, and we've got new Tracfone promo codes for October!

Each month we share new Tracfone promo codes to get free airtime when adding a Tracfone airtime card. These bonus codes can be used by anyone, simply find the code code for the airtime card you are adding, and include it in the promo code area.

There are promo codes for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards. Each code is usually for a specific airtime card, but may also be used with cards of greater value.

We also have a larger list of codes with many more options on our main Tracfone promo code page. The codes listed here are the latest and have been tested for October 2017.

Tracfone offers these codes through a variety of outlets, and we collect and share them here for our readers. Be aware that Tracfone doesn't always offers codes for every airtime card, and some codes may only work once, or are for certain phones.

If you're unsure what Tracfone airtime card to purchase, take a look at our recent post on the Best Deal for Tracfone Minutes which shares several options depending n your situation.

Let's take a look at the new codes.

Tracfone Promo Code List - October 2017

Regular airtime card promo codes:

60 Minute Card use code 12745 or 22703 for 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card add 65813 to get 40 free minutes

200 Minute Card enter 81544 and receive 50 extra minutes

450 Minute Card - (No new codes, use one of the above codes)

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 34674 to get 300 additional minutes

$15 off 1 year/ 400 minute card with code 62118 (valid online only)

Smartphone only card promo codes:

53629 - 1 GB free data on $15, $25 and $35 smartphone cards

These are the latest codes for Tracfone. We hope you find a bonus code that works for you! Let us know in the comments which code you used and how it worked.

Check out the latest Tracfone Deals and Discounts for lowest prices on new smartphones.

And if you're shopping for a new phone, be sure to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page and the list of Latest Tracfone Cell Phones 2017.

Finally, don't miss out on our community of over 2600 on Facebook where we often post deals, news and other information, plus help answer questions.

Thanks for visiting!

September 20, 2017

Tracfone GSM Vs. CDMA Phones

What is the Difference Between GSM and CDMA Tracfones?

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer! This post was originally published in 2013 but updated Sept 20th 2017.

gsm vs cdma how to
Tracfone GSM vs CDMA Guide
Tracfone Wireless is a low cost, prepaid cell phone service provider that uses other major cell service towers from Verizon, Sprint, AT&T and others to provide service.

Tracfone offers two general types of phones - CDMA and GSM. But what is the difference, and how can you tell which one you have, and which one you should get? Get those questions and more answered right here!

What Are GSM and CDMA Cell Phones?

Let's start by giving a little more information about GSM and CDMA:

GSM, which stands for Global System for Mobile communication, is the more popular cell phone standard worldwide, but not as much here in the United States. AT&T and T-Mobile use GSM networks for all their cell phone service, and Tracfone cell phones that use GSM run off of one of those two major carriers (mostly AT&T).

CDMA stands for Code Division Multiple Access and is less popular world wide, but more popular in America. It is used by Sprint and Verizon for their cell phone service, and any Tracfone devices that use CDMA typically run off of Verizon..

So, GSM or CDMA cell phones are simply cell phones that run on one of those two networks.

For more general details on the differences between GSM and CDMA networks visit GSM vs CDMA on Diffen

How to Tell If You Have a GSM or CDMA Tracfone:

GSM vs CDMA tracfone cell phones
LG 505C (CDMA)
This is a common question with Tracfone users that has a very simple answer.

For Older Tracfone Devices:
If your cell phone ends with a 'C' it uses the CDMA Network. An example is the LG 505C. Notice the 'C' at the end of the name. All Tracfone mobile devices that end with "C' use either Verizon or sometimes other  CDMA networks.

If your cell phone ends with a 'G' it used the GSM Network. An example is the LG 840G. All Tracfone cell phones that end with this 'G' use the GSM network, which is either T-Mobile or AT&T. GSM phones have been very popular with Tracfone, but recently there has been a wave of Android smartphones for Tracfone and they all use Verizon CDMA service.

For Newer Smartphones:
Tracfone has also started using 'VL' at the end of some of their smartphones, which indicates it is Verizon - LTE. The Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an example.

Some Tracfone GSM smartphones also use 'AL' or 'BL' to indicate LTE service with either AT&T or T-Mobile.

Check your SIM Number:
Another way to check what carrier you are using is to check your SIM number and compare the first 6 numbers with those below:
890141 + AT&T (GSM)
890126 + T-Mobile (GSM)
891480 + Verizon (CDMA)

On most smartphones you can find the SIM number on the SIM card, or with the packaging. Here is a tutorial from Tracfone that walks through finding and checking your SIM card number.

For more on these smartphones, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page where we have a full list including all of the recent Android smartphones.

Should I Buy a GSM or CDMA Tracfone?

This is also a question we get here at TracfoneReviewer quite often. Many people are unsure which type of phone to get, those ending with 'C' or 'G'?

Here is what it comes down to: As mentioned above, Tracfone cell phones ending with 'C' or 'VL' use the CDMA networks of Verizon and phones ending in 'G' or 'AL'/'BL' use AT&T and T-Mobile. Thus, you should get the phone that will use the network that has the best coverage in your area.

This may take a little research to discover, you may want to talk with friends or look up information online, but when you have found which major cell phone provider works best in your area, use the cell phone from Tracfone that will use that network.

Many cities have either GSM or CDMA as the more dominant provider for a variety of reasons, so be sure to find out which will work better. You can go on the Tracfone website and shop for cell phones there, where they will ask for your zip and determine which type of phone you should get.

Many of the Android smartphones Tracfone has released use CDMA (Verizon) cell service. There are a few that also use GSM service. Check before you buy that you are getting the right one for your area.

In some cases, Tracfone may indicate that only GSM or CDMA works in your area, but in reality both may work..

And remember, you can always buy an unlocked smartphone and bring it to Tracfones BYOP program using either CDMA or GSM service. The Moto G5 Plus is compatible with both GSM and CDMA.

In the end, do a little research and you should find which type of phone will work best in your area.

Tracfone Cell Phones for GSM and CDMA Networks

Tracfone cell phones use either GSM or CDMA. Below we will share a list of cell phones from Tracfone organized by which type of network they use. This list does not include all of Tracfone's devices, but many of the most popular ones with newer devices listed first.

Additionally, you can visit the Tracfone website and go to 'Shop' and they will ask for your ZIP code, and then show you currently available phones for your area.

GSM phones - AT&T and T-Mobile
(Limited Android smartphones use GSM)
ZTE ZFIVE 2 (Available on Tracfone website)
LG Rebel
LG Sunset
LG 306G
Motorola EX431G
Samsung S425G
LG 840G
LG 530G
LG 500G
Samsung S390G
LG 440G

CDMA phones - Verizon and Sprint
(Most Android smartphones use CDMA)
LG Fiesta
Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro
Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro
ZTE ZFIVE
Samsung Galaxy Centura
Huawei Glory
ZTE Valet
LG Optimus Dynamic
LG Optimus Dynamic II
LG 505C
Samsung R455C
LG 501C
LG 290C

Tracfone allows users to bring GSM or CDMA smartphones (usually unlocked) to use with their BYOP 4G LTE service. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page to learn more.

There are many more cell phone options from Tracfone besides these, but this is just a sample of cell phones categorized by which network they use.

Take a look at our Latest Tracfone Cell Phones List for 2017 to keep up with the newest releases.

You may also find our recent posts, Top 3 LG Phones from Tracfone and the Best Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone interesting and useful in finding a cell phone.

We hope this helped to answer questions, and ifyou have any more, just ask them in the comments. Share this with others who also might find it beneficial!

EDIT: For those who might be looking for zip codes that will allow you to shop for CDMA cell phones on the Tracfone website, here is one that worked: 89301 - Ely, NV.

September 15, 2017

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) Review

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) - Tracfone Smartphone Review

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer. We share news, reviews and information about Tracfone Wireless.

tracfone galaxy luna pro
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL)
The Luna Pro is a Android smartphone released by Tracfone with upgraded performance over the original Galaxy Luna. It comes with some great features like a 5" screen and 16 GB memory that make it very similar to the Samsung Galaxy Sky, but at a slightly lower price.

We will share the full list of features and specs for the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro, followed by our review and comparison to the Galaxy Sky and other similar devices.

Tracfone is continuing to add new smartphones to their lineup with the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro one of several recently released. You can keep up with what's new on our Latest Tracfone Smartphones List.

Remember, though, that many of the newer phones from Tracfone will not include triple minutes, which is a recent change Tracfone has made. We discuss more about this in our post, Tracfone Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

Let's start with the Galaxy Luna Pro's quick pro's and con's.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Quick Facts

The Good
16 GB Memory
1.5 GB RAM
Great value with airtime bundle

The Not so Good
No Triple Minutes

While the Galaxy Luna Pro does come with 16 GB Memory, which is typically the minimum acceptable amount, it doesn't come with Triple Minutes which may be disappointing to some users.

But, for those who already purchase the smartphone only cards anyway, the lake of triple minutes doesn't really make a difference. For many, the smartphone only cards are a better deal.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specs
  • Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
  • 4G LTE service (CDMA - Verizon)
  • WiFI
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • MP3 Player
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play Store
  • Caller ID, Voicemail, SMS/MMS
  • 5 MP Rear Camera/ 2 MP Front
Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Technical Specs
  • Size: 5.55" x 2.76" x 0.34"
  • 5" HD TFT Touchscreen (720x1280)
  • 1.4 Ghz Quad Core Processor
  • 1.5 GB RAM
  • 16 GB Memory
  • Battery: 2600 mAh with 25 hrs talk time, 20 days standby
Samsung Electronics is a multinational company based in Korea and the second largest information technology company behind Apple. They are the largest manufacturer of mobile phones, with the Galaxy line being their most popular.

The Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro is designed as a budget friendly device but it still has the specs to keep up with moderate smartphone users who want to run a variety of apps and maybe some games.

Let's look at the details about this phone to learn more.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review

Screen Size
Featuring a 5" TFT screen with HD resolution and gorilla glass protection, the screen is bright and quite good for this phone. Its not up to the level of a flagship phone like the Samsung Galaxy S8, but this device is also much less expensive. The bezel on the sides is actually very small, and overall the phone has the look of a more expensive phone.

Internal Specs - Memory, RAM, and Processor
The biggest change going from the original Luna to the Luna Pro is the step up from 8 to 16 GB memory. Although 16 GB memory is still not a lot of space, it leaves enough room for storing your favorite apps, photos and some videos. The Android OS takes up about 7 GB, leaving around 9 GB free. Remember that the storage on the Galaxy Luna Pro can be expanded using a Micro SD Card (up to 256 GB).

The Galaxy Luna Pro also has 1.5 GB RAM and a 1.4 Ghz processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon 425) that results in good performance and multitasking. Overall the performance on the Luna Pro is very good for a phone at this price. It has enough storage and power to keep up with surfing the web, using various apps and most games.

Camera
While the rear camera is just 5 MP which seems a little limited, it is actually very capable and can shoot HD video at 60 fps and has autofocus, flash and more.

The front facing camera is 2 MP and works well for video calls and selfies.

Battery
A 2600 mAh battery comes with the Luna Pro that gives about 26 hrs talk time, and 20 days on standby. We're very impressed by this, and while average uses will probably get slightly less battery life, the Android 6.0 operating system does a great job at reducing battery drain.

Android OS
Tracfone has released several phones with Android 7.0, but the Galaxy Luna Pro only comes with Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow. It is still a relatively recent OS, but remember that you won't be able to get any updates.

With Android you have access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play and many are free.

Triple Minutes
Many of the newer phones Tracfone is releasing, including the Galaxy Luna Pro, do not come with Triple Minutes for Life, a feature they used to include with all smartphones.

This only affects users who typically buy regular airtime cards such as the 60, 120, 200 and 450 minute cards. For those who already buy the Smartphone Only cards, there is no difference.

Conclusion and Where to Buy the Galaxy Luna Pro

The Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is a nice upgrade in many ways over Galaxy Luna and many of Tracfone's other older smartphones. It offers very adequate performance, storage, camera and battery life at a great value.

Where to Buy
What really makes us impressed with the Galaxy Luna Pro is that it is available from HSN for $99 with an airtime bundle worth $99, making the phone essentially free.

Currently on sale from QVC with 1500 minutes for $99!

View the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro on HSN (with 1200 minutes for $99)

We've also found it available from BestBuy, but for $99 for just the phone.

Compared to the Galaxy Sky and Luna
The Galaxy Luna Pro is very similar to the slightly older Galaxy Sky. They both have 5" touchscreens, Android 6.0, 16 GB Memory and 1.5 GB RAM. They differ in the processor, with the Luna Pro featuring a newer, slightly more powerful quad core processor. The Galaxy Luna Pro is actually available for a little less than the Galaxy Sky, and would be our pick between the two.

Compared to the Galaxy Luna, the Luna Pro is an upgrade in most ways. The only downside would be that the Luna Pro does not include triple minutes.

We also recently reviewed the ZTE ZFIVE, which has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and Triple Minutes. However, it only has 1 GB RAM and 8 GB Memory. Compared to the ZFIVE, the Luna Pro is a better choice for those who will need the extra internal memory and performance.

That concludes our review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro. You can learn more about this phone by checking out the online tutorial.

Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions.

Visit us on Facebook where we share the latest news and posts, and have a growing community of helpful users.

Check out our latest Tracfone Deals and Discounts list!

We've got lots of helpful information on Tracfone smartphones, here are some of our most popular resources:

Tracfone Smartphone Resources:
How to Check your Airtime on a Smartphone
How to Activate or Transfer a Tracfone smartphone
How Data Works on Smartphones
How to Buy Extra Texts for Smartphones
Tracfone Airtime Comparison - Which Card is the Best Deal?

Thanks for visiting

September 1, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for September 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes - September 2017

Brought to you by TracfoneReviewer, where we share the latest news, reviews and information about Tracfone
tracfone promo code september 2017
Tracfone Promo Codes Sept 2017

Summer is fading, school is starting, but we have new Tracfone Promo Codes to bring to you!

Each month Tracfone releases new promotional codes to use with their prepaid airtime cards for extra minutes for free. These codes can be used when adding an airtime card.

We work hard to collect and test the latest codes to share them here with our readers. We also have a more expansive list of codes on our main Tracfone promo codes page.

Most promo codes from Tracfone are for use with regular airtime cards, but Tracfone has also released some codes for smartphone only cards.

If you don't know all the differences between these cards, or simply want to learn which one is the best deal, visit our Tracfone Airtime Comparison.

And if you're considering a new phone, be sure to stop by our Cell Phone Reviews page which has all our latest reviews of Tracfone devices.

Now let's look at the new codes for September.

Tracfone Promo Code List - September 2017

Some codes may only be used once, others can be used multiple times.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 or 22703 for 60 free minutes (note - only working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 25674 to get 30 bonus minutes or try 95080 for 40 minutes

200 Minute Card add code 48711 and receive 40 additional minutes or code 82092 for 50 minutes

450 Minute Card (No new code at this time)

Get $15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 40238 (online only)

Smartphone Only Cards - Use Code 34313 for 100 MB Free Data on $25 Smartphone card

Those are the latest codes, collected and shared here for our readers. We hope they work for you! To see even more options, visit our full Tracfone Promo Code page.

Follow us on Facebook where we post news, reviews and more. Plus we have a growing community of users who can help answer questions or provide advice.

See our List of Latest Tracfone Cell Phones to keep up with the new releases from Tracfone

Also take a look at our 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal if you have ever found yourself with a low signal.

Thanks for visiting! Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions!

August 24, 2017

ZTE ZFIVE (Z862VL) Tracfone Smartphone Review

Tracfone ZTE ZFIVE (Z862VL) Review

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer! We share news, reviews and information about Tracfone!
zte zfive tracfone
Tracfone ZTE ZFIVE Review

The ZTE ZFIVE is a recent smartphone released by Tracfone that uses Android 6.0.1 and has a 5" touchscreen. It also comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

In this review we will share the full specs and details about the ZFIVE and where to find it for the best deal.

Tracfone offers a wide variety of Android and Apple smartphones through online and in-store retailers. We have reviews for a number of them on our Cell Phone Reviews page. And you can also check out the list of Latest Tracfone Cell Phones to keep up with whats new.

Although the ZTE ZFIVE is a budget phone and limited in some features, it does come with several good features that will catch some attention, and is available at a reasonable price

Let's start with the quick facts:

ZTE ZFIVE Quick Facts

What we Like
-Android 6.0.1
-Triple Minutes for Life
-Reasonable Price

What we Don't Like
-Only 8 GB Memory
-Just 1 GB RAM

One of the big positives about this phone is that it still comes with Triple Minutes for Life, which Tracfone has stopped including on many new smartphones they release. If you want to learn more about this, read our recent post on the Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life.

Below are the full list of features and technical specifications for the ZFIVE.

ZTE ZFIVE (Z862VL) Features and Specs

  • Android 6.0.1
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • CDMA LTE Coverage (on Verizon cell network)
  • 5 MP Rear Camera with Auto-focus/flash, 2 MP Front Camera
  • WiFi (802.11 b/g/n)
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • GPS
  • Voicemail, MMS, Caller ID
  • Voice Dilaing
  • Handsfree speaker
  • Alarm clock
  • MP3 player
Technical Specs
  • Size: 2.8" x 5.69" x 0.33" (5.21 oz)
  • 5" IPS LED Touchscreen with HD (720x1280) resolution
  • 1.1GHz Qualcomm Quad-Core MSM8909
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Memory with Micro SD Card Slot (up to 64GB)
  • Battery: 2500 mAh with 12 hrs talk time, 8 days standby
Most of these features are fairly typical for a phone in this price range, but we do see a couple updates over older Tracfone smartphones that may make this a good option for some consumers.

ZTE is a electronics company based in China and one of the largest cell phone manufacturers in the world. They generally focus on low-cost devices, especially those targeted at prepaid users.

ZTE phones generally offer enough features and performance to handle basic smartphone activities, like surfing the web, using a few apps and taking photos, while maintaining a budget price tag.

The ZTE ZFIVE fits this description, and let's take a closer look at some of the good, and bad, points about this phone.

Tracfone ZTE ZFIVE (Z862VL) Review

Screen Size:
ZTE ZFIVE REVIEW
The ZTE ZFIVE for Tracfone
The 5" touchscreen on the ZFIVE is a sweet-spot for many users, who don't want their phone to be too big or bulky. The resolution is HD (1280x720) with a pixel density of about 293, resulting in fairly crisp and clear display. The colors on this screen aren't bad, but can look a little washed out, especially when viewing outdoors.

Internal Specs - Memory, Processor and RAM
While the 1.1 Ghz quad-core processor isn't bad, the memory and RAM on the ZFIVE are a little low for most users. You get just 8 GB internal memory, with around 4 GB actually usable. There is a Micro SD Card slot, with up to 64 GB external storage. Similarly, the 1 GB RAM is enough for web browsing, popular apps like Facebook and Instagram, and basic games, but will struggle to keep up with 3D games or any apps that aren't well optimized.

If you typically only use a few different apps, and are not interested in newer games, the performance of the ZTE ZFIVE should be adequate.

Camera
The 5 MP rear camera on the ZFIVE comes with auto focus and flash, and is surprisingly good for what it is. You can also record full 1080p HD videos which look pretty good too. There is also a 2 MP front 'selfie' camera for video chatting and photos.

Battery
At 2500 mAh, the battery on the ZTE ZFIVE is a little smaller than most phones these days, and gives about 12 hrs under normal use, 8 days on standby. If you're a moderate to heavy user, expect to need to charge this phone during the day.

Android Operating System
The ZTE ZFIVE runs Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow which is a newer version of the OS, and nice to see included. With Tracfone devices, they don't get software updates, so whatever version the phone comes with is what it will keep.

With Android users have access to over a million apps through Google Play. Visit our List of the Best Apps for Tracfone to get some ideas.

Triple Minutes for Life
While most new phones from Tracfone no longer include triple minutes, the ZFIVE does, which is nice to see. With triple minutes al regular airtime cards triple when added to the phone. Smartphone only airtime cards do not triple, but generally come with more texts and data, which many users prefer.

ZTE ZFIVE Overview and Where to Buy

The ZTE ZFIVE from Tracfone is a cost-friendly smartphone best suited for users who don't need very much memory on their phone, and don't plan to run any performance heavy apps or games.

It could make a nice upgrade from older Tracfone devices like the LG Ultimate 2, LG Power, LG Rebel, or any Alcatel or ZTE phones running Android 5.1 or older.

For those that want a little more performance, and a larger screen, consider the LG FIesta or Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro, but be aware these phones do not come with Triple Minutes.

If you really want a phone with the capability and power to handle almost any game or app, consider an unlocked device like the Moto G5 Plus and using it with Tracfone BYOP. This is a great option for those who are moderate to heavy cell phone users, but still want the advantages of Tracfone prepaid service.

The ZTE ZFIVE can be found bundled with 1200 minutes for just $79 on HSN.

If they are sold out, the ZFIVE may also be available through WallMart and Target stores.

We hope this information was helpful. Leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

New to Tracfone? Take a look at our Beginners Guide which covers some of the basics on how it works, and the different options available.

If you have more specific questions, join us on Facebook where you can send a message, or post to the page and get help from more than 2600 other Tracfone users.

Thanks for visiting!

August 17, 2017

Tracfone Latest Phones 2017 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2017
List of New Tracfones in 2017
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2017.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2017

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • iPhone SE -  (limited quantities on Tracfone website)
  • iPhone 7
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samusng, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2017

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more and find where to buy it.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

And see where Tracfone is going in 2017 with our article, What to Expect from Tracfone in 2017.

Thanks for visiting!
(Last Updated - August  2017)

August 10, 2017

Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life- What you Need to Know

Facts about Tracfone's Triple Minutes for Life Changes

triple minutes for life
Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life
Tracfone has decided to end the Triple Minutes for Life (TMFL) program that gave all smartphones (both Tracfone branded and unlocked) as well as many feature phones triple the minutes when adding the regular airtime cards. (When adding the 60 minute card, for example, you would get 180 minutes, plus any bonus airtime).

There has been a lot of speculation and questions about whether phones will keep Triple Minutes for Life, if new phones will have it, and if Tracfone is really removing a very popular feature from their phones.

We've gathered information about the changes and contacted Tracfone directly, and now want to try and clear things up and provide the facts for everyone concerned about this.

First off, none of the Smartphone only cards would triple anyway, so these cards are completely unaffected, and if these are the cards you usually get, you are unaffected. In general, the smartphone cards are a better deal (especially for texts and data)l, and you can take a look at our Tracfone Airtime Comparison to learn more about which cards are the best deal for different situations.

But many Tracfone customers still use the regular airtime cards, especially the 60 minute card and 1 Year/400 Minute card. Plus, most bonus codes are for the regular airtime cards.

So what exactly is changing, and how will it affect you? Let's have a look.

Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life Changes - The Facts

Here are the facts about Tracfone's changes to TMFL program.
  • All phones that already have Triple Minutes for Life will continue to have it.
  • New Smartphone releases will not include Triple Minutes for Life (Phones released after April 2017 and with Android 6.0 or newer will not come with TMFL, although some Android 6.0 smartphones do come with Triple Minutes)
  • SIM cards for BYOP phones will no longer include TMFL
  • All your airtime will transfer if you switch from a phone with TMFL to one without.
  • Regular airtime cards can still be added to non-TMFL smartphones, but only the face value will be given. (a 60 minute card will give 60 talk, 60 texts, and 60 MB data.)
The important information here is that no phone that already has triple minutes will lose that feature. But newer phones released by Tracfone will likely not include triple minutes.

This is a significant shift that Tracfone is making, and may drive away some long time customers. Why would they do this? Here is their response from the FAQ section on their website:

Why Tracfone is Making the Change to Triple Minutes for Life:
"As technology continues to improve, we found that more people were using smartphones and smartphone plans. People are especially using more data. So, we wanted to accommodate you by providing higher data plans with greater value." - Tracfone FAQ
That doesn't make a whole lot of sense as to why they need to get rid of TMFL, but it is true that the regular airtime cards are not a very good deal for data or texts.

Tracfone also cited 'technical compatibility' as another reason for the end of triple minutes, but that isn't very likely either.

Whatever the reason, Triple Minutes for Life will no longer come with new phones, but all existing triple minute phones will continue to keep it.

Tracfone Smartphones that Do Not have Triple Minutes

Here are phones that we have confirmed do not include triple minutes.

  • Samsung Galaxy Luna J3 Pro
  • ZTE Zfive2
  • ZTE Majesty Pro
  • LG Rebel 2
There may be more devices, and many of the newly released phones will likely not include triple minutes.

Share your thoughts or questions about these changes below, and if you have additional information or corrections please also let us know.

Continue the discussion on our Facebook page where we post the latest news and info with our growing community.

Catch up on some of our recent posts including 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal and How WiFi calling Works.

We also updated our list of the Best Android Apps which includes a variety of the most popular and most helpful apps to have on your smartphone.

Don't forget to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page if you're shopping for a new phone, or the BYOP page to learn about bringing an unlocked phone to Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

August 2, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for August 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes - August 2017

The latest promotional codes collected and shared by TracfoneReviewer

Tracfone Promo Code August 2017
Tracfone Promo Code List - August 2017
It's a new month, and summer is almost over, but we've got fresh Tracfone promo codes to make things a little better! Each month we gather these promo codes, test them, and then share them here for our readers!

There's nothing to click or do, the promo codes are free to use! Simple add the promo code when entering the Tracfone airtime PIN number in the spot marked for it. You can add airtime on your phone, over the phone or online.

Promo codes are meant for non-smartphones, but will usually work for both Tracfone smartphones and BYOP devices. If you're looking for a new phone, check out our Cell Phone Reviews or the BYOP page for recent reviews and information.

Some of the recent phones form Tracfone, like the LG Fiesta, don't come with Triple Minutes for Life, but promo codes should still work with them.

This page includes only the latest codes from Tracfone that a re for August 20177 but we also have a larger, Tracfone promo code page with more options, so if you don't see a code here that works, be sure to also visit there.

Let's get to the codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes List - August 2017

Some codes may be one time use, and others may be limited to certain airtime cards. But for most codes, they can be used with a specific airtime card or any card of greater value. Adding airtime over the phone may be the easiest way to ensure you receive bonus minutes.

60 Minute Card use promo code 22703 for 60 minutes (may be one time use) or try 12745 for 60 minutes

120 Minute Card add code 38007 for 30 extra minutes

200 Minute Card enter code 41993 and get 40 bonus minutes (valid until August 16th) or use 59905 for 40 minutes

450 Minute Card use code 85337 to receive 50 additional minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 89823 for 250 free minutes (valid until August 16th) or try 82024 to get 300 minutes!

$15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute card with code 91875 (from Tracfone website only)

We hope these codes get you the extra bonus minutes, let us know in the comments below which one you used, and how it worked.

Take a look at our 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal if you've ever wondered about how to boost your signal, or why you lose it in certain locations.

Also check out the latest post of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales which includes both Tracfone smartphones and BYOP devices.

Join us on Facebook, where our community of over 2600 offers helpful information and advice. And send us a message if you have a specific question, its the best place for us to respond.

And if you are curious about what WiFi Calling is and how it works or if you can unlock your Tracfone then follow the links to our recent articles!

Thanks for visiting!

July 31, 2017

10 Tips for Improving Your Tracfone Cell Signal

How to Check and Boost your Tracfone Cell Signal

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about Tracfone. If you're new, be sure to have a look around and some of the other news and information we share!

Tracfone cell signal strength
10 Tips to Boost your Cell Signal
Don't you hate it when you lose signal while on the phone, or when you can't send a text because you are in a dead zone?

In this post we look at how cell signal strength is measured, how to check your signal, and tips for improving it. We often get questions relating to signal strength, and hopefully this will help clear some of those up.

Tracfone users several other cell phone networks, including Verizon and AT&T, and the coverage is usually pretty good in most cities and towns. However, there are plenty of places where the signal can be partially blocked, or has much further to travel.

The information provided here is to help you get the most from your cell phone, so let's get started.

How Cell Signal Works (And How to Check yours)

Cell signal is measured in dBm (Decibel milliwatts) where about -60 dBm is a very excellent signal, and -110 very poor. Ranging between -70 and -98 dBm will usually result in a very adequate signal. As we will see further on in our tips for boosting signal strength, little things like holding the phone in certain ways, can significantly affect the signal.

The signal strength bars at the top of your device don't have any standardized correlation to your actual signal strength, but are a general representation. Different phones may report a different number of signal strength bars even with a similar dBm number. So, for example, if two phones both have -93 dBm signal strength, one might show three bars and the other four.

But how can you know what the actual signal strength is on your phone if you can only see the service bars? Well fortunately there is an easy way to check, for both iPhones and Android devices.

How to Check your Cell Signal Strength

Knowing your cell signal strength is very handy for avoiding dropped calls, and checking if there are ways to improve it. Here is how to check your signal (measured in dBm) on an Android device and an iPhone:

Android:
On an Android device go to Settings > About Phone > Status (or Network Status) > Signal Strength (On some devices you may need to tap SIM Status)

iPhone:
Dial *3001#12345#* on your iPhone then press Call. The signal strength will be displayed in the top right corner.

Once you see the number, try moving around or covering your phone with your hand, you should see the signal strength change. In our testing with a Moto G4, placing a hand over the top of the phone resulted in a loss of about 5 dBm signal strength.

Below is the steps for checking your signal strength on an Android, but be aware it might be slightly different for you. Start by going to settings, and then scroll to the bottom, following the steps below.
Improve cell signal tracfone
How to Check your Cell Signal Strength on Android

Now that you know how to check your signal strength, here are ten tips for improving it.

10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal

There are a number of different ways you can improve your cell signal and some of these may help more than others, depending on your situation.

1. Remove Obstructions
Anything that can block the radio waves reaching your phone could be reducing your signal strength. Things like a thick phone case, or leaving your phone in a purse or bag, could result in a worse signal, or even no signal. Test your phone case by checking your signal strength with it on, then off, and see if that makes a difference. Remember, closer to -60 is better, with anything between -70 to -100 still good, and beyond -110 very poor. If you notice your phone receives a lot of texts when you pull it out of your bag or purse, it could be getting blocked while in there.

2. Put your Phone in a Cup
This may sound a little odd, but it can actually helps amplify the reception in certain cases. If you get a poor signal, and are located in the lower levels of a building or the basement, try placing your phone in a cup to boost the reception. It might be hard to make any calls, but you will at least be able to check texts and voicemail. This also works well for improving the sound of your phone. You can also test with other objects that can catch and funnel the waves to your phone.

3. Check How you Hold your Phone
Cell phone manufactures put the antenna in a variety of different places, and sometimes the way you hold your phone could be reducing your signal. Check your signal strength with different ways you hold your phone and see if you might inadvertently be blocking the internal antenna.

4. Check your House for the Best Location
It can be helpful to walk around your house and check the signal strength in various parts. If you find a much stronger signal in certain areas, you can try and go there for making phone calls to help improve the signal.

5. Go Outside
Going outside, and away from buildings that might be blocking your cell signal, can make a huge difference in improving the connection. If you need to make an important call and find yourself with a low signal inside, make a quick trip outside and it will likely improve.

find tracfone cell tower
Using the Open Signal App to find the closest Cell Tower
6. Locate and get Closer to the Cell Tower
There are a number of free (and paid) apps that will show you where the nearest cell towers are, and which one you are currently using. This is very helpful if you need to get a better signal for an important call, or if you're just curious about where the cell towers are located.

Open Signal is available for free from the Google Play store and displays the nearby towers, and which one you are currently connected to.

Take a look at the screenshots from the app: on the left, it shows the dashboard which indicates which direction the cell tower you are currently connected to is located, and the map on the right side shows all nearby cell towers.

7. If in a car, open the window
Cars are basically large metal boxes and they do a pretty good job of reducing your signal strength. If it is not too noisy, try opening your window to improve your service. Obviously, you shouldn't be driving and talking on the phone, so maybe consider pulling over.

8. Create your own DIY Signal Booster
Using some everyday items you may be able to boost your signal with this DIY hack. There are lots of online guides and tips for creating and attaching signal boosters to your phone, but one we found was very simple, and made an improvement.

Simply attach the charging cord to your phone, and then wrap the other end around a metal object, such as a pen, and hold it up in the air. Try it for yourself and see what kind of an improvement it makes for you.

9. Keep your Battery Charged
Constantly sending and receiving signals does use a lot of battery power, especially when your phone has a weak signal, it has to send and resend several times. Keeping the battery charged will help your phone have plenty of juice to keep sending information even at low signal strength.

10. Use WiFi Calling
WiFi Calling works by using your home WiFi (or any WiFI) to transmit texts and calls for your device. You still have to pay for calls/texts, but at least you will be able to stay connected in locations with poor or no service.

We've just created a full Guide to WiFi Calling with Tracfone which includes more details about how it works, and how to check if your phone is compatible.

Bonus Tip! - Cell Phone Signal Booster
Cell phone signal boosters usually work by collecting the signal from outside your house, and sending it to another device that broadcasts it inside your house for a much stronger signal. They can be fairly expensive, sometimes several hundreds of dollars, but if you can't find another way to improve your poor signal inside, it may be an option worth looking into.

WeBoost (available form Amazon) is one such option that offers several different solutions. If you live in an area with a weak signal, this could dramatically improve your signal.

If you find that you still can't get a signal in places you commonly visit like your home or work, check with others to see if they have a better signal using a different network, and then consider switching. Tracfone uses several different networks, including Verizon and AT&T, so if you are using one service, you could consider switching to the other if you know that it has better service.

We hope this information about improving your cell signal helps boost yours! And let us know in the comments below if you have any thoughts or questions (and share your best signal boosting tips too!).

Keep up with the latest news and updates by joining us on Facebook with over 2500 followers.

Take a look at our Cell Phone Reviews list if you are considering a new phone, we've got lots of specs, details and where to buy the phones.

See the latest list of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales for the lowest prices on both Tracfone smartphones and unlocked devices.

Thanks for visiting!

July 24, 2017

Tracfone WiFi Calling - How it Works and More

How WiFi Calling Works with Tracfone and How to Make Free Calls

free calling wifi tracfone
Tracfone WiFi Calling
Is WiFi Calling Free? How does it work? We are here to help answer questions about WiFi Calling, and share an option for free calling using WiFi. If you're not sure how WiFi Calling works, if you have it or if you want it, this is the article to read.

Information about WiFi Calling with Tracfone is not completely clear, but we've tried to collect and share the most accurate details below. If you have anything to add, or if we made a mistake, let us know in the comments.

If you're new to TracfoneReviewer, take a look around. We offer lots of Tracfone related tips, news, info and reviews. A great place to start is our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Now, let's take a look at WiFi Calling with Tracfone.

What is WiFi Calling?

WiFi Calling is a feature that allows you to send and receive both calls and texts over a WiFi network instead of the cell network. The main benefit is that you can stay connected with calls/texts when cell service is not available but WiFi is, such as in the basement of a large building, or in a rural area.

WiFi Calling doesn't give you the ability to make free calls and texts. (Read further along to learn how to do this with Google Voice.) You are still charged the normal rate for calls and texts by Tracfone.

WiFi Calling works on both Android and iOS devices, although not all phones support it, and not all cell phone service providers support it.

Tracfone does support WiFi Calling, but only on some smartphones, and certain BYOP devices. It appears to depend on the phone and your location, as not all the networks Tracfone users support WiFi Calling.

To see if your phone is capable, take a look at the requirements for WiFi Calling:

Basic Requirements for WiFi Calling

There are a few basic requirements for WiFi Calling
  • SIM Card/Network that Supports it
  • Cell Phone with WiFi Calling Capability
  • e911 Registration
The first two requirements can be a little tricky to figure out. The easiest way is to just try and enable WiFi Calling to see if it will work. Tracfone uses several other cell phone networks, and a variety of different smartphones, so not all are capable or compatible.

You can visit https://e911-reg.tracfone.com/wps/portal/home/ and enter your phone number and last four digits of your SIM card number (located on your SIM card for BYOP devices).

Testing with an unlocked Moto G4 Plus with GSM SIM was unsuccessful.

How to Setup WiFi Calling

If you're phone is eligible, then follow these steps for WiFi Calling:
  1. Register an E911 address, which requires you to submit your home address, by visiting http://e911-reg.tracfone.com 
  2. Enable WiFi Calling on your device (if it isn't already enabled) by going to Settings > More > WiFi Calling. Here is a Tracfone tutorial for enabling WiFi Calling.
  3. If you run into problems, try double checking each step and if that doesn't work, contact Tracfone directly or leave a comment below.
If you're phone is capable of WiFi Calling, it should be a fairly quick and easy process to enable it.

But what if you can't enable WiFi Calling, or you want to make free calls using WiFi? Well we've got the answer!

How to Make Free Calls using WiFi

If you were expecting WiFi Calling to make it possible to make free calls and texts, you are probably disappointed. But don't worry, there are other options for free calling and texting, and we will share one of the more popular methods here.

Using Google Hangouts/Hangouts Dialer and a free phone number from Google Voice, you can make free calls from WiFi. Anyone you call will see your Google Voice number, not your Tracfone number, but you can port your Tracfone number to Google Voice if you prefer that.

Steps to Make Free Calls with Google Hangouts Dialer:
  1. Visit Google Voice and sign up for a free phone number. You are able to choose a phone number from a large variety available from many different area codes.
  2. Download Google Hangouts Dialer app on your smartphone
  3. Connect your Account and Verify your Phone Number
  4. Make a Test Call using the Google Hangouts Dialer app to check that everything is working.
Now you should be able to send and receive phone calls to your Tracfone smartphone using your Google Voice phone number and the Dialer app.

Here is a helpful YouTube video that also explains more about Google Hangouts Dialer and how it works.

If you are looking for free texting, there are a number of texting apps such as Whatsapp, Line App, and more, that allow free texting with anyone else who also has the app.

Using a Google Voice number and the Hangouts Dialer app is a great way for anyone to make calls using WiFi without using any Tracfone airtime.

We hope this information is helpful and leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

Check out the latest Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales if you are shopping for a new phone, or just want to see what is available.

Also take a look at our List of the Best Apps for Android, which includes several free texting apps.

And learn which Tracfone Airtime Card is the Best Deal with our comparison guide.

Thanks for visiting!

July 12, 2017

Tracfone Deals and Sales - July 2017

Best Deals on Tracfone Devices and Minutes - Summer 2017

cheap tracfone cell phone
Tracfone Deals and Sales - July 2017
Below are some of the best deals on Tracfone smartphones, regular phones, bundles and airtime. We know it can be a challenge to find the best price on a new cell phone, so we track, collect and share some of the best deals here for you.

Tracfone cell phones can be purchased not only from the Tracfone website, but also through many retailers like Walmart, Amazon, eBay and more.

Also included are some great prices for unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP

The best deal on a Tracfone device is to purchase a bundle which also includes airtime. In some cases you can get a new phone for very cheap, or even free with the purchase of airtime.

Be sure to also share any big discounts you find in the comments below. Let's get started.

Tracfone Smartphone and Bundle Deals

Deals updated for July 2017

LG Rebel with 1200 Minutes/1 Year service - $79
While the LG Rebel is a fairly basic smartphone, with Android 5.1, 8 GB memory and a 5" touchscreen, this bundle is very good. The airtime, a 1 Year service plus 1350 talk, text and data is worth over $100,, plus you get the phone for free. Visit our Review of the LG Treasure to learn more about this phone.

View the deal for the LG Treasure on eBay for $79

Also check out the LG Rebel, with a smaller 4.5" screen, available for $49 with 1200 minutes/1 year service from HSN.com

Samsung Galaxy Luna J1 with 1200 Minutes/1 Year Service - $99
The Galaxy Luna is a popular phone choice for its overall performance. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 6.0, quad core processor and 8 GB memory. It is generally best for people who use a small handful of apps, but don't do much more than that. This is a very good deal, as the Airtime bundle is worth $99, making the phone ($80-100 value) free!. View our review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna to learn more.

View the Deal on eBay.

Samsung Galaxy Core Prime with 1200 Minutes/1 Year service - $69
The Galaxy Core Prime is about a year old, but still offers some good features including a 4.5" touchscreen, 8 GB Memory, Quad-core processor and Android 4.4. The airtime is worth $99, making this a great deal. Note, the airtime may come pre-installed on the phone, meaning you can't immediately use the airtime on another device. View our review of the Samsung Galaxy Core Prime for more information.

View the Deal on eBay

Unlocked Smartphones for BYOP

These are great phones at a low price and ready for the Tracfone BYOP program.

Moto G4 Plus 64GB - $229 ($70 off)
If you want lots of onboard memory, a large, beautiful HD screen and long battery life, the Moto G4 Plus is an excellent option. It comes with Android 6.0 (upgradable to 7.0), 5.5" screen, 64 GB memory and plenty of other great features. The retail price is $299, but this deal has it available for $239. Check out our review of the Moto G4 Plus including adding it to Tracfone BYOP.

moto g5 plus tracfone
The Moto G5 Plus Unlocked
View the Deal on BH Photo

For the same price, the Moto G5 Plus (32 GB) is also available on Amazon. It is the newer version with upgraded processor, but smaller screen size (5.1")

Share any deals you find in the comments below and we will add them to the list!

Take a look at our recent Comparison of Tracfone Airtime which includes details on the cheapest ways to add airtime, and the best value cards.

We also updated our list of the Best Apps for Android.

And don't forget to join us on Facebook where we have a growing community of helpful people who share info, ask questions and give answers.

Thanks for visiting!