October 16, 2018

Tracfone Latest Phones 2018 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2018

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2018
List of New Tracfones in 2018
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2018.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2018

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • Motorola G6 - Now Available (See below)
  • iPhone 7 - Now Available! (See below)
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samsung, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2018

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

Motorola Moto G6
The latest budget smartphone from Motorola is now available directly through Tracfone. The Moto G6 features a 5.7" Full HD touchscreen, Octa-core processor with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB internal memory. It also has dual rear cameras and runs Android 8.0. Unlocked versions of the Moto G6 have been available for use with Tracfone BYOP since the phone was released but now the Tracfone version is available.

The Moto G6 is a very attractive phone at a reasonable price and we will be sharing more details once we finish our full review.

Samsung Galaxy J3 Orbit
Tracfone continues to update their cell phone lineup with the Galaxy J3 Orbit which has a 5" touchscreen, runs Android 8.0 Oreo and has 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon).

On paper the J3 Orbit looks a little overpriced compared to other options, but we haven't completed our review yet so look for that soon.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
The latest phone in the Galaxy J7 lineup, the Crown features a 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 8.0 Oreo and 13 MP camera. It also comes with an octa-core processor, 16 GB internal storage and 2 GB RAM.

It has a variety of improvements over the previous version, but also has a slightly higher price. Learn more and find out where to buy in our Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown Review.

LG Rebel 4 (L212VL/L211BL)
The latest version of the LG Rebel comes with a 5" screen, 1.4 Ghz quad-core processor, 8 MP rear camera, and most notably, Android 8.1 Oreo. It also features a removable battery and 2 GB RAM with 16 GB Storage.

The Rebel 4 brings modest upgrades compared to the previous version (Rebel 3) and is expected to have two versions, one for GSM and another for CDMA networks.

Learn more in our full Review of the LG Rebel 4

Moto E5 (XT1920DL)
The Moto E5 has a 5.7" screen with 18:9 screen ratio, 4000 mAh battery and runs Android 8.1 Oreo. The unlocked version was only just released in May, 2018, and now Tracfone is offering a slightly modified version as well.

The Moto E line is known for good battery life and dependable performance at a very budget friendly price.

See our full review of the Moto E5 to learn more!

LG Stylo 4 (L713DL)
Featuring the largest screen of any Tracfone device, the LG Stylo 4 has a 6.2" FHD touchscreen, 13 MP camera, octa-core processor, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM. It also comes with Android 8.1 Oreo which has access to over a million apps on Google Play.

It is currently available for CDMA networks.

Learn more and see where to buy, with our Full Review of the LG Stylo 4 from Tracfone

iPhone 7/ iPhone 6S Plus
The iPhone 7 and iPhone 6S Plus are both available on the Tracfone website and offer high-end features at a hefty price. The iPhone 7 comes with a 4.7" screen, iOS 10, 32 GB storage and a 12 MP camera. The iPhone 6S Plus features a larger, 5.5" touchscreen, iOS 9, 32 GB Storage and 12 MP camera. Apple smartphones are well known for their impressive camera performance, and these two iPhones are no exception, with the capability of capturing excellent photos and video.

The iPhone 7 is available form Tracfone for $599
the iPhone 6S Plus is available form Tracfone for $399


LG Premier Pro (L413DL)
Stepping in right between the Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the LG Premier Pro has a 5.3" screen, Android 7.1, 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM and a quad core processor. It shares a number of similarities with other recent phones from LG but offers a middle ground in screen size.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Premier Pro

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)
With a lot of similar specs to the LG Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 does stand out with a large, 5.7" touchscreen. This phone also has 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, a 13 MP camera, and runs Android 7.0.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Stylo 3

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL/157BL)
The LG Rebel 3 brings several updates to the popular Rebel lineup and is also one of the first new phones from Tracfone in 2018. With a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0.1, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM, it offers great specs for the price - which is currently $59 on HSN with an airtime bundle.

Tracfone now offers both a GSM and CDMA version of this phone. The GSM version is only available from the Tracfone Website at this time and we include a link in our review.  Learn more about the LG Rebel 3 in our Review.

We will continue to add new phones as they are released.

And below are phones released by Tracfone in 2017.

Tracfone Cell Phones Released in 2017

LG Fiesta 2
Almost identical to the original Fiesta, the new Fiesta 2 comes with 2 GB RAM instead of 1.5 GB. Otherwise it shares the same 5.5" screen, Android 7.0 and 13 MP Camera that also comes with the Fiesta.

Find the Fiesta 2 on Amazon for $99.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(Last check it was in stock!) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

Learn how to Make your Airtime Last Longer and also check out our recent post on How Data works with Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!
(Last Update - October 2018)

October 12, 2018

Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown (S767VL) Tracfone Review

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown (S767VL) Review

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer with the latest News, Reviews and Tracfone Promo Codes!

Tracfone S767vl specs
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown
Tracfone continues to roll out new smartphones for the fall of 2018 and the latest is the Galaxy J7 Crown which brings a 5.5" touchscreen, 1.56 Ghz Octa-core processor and 13 MP front and rear camera.

The J7 Crown is the first new Samsung phone from Tracfone we've seen in quite some time and replaces the previous generation, the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro.

The New J7 Crown keeps the same size screen as the J7 Sky Pro, but with an increase in quality, and has the same amount of RAM and internal storage.

We have seen Tracfone releasing a number of new phones recently including the LG Stylo 4, Rebel 4, and the Moto E5. After relatively few new phones during the summer, it is good to see Tracfone providing consumers with a variety of options.

Keep track of all the new phones with our List of the Latest Tracfone Smartphones (2018).

Let's look at the pro's and con's for the J7 Crown.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown Quick Facts

What we Like
-Android 8.0 Oreo
-13 MP Front and Rear Camera
-Good Battery Life
-Octa-core processor

What we Don't Like
-16 GB Internal Storage
-2 GB RAM
-Price is around $200

With any budget smartphone, there are always some corners that the manufacture will have to cut to keep the price down and in the case of the new J7 Crown, that included the RAM and internal storage which seems to be a trend for Tracfone smartphones.

Yet the 13 MP camera is an attractive feature, as well as the energy efficient processor that helps the J7 Crown maintain a pretty good battery life.  And the HD touchscreen is also a highlight with a bright and clear display.

So is it worth the somewhat hefty $200 price tag? That's what we will look into in this review as well as compare it to other popular options currently available like the LG Rebel 4 and Moto E5.

Time for the full list of features on specs on the S767VL J7 Crown.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown Features and Specs

Below are the features followed by the technical specs
  • Android 8.1 Oreo
  • 4G LTE on CDMA Network (Verizon)
  • WiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • Alarm Clock
  • GPS
  • MP3 Player
  • FM Radio
  • Standard 3.5mm Headphone Jack
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS
  • USB Charger
  • Fingerprint Reader
Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown Technical Specs
Size: 6.03'' x 3.00'' x 0.34'' in (6.4 oz)
Camera: 13 MP Rear Camera with LED Flash, Autofocus and 13 MP Front Camera with Flash
Screen: 5.5" HD screen (720x1280 resolution at 267 dpi)
Processor: 1.56 Ghz Octa-core processor (Exynos 7884)
Memory: 2 GB
Storage: 16 GB (about 12 usable) supports up to 400 GB MicroSD Card
Battery: 3,300 mAh battery (non-removable) with talk time up to 24 hrs, standby 27 days

Many consumers are familiar with the Samsung brand as they are a global manufacture and the largest consumer electronics maker (by revenue) in the world. They are based in South Korea and have a broad lineup of smartphones with their high end device, the Samsung Galaxy S9, a contender for one of the best phones in the world.

The Galaxy J7 Crown does get some of the classic design elements of Samsung phones with a familiar layout for the charging and headphone ports and it also features a Super AMOLED screen which gives deeper colors compared to other screens.

Now let's get into the details with our review of the Galaxy J7.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown Review

Touchscreen
The J7 Crown comes with the same size screen (5.5") as the previous model (J7 Sky Pro) but improves on the overall quality with deeper colors and better outdoor view-ability. The J7 Crown's screen has HD resolution (720x1280) with about 267 dpi for a fairly crisp display.

This phone does not have an automatic light sensor to dim/brighten the screen depending on the conditions but not many devices in this price range include that.

S767VL tracfone specs review
Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown Review

Internal Specs - Processor, RAM, Internal Memory
The one highlight for the J7 Crown when it comes to internal specs is the 1.56 Ghz Octa-core processor (Exynos 7884) which provides a great balance between performance and efficiency and goes a long way in helping the device maintain a good battery life.

The Galaxy J7 Crown also has the standard 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage that almost all of Tracfone's recent smartphones offer. For some users, this just isn't enough internal storage. You can add up to 400 GB extra storage via microSD card.

Camera
Somewhat unexpectedly, the Galaxy J7 Crown features both a 13 MP rear camera AND a 13 MP front facing camera. The rear camera has autofocus, LED flash and a number of other features while the front camera is fixed focus but also has flash. This phone is also capable of capturing full HD video at 1080p 30fps.

Battery
A 3300 mAh battery combined with the efficient processor helps the Galaxy J7 achieve good battery performance of 24 hrs talk time and 27 days on standby. Practically speaking this phone should last through the day with a full charge for low to moderate use without any issues. The battery is non-removable in this device.

Android OS
Android 8.1 Oreo, which is included with the Galaxy J7 Crown, brings a number of graphical changes and performance improvements over previous versions. It is used by most Android phones at this time with the newer, Android 9 Pie, currently in the works and not expected to be released for a little while.

Tracfone doesn't update the OS on their smartphones, so it is always a good idea to buy a phone with the latest Android version when possible to avoid possible security issues. There are several other Tracfone smartphones now with Android 8.1 including the LG Rebel 4 and LG Stylo 4.

Check out our list of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone for some great options to use with your smartphone.

Triple Minutes for Life
Tracfone has stopped including Triple Minutes for Life with the phones they release but they are offering to triple airtime added at activation for some phones. We don't have all the details on this but have heard from some sources that smartphones with airtime bundles from HSN/QVC are getting tripled when activated.

Learn more about Tracfone Ending Triple Minutes for Life.

Overall Design
With a matte back and slick overall design the Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown is a nice looking phone at a very popular size. It has the fingerprint reader on the bottom of the front screen, the power button on the left and volume on the right side of the phone.

Conclusion
The Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown is a nice upgrade over the previous version although it keeps the same screen size, RAM, and internal storage. But what you do get is updated Android OS, better screen quality, a better processor and camera.

The lingering question we have is, does that make it worth the $200 price tag? It is hard to say with options like the Moto E5 also recently released by Tracfone which has a larger screen size, same RAM and internal storage, but is listed at $99.

Where to Buy the Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown

The J7 Crown can be found through several online sources with several options including airtime bundles:

View the Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown with 1200 Minute Airtime Bundle on HSN for $209
View the Samsung Galaxy J7 Crown with $40 Airtime Bundle on Amazon for $208

The Galaxy J7 Crown is also available on the Tracfone website for $199 without airtime bundle.

For more information on the Galaxy J7 Crown check out the interactive tutorial and the user guide.

This concludes on review of the J7 Crown. We hope this information is useful and please leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

Join us over on Facebook for the latest news and posts or send us a message for more direct help questions.

Take a look at some of our recent posts, including a Guide for Making your Airtime Last Longer and Everything you Need to Know about Data Cards.

And don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales!

Thanks for visiting!

October 4, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for October 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - October 2018

New promo codes each month from TracfoneReviewer!

tracfone promo code
Tracfone Promo Codes - October 2018
Temperatures are falling, leaves are dropping, and it's time for new promo codes for October!

Each month we collect from around the web and various sources to share the latest codes for the month here in one convenient list. These codes are to be used with a Tracfone airtime card and can give 30 to 300 extra minutes for free.

Some codes may be used multiple times, while others are one time use. We have codes below for regular airtime cards, and are working to find additional codes for smartphone-only airtime cards.

If you are looking for a new phone, be sure to visit our List of Latest Tracfone Smartphones including the newly released LG Rebel 4.

Want to reduce your airtime usage? Check out our recent article, 7 Tips to Make Your Airtime Last Longer with several tips for data savings as well.

Let's get to the list of codes!

Tracfone Promo Code List - October 2018

Each code is for a specific airtime card but may also be used with cards of greater value.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 for 60 free minutes

120 Minute Card enter 60763 to get 40 extra minutes

200 Minute Card add 85758 and receive 50 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card enter code 62610 and get 50 additional airtime

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 64090 for 300 free minutes

$15 off 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 21028


Smartphone Only Card Promo Codes

62269 - 500 MB Free - 1 GB Data Only Card (Working October 2018 - Anonymous)

Unfortunately we have not been able to find any new codes for smartphone only cards! Please share any you find in the comments below.

That's it for the latest list of Tracfone promo codes for October! We hope these codes work for you and leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

Read our Guide to Better Cell Phone Photography which will help anyone take better pictures on their smartphone.

Join us on Facebook with a great community of helpful Tracfone users who can answer questions or send us a message directly.

Keep up with the latest Deals, Discounts and Sales from Tracfone for the lowest prices from around the web.

And lastly, if you're shopping for an unlocked smartphone to use with Tracfone don't miss out our List of the Best Tracfone BYOP Devices including several of the best budget smartphones available.

Thanks for visiting!

September 27, 2018

LG Rebel 4 (L212VL/211BL) Tracfone Review

Tracfone LG Rebel 4 Review (L212VL/211BL)

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer where we share the latest news, reviews and promo codes!

LG Rebel 4 L212VL
Tracfone LG Rebel 4 Review
Another generation from the LG Rebel lineup has been released from Tracfone - and just six months since the previous version.

The LG Rebel 4 features a 5" touchscreen, quad-core processor, and Android 8.1 Oreo. It brings some modest upgrades to the previous version, the Rebel 3. At this time the Rebel 4 CDMA version is available but we do expect a GSM version (L211BL) in the near future.

The Rebel line of phones has been a popular budget smartphone from Tracfone with a smaller screen size compared to most of Tracfone's offerings. We were a little surprised to see the Rebel 4 released in the same year that the Rebel 3 became available to Tracfone users but it appears that Tracfone is speeding up the release of new phones for the fall season.

There is not a lot that is different between the Rebel 3 and Rebel 4, but we will cover that in detail further on. For now, let's look at the pro's and con's for the Rebel 4.

LG Rebel 4 Quick Facts

What we Like:
Android 8.1 Oreo
Both GSM and CDMA Versions expected

What we Don't Like:
Only 16GB Storage
Only 2 GB RAM

One of the issues that may arise for some users is the low storage and RAM on the Rebel 4. We hope Tracfone will release more devices with increased storage and additional RAM at a reasonable price but that is not the case with the Rebel 4.

It is very good to see the Rebel 4 features the latest Android OS (at this time) with 8.1 Oreo. That's a nice improvement over the previous model, and only the third phone from Tracfone with this Android version.

Now for the full list of features and specs.

Tracfone LG Rebel 4 (L212VL/211BL) Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specs.
  • Android 8.1 Oreo
  • 4G LTE CDMA Coverage on Version towers (L212VL model)
  • 4G LTE GSM Coverage on AT&T towers (L211BL model)
  • WiFi 802.11b/g/n
  • S-GPS and A-GPS
  • Accelerometer
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • Alarm Clock
  • FM Radio
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play Store
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS
LG Rebel 4 Technical Specs
  • Size: 5.70'' x 2.83'' x 0.31'' and 4.9 OZ
  • Camera: 8MP Rear Camera (Flash, Autofocus, Burst shot) and 5MP Front Camera
  • Screen: 5" HD TFT 1280x720 display
  • Processor: 1.4 Ghz quad-core (Qualcomm Snapdragon 425)
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB (Up to 32 GB additional storage via Micro SD card)
  • Battery: 2500 mAh (removable) with 16hrs talk time, 12 days standby
While the Rebel 3 and 4 share a number of similarities, the Rebel 4 does have several upgrades that does make it a faster and more desirable phone. We will cover more about these differences further below.

LG is a global electronics company operating in many different segments of the market including the mobile phone market. They are based in South Korea and are well known for offering a variety of different smartphones from high-end to budget that generally have good features and quality.

The LG Rebel 4 is by far one of their most budget friendly options, with many more options available with more performance at a higher cost. The LG V30, for example, has 64 GB internal memory, a larger screen and dual rear cameras, but retails for $499.

LG Rebel 4 Review (L212VL/211BL)

Touchscreen
The screen on the LG Rebel 4 is a 5" TFT (IPS) panel with HD resolution (1280x720). Clarity and color are both good for a phone in this price range and the DPI is just under 300 which is also good.

There are not very many new smartphones with a screen this small, as most devices now feature 5.5-6" touchscreen displays. However, not everyone wants such a large device so the Rebel 4 fits the size requirements for some users very nicely. For a slightly larger screen, the LG Premier Pro is an option.

Internal Specs - Processor, RAM and Memory
The Quad-Core 1,4 Ghz Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 in the Rebel 4 is a popular processor for budget friendly smartphones as it provides a good balance between power, performance and long battery life. It is not built to run the most demanding games, but it does a good job on everyday activities like social media apps and games.

lg rebel 4 l212vl review
Tracfone LG Rebel 4

Along with the processor the Rebel 4 has 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage. Most Tracfone devices released over the last year or two have featured this and these days it just really isn't enough, especially the internals storage, to keep up with the needs of most users. We really would like to see Tracfone release a phone along these lines but with closer to 32 GB storage.

For those looking for more internal storage, consider getting an unlocked device like the Moto G6 and bring it to the BYOP program.

Camera
While the camera specs on the Rebel 4 are similar to the Rebel 3, there are some improvements and additional features. The rear 8MP camera has flash, autofocus and burst shot while the front 5MP camera has selfie light, gesture shot and more.

Take a look at our recent Guide to Taking Better Photos on your Phone.

Battery
With a relatively small 2500 mAh battery the Rebel 4 can't keep up with phones like the Moto E5 as far as battery life, but it will generally last through a full day with low to moderate usage thanks to the smaller screen and efficient processor. The battery is removable, which is nice to see.

Android OS
Android 8.1 Oreo brings a number of graphical changes and performance improvements over previous versions. It is used by most Android phones at this time with the newer, Android 9 Pie, currently in the works.

Tracfone doesn't update the OS on their smartphones, so it is always a good idea to buy a phone with the latest Android version when possible to avoid possible security issues.

Triple Minutes
The Rebel 4 does not include Triple Minutes for Life because Tracfone stopped including this with newer phones in 2017. Learn more in our post, Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life.

Conclusion
The Rebel 4 is a budget friendly smartphone with a smaller screen compared to most phones and good performance and specs to keep up with most daily activities. It doesn't really have and features that 'wow' but rather is a solid smartphone like the previous versions.

At $99, it is hard to recommend it over the recently released Moto E5 which shares a number of the same specs (like Processor, RAM, Memory) but has a larger, 5.7" screen, larger battery and is also $99. But for users who don't like such a large screen, this may be a good option.

LG Rebel 3 VS LG Rebel 4

How does the Rebel 4 compare to the Rebel 3 it replaces and is it worth upgrading? Let's take a look.

Both phones have a quad-core processor but the Rebel 4 has a newer and slightly faster version. They share the same amount of RAM, internal memory and screen size, but the Rebel 4 has more resolution for better clarity.

The Rebel 4 see's several other small improvements including newer Android OS, slightly higher Mega Pixel count on the rear camera, and newer Bluetooth connectivity.

We expect to see some deals available in the near future for the Rebel 4 but until then wouldn't really recommend upgrading to it if you already have the Rebel 3 as it would be a modest upgrade.

Where to Buy the LG Rebel 4

The LG Rebel 4 (CDMA) is available from several online retailers including the Tracfone website. We expect to see a GSM version available on the Tracfone website as well.

QVC has the LG Rebel 4 with airtime bundle (1500 minutes) for $99

We also found the Rebel 4 on Amazon.

 That concludes our review of the Rebel 4. We will update with additional retail locations as we find them.

For more information on the Rebel 4, view the User Manual.

If you have any thoughts or questions, leave them in the comments below.

Don't miss out on our Guide to Making your Airtime Last Longer with special tips included for using less data on your smartphone.

We also update the The Best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales each month.

And for more on new phones check out our Latest List of Tracfone Smartphones.

Finally, join us on Facebook for posts with news, updates, deals and more.

Thanks for visiting!

September 18, 2018

Tracfone Deals and Sales - September 2018

List of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales Updated for September 2018

TracfoneReviewer shares all things Tracfone related including news, reviews and promo codes!

cheap tracfone cell phone
Tracfone Deals for September!
Tracfone has a number of different phones they offer through many different retailers, and there are sometimes great deals available to be had. However, finding the lowest prices is not always easy.

But we are here to help with the latest list of Tracfone deals and sales, updated for September. New deals are happening all the time, and so we share the latest discounts in one convenient list. Many of these deals include an airtime bundle, which are usually the best deals around.

Both Tracfone devices and unlocked phones are included in this list, as the unlocked phones can be used with the Tracfone BYOP program. We recently shared details about the Moto G6 and Moto E5 which are two great unlocked phone options.

If you like to keep up with the newest releases, visit our List of Latest Tracfone Cell Phones which we update with each new phone Tracfone releases.

Now let's see the list of deals!

Tracfone Deals and Discount List September 2018

Moto E5 (CDMA)
With a 5.7" HD screen, 4000 mAh battery and Android 8.1 Oreo, the Moto E5 looks to be a dependable low cost option for Tracfone users. It also features 16 GB internal space, and 2 GB memory along with a quad-core processor. View more specs in our Moto E5 Review.

The Moto E5 was just released by Tracfone and is already available at a very reasonable price from Walmart.

View the Tracfone Moto E5 from Walmart for $92

LG Rebel 3 (CDMA)
With a 5" screen, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB internal storage and Android 7.0, the Rebel 3 is a powerful little device that is also available at a great price. This phone is a great option for users who don't need or want the larger screen size. Learn much more about all the features on the Rebel 3 in our Full Review.

Both deals below come with airtime bundles with different amounts, but they are each worth more than the cost of the phone, making the phone practically free! The deal from QVC is the lowest we've ever seen for the Rebel 3 with airtime bundle!

Get the LG Rebel 3 with Airtime Bundle for $55 on QVC
Get the LG Rebel 3 with Airtime Bundle for $57 on Amazon

LG Fiesta 2 (CDMA)
If a larger screen is what you want, the Fiesta 2 has a 5.5" screen size plus 2 GB RAM, quad core processor and 16 GB internal storage. It also comes with Android 7.0 and a 13 mp camera. Learn more and see the full specs in our LG Fiesta 2 Review.

With this deal from Amazon, you get 1000 talk, 2000 text and 2 GB data plus 60 service days.

Get the LG Fiesta 2 with Airtime Bundle for $89 from Amazon

Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro (CDMA)
The Galaxy J3 Luna Pro has proven itself as a popular and dependable smartphone featuring a large, 5" touchscreen, 1.5 GB RAM, 16 GB Storage and quad core processor. It also runs Android 6.0.1 and has an 5 MP rear camera. See more specs and feature in our Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro Review.


This deal from HSN includes 1500 talk, text and data minutes plus a year of service which is worth over $100. The airtime bundle from Amazon comes with 1000 talk, 2000 text and data minutes, plus 60 service days.

See the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro with airtime bundle for $79 on HSN
Get the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro with airtime bundle for $72 on Amazon


With a larger screen at 5.5" and otherwise fairly similar features, the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is also a popular option and currently available with a bundle of 1200 talk, text and data minutes plus 1 Year of service on HSN for $99

Unlocked Phone Deals for Tracfone BYOP

Tracfone makes it easy to use almost an unlocked phone with their prepaid service through the 'Bring Your Own Phone' program. All you need is an unlocked phone and an Activation Kit.

We've found the BYOP Activation kit on Amazon for just $1 which is what you will need to get started. You can also get an activation kit from Tracfone or many other retail stores. See our Guide to Activating with Tracfone BYOP if you have any questions on this.

Here are some great unlocked phone options to use with Tracfone BYOP. These phones may be a little more expensive than some of Tracfone's devices, but they offer more in terms of performance, storage and features.

Moto G6
The newest phone in the Moto G lineup, the G6 has a 5.7" full HD screen, dual rear cameras, Android 8.0 Oreo, Octa core processor and 3 GB RAM/32 GB Storage. This phone offers a great balance between cost, performance and features.  It is available unlocked and compatible with GSM and CDMA networks.

See the Moto G6 on Amazon for $234 (Currently available for Prime Members only)

The Moto G6 Play is another great option, and is a little cheaper at $189 (Prime Members Only)

Moto X (4th Gen)
Featuring a 5.2" screen, octa core processor, 3 GB RAM, 32 GB storage and dual rear cameras, the Moto X 4th gen is available at $120 off the original price. It also has Android 8.0 Oreo, is water resistant and compatible with both CDMA and GSM networks.

See the Moto X 4th Gen on Amazon for $279 (Prime Exclusive)

That concludes our list of deals! Be sure to check back each month for new deals, or join us on Facebook where we share all the latest posts, news and deals.

If you have any questions or want to share a deal, leave a comment below!

Be sure to also visit our Tracfone Promo Code list for the latest promotional codes to get free airtime when adding minutes.

Take a look at our recent post on 8 Tips to take Better Cell Phone Pictures.

Thanks for visiting!

Updated for September 2018

September 13, 2018

Tracfone Moto E5 (XT1920DL) Review

Moto E5 (XT1920DL) Review - Tracfone Smartphone

The Moto E5 has a 5.7" screen with 18:9 screen ratio, 4000 mAh battery and runs Android 8.1 Oreo. It is the latest smartphone released by Tracfone and brings a number of great features for the price.

moto e5 review
Tracfone Moto E5 Review
We have been expecting Tracfone to release several Motorola smartphones (such as the Moto G6 perhaps?) and the E5 is the first, and hopefully not the last. Several years ago Tracfone launched the original Moto E which come with a tiny 4.3" screen and just 4 GB internal storage.

The Moto E5 is the second phone available from Tracfone that features Android 8.1, the latest version (Android 9.0 is coming to certain devices) with the LG Stylo 4 also featuring Android Oreo.

The Moto E line of phones from Motorola is well known for the good value at a very reasonable price and we will see how the Moto E5 stacks up to this in our review.

First, let's look at the pro's and con's for the Tracfone Moto E5

Moto E5 Quick Facts

What we Like:
Low Cost
Nice screen
Great battery life
Android 8.0.1

What we Don't Like:
Low RAM/Storage (2 GB/16 GB)
Mediocre camera
Only CDMA version available

There are several unlocked variations of the Moto E5 available including the E5 Plus and E5 Play with various differences for each version. These unlocked smartphones are compatible with GSM networks unlike the Tracfone Moto E5 which is only compatible with CDMA.

The unlocked Moto E5 is not available in the US market and actually has some differences to the Tracfone Moto E5, including a higher resolution rear camera at 13 MP compared to the Tracfone versions 8 MP.

Time for the full list of features on the Tracofone Moto E5.

Tracfone Moto E5 (XT1920DL) Features and Specs

  • Android 8.1 Oreo
  • 4G LTE capable on CDMA network (Verizon)
  • WiFi 802.11 b/g/n
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • Alarm Clock
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Standard 3.5mm headphone connection
  • SMS/MMS
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • USB Charger
  • Water Resistant
  • Fingerprint Reader
Moto E5 Technical Specs
  • Size: 6.08'' x 2.84'' x 0.35'' (6.1oz)
  • Camera: 8 MP rear camera, 5 MP front camera
  • Screen: 5.7" HD 18:9 ratio with 1440x720 resolution (282 ppi)
  • Processor: Qualcomm MSM8917 Snapdragon 425 1.4 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB (supports up to 128 GB microSD card)
  • Battery: 4000 mAh non-removable with 32 hrs talk time, 10 days standby
Motorola was an American telecommunications company founded way back in 1928. But in 2011, after several years of significant losses, the company was split and the mobile phone segment of the company was sold to Google. After just two years, the Motorola mobile phone segment was again sold, this time to Lenovo in 2014.

Despite changing hands several times, Motorola has maintained a consistent stream of budget friendly smartphones in several lineups including the Moto E and Moto G lines, that are well known for good value. The Moto G line, with the Moto G6 the current model, offers a little more power and performance for a somewhat higher price compared to the Moto E5.

We will cover some of the differences for these phones a little further down, but let's take a closer look at the main features on the Tracfone Moto E5

Tracfone Moto E5 Review

Touchscreen
The touchscreen on the Moto E5 is actually very nice for a phone at this price point. It has a 5.7" screen with 720x1440 HD resolution. Motorola adopted the 18:9 resolution which has become popular on higher-end smartphones and allows for a taller, thinner design.

moto e5 tracfone review
Tracfone Moto E5 Review

The screen is an LCD panel, which doesn't pop quite as well as an OLED screen found on more expensive devices, but for the price of the Moto E5, it works very nicely and looks good.

Internal Specs - Processor, RAM, Internal Memory
The Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 is a popular option in budget smartphones and has enough performance for most tasks with its Quad-core 1.4 Ghz processor. One of the nice features of newer processors like this one is that they can reduce power usage and run quieter when doing low performance tasks. This is one of the factors that helps the Moto E5 have a very impressive battery life.

The 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal storage are not very exciting as many users are finding they need more storage for apps, photos and videos and more. It would be nice to see at least 32 GB internal storage. The Moto E5 does have a micro SD card slot for up to 128 GB extra storage.

Camera
The 8 MP rear camera on the E5 is adequate for snapping images to share with friends or recording videos to post on social media but it isn't anything too impressive.

Along the same lines, the front 5 MP shooter gets the job done for snapping selfies and such.

While the Tracfone Moto E5 version has the 8 MP rear camera, the unlocked version has a 13 MP camera which does capture higher quality images and higher resolution. This must have been one of the areas Tracfone decided to cut corners to keep the price low.

Batery
One of the strengths of the E5, and many Motorola devices, is the long battery life. This phone comes with a non-removable 4000 mAh battery which is rated to last 32 hrs talk time, 10 days on standby. Actual battery life isn't quite the same, but it definitely will go a full day on a single charge with low to moderate usage which is very nice.

Android OS
Android 8.1.0 Oreo is the operating system on the Moto E5 and it brings a number of appearance and performance improvements over previous versions. Tracfone does not provide their smartphones with OS updates so whichever version it comes with is what it will keep.

With Android, users have access to the Google Play store with over 1 Million apps covering almost anything you could think of. We have created a helpful Guide to the Best Android Apps to use with Tracfone so take a look if you need some ideas.

Overall Design
The overall design and feel of the Moto E5 is quite good despite the plastic materials. All the buttons are in convenient places and even the fingerprint sensor on the back works well. The standard 3.5 mm headphone jack is at the top, with the USB charging port at the bottom.

Conclusion
Some features on the Moto E5 are not too exciting but for the most part, the phone is a strong contender for an everyday smartphone that can handle most tasks thrown its way. It is certainly a budget phone, but a good value for what you get.

We see this being a popular replacement for older Tracfone devices like the LG Rebel 2, Samsung Galaxy Luna, and other older smartphones.

This isn't the best phone for everyone, however, as the low internal memory will limit the number of apps and other media users are able to store on it.

For users looking for more storage, we recommend the Tracfone BYOP program, where you can bring almost any unlocked smartphone to use with Tracfone including the Moto G6 which comes with 32 GB storage.

Tracfone Moto E5 vs Moto G6 Comparison

The Moto E5 and G6 were released about the same time by Motorola with the G6 the 'step up' model.

While these two phones share the same screen size, they don't share much beyond that with the G6 offering more RAM, internal storage, better camera, better processor and higher resolution screen. The E5 does have a larger battery.

The Moto G6 is also more expensive, with the unlocked version at $250.

Where to Buy the Moto E5

The Tracfone Moto E5 is available on the Tracfone Website for $99.

We have also just found it available from Walmart for $92

And it is now available from HSN with airtime bundle for $119

We expect to see it offered in the near future from other sources and will update as soon as possible.

For additional information, view the Interactive Tutorial.

That concludes our review of the Tracfone Moto E5. If you have any thoughts or questions, leave them in the comments below.

Take a look at some of our recent posts, including a Guide for Making your Airtime Last Longer and Everything you Need to Know about Data Cards.

For the latest news, follow us on Facebook!

And don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales!

Thanks for visiting!

September 5, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for September 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - September 2018

TracfoneReviewer shares the latest news, review, and Tracfone promo codes!

Tracfone promo code sept 2018
Tracfone Promo Code list for September 2018
Fall is in the air and so are new promo codes for Tracfone! Each month we gather and share with our readers the latest promotional codes to use with Tracfone.

Tracfone offers these codes as a bonus for loyal customers who can get anywhere from 30 to 300 extra minutes for free.

To use the code simply enter the code with the proper airtime card when purchasing or adding minutes to your phone. There are both regular airtime codes and smartphone only codes.

Sometimes a code may be one time use, while others can be used multiple times. The regular airtime codes are for a specific card, but can also be used with cards of greater value in most cases.

Want to reduce how much airtime you use? Check out 7 Tips to Make Your Airtime Last Longer including helpful details about data usage.

Tracfone recently released the new LG Stylo 4 with a large, 6.2" screen and more. Follow the link for the review or visit our List of the Latest Tracfone Devices (2018) for all the new phones.

Now let's see the promo code list.

Tracfone Promo Code List - September 2018

Some codes are one time use. Most codes can be used with cards of greater value as well.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 and get 60 free minutes (working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 59629 to receive 40 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card add code 55146 for 50 extra minutes

450 Minute Card use 62610 and get 50 additional minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 64090 and receive 300 free minutes

$15 off 1 Year/400 Minute Card use 21028 (online only)


Promo Codes for Smartphone Only Airtime Cards
No new smartphone only codes at this time. See our main Tracfone Promo Code page for older smartphone codes which some users have had success using. We will update as soon as we can.

Those are the latest codes for September 2018 gathered by TracfoneReviewer. We hope these codes work for you and let us know in the comments if you have any questions or thoughts.

Keep up with the latest Deals, Discounts and Sales from Tracfone for the lowest prices from around the web.

Join us on Facebook with a growing community of helpful Tracfone users who can answer any questions or send us a message directly.

Don't miss our Guide to Better Cell Phone Photography which will help anyone take better pictures on their smartphone.

And lastly, if you're shopping for an unlocked smartphone to use with Tracfone don't miss out our List of the Best Tracfone BYOP Devices including several of the best budget smartphones available.

Thanks for visiting!

August 23, 2018

LG Stylo 4 (L713VL) Tracfone Review

Tracfone LG Stylo 4 (L713VL) Smartphone Review

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer - with News, Reviews and more about Tracfone Wireless.

Tracfone lg stylo 4 l713dl review
LG Stylo 4 Review Tracfone
UDPATE: When first released, the Stylo 4 was incorrectly listed as compatible with CDMA networks but the phone was actually shipped with GSM compatible SIM cards which has since been unlisted. The CDMA version is now available from HSN and Amazon

It has been several months since Tracfone released a new device but they have surprised us with something unique in the form of the LG Stylo 4 (L713VL). It follows in the line of previous LG Stylo devices, including the Stylo 3 which we reviewed earlier this year, and the Stylo 2 from a couple years back. The main differences with the Stylo 4 is the amazing screen it comes with.

There are not many smartphones with a screen larger than 6" but Tracfone has just released the LG Stylo 4 which features a massive 6.2" screen. If you prefer larger screens, this might be a great option for you. The phone also comes with 16 GB internal storage, 2 GB RAM, an octa-core processor and 13MP rear camera.

Another big feature on the new Stylo 4 is the Android 8.1 Oreo operating system it comes with. Most Tracfone smartphones are still running older Android versions so users may find it very enticing to upgrade to the latest OS. (note that Android 9 Pie is just starting to be released, but only for flagship phones)

Let's look at the quick facts for our pro's and con's on the Stylo 4:

LG Stylo 4 Quick Facts

What we Like
-Large 6.2" screen with great resolution
-Android 8.1 Oreo
-13 MP Rear Camera with Auto-focus and Portrait mode

What we Don't Like
-Only CDMA version available (at this time)
-Only 16 GB Storage and 2 GB RAM
-A little expensive (comparison to Moto G6 Play below)

The huge screen with great resolution plus Android Oreo are two key factors that make the Stylo 4 very interesting. But like many Tracfone devices, it is limited in that it only has 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM.

Another key bit of information to note is that this phone is for use with CDMA networks on Tracfone (primarily Verizon cell towers) and we don't see any information about a GSM version coming anytime soon. Tracfone has released very few GSM smartphones in the last year as they appear to be catering towards CDMA users or markets.

As for Triple Minutes for Life, the Stylo 4 does not come with it as far as we can tell. Tracfone's plan is to not include it with any phones released past April 2017 and they appear to be sticking with this policy. For more on this, visit our Guide to Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes.

Now here are the full list of features and specs for the Stylo 4.

Tracfone LG Stylo 4 (L713DL) Features and Specs

Below are the features followed by the technical specs
  • Android 8.1 Oreo
  • 4G LTE capable using CDMA networks (Verizon)
  • WiFi 802.11b/g/n
  • Bluetooth 4.2
  • GPS
  • Alarm
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • MP3 Player
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS and MMS
  • USB-C Port
  • Accelerometer
  • USB Cable/Charger
LG Stylo 4 Technical Specifications 
  • Size: 6.30'' (H) x 3.06'' (W) x 0.33'' (D) and 6.07 oz
  • Camera: 13 MP Rear Camera with Phase Detect Auto Focus (PDAF), flash, portrait mode and more. 5 MP Front Camera
  • Screen: 6.2" FHD FullVision TFT display at 2160x1080 resolution
  • Processor: 1.8GHz Octa-Core Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ SDM450
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB (about 8 GB usable) and up to 256 GB via Micro SD Card
  • Battery: 3300 mAh with 13hrs talk time/11 days standby
The manufacturer of the Stylo 4 is one of the largest electronics manufactures in the world. LG has a variety of different phones ranging from budget to flagship and a number of them are compatible with the Tracfone BYOP program.

There is actually an unlocked version of the Stylo 4 on Amazon with slightly different features. It comes with 32 GB internal storage, 3 GB RAM and is compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks. Beyond these differences it appears to be the same and is currently listed for $50 more than the Tracfone version.

Let's get intot the details of what the LG Stylo 4 has to offer with our full review.

Tracfone LG Stylo 4 (L713DL) Review

Touchscreen
The biggest feature (pun intended) on the Stylo 4 is the screen at 6.2" with a resolution of 2160x1080. It is larger than the previous model (the Stylo 3 had just a 5.7" screen) and has the best resolution of any phone from Tracfone in this price range. It also features the popular 18:9 screen ratio.

The screen is so large that the phone includes a stylus, which is helpful for some users. In many cases we see large screens sacrificing on PPI - Pixels Per Inch, where a higher PPI is generally better. The Stylo 4 has about 390 PPI making it better than most other Tracfone devices in this category.

A large screen does make it easier to watch media, or type on the keyboard, however it also makes it more challenging to handle or fit in a pocket. Smartphones with large screens aren't for everyone, but if you do prefer it, the Stylo 4 comes with a very good screen for the price.

lg stylo 4 l713dl specs
LG Stylo 4 Review

Internal Specs - Processor, RAM and Memory
The Stylo 4 comes with the standard 16 GB storage/2 GB RAM almost every other Tracfone smartphone in this price range has come with in the last year. This phone only has about 8 GB storage space for the user to install apps and save pictures so you will find this very limiting. But if you don't plan to run very many apps, it is less of an issue.

The processor on the Stylo 4 is actually quite good, featuring a 1.8 Ghz Octo-core processor from Qualcomm. It is a powerful yet efficient processor that was recently released.

The processor on the Stylo 4 won't hold users back, but the RAM and Memory might so keep that in mind.

Camera
A 13 MP rear shooter is on the Stylo 4 with Phase Detect Auto Focus for better autofocus performance in videos and in darker environments. There are a umber of other features also included such as Portrait mode, Burst shutter, Timer, and Flash.

The Front camera is a very standard 5 MP wide view camera capable of selfies and more.

The cameras on the Stylo 4 are good and capable of capturing some nice images. This phone easily has one of the better cameras versus other Tracfone devices in this price range.

For video, the Stylo 4 has 1080 HD recording at 30 fps which works well for capturing videos to share with friends or family.

If you're looking to get better images, see our 8 Tips for Better Cell Phone Pictures.

Battery
The battery capacity is 3300 mAh which gives users approximately 13hrs of talk time and about 11 days on standby. With the size of the phone we would have expected a larger battery, like the 4000 mAh battery in the Moto G6 Play. With the help of the new efficient processor, the battery life is pretty good overall.

Android OS
The Stylo 4 is the first Tracfone smartphone to feature the newer Android 8.1 Oreo operating system. With each new Android iteration there comes a variety of cosmetic and functional changes, usually for the better, that help with the efficiency and usability of the phone.

Because Tracfone smartphones are not able to receive Android updates like unlocked devices, it is important when purchasing a new phone to make sure you get one with a newer OS so you don't have to worry about security issues in much older versions.

See Best Android Apps for Tracfone

Conclusion
With any phone in the budget price range it will have to sacrifice in some areas to keep the price low and with the Stylo 4 we see that especially in the storage and RAM for the phone. However, the screen and processor are both quite good, leading to a great overall experience as long as you don't need a lot of storage and won't be playing resource intensive games or applications.

The fact that it also features Android Oreo is also a huge plus, and the camera on the Stylo 4 is also good for a phone at this price.

The main consideration for most users will be if they want a phone with a 6.2" screen which will be great for watching videos but may be hard to hold or fit in a pocket. For a phone with a smaller screen but otherwise similar features, consider the LG Premier Pro.

Let's look at what may be the closest competitor, the Moto G6 Play.

Comparison: LG Stylo 4 vs Moto G6 Play

The Moto G6 Play is an unlocked smartphone available at the same price, about $199, and has a variety of pro's and con's compared to the LG Stylo 4.

The Moto G6 Play has more RAM, at 3 GB and also more internal storage, 32 GB, compared to the Stylo 4. The G6 is unlocked and compatible with either GSM or CDMA networks and can be used with Tracfone BYOP. As for battery life the Moto G6 Play is a beast in this category with many users getting two days of use off of a single charge.

Both the Stylo 4 and G6 Play have similar 13 MP cameras and they both run Android Oreo.

When it comes to screen size, the Moto G6 Play has a smaller, 5.7" screen with less resolution and DPI. The G6 Play only has a quad-core processor compared to the superior octo-core processor in the Stylo 4.

Each of these phones have some great features, and some areas where costs were cut. Right now you can get the Moto G6 Play on Amazon for just $191.

Where to Buy the LG Stylo 4

The LG Stylo 4 is available from several different retailers and we expect to see it offered from more in the near future.

The best deal at this time is through HSN which is offering it with an Airtime bundle and additional accessories for $229

View the LG Stylo 4 with Airtime Bundle on HSN

We have also found it on Amazon for $229 .

And the Tracfone website also has it for sale for $229

That concludes our review of the LG Stylo 4 from Tracfone. We hope you found this review helpful. Leave a comment with your thoughts or questions!

Don't miss out on our Guide to Making Your Airtime Last Longer which has a number airtime saving tips.

We also recently updated How Data Works on Tracfone Smartphones which also includes information on how to buy just data for your phone.

Join us on Facebook to keep up with the latest news and reviews.

And finally, see our Deals, Discounts and Sales for all the best prices on Tracfone devices and unlocked phones.

Thanks for visiting!

August 15, 2018

How Data Works on Tracfone Smartphones

Guide to Tracfone Data Cards and How to Buy Data for your Smartphone

Welcome to the TracfoneReviewer blog! This post will share specifics on how data works on smartphones with Tracfone. Be sure to also take a look at some of our other posts while you're here.

how does data work on tracfone
How to Buy Data from Tracfone
Note - We created a full breakdown and comparison of Tracfone airtime in this post: New Prices/Changes to Tracfone Smartphone Cards.

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that offers both phones and airtime cards. On their newer smartphone devices, you also get data when adding an airtime card which you can use to surf the web when not connected to WiFi.

Data is very useful on smartphones, but how does the data work on Tracfone smartphones, how can you get more, and what can you do with the data you have?

We are going to cover these questions and more in this post sharing all the details about how Tracfone Data works on smartphones.

Some of the popular smartphones that Tracfone offers include the LG Premier Pro, Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro and LG Rebel 3. You can see all the newest devices in our List of the Latest Smartphones from Tracfone (2018).

Or you might be interested in the Tracfone BYOP program, which allows users to bring their own smartphone. Follow the link to learn more, and see a list of the possibilities.

Both the smartphones offered by Tracfone, and the BYOP devices, use data in the same way. So let's get started looking at how data works on these phones.

What is Data on Tracfone Smartphones?

Data is the term generally used to describe the amount (usually in megabytes) you can download or upload on your smartphone via the cell phone network. So data is basically information you download or upload from the internet. This can include many different activities, like checking email, posting photos on Facebook, reading webpages, or watching videos.

Data is consumed based on the amount of megabytes you download or upload. So if you download a 20 MB image, that will use 20 MB of your data. If you visit a webpage that takes 1 MB to load, you will use 1 MB of data. (further down we will share more on estimating how much different online activities will use up your data.)

On older, non-smartphone devices, data was used at a rate determined by the amount of time you were on a website, but this is not the case for smartphones which is a nice improvement.

As you can see, data works similarly to your calling minutes, in that you are charged based on how much you use. But calling minutes are based on time, rather than megabytes. (For example, if you make a 20 minute call, you will be deducted (about) 20 minutes of talk time.)

On Tracfone Smartphones and BYOP devices, airtime is split into three pools, Talk, Text and Data. Learn more about How Airtime Works with Tracfone Smartphones in our recent post.

How Can you Buy More Data for your Tracfone Device?

There are two ways to get more data for your smartphone:

Airtime Cards - You can add both Regular Airtime Cards or Smartphone Only Cards and get a certain amount of data along with talk, text and service days.
Data Only Card - You get only Data, at 1 GB for $10

For most situations you will probably want to add an Airtime card to your phone to increase all your 'buckets' of talk/text/data.

But sometimes you may only want to add data, in which case the data only cards are useful. Let's take a closer look at Data cards to better understand how to use them.

What Are Data Only Cards?

As mentioned above, the Data only card increase the amount of data for your smartphone, without adding any additional texts or talk minutes.

This is similar to the Text only cards we recently discussed.

There are some important things to be aware of the make the Data only cards unique.

First, they can only be used with smartphones, including the Android devices offered by Tracfone, and all phones offered through the BYOP program.

Second, like the Text only card, Data only cards do not triple, so you get the amount listed on the card (1 GB).

Data Card Amount and Cost Per MB Compared to Airtime Cards

Tracfone just offers one Data only card option at this time:
  • 1 GB for $10
This results in 1 cent per MB of data.

Cost per MB for Tracfone Data cards and Airtime cards Compared:

Below is a table with all of the current airtime cards from Tracfone and how much data comes with each one. We've included both Smartphone only cards and regular airtime cards.
how much data do you get with tracfone
Tracfone Data Amounts and Cost per MB
There are two key points to take note of from this Chart:
  • Smartphone only cards come with a lot more data compared to regular airtime cards
  • Smartphone only cards are a better deal for data (except the 1500 and 200 minute cards)

In general, if you only need data, the data only card is a good deal. But if you also need talk and texts, then the 300 or 750 minute smartphone cards are a good deal.

Where to Buy Tracfone Data Cards

Tracfone Data cards are available form a variety of sources, as is the case for Tracfone Airtime cards. You can find Data cards on the Tracfone website under Airtime.

You can also find the Tracfone Data cards in many retail stores, and even online through other retailers. We have found Data cards on eBay in various amounts.

Now let's cover one more question that we see asked quite often.

How Much Can you Do Online with 300 MB of Data?

A common question we see is, what can you do online with a certain amount of data? This is a very good question, because many people tend to estimate how many airtime minutes they will need, and then buy the airtime card that suits their needs best. But if you're unfamiliar with how much data is used by smartphones, it makes it hard to estimate.

It is a little hard to give a straight answer to this question, it all depends on what you do online  Take a look at this image (provided by Tracfone) to help give you a better idea:

tracfone 300mb of data what you can do
Estimated usage for 300 MB of data with Tracfone
From this table we see you can visit about 245 webpages with 300 MB of data, or send/receive about 4000 emails. Hopefully this information will help you gain a better understanding of how data is used with Tracfone, and where your data is going.

If you notice, doing certain things online, like streaming music, or even more so, streaming video, will use your data quickly, while visiting webpages or sending emails, especially those with few images, will use less of your data.

Another good resource for estimating your data usage is the Data Calculator on Verizon's website. Enter your estimated activities, and it will tell you about how much data you will use in a month.

Remember, that if you want to stop using data, you can go into the settings on your device, select data, and turn it off. Using WiFi networks, like at your home or work, does not deduct from your data.

Tips for Reducing Data Use
Here are some helpful tips to reduce the amount of data you use.
  • Keep track of your data use and set data use warnings to help
  • Turn off background data (learn more here)
  • Download/upload large files over WiFi as much as possible
  • If you use Google Maps often in a certain area, download the map of that area over WiFi. Here is some helpful information about using Google Maps without using data.
  • Download songs/podcasts over WiFi instead of streaming them.
  • Set your Apps to only update over WiFi.
  • Download Images/Videos only when using WiFi
As you can see, the best way to reduce data usage is to avoid using it for large downloads or uploads, which will quickly drain your data. Using free WiFi whenever possible will go a long way in extending your data.

Here is a helpful article on what online activities use data, and some other basic details about data usage from an AT&T Forum.

We hope you found this information helpful, and please leave a comment with any questions, or if you have something to add!

Learn the basics of how Tracfone works with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Find us on Facebook and join over 2000 followers who get the latest news and updates.

Take a look at one of our other popular posts, the Over 30 Great Android Apps to use with your Smartphone.

And check our recent post on 7 Ways to Reduce Your Airtime Usage with Tracfone including some more tips for making your data last longer.

Thanks for visiting!

Originally published 8/2015 and Updated 8/2018