July 18, 2018

8 Simple Tips to Take Better Cell Phone Pictures

How to Improve your Cell Phone Photography with 8 Easy Tips

Here at TracfoneReviewer we share news, reviews and promo codes! Take a look around if you're new!

camera phone photo tips
8 Camera Phone Tips
All cell phones include a camera which is very convenient for snapping photos of friends, family and daily life, but can be annoying when the photos don't turn out very well.

Cell phone cameras are improving, especially for high end smartphones, and more and more people are relying on them to record important events and memories.

But we have all probably experienced trying to capture a moment only to see the image turn out poorly. Well we are sharing our best tips to help you capture better photos with any cell phone camera.

Obviously more expensive smartphones tend to have much better quality cameras which makes taking a good photo easier, so if you really enjoy shooting with your cell phone, we suggest looking into phones like the iPhone SE, Moto G6, iPhone 8, and Samsung Galaxy S9

Camera Phone Photo Tips Outline:

1. Use the 3x3 Camera Grid
2. Clean your Lens!
3. Avoid using Flash (when possible)
4. Look for Good Lighting and Use It
5. Zoom with your Feet
6. Tap to Focus
7. Hold it Steady!
8. Edit your Photos

Budget phones are still capable of capturing good photos and these tips will help you do that!

8 Tips to Improve Your Cell Phone Photography

1. Use the 3x3 Camera Grid
how to take better photos with your cell phone
Rule of Thirds - Cell Phone Camera Tips
Just about every camera app should have an option in the settings to display a 3x3 grid over the screen. This is helpful for a number of reasons, particularly photography's 'Rule of Thirds' which says that the intersecting points of the 3x3 grid is where you should put the main subjects in your photo. Additionally the grid is helpful for keeping the horizon level.

See the image on the right and how the grid helps line up the islands in the photo and keep the horizon level.

2. Clean your Lens!
Many a photo has been ruined by a smudged or dirty lens and quick wipe before you go to take a shot can go a long way in avoiding one possible reason your photo didn't turn out as well as you were hoping.  The edge of a t-shirt or other soft cloth is great for this and don't forget to wipe the lens on the front of the phone for selfies.

3. Avoid using Flash (when possible)
Many phones now also have a flash which is helpful for lighting up night scenes. However, flash can also leave parts of the photo overexposed and nasty shadows. Try turning the flash off and shooting with the available light first, and use flash as a last resort. Your photos should look more natural and people in your images will appreciate not getting blinded.

4. Look for Good Lighting and Use It
Photography is all about light but you don't need to be a great photographer to understand light, simply look for ways to have the subject in your photo positioned so they make use of the light available. For example, if you are inside a room with a window, try positioning the subject so that the light from the window falls on their face and naturally brightens it. Try to avoid bright lights behind your subject as they will tend to cause your subject to be too dark.

Taking a moment to reposition your subject before shooting can go a long way towards creating a better image.

If you are taking pictures of a landscape, sunrise and sunset are the preferred times to shoot as the light is the most unique and softer than mid day.

5. Zoom with your Feet
Although cell phone cameras have zoom, don't use it (as much as possible). It is much better to move your feet and get closer rather than using the phone to zoom as the quality of the image will degrade significantly.

6. Tap to Focus
Most cameras allow you to tap/touch to focus on a specific subject in the photo and this is great for shooting any closeups. Additionally, this may help your camera expose more properly for the subject you are shooting.

7. Hold it Steady!
Keeping the camera steady goes a long way to getting a sharp image. Hold the phone with both hands when possible, and even try bringing your elbows in towards your body to add more stability. You can also try setting the phone on a table or railing to help stabilize further.

Another great tip is to set your camera's timer for two seconds to further avoid shaking the camera.

8. Edit your Photos - Lightroom Mobile
Going beyond an Instagram filter and actually editing your photo can make a noticeable difference and sometimes recover details in an over or under exposed image.

There are lots of free and paid apps for photo editing, but we have found the free LightRoom Mobile app is very robust while also fairly simple and gives users significant control over photo editing.

Bonus Tip! Try Third Party Camera Apps
Did you know you can download other camera apps to take over form the standard camera app that came with your phone? This can be really fun and helpful if you are looking for certain features or just want to try something new.

That's it for our cell phone photography tips, we hope these will help you shoot better images! Leave a comment below with any questions or your own tips!

Join us on Facebook with a community of over 3000 members where we share the latest news and reviews and are available to answer your questions.

Looking to upgrade your phone? See the best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales on smartphones and unlocked devices or visit our Latest Tracfone Smartphone List (2018) for all the new phones available.

Thanks for visiting!

July 9, 2018

Tracfone Deals and Sales - July 2018

List of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales Updated for July 2018

TracfoneReviewer shares all things Tracfone related including news, reviews and promo codes!

cheap tracfone celll phone 2018
Tracfone Sales July 2018
Tracfone has a variety of different phones they offer through many different retailers, and there are sometimes great deals available to be had. However, finding them is a different story and not always easy.

But we are here to help with the latest list of Tracfone deals and sales. New deals are happening all the time, and so we share the latest discounts in one convenient list. Many of these deals include an airtime bundle, which are usually the best deals around.

Both Tracfone devices and unlocked phones are included in this list, as the unlocked phones can be used with the Tracfone BYOP program. We recently shared details about the Moto G6 and Moto E5 which are two great unlocked phone options.

If you like to keep up with the newest releases, visit our List of Latest Tracfone Cell Phones which we update with each new phone Tracfone releases.

Now let's see the list of deals!

Tracfone Deals and Discount List July 2018


LG Rebel 3 (CDMA)
With a 5" screen, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB internal storage and Android 7.0, the Rebel 3 is a powerful little device that is also available at a great price. This phone is a great option for users who don't need or want the larger screen size. Learn much more about all the features on the Rebel 3 in our Full Review.

Both deals below come with airtime bundles with different amounts, but they are each worth more than the cost of the phone, making the phone practically free! The deal from HSN is the lowest we've ever seen for the Rebel 3 with airtime bundle!

Get the LG Rebel 3 with Airtime Bundle for $49 on HSN (Sold Out!)
Get the LG Rebel 3 with Airtime Bundle for $69 on Amazon

LG Fiesta 2 (CDMA)
If a larger screen is what you want, the Fiesta 2 has a 5.5" screen size plus 2 GB RAM, quad core processor and 16 GB internal storage. It also comes with Android 7.0 and a 13 mp camera. Learn more and see the full specs in our LG Fiesta 2 Review.

With this deal from HSN, you also get a year of service and 1500 talk, text and data minutes which is worth over $100. The deal from Amazon costs a little more, but you also get more text/data (and only 60 service days).

Get the LG Fiesta 2 with Airtime Bundle for $87 Now $59! from Amazon
Get the LG Fiesta 2 with Airtime Bundle for $79 from HSN

Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro (CDMA)
The Galaxy J3 Luna Pro has proven itself as a popular and dependable smartphone featuring a large, 5.5" touchscreen, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB Storage and quad core processor. It also runs Android 6.0.1 and has an 5 MP rear camera. See more specs and feature in our Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro Review.

This airtime bundle comes with 1000 talk, 2000 text and data minutes, plus 60 service days.

Get the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro with airtime bundle for $81 on Amazon

With a larger screen at 5.5" and otherwise fairly similar features, the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is also a popular option and currently available with a bundle of 1200 talk, text and data minutes plus 1 Year of service on HSN for $99

Unlocked Phone Deals for Tracfone BYOP

Tracfone makes it easy to use almost an unlocked phone with their prepaid service through the 'Bring Your Own Phone' program. All you need is an unlocked phone and an Activation Kit.

We've found the BYOP Activation kit on Amazon for just $1 which is what you will need to get started. You can also get an activation kit from Tracfone or many other retail stores.

Here are some great unlocked phone options to use with Tracfone BYOP. These phones may be a little more expensive than some of Tracfone's devices, but they offer more in terms of performance, storage and features.

Moto G6
The newest phone in the Moto G lineup, the G6 has a 5.7" full HD screen, dual rear cameras, Android 8.0 Oreo, Octa core processor and 3 GB RAM/32 GB Storage. This phone offers a great balance between cost, performance and features.  It is available unlocked and compatible with GSM and CDMA networks.

See the Moto G6 on Amazon for $234 (Currently available for Prime Members only)

The Moto G6 Play is another great option, and is a little cheaper at $189 (Prime Members Only)

Moto X (4th Gen)
Featuring a 5.2" screen, octa core processor, 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage and dual rear cameras, the Moto X 4th gen is available at $120 off the original price. It also has Android 8.0 Oreo, is water resistant and compatible with both CDMA and GSM networks.

See the Moto X 4th Gen on Amazon for $279 (Prime Exclusive)

That concludes our list of deals! Be sure to check back each month for new deals, or join us on Facebook where we share all the latest posts, news and deals.

If you have any questions or want to share a deal, leave a comment below!

Be sure to also visit our Tracfone Promo Code list for the latest promotional codes to get free airtime when adding minutes.

If you have questions on switching to a new smartphone, see our Guide to Activating or Switching to a New Tracfone Smartphone.

Thanks for visiting!

July 3, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for July 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - July 2018

Updated by TracfoneReviewer
tracfone codes july 2018
Tracfone Promo Codes

Temperatures are rising as the summer continues and we have new Tracfone promotional codes to share for both regular and smartphone cards.

Each month we share the latest codes we've gathered from around the web in one convenient place for our readers to use and enjoy.

To use these codes simply add the promo when purchasing or adding airtime from Tracfone to your phone and enjoy the free bonus minutes.

These promo codes are generally for a specific airtime card and some codes are only for the newer smartphone cards from Tracfone. Some codes are one time use while others can be used over and over again. We strive to provide the best working codes and include only the newest in this list. For more promo code options, visit our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

These codes can also be used with BYOP phones and we just updated our List of the Best Unlocked Phones to use with Tracfone BYOP so check it out if you're considering a new device or curious about BYOP.

Let's get to the codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes List for July 2018

Regular Airtime Cards listed first. Some codes may be used on a specific card or cards of greater value.

60 Minute Card use 12745 to get 60 bonus minutes
120 Minute Card add code 25376 to receive 40 bonus minutes
200 Minute Card enter 28244 for 50 free minutes or 95631 for 40 extra minutes
450 Minute Card - no new code at this time, use one of the above codes
1 Year/400 Minute Card - no new code at this time
$15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 18196 (online only - valid until July 18th 2018)

We will continue to update as we find more codes to share.

Smartphone Airtime Card Codes For July 2018

62269 - 500 MB free data - 1 GB Data Only Card
17835 - 100 free talk minutes - $15 Smartphone Card
87267 - 100 free MB Data - $25 smartphone card
45529 - $15 off - $125 Smartphone Card (online only and valid thru July 18th 2018)

These are the latest codes. We hope you found this list useful and let us know in the comments below which code you used and how it worked.

Join us on Facebook to keep up with the latest news and posts as well as reach us on messenger with any questions.

Don't miss our Best Tracfone Smartphones List which includes several Android and iPhone options.

And look for the updated Deals, Sales and Discounts on Tracfone Devices and Minutes coming soon!

Thanks for visiting!

June 27, 2018

Best Unlocked Phones for Tracfone BYOP in 2018

Best Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone Prepaid - 2018

The best unlocked phones by TracfoneReviewer and updated June 27th 2018 

Tracfone offers a growing selection of smartphones to use with their prepaid cell service, including Apple iPhones, high end smartphones (Samsung Galaxy S6, S7), and many budget smartphones. But consumers can also choose to purchase their own unlocked phone to bring to Tracfone's BYOP program.

best unlocked smartphones
List of Best Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP
But many consumers who want to buy their own phone, have certain questions.

What's the best phone to bring to Tracfone's BYOP (Bring Your Own Phone) program? Are there any phones besides the Smartphones from Tracfone that I can use with Tracfone prepaid service? What phone should I buy as a Christmas present for my family member or friend? These are all good questions, and we will help answer them, and more, in this list of the best unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone prepaid service.

Tracfone's BYOP program allows consumers to find their own smartphone, and then activate it with Tracfone's prepaid service. It is a very convenient way to get to choose whatever phone you want, while keeping Tracfone's low cost service plans. But not everyone knows all the best options, so we are here to share our top picks for phones to bring to the BYOP program.

For specific details on the requirements for activating a phone with Tracfone, see our Guide to Transferring/Activating a Smartphone with Tracfone or visit our Tracfone BYOP page (which also has a large list of phone options).

We are choosing these phones based on a variety of factors including popularity, value and cost. These are some of our best suggestions of phones we believe will fit most user's needs. In the end, each person needs to understand what they want out of a phone, and choose a phone according to that.

Most Tracfone users decide to use BYOP because they want a phone with a little more power and performance compared to most Tracfone smartphones, plus a wider selection of devices. In our list, we only include phones priced between $100-$400 as the majority of our readers are looking for a phone in that price range.

Now let's take a look at the list!

Top 6 Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone (that are Reasonably Priced)

Below are the six best phones (and a few others) to use with Tracfone based on several factors. We hope this list will act as a guide and suggestion, and allow you to choose which phone best fits your needs.

1. Motorola G6 and G6 Play
The Moto G6 is the sixth and latest generation of a well-rounded line of phones that offer great value at a reasonable price. The Moto G line has long been known as the 'budget king' because of the terrific balance in price and specs, with the G6 maintaining that title.

The G6 has a large, 5.7" full HD touchscreen, 1.8Ghz Octa-core processor, 3 GB RAM, 32 GB Storage and dual rear cameras. It also features the latest Android OS, 8.0 Oreo and is compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks. For more details, view our recent Moto G6 specs and features list.

If you want to save a little money, and don't quite need the performance of the G6 but want a larger battery, the G6 Play is the answer, with a 4000 mAh battery for all day performance. The G6 Play has many of the same features, including Android 8.0 Oreo, 3 GB RAM and 32 GB storage, plus a 13MP rear camera (but not dual rear camera).

Another option is the slightly older Moto G5S Plus which still packs amazing performance and now at a discounted price. View the Moto G5S Plus on Amazon for around $200

View the Moto G6 on Amazon - $264
View the Moto G6 on Amazon (Prime Exclusive) - $234

View the Moto G6 Play on Amazon - $222
View the Moto G6 Play on Amazon (Prime Exclusive) - $189

View the Moto G6 Plus on Amazon - $364
The G6 Plus features more RAM, Storage, and a larger screen but is only compatible with GSM networks.

2. Apple iPhone SE
One of the main reasons many Tracfone users started switching to the BYOP program was to use an Apple iPhone with Tracfone service. Recently Tracfone has also started offering several iPhones including the SE, 6 and 6 Plus and even the iPhone 7 (Visit our Latest Tracfone Smartphone List to see exactly what's new). But it is still generally cheaper to find an unlocked iPhone such as the SE and use it with BYOP.

The iPhone SE is a compact device with impressive internal performance. It features a small, 4" retna display, and internal specs inline with the iPhone 6S, including A9 processor, 12MP rear camera with 4K video, and up to 64GB storage.

Look for the iPhone SE in some retail stores, but also online through Amazon or eBay. Make sure you choose an unlocked version that is compatible with the service in your area.

View the iPhone SE with 32 GB on Amazon for $300
View the Refurbished iPhone SE on Amazon for under $200

3. Nokia 6.1
Built from a single block of aluminium, the Nokia 6.1 is made to be stylish and durable with Corning Gorilla Glass on the 5.5" full HD touchscreen. It also features 3 GB RAM, 32 GB Storage, a 16 MP rear camera and runs Android One.

For those who are unfamiliar with Android One, it is a pure version of the Android operating system with no additional apps or clutter. It is both a hardware and software technical standard from Google designed to give users a consistent experience.

The Nokia 6.1 is a great looking phone but also a little more expensive than some of the options here.

View the Nokia 6.1 on Amazon (Prime Exclusive) - $269

4. Samsung Galaxy S5
With a 5.1" full HD touchscreen, 16 MP camera, 2 GB RAM and Quad-core processor, the Galaxy S5 packs good performance despite the fact it was released a few years ago. It runs on Android 4.4, but is upgradable to 5.1, and even 6.0 in some cases.

When it was released in 2014, the Galaxy S5 was the flagship phone for Samsung, packing in the latest and greatest performance and features that make it relevant even today.

Why we include it in this list is that this phone can be found for around $100, and even less if you're willing to buy a refurbished model. That's a bargain for a phone that can shoot 4K video at 30fps, and much more.

View a Refurbished Samsung Galaxy S5 on Amazon for $134
View the Samsung Galaxy S5 (Unlocked GSM) on eBay for $100

5. LG Q6
Featuring a 5.5" full HD IPS screen with 18:9 ratio the LG Q6 is the budget friendly version of the LG G6 and comes with many of the sleek design elements. It also has passed many durability standards, thanks in part to metal sides.

Internally the performance of the LG Q6 is good with 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage, a 13MP camera and a 1.4 Ghz octa-core processor. The phone runs Android 7.1 and is compatible with GSM networks.

The LG Q6 compares closely to the Moto G6 Play, with each phone offering certain pro's and con's.

View the LG G6 on Amazon for $200

6. Huawei Honor 7x 
Looking for that sleek, high-end feel? Consider the Honor 7x which comes with an all metal shell for protection and appearance and edge to edge 5.9" screen with 18:9 ratio. Inside it houses dual rear cameras (16MP and 2MP), 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage and uses GSM networks.

Another great feature on the Honor 7x is the fingerprint sensor (also available on the Moto G6) which allows you to securely lock the phone, and quickly unlock it. All of this is available for under $200, making it another great option.

View the Honor 7X on Amazon for $199

Several more phones that may be worth considering include:
-Google Nexus 5x - 32 GB Memory, 5.2" touchscreen, 12 MP Camera
-Motorola Nexus 6 - 32 GB Memory, 5.96" touchscreen, GSM compatibility

That concludes our list of the the best budget friendly smartphones to use with Tracfone. We hope this list serves to provide some ideas of different phones available to use with Tracfone BYOP.

We want to hear from you! Share your current/favorite phone you use with Tracfone in the comments below!

Also join in on the discussion on our Facebook page where more than 2000 followers already get the latest news and information in their feed.

Don't miss out on our monthly list of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales which also include unlocked phones and Tracfone smartphones.

Also take a look at our recent Cell Phone Reviews which lists all our reviews in one convenient place.

And if you need some info on activating or switching your phone to Tracfone, read our full Guide to Activating or Transferring to a Tracfone Smartphone.

Thanks for visiting!

June 22, 2018

6 Best Tracfone Cell Phones 2018

Top 6 Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phones for 2018

(Updated on 6/2018)
Everyone wants to know, what is the best Tracfone device? Which cell phones are the best options from Tracfone? We have collected the information and now share the top 6 options from Tracfone below.

As you might expect, this list is dominated by smartphones Tracfone has released over the last year or two. But which one will receive the top pick? And where in the ranking do the rest of the phones fall?

best tracfone cell phone
Best Tracfone Cell Phones in 2018

If you would like to see all of our recent reviews, visit our Cell Phone Review page. Also keep up with new devices on our Latest Tracfone Cell Phone List.

We are judging this list of the best cell phones based primarily on features, specifications, and performance as well as feedback from consumers. Price and availability will only be small factors, as both of these variables change often.

We will provide a short description of each phone in the list, and a link to our full review if available. This list is written as a helpful guide, that can give you an idea of which phones are generally better than others. However, each phone has certain features which are more important to some people, thus making that phone the best choice, even if it isn't at the top of our list.

For most users, the top phones in our list are impractical due to their high cost. So a good option is to purchase an unlocked phone and use with the the Tracfone BYOP program. The Moto G6 is a newly released smartphone that might be a great option as it blends a number of premium features at a more reasonable price.

Now let's see the list!

The Best Cell Phones from Tracfone

The best phones available from Tracfone as of June 2018, starting with number six:

#6 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro S727VL

This phone comes in at the 6th spot for its popularity, low cost compared to other phones in this list, and good features. The Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro has a 5.5" touchscreen, quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, Android 6.0 and 16 GB internal memory.

The specs, especially the 16 GB internal memory, make this a great phone for a typical user. It has enough performance to keep up with most apps and activities you might need your phone for throughout the day.

If you don't want such a large screen, consider the Samsung Galaxy Sky, which is the little brother to the Sky Pro, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB Memory and Android 6.0.

The price is also nice, at around $1000 and usually bundled with airtime. Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro in our recent post which also includes where to buy it.

While the price is much lower than other options on this list, some features, such as the camera and screen resolution, are not as good either.

See the current price for the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro on Amazon

#5 Best Tracfone - iPhone SE 32GB

Even though the iPhone SE has a small, 4" screen, it packs some powerful features and specs into the small phone body including an excellent 12 MP camera, 32 GB storage and a fingerprint reader.

The iPhone SE actually has the same internal specs as the larger, iPhone 6S, and they were both released at the same time. The iPhone SE originally retailed for $399, but the Tracfone website has it available for around $200.

Many people like the iPhone SE for the sleek design and smooth operating system and great camera. Just be aware that the screen is much smaller than most phones these days, and newer options are available (further down our list...)

The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website and in some retail stores. Additionally, you can buy your own iPhone and bring it to the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the link to learn more.

#4 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy S6

The Samsung Galaxy S6 comes in at number four on our list of the best Tracfone cell phones with a great list of features and specs that sets it apart from budget smartphone options.

It has a 5.1" quad HD touchscreen, octa core processor, 32 GB internal memory and 3 GB RAM. You also get a 16 MP camera with excellent video and photo capabilities.

Perhaps the only drawback (besides the price) for the Galaxy S6 is that it only has Android 5.0, a somewhat older version of the operating system, and it is not possible to upgrade it.

See more of the features in our Samsung Galaxy S6 Review which also includes how much you will have to pay to get one.

For those seriously interested in the Galaxy S6, you may want to consider buying an unlocked S6 and bringing it to the BYOP program. We've created a helpful Guide to Activating with Tracfone BYOP to make it as easy as possible.

In general, we would suggest users consider some of the newer phone options further down this list.

#3 Best Tracfone - iPhone 6S Plus

In third place in this list is the iPhone 6 Plus which is larger and more powerful compared to the iPhone 6, but also has a higher price. The iPhone SE has the same camera, but a much smaller screen.

The 6S Plus comes with Apple iOS, a 5.5" HD touchscreen, 32 GB internal memory, dual core processor, 2 GB RAM and 12 MP camera.

While the specs are not impressive on paper, Apple devices are well known for their great performance due to their unique operating system and tailored processors. The 12 MP rear camera has excellent image quality and can record 4K footage at 30 FPS for high resolution videos.

The iPhone 6S Plus is currently listed on the Tracfone website for $399 which is a pretty good deal. There are also unlocked refurbished options available on Amazon for $280 (GSM compatible)

#2 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy S7

The second best phone from Tracfone is the Samsung Galaxy S7. It beats almost all of the competition with incredible features and performance.

The S7 features a 5.1" quad HD screen, Android 6.0, 32 GB internal memory, octa core processor and 12 MP camera with dual pixel technology.

The Galaxy S7 brings a handful of improvements and updates from the S6. It isn't the most recent Galaxy model, but the price has also been reduced accordingly, at $380 on the Tracfone website.

As with several of the other options in this list, finding an unlocked S7 and using it on Tracfone BYOP is a cheaper option.


#1 Best Tracfone - iPhone 7

The iPhone 7 is our pick for the best phone from Tracfone at this time. It brings updates and upgrades to older iPhone models including the A10 fusion quad core procesing chip qhich results in around 2x better performance compared to the iPhone 6.

You also get a 12 MP camera with 4K video recording, 2 GB RAM, 32 GB storage, iOS 10 and a 4.7" retina display.

The iPhone 7 edges out the competition with Apple's well known performance and high quality screen, camera and app store.

The price may be the only drawback, at $599 currently on the Tracfone website. Note that there are newer models of the iPhone available, including the iPhone 8 and iPhone X but they are not available from Tracfone at this time.

Choosing between Apple and Android is usually a matter of personal preference.

That concludes our list of the Best Tracfone Cell Phones. For many, buying the S6, iPhone 6 Plus or S7 would be impractical because of the high cost, but these are the best options available through Tracfone. Leave a comment with your thoughts, and if you enjoyed this list, take a look at our List of the Best Phones for Tracfone BYOP.

Honorable Mentions - Unlocked Smartphones on Tracfone BYOP

The BYOP program from Tracfone makes it easy for consumers to have the phone they want at a reasonable price on Tracfone's prepaid service. Visit our main, Tracfone BYOP page for all the details.

The Moto G6 is an example of a popular unlocked smartphone that can be used with either GSM or CDMA service and is available for around $250.

We hope you found this article useful, leave a comment with your pick for the best Tracfone device. Also be sure to share this with your friends.

----------

We also want to share that Tracfone continues to add new phones to their lineup, and we will work to update this post as needed.

For more on the cell phones offered by Tracfone, visit our Cell Phones Review page.

Also don't forget about our most popular page, the Tracfone Promo Codes!

Finally, keep up with all the latest news and info on our Facebook page!

Thanks for visiting!

June 4, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for June 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - June 2018

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer - we share news, reviews and promo codes!

tracfone promo code
Tracfone Promo Code List - June 2018
Summer is here and father's day is also around the corner and with that we also have new Tracfone Promo Codes for use with Tracfone airtime cards.

Each month we update and share the latest promotional codes to use with Tracfone. These codes give free bonus minutes when adding airtime to your phone.

Tracfone promo codes are available for both regular and smartphone only cards.

To use a promo code simply find a code for the airtime card you have (or buy an airtime card that has a code below), enter the promo code when adding the airtime (either online, on your phone or over the phone) and receive your bonus airtime. Note that some promo codes may be one time use or have other limitations.

Learn 4 Ways to Check Your Airtime Balance with Tracfone to keep track of when you need to add more minutes.

And also be sure to visit  our Latest Tracfone Smartphone List for the newest phones available from Tracfone.

Now let's get to the list of codes.

Tracfone Promo Code List - June 2018

Each code is for a specific airtime card but may also be used with cards of higher value (for example, the code for a 120 minute card can also be used with the 200 and 450 minute cards).

Regular Airtime Cards:

60 Minute Card use code 12745 for 60 free minutes (code still working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 88873 and get 40 additional airtime or 42135 for 30 minutes

200 Minute Card add 23120 to receive 50 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card (no new promo codes yet - use one of the above codes)

1 Year/400 Minute Card (no new promo codes yet - use one of the above codes)

$15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 48661 or 21028 (online only)


Smartphone Only Card Codes:
These codes are for use with the smartphone only airtime cards

$15 Smartphone Card - 100 free talk minutes - code 73429

$35 Smartphone Card - 200 free talk minutes - code 29785

1 GB Data Only Card - 500 MB free data - code 97687


That concludes our list of codes for June 2018! Please let us know in the comments which code you tried and how it worked! Also share any codes you find!

For our full list of promo codes with more options from previous months visit our Tracfone Promo Code Page

If you are looking for a new phone with a little more performance than what Tracfone offers check out our recent posts on the Moto G6 and Moto E5 Plus. We share news and specs for these phones that can be used with the Tracfone BYOP program.

See the best deals on Tracfone devices with our monthly list including great airtime bundles!

Lastly, join us on Facebook if you haven't already, with almost 3000 in our community where we share the latest posts, news and help answer questions.

Thanks for visiting!

May 22, 2018

Moto E5 Plus and E5 Play Budget Smartphones Coming Soon

Unlocked Moto E5 Plus and E5 Play Specs and Release Info

News, Specs and more on the Moto E5 from TracfoneReviewer

tracfone moto e5
Moto E5 Plus and Play Coming Soon
Motorola has announced several new budget smartphones - the Moto E5 Plus, E5 Play and E5. Although these will be low cost devices, they will pack some impressive features which we will share more about below.

They will likely be great options to bring to the Tracfone BYOP program as they are unlocked and compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks.

Motorola also recently announced the Moto G6, G6 Play and G6 Plus and you can follow the link to learn more. The Moto G lineup generally offers a little more performance at a higher cost compared to the Moto E line.

The Moto E5 Plus might be the most notable (and also the highest priced) with a large, 6" touchscreen, enormous 5,000 mAh battery, 3 GB RAM and 32 GB Storage. Motorola isn't expected to release the Moto E5 in the US market, so only the Plus and Play versions will be available.

The E5 Play will have a much smaller, 5.2" screen, smaller battery, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage but likely priced closer to $150 or less.

Both Moto E5 variants will have Android 8.0 Oreo, Octa-core processors and expandable storage with a Micro SD card slot.

The previous version, the Moto E4 Plus, had similar specs except a smaller, 5.5" screen, only a quad-core processor and a few other differences.

Both the E4 and E5 Plus are clearly aiming for customers who want a large screen, long battery life, but don't demand intense performance from the phone (but it can still handle most apps and games).

Below is a full list o the features and specs for the Moto E5 Plus and Moto E5 Play

Moto E5 Plus Features and Specs

Network: GSM or CDMA Compatible, Unlocked
OS: Android 8.0 Oreo
Screen: 6.0" HD Touchscreen at 1440x720 Resolution (268 dpi, 18:9 ratio)
Processor: 1.4Ghz Octa-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 435 processor
RAM: 3 GB
Storage: 32 GB
Camera: 12 MP Rear, 8 MP Front with 1080 HD Video
Battery: 5,000 mAh battery
Size: 6.33 x 2.96 x 0.37 in (6.95oz)

Additional Features:
Micro SD Card slot with up to 128 GB additional storage
Headphone Jack
Micro USB connection
Fingerprint Reader (on back)
Expected Release: Late May/Early June 2018
Expected Price: ~$200

And now let's look at the smaller, Moto E5 Play:

Moto E5 Play Features and Specs

Network: GSM or CDMA Compatible, Unlocked
OS: Android 8.0 Oreo
Screen: 5.2" HD touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
Processor: 1.4 Ghz Octa-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 processor
RAM: 2 GB
Storage: 16 GB
Camera: 8MP rear, 5 MP front with 1080 HD video
Battery: 2800 mAh (removable)
Size: 5.94 x 2.91 x 0.35 in (5.29oz)

Additional Features:
Micro SD Card slot with up to 128 GB additional storage
Headphone Jack
Micro USB connection
Fingerprint Reader (on back)
Expected Release: Late May/Early June 2018
Expected Price: ~$100-150

There are several similarities between these models, such as the Operating System, fingerprint reader and other base features, but they also have some significant differences, with the most obvious the screen size and battery.

The Moto E5 Play has a 5.2" screen which is the same size as the Moto G5 Plus, but significantly smaller than the E5 Play. Not everyone prefers a larger phone, so this is a good option for users who prefer something that fits in one hand more easily, or in a smaller pocket. With the smaller screen, and overall smaller size, the E5 Play also has a battery almost half the size of the E5 Plus. But don't worry, that still puts it right inline with most phones of this size, and users should get all day battery life.

Also important to notice is the internal storage and RAM for each of the models, with the E5 Plus featuring 3 GB RAM and 32 GB Storage, while the E5 Play only has 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Storage. Tracfone offers a number of smartphones with 16 GB storage/2 GB RAM for under $100 including the LG Premier Pro and LG Rebel 3, so these might be worth considering, although the E5 Play does have a newer OS and better processor compared to the LG phones we mentioned.

The differences continue with the camera and processors, although these aren't as significant differences. The E5 Plus does have a slightly faster processor, and better rear camera.

And, as expected, the prices will also likely be quite different, with the E5 Play likely around $100-150 and the E5 Plus somewhere around the $200 price range.

We will continue to update this as more details become available. Share your thoughts or questions in the comment section below.

Follow us on Facebook for the latest posts, news and deals.

If you're shopping for a new phone, visit our Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones to see what is new from Tracfone.

And if you have questions about activating a new phone, look no further than our Tracfone Smartphone Activation Guide which includes tips for activating BYOP devices as well.

Thanks for visiting!

May 14, 2018

Tracfone Latest Phones 2018 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2018

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2018
List of New Tracfones in 2018
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2018.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2018

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • Motorola G6
  • iPhone 7 - Now Available! (See below)
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samusng, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2018

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.


iPhone 7/ iPhone 6S Plus
The iPhone 7 and iPhone 6S Plus are both available on the Tracfone website and offer high-end features at a hefty price. The iPhone 7 comes with a 4.7" screen, iOS 10, 32 GB storage and a 12 MP camera. The iPhone 6S Plus features a larger, 5.5" touchscreen, iOS 9, 32 GB Storage and 12 MP camera. Apple smartphones are well known for their impressive camera performance, and these two iPhones are no exception, with the capability of capturing excellent photos and video.

The iPhone 7 is available form Tracfone for $599
the iPhone 6S Plus is available form Tracfone for $399


LG Premier Pro (L413DL)
Stepping in right between the Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the LG Premier Pro has a 5.3" screen, Android 7.1, 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and a quad core processor. It shares a number of similarities with other recent phones from LG but offers a middle ground in screen size.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Premier Pro

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)
With a lot of similar specs to the LG Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 does stand out with a large, 5.7" touchscreen. This phone also has 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, a 13 MP camera, and runs Android 7.0.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Stylo 3

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL/157BL)
The LG Rebel 3 brings several updates to the popular Rebel lineup and is also one of the first new phones from Tracfone in 2018. With a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0.1, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM, it offers great specs for the price - which is currently $59 on HSN with an airtime bundle.

Tracfone now offers both a GSM and CDMA version of this phone. The GSM version is only available from the Tracfone Website at this time and we include a link in our review.  Learn more about the LG Rebel 3 in our Review.

We will continue to add new phones as they are released.

And below are phones released by Tracfone in 2017.

Tracfone Cell Phones Released in 2017

LG Fiesta 2
Almost identical to the original Fiesta, the new Fiesta 2 comes with 2 GB RAM instead of 1.5 GB. Otherwise it shares the same 5.5" screen, Android 7.0 and 13 MP Camera that also comes with the Fiesta.

Find the Fiesta 2 on Amazon for $99.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(Last check it was in stock!) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

And see where Tracfone is going in 2018 with our article, What to Expect from Tracfone in 2018.

Thanks for visiting!
(Last Update - May 2018)

May 9, 2018

LG Premier Pro (L413DL) Tracfone Review

Review of the LG Premier Pro (L413DL) from Tracfone

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer. We share news, reviews and Tracfone Promo Codes!

tracfone lg premier pro l413
Tracfone LG Premier Pro Review
Tracfone releases another upgraded LG phone in the shape of the Premier Pro which has a 5.3" touchscreen, 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, Android 7.1 and quad core processor.

It shares similar features and specifications to the recently released LG Rebel 3, LG Fiesta 2 and LG Stylo 3, with screen size the key difference between these phones (ranging from 5" on the Rebel to 5.7" on the Stylo 3).

The Premier Pro replaces the older LG Premier, which shared the same screen size, but half the storage and memory. We are glad to see Tracfone continuing to expand their lineup of smartphones that include 16 GB Storage/2 GB RAM as that is about the minimum for average smartphone users needs.

As with the other LG phones from Tracfone, the Premier Pro uses CDMA networks (Verizon) but we may see a GSM version in the future.

Let's look at the quick pro's and con's for a brief overview.

LG Premier Pro Quick Facts

What we Like
-Android 7.1 Nougat
-Low cost and airtime bundle available

What we Don't Like
-Quad core processor
-Only CDMA at this time

There isn't really anything new or too exciting about the Premier Pro, but it does include the latest Android OS and is available at a reasonable price. It is disappointing that Tracfone continues to releases CDMA phones and has neglected their GSM users.

Let's go straight to the full list of specs to see more of what this phone offers.

LG Premier Pro L413DL Features and Specs

  • Android 7.1 Nougat
  • 4G LTE connectivity on Verizon CDMA network
  • WiFi (802.11 b/g/n)
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS

LG Premier Pro Technical Specs

  • Size: 5.85" x 2.96" x 0.34"
  • Camera: 8 MP rear camera, 5 MP front camera
  • Screen: 5.3" HD touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
  • Processor: 1.4 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB internal storage (about 9.5 usable) and up to 2 TB external storage via MicroSD Card
  • Battery: 2880 mAh battery with 14 hrs talk time, 16 days standby
LG is a popular and well known electronics company with a wide range of smartphones available ranging from budget devices like the Premier Pro, to high end phones such as the LG V30 or LG (wats the latest).

The features and specs on the Premier Pro are in line with the budget phone status of most Tracfone smartphones. As we have mentioned, it is fairly similar to the LG Rebel 3 and LG Fiesta 2.

But let's take a closer look at some of the key features in our full review.

Tracfone LG Premier Pro Review

Touchscreen
The screen on the LG Premier Pro is 5.3" and has a resolution of 1280x720. The display is bright and clear, but nothing beyond similar phones in this price range. What is a little unique on the Premier Pro is the curved screen which wraps back to connect with the frame and leads to a more unique look.

Many smartphones come with screens somewhere between 5" and 5.5", so the Premier Pro is right in the middle. It has a larger screen than the LG Rebel 3 and Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro, but a smaller screen than the LG Fiesta 2, LG Stylo 3 and Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro.

lg premier pro tracfone
Tracfone LG Premier Pro
Internal Specs - Processor, RAM and Storage
Featuring what appears to be the new started for Tracfone smartphones, the Premier Pro has 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and a 1.4 Ghz quad-core processor. These specs are in line with other similar models and provide good performance and enough storage for a variety of apps. There is also a MicroSD card sot for up to 2 TB additional storage which is great for those who may want to load additional media or information.

For some ideas on apps to use, see our List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone.

Camera
The Rear 8 MP camera comes with auto focus, flash, and HD video shooting capability. The front 5 MP shooter has selfie lighting, and a wide angle to help get everyone in the shot. The camera on the LG Premier Pro is enough to capture moments to share with family and friends, but is not all that impressive when comparing to some of the other camera phones on the market.

If you are looking for a budget phone with a great camera, the newly released Moto G6 might be a great option.

Battery
Battery life on the Premier Pro is fairly good with a 2880mAh battery (non-removable) included. The newer Android OS uses a combination of battery saving features to help conserve power when the phone is not in use. This phone should last the day with low to moderate use, and if running out of power is a concern, consider a car charger or external battery pack. like the Anker 10,000 mAh pack which can recharge your phone several times.

Android OS
The Premier Pro comes with Android 7.1 Nougat which is the latest version of the OS at this time. It has a variety of improvements over past versions both for security and usability.

Tracfone smartphones can't receive OS updates, so whatever OS version your phone comes with it will be stuck with so getting a phone with a more recent OS version is usually  a good idea. It is expected that Android 8.0 Oreo will be available soon.

Triple Minutes
Although Tracfone officially says that phones released after April 2017 do not include Triple Minutes for Life, they have been offering a promotion for new phone activation which gave triple minutes as a bonus.

For more on this, see our post on Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life.

Time to see how the Premier Pro stacks up to the other smartphones from Tracfone.

LG Premier Pro Comparison to LG Rebel 3/LG Fiesta 2

The Premier Pro is quite similar to several other LG smartphones released by Tracfone with mostly small differences between them. We will provide a quick list of these phones to illustrate the differences:

LG Rebel 3 - 5" screen, 5 MP camera, 1.1 Ghz quad core processor (See Review)
LG Premier Pro - 5.3" screen, 8 MP camera, 1.4 Ghz quad core processor
LG Fiesta 2 - 5.5" screen, 13 MP camera, 1.4 Ghz quad core processor (See Review)
LG Stylo 3 - 5.7" screen, 13 MP camera, 1.4 Ghz quad core processor (See Review)

Each phone comes with 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM and Android 7.1 Nougat.

The Premier Pro is also comparable to the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro, but Luna Pro has a smaller screen, older OS, only 1.5 GB RAM and was released almost a year ago.

LG Premier Pro Conclusion and Where to Buy

The LG Premier Pro is another budget smartphone offered by Tracfone that has a good balance of features and specs, but is not spectacular. For users considering the LG Rebel 3 or Fiesta 2, this is another possibility.

Although the amount of internal storage and RAM is pretty good for a budget phone, we are seeing more and more phones in this category with 32 GB storage and 3 GB or more of RAM. Most of these phones are under $100 but will have to be used with Tracfone BYOP as they are not directly available through Tracfone. The Moto G Plus (5th gen) is currently $189 and has an octa core processor, 32 GB Storage and 2 GB RAM.

Where to Buy the Premier Pro

The LG Premier Pro is currently available at through HSN and QVC with an airtime bundle which is a great deal.

See the LG Premier Pro on HSN with Airtime Bundle
See the LG Premier Pro on QVC with Airtime Bundle
Also find the LG Premier Pro on Amazon with $40 airtime bundle

For more specific details on this phone, see the LG Premier Pro User Manual. An interactive tutorial is available as well.

That concludes our review of the Premier Pro. We hope you found this information useful. Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions!

Keep up with the latest news and review on our Facebook page.

Be sure to also check our List of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales for the latest bargains.

Thanks for visiting!

May 2, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for May 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2018

This promo code list is gathered and shared by TracfoneReviewer.

tracfone promo codes
Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2018
We share the newest codes for May in this post with nothing to click or do - just updated Tracfone promo codes to use with your Tracfone device!

There are codes for both Smartphones and non-smartphones, and be aware that some of the codes for non-smartphones may not work on smartphones (but sometimes they do work).

To use a promo code simply include the code in the 'promo code' section while adding a Tracfone airtime card online, on your phone or over the phone.

Looking to keep track of your airtime? See our Guide to Checking your Airtime Balance which includes four different ways to do it.

And if you are shopping for a new phone, take a look at the Latest Tracfone Smartphones or our Cell Phone Reviews page for some recent options.

Let's get to he codes!

Tracfone Promo Code List - May 2018


60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes (note - still working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 59643 for 30 free minutes

200 Minute Card use 61658 to get 40 extra minutes

450 Minute Card add code 55159 to receive 50 additional minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter 81111 and get 300 free minutes

$15 Off 1 Year/400 Minute Card use code 44412 (online only)

Note that most codes can also be used on cards of greater value. For example, the code for the 120 minute card can also be used with a 200 or 450 minute card.

Smartphone Only Card Promo Codes List

These codes are for specific Smartphone Cards and cannot be used with other cards. Valid through May 2018!

$15 Smartphone Card get 100 free talk minutes with code 23523

$25 smartphone card receive 100 free MB Data using code 59427

1000 Text Only Card get 500 extra texts with code 87641

These are the latest codes for may 2018. We hope they work for you and leave a comment below with which one you tried and any thoughts or questions!

Also visit our main Tracfone promo code page for additional code options.

Get the latest news about the Motorola G6 and the possibility of it coming to Tracfone in our recent post!

See our Tracfone Deals and Discounts section for recent sales on Tracfone devices and unlocked phones.

And join us on Facebook with a community of helpful users to answer questions or send us a message directly.

Thanks for visiting!

April 23, 2018

How to Unlock your Tracfone Cell Phone

Step by Step Guide to Unlocking a Tracfone Device

It is now possible to unlock some Tracfone devices, mostly smartphones, so that you can use them with other carriers in the US or around the world. TracfoneReviewer shares the requirements and a step by step guide below! (Updated April 2018)

tracfone unlock code
How to Unlock a Tracfone
Owning an unlocked phone means that if you travel to another country that offers service for unlocked phones, you can buy a SIM card and service, and you will have cell phone use in that country. When you leave, you can switch your old SIM card back in to resume service with Tracfone.

Tracfone is well known for not allowing their phones to be unlocked, but because of FCC rules, and a ruling against Tracfone, they are required to unlock phones from after a certain date, offer a credit towards an exchange, or offer a partial cash refund for older devices.

We've got all the information you need about unlocking your Tracfone device. We will start with the requirements, including who can unlock their phone, and then give a step by step guide.

Let's get started.

Requirements for Unlocking a Tracfone Device

There are a number of requirements that you must meet in order to get your phone unlocked. Here are the requirements:

(You can also check if your phone is eligible by entering your phone number or serial number at the bottom of this page)
  • Customers must request handset unlocking.
  • Customers must have had their locked device activated on Tracfone service for no fewer than 12 months, redeemed air time cards in no fewer than 12 months, and not have had their telephone number recycled or ported.
  • Customers must request this interim unlocking solution while their service is active or within 60 days after their active service days expire. This 60-day grace period applies even if the customer's telephone number was recycled or ported.
  • Customers must currently own a Tracfone branded handset model launched on Tracfone's service after February 11, 2014 or activated with Tracfone's service after February 11, 2015.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is in working condition.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is not reported stolen, lost, or associated with fraudulent activity.
  • If a customer requesting handset unlocking is deployed military personnel, upon provision of deployment papers, Tracfone will honor that customer's unlocking request by sending a refund for the Trade-in Value of the used, locked phone returned by the customer without regard for the 12 months of service activation and air card redemption eligibility requirements. However, all other eligibility criteria apply to Tracfone's customers who are deployed military personnel. 
  • Customers are eligible for this program only once every twelve months.
  • (Source - www.tfwunlockpolicy.com/)
There are a lot of requirements, but the key points are that you need to have your phone active for 12 months with Tracfone, it needs to be a newer phone from after Feb 11, 2014, and you can only unlock a phone once every 12 months. While we haven't confirmed this yet, it is likely that only GSM smartphones are able to be unlocked. Let us know your experiences in the comments.

If you're phone is eligible for unlocking, you can continue with our guide to unlocking it.

How to Unlock a Tracfone Cell Phone in 3 Steps

Here is our step by step guide to unlocking your Tracfone cell phone. Be aware that not all Tracfone devices can be unlocked, many of their older phones are not eligible.


unlock tracfone smartphone
Steps for Unlocking a Tracfone
1. Go to www.tfwunlockpolicy.com and enter your phone number at the bottom of the page. You can also call 1-888-442-5102 during normal business hours.

2. If your phone is eligible, you will be able to continue the process to receive an unlock code for your phone. If your phone is not eligible to be unlocked, you may still qualify for a credit towards a new phone, or a cash refund

We tested a Motorola EX 431G Tracfone prepaid phone. It met the requirements to be unlocked, but because it is an old phone, it can't be unlocked. So Tracfone offered a $5 cash refund. To get the cash refund, you have to send the phone to Tracfone, and you lose any remaining airtime on the device.

We also tested an LG Ultimate 2, which is an Android smartphone. This phone also could not be unlocked, and Tracfone offered a $15 cash refund.

3, Once you get the unlock code from Tracfone, you can purchase a SIM card from another carrier, power off your phone, switch the SIM cards, and turn it back on. You should get a notification that your phone is locked, but there should be a place for you to enter your unlock code. After the code is entered your phone will be able to use the new SIM card. You can always switch SIM cards whenever you like, just remember to turn your phone off and back on.

And that is all it takes to unlock a Tracfone prepaid device. It is a fairly easy process, if your phone is eligible.

Going through the process of unlocking a Tracfone device doesn't seem worthwhile in most cases with the huge number of unlocked devices available on the market at very low prices. Amazon, eBay and many other online retailers have plenty of unlocked phones, and if you buy older models, or refurbished phones, you can often get a great deal.

Check out our list of the Best Unlocked Phones for Tracfone to get some ideas about the great options already available.

If you have an unlocked phone, you can activate it with Tracfone BYOP. Then, if you travel to another country and need to use cell phone service, simply power off the phone, switch the SIM cards, and you are ready to use your phone in the new country. Switch the SIM cards back when you return to the US.

The Moto G line of smartphones, with the Moto G6 the latest, are a popular unlocked phone choice for their high performance at a reasonable cost. Take a look at the Details and Specs for the Moto G5 Plus, and our Review of the Moto G4/ G4 Plus

We hope this information has been helpful. Leave a comment below with any questions or thoughts, and also share your experiences.

We are also on Facebook, with a large community who help answer questions, share news and much more.

See our last post about the Best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales including several recent smartphones with airtime bundles.

Thanks for visiting!

April 20, 2018

Motorola G6 (Unlocked) - Features and Specs

New Motorola G6 Features, Specs and Where to Buy

Motorola G6 tracfone
Motorola G6 Coming Soon!
The next Generation in the Motorola Moto G line is here now and may also be coming to Tracfone in the near future.

Motorola announced the Moto G6 (and several variants) on April 19th, 2018. It is the newest phone in the Moto G lineup which is well known for offering great smartphone features at an affordable price.

The G6 has a 5.7" full HD touchscreen, 1.8 Ghz Octa-core processor, Dual rear camera, and runs Android 8.0 Oreo. It also comes with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB internal storage.

The Moto G6 is now available to purchase:

View the Moto G6 (unlocked) on Amazon (Currently exclusively for Prime Members)
View the Moto G6 (unlocked) on BestBuy

View the Moto G6 Play (unlocked only for GSM) on Amazon

View the Moto G6 Plus (international unlocked version only for GSM) on Amazon


Many of the past Moto G versions, such as the Moto G4 and Moto G5, have been very popular with the Tracfone BYOP program because they offer great features at a reasonable price. It is rumored that the Moto G6 will also be released directly from Tracfone, which would also be a great option for Tracfone customers. We will share additional information on this as we learn more.

Let's see the list of features and specs on the Moto G6

Motorola G6 Features and Specs

  • Dual Rear Camera - 13 MP and 5 MP
  • 1.8 Ghz Octa-Core Processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon 450)
  • 3 GB RAM
  • 32 GB Internal Storage
  • Android 8.0 Oreo
  • 5.7" 1080x2160px Touchscreen
  • Corning Gorilla Glass 3
  • 3000 mAh battery
  • Unlocked and compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks
  • Price: $250
One of the most notable specs is the large, 18:9 ratio full HD touchscreen. The previous generation, the Moto G5, had only a 5.2" screen, but the new Moto G6 bumps that up to 5.7".

The dual rear camera is another feature usually seen in much more expensive devices and allows for selective focus in portrait mode for a blurry background.

The Moto G6 is fully compatible with both GSM and CDMA carriers which is great for the Tracfone BYOP program.

Motorola is also releasing two variants, the Moto G6 Play and Moto G6 Plus. The G6 Play will have the same size screen, slightly downgraded internal specs, a larger battery, and retail for $199.

Moto G6 Play Features and Specs
  • Rear Camera - 13 MP
  • 1.4 Ghz Quad-Core Processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon 427 or 430)
  • 3 GB RAM
  • 32 GB Internal Storage
  • Android 8.0 Oreo
  • 5.7" 720x1440 HD Touchscreen
  • Corning Gorilla Glass
  • 4000 mAh battery
  • Unlocked and compatible with only GSM networks
  • Price: $200
The G6 Play comes with many of the same features in the G6, such as 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage, and Android Oreo. The Play also has a 5.7" screen, but at a lower resolution. The processor in the Play is also not as powerful, but the phone does have a larger battery compared to the G6.

For those that don't need the higher performance from the G6, the Play variant will offer almost all of the same features at a lower price. Unfortunately the Moto G6 Play appears to be only compatible with GSM networks.

The Moto G6 Plus is not expected to be released in the North American market, and only released internationally. But it is still possible to purchase the international version and use it with any GSM carrier through Tracfone.

Moto G6 Plus (international version) Features and Specs
  • Dual Rear Camera - 12 MP and 5 MP
  • 2.2 Ghz Octa-Core Processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon 630)
  • 4 GB RAM
  • 64 GB Internal Storage
  • Android 8.0 Oreo
  • 5.9" 1080x2160px Touchscreen
  • Corning Gorilla Glass 3
  • 3200 mAh battery (non-removable)
  • Unlocked and compatible with GSM networks
  • Price: $350-400
If you are looking for high performance and don't mind spending a little more, the Moto G6 Plus has more RAM, storage and a faster processor than the G6.

Only the international version of the G6 Plus is available, and it is only compatible with GSM carriers.

We will continue to update this as we gather more details, especially any news about Tracfone releasing their own Moto G6 version. If Tracfone does release the G6, it would certainly jump into our List of the Best Tracfone Smartphones.

Keep up with the latest news and info on our Facebook page.

Also check out the recent Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!