April 20, 2018

Motorola G6 Coming Soon! And to Tracfone?

New Motorola G6 Features and Release Information

Motorola G6 tracfone
Motorola G6 Coming Soon!
The next Generation in the Motorola Moto G line is coming soon and may also be coming to Tracfone in the near future.

Motorola announced the Moto G6 on April 19th, 2018. It is the newest phone int he Moto G lineup which is well known for offering great smartphone features at an affordable price.

The G6 has a 5.7" full HD touchscreen, 1.8 Ghz Octa-core processor, Dual rear camera, and run Android 8.0 Oreo. There are two versions, one with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB internal storage, and the other with 4 GB RAM and 64 GB Storage.

Many of the past Moto G versions, such as the Moto G4 and Moto G5, have been very popular with the Tracfone BYOP program because they offer great features at a reasonable price. It is rumored that the Moto G6 will also be released directly from Tracfone, which would also be a great option for Tracfone customers. We will share additional information on this as we learn more.

Let's see the list of features and specs on the Moto G6

Motorola G6 Features and Specs


  • Dual Rear Camera - 13 MP and 5 MP
  • 1.8 Ghz Octa-Core Processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon 450)
  • 3/4 GB RAM
  • 32/64 GB Internal Storage
  • Android 8.0 Oreo
  • 5.7" 1080x2160px Touchscreen
  • Corning Gorilla Glass 3
  • 3000 mAh battery
  • Price: $250

One of the most notable specs is the large, 18:9 ratio full HD touchscreen. The previous generation, the Moto G5, had only a 5.2" screen, but the new Moto G6 bumps that up to 5.7".

The dual rear camera is another feature usually seen in much more expensive devices.

Motorola is also releasing two variants, the Moto G6 Play and Moto G6 Plus. The G6 Play will have the same size screen, slightly downgraded internal specs, a larger battery, and retail for $199.

The Moto G6 Plus is not expected to be released in the North American market, and only released internationally.

We will continue to update this as we gather more details, especially any news about Tracfone releasing their own Moto G6 version. If Tracfone does release the G6, it would certainly jump into our List of the Best Tracfone Smartphones.

Keep up with the latest news and info on our Facebook page.

Also check out the recent Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

Additional information and links:
Tracfone Moto G6 Listing
Moto G6 Specs - GSMARENA

April 10, 2018

Tracfone Deals and Sales - April 2018

List of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales on Cell Phones and More!

Updated deals for April 2018 by TracfoneReviewer

cheap tracfone smartphone
Tracfone Deals and Sales
Tracfone offers a variety of phones through many different retail sources, both online and regular stores. Sometimes it is hard to know where to find the best price for the phone you want. But that is what we have here for you today!

New deals and sales are happening all the time and we share the best from around the web in this list updated for April 2018.

We have included both Tracfone smartphones available at great prices (and with great airtime bundles) as well as unlocked phones at sale prices that can be used on the BYOP program.

If you are not sure which phones are the newest from Tracfone, see our Latest List of Tracfone Cell Phones (2018).

Buying a new phone with an airtime bundle is a great way to save, and there are several deals like that listed below. Additionally, Tracfone appears to be tripling many airtime bundle activations. Learn more in our Updated Changes to Tracfone Triple Minutes.

Now let's get to the deals list.

Tracfone Deals and Discounts April 2018

Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro
With a 5" touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and 16 GB internal storage, the Galaxy J3 Luna Pro is a versatile phone packing a lot of great features into a smaller sized device. It has been available since 2017, but still offers good performance and can be found at very reasonable prices. Learn more with our Review of the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro

View the Luna Pro on QVC with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $87
View the Luna Pro on Amazon with 1000 Talk/2000 Text/2GB Data for $93

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro has similar features to the J3 Luna Pro, but a larger 5.5" screen which is more convenient for reading, watching videos and most other activities. It also has 16 GB internal memory, runs Android 6.0.1 and has 2 GB RAM. The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro was released in 2017 but still is a great option especially now that it is available for under $100 with airtime bundles. View our Review of the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro to learn more about the specs and features.

The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is on HSN with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $99

LG Fiesta 2
The Fiesta 2 is another device released in 2017 that still has great features for the price. It comes with a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM. The Fiesta 2 also has a 13 MP camera. See more specs and features in our LG Fiesta 2 Review.

Get the Fiesta 2 on eBay with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for just $99

LG Stylo 3
Released by Tracfone in 2018 (although available through other carriers in 2017) the LG Stylo 3 has a large, 5.7" screen, 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM and runs Android 7.0. It is fairly similar to the LG Rebel 3 and LG Fiesta 2 on many of the specs other than the larger screen, which some users prefer. Learn more in our LG Stylo 3 Review.

The LG Stylo 3 can be found on QVC with 1500 Talk/Text/Data for $129

Unlocked Smartphone News for Tracfone BYOP

We usually include some great deals on unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP. However, we wanted to share some news about upcoming phones.

The ever-popular Moto G budget lineup from Motorola (now owned by Lenovo) will be releasing the new Moto G6, Moto G6 Play and Moto G6 Plus in the next few months. These phones generally pack great features at a friendly price. Expect prices to range from $199 to $350 depending on which version and how much storage the phone comes with.

The Moto G line of phones are usually great options to use with Tracfone BYOP because they can be used with either GSM or CDMA cell towers.

Look for more information about these new unlocked phones in the near future.

That's it for our list of Tracfone deals. let us know if we missed a good one in the comment section below.

If you are unsure about switching to a new Tracfone device read up on our handy Guide to Activating/Transferring a New Tracfone Smartphone.

And our 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime may give you a faster and easier way to track your minutes.

Join us on Facebook for the latest news and posts.

Thanks for visiting!

April 3, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2018

Fresh list of promo codes for use with Tracfone airtime cards for the month of April 2018 by TracfoneReviewer

tracfone promo code 2018
Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2018
Every month we post the latest promotional codes to use with Tracfone for free minutes. There is nothing to click, no redirects, just a list of codes for our readers.

These codes are for use with Tracfone when adding a new airtime card either online, on your phone, or over the phone. There are promotional codes for both regular airtime cards and smartphone only cards.

Some codes are single use, or meant for certain types of phones or geographical areas, so it is always helpful to have a backup code to try.

The list below are the newest codes for April 2018, and we also have a more comprehensive list on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Looking for a way to keep track of your minutes? See our Four Ways to Check our Airtime on a Smartphone for some tips!

Let's get tot he codes.

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2018

Regular Airtime Card Codes
60 Minute Card add code 12745 for 60 extra minutes (working for some)

120 Minute Card use 35739 and get 40 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card enter 53415 to receive 50 free minutes

450 Minute Card (no new codes at this time - use any of the codes above)

1 Year/400 Minute Card (no new codes at this time)

$15 off 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 97248 (online only)

Smartphone Only Card Promo Codes
$15 Smartphone Card use 19838 for 100 bonus talk minutes

$25 Smartphone Card enter 44335 and get 100 extra MB data

$35 Smartphone Card use code 71371 to receive 200 bonus talk minutes


We hope these codes worked, and let us know in the comments below which one you tried.

Keep up with the Latest Phones from Tracfone including the LG Rebel 3 and LG Stylo 3 which were both released recently.

Also visit our post on the Best Deals and Discounts for Tracfone to see where you can find the lowest priced devices.

And join us on Facebook for the latest updates, news and to get in contact if you have specific questions.

Thanks for visiting!

March 28, 2018

Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life- What you Need to Know (Updated)

Facts about Tracfone's Triple Minutes for Life Changes

Updated March 2018

triple minutes for life
Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life
Tracfone has decided to end the Triple Minutes for Life (TMFL) program that gave all smartphones (both Tracfone branded and unlocked) as well as many feature phones triple the minutes when adding the regular airtime cards. (When adding the 60 minute card, for example, you would get 180 minutes, plus any bonus airtime).

There has been a lot of speculation and questions about whether phones will keep Triple Minutes for Life, if new phones will have it, and if Tracfone is really removing a very popular feature from their phones.

We've gathered information about the changes and contacted Tracfone directly, and now want to try and clear things up and provide the facts for everyone concerned about this.

First off, none of the Smartphone only cards would triple anyway, so these cards are completely unaffected, and if these are the cards you usually get, you are unaffected. In general, the smartphone cards are a better deal (especially for texts and data)l, and you can take a look at our Tracfone Airtime Comparison to learn more about which cards are the best deal for different situations.

But many Tracfone customers still use the regular airtime cards, especially the 60 minute card and 1 Year/400 Minute card. Plus, most bonus codes are for the regular airtime cards.

So what exactly is changing, and how will it affect you? Let's take a look (but first, here is an update!).

**Update!** All New Phone Activations May Come with Triple Minutes Now!

We wanted to add an update to the information here as Tracfone has made some changes, and may continue to adjust the Triple Minutes program.

triple minutes from tracfone udpate
Triple Minutes appears to be Back
Tracfone appears to be offering Triple Minutes as a promotion for any new phone activation. So if you activate a new phone, it seems that Tracfone is giving everyone Triple Minutes as a 'bonus'. We have not confirmed if this is occurring for every new phone activation, or just certain phones. See the information from Tracfone in the screen capture to the right:

We have received feedback from several readers who activated a new, LG Rebel 3 with airtime bundle (1500 talk, text and data) and received 4500 talk, text and data!

Let us know in the comments below your experiences, and if this happened for you.

 Tracfone had a very poor year in 2017, losing a number of customers, and so they may be trying to backtrack and reinstate the popular triple minutes program, at least for now. We will continue to update as needed.

**Update!**

Tracfone Triple Minutes for Life Changes - The Facts

Here are the facts about Tracfone's changes to TMFL program.
  • NOTE: See the update above - Tracfone now appears to be offering triple minutes to all new phone activations (after Dec 5th 2017)
  • All phones that already have Triple Minutes for Life will continue to have it.
  • New Smartphone releases will not include Triple Minutes for Life (Phones released after April 2017 and with Android 6.0 or newer will not come with TMFL, although some Android 6.0 and Android 7.0 smartphones do come with Triple Minutes)
  • SIM cards for BYOP phones will no longer include TMFL
  • All your airtime will transfer if you switch from a phone with TMFL to one without (Unless you are switching to a non-smartphone).
  • Regular airtime cards can still be added to non-TMFL smartphones, but only the face value will be given. (a 60 minute card will give 60 talk, 60 texts, and 60 MB data.)
The important information here is that no phone that already has triple minutes will lose that feature. But newer phones released by Tracfone will likely not include triple minutes.

This is a significant shift that Tracfone is making, and may drive away some long time customers. Why would they do this? Here is their response from the FAQ section on their website:

Why Tracfone is Making the Change to Triple Minutes for Life:
"As technology continues to improve, we found that more people were using smartphones and smartphone plans. People are especially using more data. So, we wanted to accommodate you by providing higher data plans with greater value." - Tracfone FAQ
That doesn't make a whole lot of sense as to why they need to get rid of TMFL, but it is true that the regular airtime cards are not a very good deal for data or texts.

Tracfone also cited 'technical compatibility' as another reason for the end of triple minutes, but that isn't very likely either.

Whatever the reason, Triple Minutes for Life will no longer come with new phones, but all existing triple minute phones will continue to keep it.

Tracfone Smartphones that Do Not have Triple Minutes

Here are phones that we have confirmed do not include triple minutes, although with Tracfone recently offering triple minutes to new phone activations, it may be possible to get triple minutes with these phones.
  • Samsung Galaxy Luna J3 Pro
  • ZTE Zfive2
  • ZTE Majesty Pro
  • LG Rebel 2
There may be more devices, and many of the newly released phones will likely not include triple minutes.

Share your thoughts or questions about these changes below, and if you have additional information or corrections please also let us know.

Continue the discussion on our Facebook page where we post the latest news and info with our growing community.

Catch up on some of our recent posts including 10 Tips for Improving your Cell Signal and How WiFi calling Works.

We also updated our list of the Best Android Apps which includes a variety of the most popular and most helpful apps to have on your smartphone.

Don't forget to visit our Cell Phone Reviews page if you're shopping for a new phone, or the BYOP page to learn about bringing an unlocked phone to Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

March 22, 2018

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Tracfone Review

Review of the LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) from Tracfone

List of details specs, features and review from TracfoneReviewer for the Stylo 3

Tracfone lg stylo 3 review l84vl
Tracfone LG Stylo 3 L84VL Review
With a large, 5.7" screen and improved storage and RAM, the LG Stylo 3 offers similar features and performance compared to other recently released phones form Tracfone, but with a larger screen.

Tracfone has released over the last six months several phones with 2 GB RAM/16 GB Storage (about the minimum we would recommend for a new phone) and the LG Stylo 3 continues that trend.

The LG Rebel 3 and LG Fiesta 2  also have the same RAM/Storage as the Stylo 3, but with smaller screen sizes. It is nice to see that Tracfone is making several difference sized phones available for users, as people prefer difference screen sizes for a variety of reasons. We will share more comparison information further on in this review.

The Stylo 3 comes with Android 7.0, a quad core processor, 13 MP rear camera and much more.
Before we get too far into the full list of features, here are the quick pro's and con's for the LG Stylo 3.

LG Stylo 3 Quick Facts

What we Like
-5.7" HD Touchscreen
-2 GB RAM
-16 GB Memory
-13 MP Camera
-Android 7.0

What we Don't Like
-Only CDMA version available currently (Tracfone needs more GSM options)
-No Triple Minutes
-A little expensive at this time (compared to competition)

There is a lot to like about the Stylo 3, but it also doesn't really deliver anything we haven't already seen or that isn't already available (except the larger screen).

If it were a GSM device that could use AT&T cell towers through Tracfone, we would be a little more excited. But it uses CDMA networks, like many of the other recently released smartphones from Tracfone.

There is a GSM version (L83BL), but we don't know if/when Tracfone will release that.

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Features and Specs

Key features followed by the technical specs.
  • Android 7.0 Nougat
  • 4G LTE Service using Verizon CDMA cell network
  • WiFi (802.11 b/g/n)
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, Call Waiting
  • SMS/MMS capable
LG Stylo 3 Technical Specs
  • Size: 3.2" x 6.1" x 0.3"  (5.28 oz)
  • Camera: 13 MP Rear Camera/ 5 MP Front Camera
  • Screen: 5.7" HD Touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
  • Processor: Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 425 1.4GHz Quad-Core (MSM8917)
  • Memory: 2 GB
  • Storage: 16 GB (9.44 usable) and Micro SD Card slot (up to 1 TB)
  • Battery: 3200 mAh with 20 hrs talk time/ 13 days standby

LG is a global electronics manufacturing company with a popular line of smartphones ranging from budget to high end devices. There are several great unlocked LG phones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP and they range in price from around $100 to $700 for the flagship LG V30.

Tracfone has offered many different LG phones over the years, and they usually have good performance and reliability, with some minor exceptions.

LG Stylo 3 Review

Time to dive into more details on the main features for the Stylo 3 starting with the touchscreen.

lg stylo 3 l84vl
Tracfone LG Stylo 3 (L84VL) Review











Touchscreen
The main feature on the Stylo 3 is the large, 5.7" HD touchscreen which has nice, bright screen and functions well. Another interesting feature is the stylus pen that comes with the Stylo 3, and is stored inside the phone. This can be convenient for those who want a little more dexterity in selecting things on the screen, or who enjoy taking notes or drawing on their phone.

Tracfone has several phones with similar specs and slightly smaller screens, specifically the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro and LG Fiesta 2. Both of these phones have slightly smaller, 5.5" screens.

Internal Specs - Processor, RAM and Storage
The LG Stylo 3 comes with the Snapdragon 425 processor (1.4 Ghz quad core) which is popular in many budget smartphones and pairs well with 2 GB RAM. Don't expect top-end performance, but it should keep up with most users' demands.

About 9 GB out of the 16 GB internal storage are usable, but the phone also has a Micro SD card slot for up to 1 TB additional storage.

Camera
Like the Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 has a 13 MP rear camera with a number of features including HDR, Flash, Autofocus and more. The front camera is 5 MP and also has many features like Selfie light, customizable timer and burst shot.

Video capability on the Stylo 3 is also good, with 1080p at 30 fps the highest quality. This might no be as good as many top of the line smartphone which now shoot 4k, but it is enough for capturing videos to share with friends and family on social media.

Battery
Battery performance is surprisingly good for a phone with such a large screen and is in part thanks to the Android 7.0 OS and conservative processor. Under normal use the 3200 mAh battery should last through a full day with little issue. Under heavy use, the phone may have a much shorter battery life.

Android OS
The LG Stylo 3 features Android 7.0 Nougat (just like the Fiesta 2 and Rebel 3) which is a fairly recent version of the operating system and gives access to over a million apps on the Google Play store. For some ideas, see our List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone.

Tracfone smartphones can not be upgraded due to various reasons, so the OS version your phone comes with will remain the same throughout the life of the phone. Thus it is usually best to try and get a phone with a fairly recent version of Android for best compatibility and performance.

Triple Minutes
The Stylo 3 does not come with Triple Minutes for Life, and you can learn more about the Changes to Triple Minutes here, but Tracfone may be offering Triple Minutes to new phone upgrades. We have several reports from users activating phones and receiving triple minutes even though the phone did not originally feature this. We are gathering more information, and in the mean time, suggest contacting Tracfone to learn more if you have questions.

That concludes our review for the LG Stylo 3. View the interactive tutorial for the Stylo 3 to learn more about using this phone.

LG Stylo 3 Comparison and Conclusion

The LG Stylo 3, LG Fiesta 2 and LG Rebel 3 all share fairly similar features and specs besides the difference in screen size. If you want a large screen, the Stylo 3 has the largest of the three. If you prefer something smaller, the Rebel 3 has a 5" screen that makes it easier to fit in a pocket.

Compared to the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro, the Stylo 3 has a slightly larger screen, and higher megapixel count on the camera, but otherwise fairly similar specs.

Currently, the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro and LG Fiesta 2 are both great smartphone options, and can be found for under $100 with airtime bundles. The Stylo 3 is around $50 more expensive, for 0.2" more screen size.

The LG Stylo 3 comes with all the features and specs to make it a popular choice for Tracfone users, particularly those who prefer a large screen. It is currently more expensive than several other similar Tracfone devices, but we expect some kind of sale in the near future.

If you want a Tracfone device with the largest screen and good performance, the Stylo 3 is a great option.

Where to Buy the LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)

The best deal we have currently found is for the Stylo 3 with an airtime bundle on HSN.

View the LG Stylo 3 with airtime bundle for $150

We have also found the phone available for less on Amazon (but without an airtime bundle)

Price updates and additional retail locations will be added as we gather them.

Leave a comment below with any questions or information to add, and we hope this review has been useful.

Join us on Facebook where we share the latest posts and news, as well as answer questions and messages.

If you are new to Tracfone, or unfamiliar with how it works, check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which explains some of the basics for airtime and managing minutes.

For help on activating or switching to a new phone, we have a Guide for Tracfone Smartphone Activation/Transfers.

For more reviews, head over to our Cell Phone Reviews page! Thanks for visiting!

March 12, 2018

Tracfone Deals and Sales - March 2018

Best Deals and Sales on Tracfone Devices and Minutes - March 2018

Updated deals for the month of March 2018
tracfone deals
Tracfone Deals and Sales - March 2018

Finding the best deal on a new Tracfone smartphone can be challenging with many different retailers offering the same or similar devices at different prices.

Some retailers also offer airtime bundles along with the phone, which makes for a great deal in most cases, but discovering the right phone with those deals might be challenging.

We are here to help with some of the best deals on Tracfone devices and airtime from around the web. If you're shopping for a new phone, check out the list below for some great options.

Tracfone offers a variety of cell phones to use with their prepaid service, but users can also bring their own unlocked smartphone and use it with Tracfone service. So we have also included some great options to use with the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the link to learn more about how it works.

It is a new year, and we've got predictions for Tracfone in 2018 that you might find interesting, including new phones on the way.

Now, let's get tot he Tracfone deals.

Tracfone Deals and Sales - March 2018

Tracfone smartphones listed first, followed by unlocked cell phones.

tracfone sale lg rebel 3
LG Rebel 3 on Amazon

LG Rebel 3 (CDMA) - $65/$59 with airtime bundles

One of the newest phones available from Tracfone, the LG Rebel 3 features several upgrades over previous models including 16 GB memory, 2 GB RAM, and Android 7.0.1. It also comes with a 5" touchscreen, quad-core processor and more. View our full Review of the LG Rebel 3 to learn more. 

Available on Amazon with 1000 Talk, 2000 Text and 2 GB Data for $65 (Limited stock/Availability)

LG Rebel 2 (CDMA) - $59 w/ airtime bundle

The LG Rebel 2 is a budget smartphone with Android 6.0, a quad core processor and 5" touchscreen. It is adequate for most daily smartphone uses, like texting, using Facebook and other apps, but may not be ideal for playing games or other more demanding apps. The Rebel 2 has 8 GB memory for storing apps, which does not leave a lot of room for downloading too many apps or other content.

View the Rebel 2 with 1000 talk, 2000 text and 2000mb data on Amazon
Also available with 1500 talk/text/data on QVC

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro J3 (CDMA) - $69/$79 w/ airtime bundle

Featuring a 5" touchscreen, 16 GB internal memory, a quad core processor and Android 6.0, the Galaxy Luna Pro J3 has good performance capabilities at a popular size. Read our Review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro to learn more.

View the Galaxy Luna Pro J3 deal with 1000 Talk, 2000 Text and 2 GB Data on Amazon for $69
View the Galaxy Luna Pro J3 deal with 1200 talk/text/data on HSN for $79

Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro J7 (CDMA) - $89/$99 w/ airtime bundle

With a large, 5.5" screen, 16 GB memory, quad core processor and Android 6.0, the Galaxy Sky Pro has been a popular choice for many Tracfone users, and this bundle is priced about as low as we've seen. Read our Review of the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro to learn more about the phone.

View the Galaxy Sky Pro J7 with 1000 talk, 2000 text and 2 GB data on Amazon for $99
View the Galaxy Sky Pro J7 deal with 1000 talk/text/data on HSN

LG Fiesta 2 (CDMA) - $89 w/ airtime bundle

Another smartphone with a large 5.5" screen, the LG Fiesta 2 also comes with 16 GB internal memory, a quad core processor and runs Android 7.0. Learn more about the features on this phone with our Full LG Fiesta Review.

Available on Amazon for $88
See the LG Fiesta 2 deal on HSN

Unlocked Smartphone Deals for Tracfone BYOP

If you are looking to bring your own phone to Tracfone, here are some great unlocked devices that will offer great performance and features.

ZTE Axon 7 Mini (GSM unlocked) - $149 ($50 off)

The Axon 7 Mini comes with a 5.2" screen, 32 GB internal memory, an octa-core processor and 3 GB RAM. It packs a lot of bang for your buck, and comes unlocked and ready to use with Tracfone BYOP. All you need is a SIM kit to activate with Tracfone 4G LTE GSM service.

The Axon also has a decent 16 MP camera, dual SIM card design, fingerprint reader and Android 6.0.

Check out the deal on BestBuy
(thanks Anonymous for sharing this int he comments!)

Moto E Plus (4th Gen) - $99 ($80 Amazon gift card with new prime membership)

The Moto E Plus is a popular budget phone because of the large, 5.5" screen and super long battery life. It also runs the latest Andorid OS (7.0) and has 16 GB storage, and a quad core processor. For those who are also interested in signing up for Amazon Prime, this is a bargain for this phone which retails at $199.

View the Moto E Plus (4th Gen) on Amazon


Blu R2 4G LTE (32 GB Version) - $134

Packed with a number of great features for the price, the Blu R2 4G LTE smartphone has a 5.2" screen, 32 GB storage, 3 GB RAM and a quad core processor. Plus it has 13 MP front and rear cameras.

See the Blu R2 4G LTE on Amazon


Moto G Plus (5th Gen) - $249 on BH Photo (64 GB Version) ($50 off)

If you are looking for more storage capacity and a phone to keep up with various media activities and gaming, the Moto G Plus (5th Gen) is a great option. It has a 5.2" touchscreen, 64 GB storage, 4 GB RAM and an octo-core processor. It also features the latest Android OS and 12 MP rear camera. It is a powerful phone for the price, and this current deal has it $50 off retail price.

See the Moto G Plus (5th Gen) on BH Photo
Also at a good price but may be currently out of stock: Moto G Plus (5th Gen) on Amazon

-----
That concludes our list of deals. Let us know in the comments below if we missed any great deals and we will try to add it to the list!

Join us on Facebook for the latest posts, news and deals. Plus get help from our community or send us a message directly with your questions.

We recently updated our post on the 6 Major Differences between Smartphones and Dumb Phones with some of the differences being a little surprising for some.

And check out our Guide to How Data Works with Tracfone including how to buy extra data if you run out.

Thanks for visiting!

March 2, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2018

Tracfone Promo Code List - March 2018

tracfone promo codes
Tracfone Promo Code March 2018
Spring is in the air (for some of us, at least), and with winter starting to thaw, we have new promotional codes to use with Tracfone airtime cards for extra minutes.

Tracfone promo codes can be used when adding an airtime card to receive additional minutes for free. These codes are usually for a specific card, but sometimes can also be used with cards of greater value.

Most smartphones can use these promo codes, like the recently released LG Rebel 3, and there are also some codes for the smartphone only cards Tracfone offers.

This list includes the latest promo codes for March 2018. We also have a larger list with more codes on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

If you are new to Tracfone, or are unsure how all the airtime or promo codes work, start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which shares some basics resources for how it all works.

Now let's get to the list of codes.

Tracfone Promo Codes - March 2018

Regular Airtime Codes
60 Minute Card use code 12745 to get 60 bonus minutes (still working for some)

120 Minute Card enter 90477 for 40 free minutes

200 Minute Card add code 98487 to receive 50 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card use 40741 for 50 extra minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 98580 and get 300 bonus minutes

Smartphone Only Codes
$15 Smartphone Card use code 40550 for 100 bonus talk minutes
$35 Smartphone Card enter 48757 to get 200 free talk minutes
1000 Text Only Card use 85882 for 500 free texts

These are the latest codes for March 2018. Let us know in the comments below which code you tried and how it worked.

Keep up with the latest news and info on our Facebook page where we also have a growing community of Tracfone users.

See the list of Latest Phones from Tracfone to keep up with new releases. Or visit our Cell Phone Reviews page.

And don't miss out on the best deals and sales on Tracfone cell phones and airtime which we update almost every month.

Thanks for visiting!

February 15, 2018

Tracfone Latest Phones 2018 - List of New Tracfone Smartphones

New Tracfone Smartphones - List of New Phones from Tracfone in 2018

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about prepaid cell phones from Tracfone!

new tracfone smartphones 2018
List of New Tracfones in 2018
Tracfone releases a lot of new phones every year, and it can be hard to keep track of what is new, and what has already been around for a while.

When shopping for a new phone, we all want to know which phones were recently released, as these usually have the best features.

This list will share the latest phones released by Tracfone and we will continue to update as new phones are released each month throughout 2018.

We will include brief descriptions of each new phone, and links to additional information. You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our latest reviews of new phones..

Starting in April 2017, Tracfone is no longer including Triple Minutes for Life with new phones. Learn more about this, and how it might affect you, in our recent post about the Changes to Triple Minutes for Life.

New Phones Coming in 2018

Here are some new phones from Tracfone that have not been released yet.
  • iPhone 7
  • iPhone 7 Plus
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
  • Variety of Alcatel, Samusng, LG and ZTE budget smartphones also coming soon.
We don't know when some of these phones will be released, but will share as soon as they are. Now let's look at the phones Tracfone has recently released.

Tracfone Latest Phones for 2018

Below are the latest phones released by Tracfone to use on their prepaid network. This list has the newest phones first, followed by older devices.

LG Stylo 3 (L84VL)
With a lot of similar specs to the LG Rebel 3 and Fiesta 2, the Stylo 3 does stand out with a large, 5.7" touchscreen. This phone also has 16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM, a 13 MP camera, and runs Android 7.0.

Learn more in our Review of the LG Stylo 3

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL)
The LG Rebel 3 brings several updates to the popular Rebel lineup and is also one of the first new phones from Tracfone in 2018. With a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0.1, 16 GB storage and 2 GB RAM, it offers great specs for the price - which is currently $59 on HSN with an airtime bundle.

Learn more about the LG Rebel 3 in our Review.

We will continue to add new phones as they are released.

And below are phones released by Tracfone in 2017.

Tracfone Cell Phones Released in 2017

LG Fiesta 2
Almost identical to the original Fiesta, the new Fiesta 2 comes with 2 GB RAM instead of 1.5 GB. Otherwise it shares the same 5.5" screen, Android 7.0 and 13 MP Camera that also comes with the Fiesta.

Find the Fiesta 2 on Amazon for $99.

iPhone SE
The iPhone SE has the size and feel of an iPhone 5S, while actually containing the internal specs and features of a more powerful iPhone 6S. That includes the very impressive 12 MP rear facing camera, plus A9 processor. The screen size is just 4", which is rather small for a smartphone these days, but this device makes up for it with 32 GB internal memory to store apps and other media. The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website(Last check it was in stock!) and may come with either a CDMA or GSM SIM card depending ont he ZIP code provided. It can also be found for $199 on Bestbuy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro 
The Galaxy Luna Pro (S327VL) is an upgrade from the original Galaxy Luna, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB memory, 1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. It is fairly similar to the Galaxy Sky, but with a slightly faster 1.4 Ghz quad core processor. The one drawback about the Luna Pro is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. Learn more about this phone in our Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro Review.

Available on Amazon for $109 with airtime bundle. Also available on QVC, HSN and other retailers.

LG Rebel 2
Featuring Android 6.0.1 and a 5" screen, the Rebel 2 has several nice upgrades over the original version, the LG Rebel, but also misses the mark in a few key areas. The Rebel 2 only has 8 GB memory (about 4 GB usable), 1 GB RAM and does not appear to include Triple Minutes for Life. It runs on CDMA networks (Verizon) and is available from several online retailers.

It is retailing through HSN.com for just $59 including 1200 minutes, which is a great deal. (last check it was sold out)

Also available on Amazon for $79 with $40 airtime card.

ZTE ZMAX Champ
The ZTE ZMAX Champ comes with a large, 5.5" HD touchscreen, Android 6.0.1 and an 8 MP camera. It only has 8 GB memory, which may be too little for many users. The phone users CDMA networks and includes Triple MInutes for Life. Visit our Review of the ZTE ZMAX Champ to see all the details and how it compares to other devices from Tracfone.

Find the ZTE ZMAX Champ on Amazon for $89 with airtime bundle or HSN.com with airtime bundle for $99

ZTE ZFive
Another ZTE phone, the ZFive has a 5" screen, Android 6.0 and 5 MP camera. It also is limited to just 8 GB memory, although there is a micro SD card slot. The ZFive uses CDMA networks and comes with Triple Minutes for Life.

Get the ZTE ZFive on Amazon or HSN with minutes bundle for $79

LG Fiesta
The LG Fiesta comes with a lot of great features including a 5.5" touchscreen, Android 7.0, 16 GB Memory, and 13 MP camera. It is a popular choice for the well rounded list of features it includes, except for a lack of Triple Minutes for Life. There are two versions available, one uses CDMA networks and the other GSM.

Read our review of the LG Fiesta to learn more about the phone, and buy it on Amazon for $99 with airtime bundle.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro
Another good option, the Sky Pro comes with a 5.5" screen, Android 7.0, 16 GB memory and 2 GB RAM. It is a popular choice despite not including triple minutes. The Sky Pro uses CDMA networks and there are two other versions with smaller screens and different specs also available; the Galaxy J3 Sky and Galaxy J1 Luna.

Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro including where to buy.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Bond LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Pixi Bond has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.1Ghz Quad-core processor and 5 MP rear camera. The Bond is only capable of 3G LTE speeds.

It is a very basic smartphone, but comes at an inexpensive price of $30 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Avion LTE
Released at the end of 2016 or early 2017, the Avion has almost identical specs compared to the Pixi Bond (listed above), but comes with 4G LTE coverage. It has a 4.5" screen, Android 5.1, Quad-core processor, 8 GB Memory and only 2 MP camera.

Most Alcatel phones are somewhat cheap and may not be the most durable. The Pixi Avion retails for $40 on the Tracfone website.

Alcatel Pixi Unite
The Pixi Unite was released at the end of 2016 or early 2017 and comes with a small, 4" touchscreen, Android 6.0, 8 GB Internal Memory, 1.3Ghz Quad core processor and 2 MP camera. The Unite is capable of 4G LTE speeds and has a Micro SD card slot.

With the newer Android OS and Micro SD slot, the Pixi Unite is a good value at just $30 on the Tracfone website.

That's it for the latest phones, we will continue to add new phones as they are released. Let us know if you see a new phone that isn't on our list!

*****

If you're new to Tracfone, Start Here with our beginners guide. Also take a look at our Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone for tips and a step by step list.

Join our Facebook page where we post the latest news, deals and other information. Plus, if you have specific questions you can send us a message.

And see where Tracfone is going in 2018 with our article, What to Expect from Tracfone in 2018.

Thanks for visiting!
(Updated - Feb 2018)

February 13, 2018

LG Rebel 3 (L!58VL) Review for Tracfone

Tracfone LG Rebel 3 (L 158VL) Review - Specs, Features and More!

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer - with news, reviews and much more!
lg rebel 3 tracfone review
Tracfone LG Rebel 3 Review

The LG Rebel 3 is now available from Tracfone featuring several significant updates over the older Rebel models that Tracfone still offers. Learn all about what this phone has to offer, how it compares to other Tracfone devices, and where to find it for a great price.

The Rebel 3 comes with a 5" touchscreen, Android 7.0 Nougat, Quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal memory. The biggest changes over the older Rebel phones is the extra RAM and internal memory.

This phone is one of the first new devices from Tracfone in 2018 and while it doesn't offer any groundbreaking specs at first glance, it is very reasonably priced and will make a great budget smartphone. We expect Tracfone to release several more phones in the near future, and you can find any new phones on our list of Latest Tracfone Smartphones (2018).

Now let's look at the quick facts for the LG Rebel 3:

LG Rebel 3 Quick Facts

What we Like:
Android 7.0 Nougat
2 GB RAM
16 GB Memory
Reasonable Price

What we Don't Like
CDMA - Tracfone needs more GSM options
No Triple Minutes

As with many of the newer phones from Tracfone, the Rebel 3 does not include Triple Minutes for Life which is disappointing. Learn more about these changes in our post, Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes for Life.

Let's see the full list of specs now.

Tracfone LG Rebel 3 (L158VL) Features and Specs

Features listed first, followed by the technical specs
  • Android 7.0 Nougat
  • 4G LTE (Verizon CDMA)
  • WiFi
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • MP3 Player
  • Alarm Clock
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Voicemail, Caller ID, SMS/MMS
  • 5 MP Rear Camera/ 5 MP Front
LG Rebel 3 Specs
  • Size: 5.7" x 2.8" x 0.3"
  • 5" TFT Touchscreen (480x854 resolution)
  • 1.1 Ghz quad-core processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon)
  • 2 GB RAM
  • 16 GB Internal Memory (About 10 GB Usable)
  • Battery: 2500 mAh with 12 hrs talk time, 11 days standby
Several of the features on the LG Rebel 3 are similar to the Rebel 2 (such as the processor and screen size), but there are some improvements that go a long way in making the Rebel 3 much more usable for the majority of consumers. We will look more closely at some phone comparisons further on.

LG Electronics is a multinational electronics company based in South Korea that manufactures ans sells a wide variety of devices such as TVs, Appliances, cell phones and more.

They are one of the largest smartphone manufacturers and their flagship phone is currently the LG V30, which features a 6" touchscreen, octa-core processor and Android 7.1.2.  (And can be used with the Tracfone BYOP program).

While the LG Rebel 3 does not have the same performance capabilities as the V30, it is very capable none-the-less, and let's look at each of the main features on this phone.

LG Rebel 3 (L158VL) Review

Touchscreen
The LG Rebel 3 comes with a 5" TFT touchscreen at a resolution of 480x854. This results in about 195 PPI, which is not quite as good as many phones with this size screen, although many of Tracfone's other devices have similar specs. The Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro, however, has an HD screen with higher resolution at the same 5" size. Brightness and colors are both good on the Rebel 3.

LG Rebel 3 tracfone
LG Rebel 3 (L158VL) Front, Side and Back
Many phones now have larger screens in the 5.5" to 6" range. A larger screen is nice for making it easier to see images and read text, but obviously creates a more bulky device. It may be worthwhile to visit an electronics store and try holding phones with various screen sizes to help choose what size is preferred. The LG Fiesta 2 and Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro both have 5.5" screens.

Internal Specs - Memory, RAM and Processor
One of the biggest improvements over the previous models is the expanded memory and RAM. the Rebel 3 has 16 GB internal memory which results in about 10 GB usable space for apps, music, pictures and more. Be aware that this space can fill quickly, so the external microSD card slot may come in handy which can hold up to 32GB.

The quad-core 1.1 Ghz processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon) and 2 GB RAM give enough power for multitasking and running most games. RAM allows the phone to run multiple apps at once, or run more resource intensive apps. We are happy to see Tracfone offering phones with enough RAM to make the phone effective for most activities. But remember that top of the line smartphones now come with closer to 4-6 GB RAM and octa-core processors.

Camera
The rear camera on the LG Rebel 3 is 5 MP and features HDR, HD video recording, flash, autofocus, 4x zoom and more. The front facing camera is also 5 MP and has a number of features for selfies including gesture shot, selfie light and cheese shot.

Overall the cameras are great for recording and sharing images or video on social media and to share with friends on family.

Battery
A 2500 mAh battery comes with the Rebel 3 which is on the small side, but fairly typical for phones of this size. Battery life is about 12 hrs with low to moderate use, 11 days on standby.

Reducing the screen brightness and putting the phone in airplane mode can go a long way to extending the battery if you are worried about running out. A car charger or external battery pack (like the Anker 10,000 mAh powercore battery) are also great options to always keep your phone powered.

Android OS
The Rebel 3 comes with the latest Android OS (7.0.1 Nougat) which is good because it is not possible to update the operating system on Tracfone devices. Android 7.0.1 features a number of improvements and appearance changes such as fast app changing (by double tapping the recent apps button), the ability to access notification settings more quickly, bundled notifications and more.

Triple Minutes
One drawback for the Rebel 3 is that it does not include Triple Minutes for Life. This means if you add a regular airtime card (60, 120, etc) it will only give you the amount listed on the card. You can learn more about these changes on our Tracfone Ends Triple Minutes post.

Network Connectivity
As with many of the smartphones from Tracfone, the Rebel 3 uses the CDMA network which is Verizon cell towers and is 4G LTE capable. The Rebel 2 was a GSM version, and we hope that Tracfone will release a GSM variant of the Rebel 3 but that may not happen. Tracfone offers many more CDMA phones than GSM currently. If you are looking for more GSM options, consider the Tracfone BYOP program.

Conclusion and Quick Comparison for the Rebel 3

With a number of improvements over the previous versions, the Rebel 3 is a well rounded budget smartphone that, at the current price, is a great deal. It has good performance and enough space for most user's needs.

Compared to the LG Fiesta 2, the Rebel 3 has a smaller screen, but the same storage, RAM and Android OS. The Fiesta 2 has a 13 MP camera and larger battery.

The closest comparison is with the Samsung Galaxy J3 Luna Pro, which also has a 5" screen, 16 GB memory and quad-core processor. The Luna Pro uses the older Android 6.0 and only has 1.5 GB RAM but is a very popular device and performs well for most users.

Where to Buy the LG Rebel 3

The LG Rebel 3 is currently available with an airtime bundle. We will update as it becomes available from more places


LG Rebel 3 on Amazon with 1000 Talk, 2000 Text and 2 GB Data for $45 (limited stock)
LG Rebel 3 on HSN with 1500 minutes for $59!

That is a very good deal, as the maritime alone is worth $100. This deal may not last for very long.

To learn more about the Rebel 3 take a look at the online tutorial for it.

Leave a comment below with your thoughts or questions, or join us on Facebook where we share the latest information and you can message us directly with specific questions.

Don't miss out on the best Tracfone Deals and Discounts which also includes great unlocked phone options to use with the BYOP program.

And see our list of the Best Tracfone Smartphones in 2018!

Thanks for visiting!

February 2, 2018

Tracfone Promo Codes for February 2018

Tracfone Promo Code List - February 2018

Gathered and shared by TracfoneReviewer

tracfone promo code february 2018
Tracfone Promo Codes - February 2018
A list of new Tracfone promo codes to warm you up. Each month we collect he latest promotional codes and share them here with our readers. There's nothing to do but use these codes when adding an airtime card from Tracfone.

Most codes work with a specific airtime card, or cards of greater value. The smartphone only cards work with only certain smartphone cards.

Some of these codes may be single use, and we have found the best way to get your bonus minutes is to add the airtime over the phone, so that if you run into problems you can talk to a customer support representative right away.

We've got more codes on our main promo code page, this list includes just the newest for February 2018.

See our list of the Best Tracfone Smartphones for 2018 if you're shopping for a new device, or just visit our cell phone reviews page.

Let's get to the list of codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes - February 2018

Promo Codes for regular airtime cards

60 Minuet Card use code 12745 or 22703 for 60 bonus minutes (note - these codes are working, but may be one time use)

120 Minute Card enter 74634 and get 30 extra airtime

200 Minute Card add code 54623 to receive 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card use 68961 to get 50 bonus airtime

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter 78117 for 300 extra minutes

$15 off 1 Year/400 Minute Card with code 33333 (online only)

Smartphone Promo Codes

Special promo codes for smartphone cards that add extra data

Expired - $25/$35 Smartphone Only Card use code 53629 for 1 GB Free Data

Those are the codes for February 2018. Share which codes you used int he comments below and we will update as needed.

Visit our Tracfone Deals and Discounts to see some great bargains on new phones including unlocked BYOP options.

Join our Facebook page where we share the latest posts and news, and have a helpful community of Tracfone users.

Thanks for visiting!

January 23, 2018

5 Best Tracfone Cell Phones 2018

Top 5 Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phones for 2018

(Updated on 1/23/2018)
Everyone wants to know, what is the best Tracfone device? Which cell phones are the best options from Tracfone? We provide for you here the list of Best Tracfone Cell Phones updated for 2018!

As you might expect, this list is dominated by the smartphones Tracfone has released over the last year or two. But which one will receive the top pick? And where in the ranking do the rest of the phones fall?

best tracfone cell phone
Best Tracfone Cell Phones in 2018

If you would like to see all of our recent reviews, visit our Cell Phone Review page. Also keep up with new devices on our Latest Tracfone Cell Phone List.

We are judging this list of the best cell phones based primarily on features, specifications, and performance as well as feedback from consumers. Price and availability will only be small factors, as both of these variables change often.

We will provide a short description of each phone in the list, and a link to our full review if you would like to learn more about a particular phone. This list is written as a helpful guide, that can give you an idea of which phones are generally better than others. However, each phone has certain features which are more important to some people, thus making that phone the best choice, even if it isn't at the top of our list.

For most users, the top phones in our list are impractical due to their high cost. So consider looking into an unlocked phone, like the Moto G Plus 5th Gen that has a lot of great features but still retails at a reasonable price.

We originally created this list of the best Tracfone devices in January, 2014, but have updated each year and it is current as of January 2018.

List of the 5 Best Cell Phones from Tracfone

The best phones available from Tracfone as of January 2018, starting with number 5.

#5 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro S727VL

This phone comes in at the 5th spot for its popularity, low cost compared to other phones in this list, and good features. The Samsung Galaxy Sky Pro has a 5.5" touchscreen, quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, Android 6.0 and 16 GB internal memory.

The specs, especially the 16 GB internal memory, make this a great phone for the average user. It has enough performance to keep up with most apps and activities you might need your phone for throughout the day.

If you don't want such a large screen, consider the Samsung Galaxy Sky, which is the little brother to the Sky Pro, and comes with a 5" screen, 16 GB Memory and Android 6.0.

The price is also nice, at around $150 and usually bundled with airtime. Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro in our recent post which also includes where to buy it.

See the current price for the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro on Amazon

#4 Best Tracfone - iPhone SE

Even though the iPhone SE has a small, 4" screen, it packs some powerful features and specs into the small phone body including an excellent 12 MP camera, 32 GB storage and a fingerprint reader.

The iPhone SE actually has the same internal specs as the larger, iPhone 6S, and they were both released at the same time. The iPhone SE originally retailed for $399, but the Tracfone website has it available for $199.

Many people like the iPhone SE for the sleek design and smooth operating system and great camera. Just be aware that the screen is much smaller than most phones these days, and newer options are available (further down our list...)

The iPhone SE can be found on the Tracfone website and in some retail stores. Additionally, you can buy your own iPhone and bring it to the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the link to learn more.

#3 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy S6

The Samsung Galaxy S6 comes in at number three on our list of the best Tracfone cell phones with a stellar list of features and specs.

It has a 5.1" quad HD touchscreen, octa core processor, 32 GB internal memory and 3 GB RAM. You also get a 16 MP camera with excellent video and photo capabilities.

Perhaps the only drawback (besides the price) for the Galaxy S6 is that it only has Android 5.0, a somewhat older version of the operating system, and it is not possible to upgrade it.

See more of the features in our Samsung Galaxy S6 Review which also includes how much you will have to pay to get one.

For those seriously interested in the Galaxy S6, you may want to consider buying an unlocked S6 and bringing it to the BYOP program. We've created a helpful Guide to Activating with Tracfone BYOP to make it as easy as possible.

#2 Best Tracfone - iPhone 6 Plus

The runner up in this list is the iPhone 6 Plus which is larger and more powerful compared to the iPhone 5S, but also has a higher price. The iPhone SE has a better camera, but also a smaller screen.

The 6 Plus comes with Apple iOS, a 5.5" HD touchscreen, 16 GB internal memory, dual core processor, 1 GB RAM and 8 MP camera.

While the specs are not impressive on paper, Apple devices are well known for their good performance. The 8 MP rear camera has excellent image quality and can record HD video at 240 FPS for slow motion shots.

Learn more about the iPhone 6 Plus (and iPhone 6) in our recent post. The iPhone 6 Plus is available fro $499 on the Tracfone website. For a less expensive option you might consider finding an unlocked iPhone 6 Plus and bringing it to the BYOP program.

#1 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy S7

And finally, our pick for the best Tracfone is the Samsung Galaxy S7. It beats out the competition with incredible features and performance (and a big price tag).

The S7 features a 5.1" quad HD screen, Android 6.0, 32 GB internal memory, octa core processor and 12 MP camera with dual pixel technology.

The Galaxy S7 brings a handful of improvements and updates from the S6. Of course, it will cost you, listed at $629 on the Tracfone website.

As with several of the other options in this list, finding an unlocked S7 and using it on Tracfone BYOP is a cheaper option.

That concludes our list of the Best Tracfone Cell Phones. For many, buying the S6, iPhone 6 Plus or S7 would be impractical because of the high cost, but these are the best options available through Tracfone. Leave a comment with your thoughts, and if you enjoyed this list, take a look at our List of the Best Phones for Tracfone BYOP.

Honorable Mentions - Unlocked Smartphones on Tracfone BYOP

Many Tracfone users are bringing their own phone (BYOP) to Tracfone to use with the prepaid service, and this includes phones such as the Moto G4 Plus, iPhone 7 and much more (and soon the Moto G5).

The BYOP program from Tracfone makes it much easier for consumers to have the phone they want at a reasonable price on Tracfone's prepaid service. Visit our main, Tracfone BYOP page for all the details.

We hope you found this article useful, leave a comment with your pick for the best Tracfone device. Also be sure to share this with your friends.

----------

We also want to share that Tracfone continues to add new phones to their lineup, and we will work to continue to update this post as needed to keep it up to date.

For more on the cell phones offered by Tracfone, visit our Cell Phones Review page.

Also don't forget about our most popular page, the Tracfone Promo Codes!

Thanks for visiting!

January 9, 2018

6 Major Differences between Tracfone Smartphones and 'Dumb' Phones

How Are Smartphones Different from Regular Tracfone Devices?

Updated 1/9/2018

tracfone smartphones vs non smartphones
Tracfone Smartphones vs Dumb Phones
Should you buy a smartphone from Tracfone? What will change if you switch from a regular Tracfone device to a smartphone?

We answer these questions and more with an explanation of how smartphones are different than 'dumb' phones and some things to consider before upgrading.

Let's start with a basic but important question:

What is a Smartphone?

The basic definition of a smartphone from the dictionary is, 'Any phone that performs many of the functions of a computer, such as accessing the internet, and capable of downloading and running applications.'

So a smartphone is just a small computer that also has calling and texting capability included.

There are two main operating systems for smartphones - Android and iOS. Only Apple smartphones use iOS (such as the iPhone 6, iPhone 7 etc.), and the rest of smartphones use the Android Operating System (such as Samsung, LG, Motorola, ZTE, etc.).

Android OS allows users to have access to over a million  different applications through the Google Play Store. These 'apps' provide added functionality, and many are free to download and use. There are apps for nearly anything you can think of, ranging from music and radio streaming, to games and entertainment.

Apple's iPhone devices also have a similar selection of apps that users can install on their phone.

For more about Android OS, here is a link to the Wikipedia page on Android.

And for our recommendations on some great apps for your phone, read our List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone Users.

Now, we want to mention here that there are three categories of phones form Tracfone at this time:

Three Types of Phones for Tracfone:
  • Tracfone Smartphones - cell phones that use either Android or iOS and are sold by Tracfone
  • Non-Smartphones - All other phones from Tracfone (visit our Cell Phone Reviews page to see them) often called 'dumb' phones. 
  • BYOP Phones - A program from Tracfone that allows you to 'Bring Your Own Phone'. (follow the link to learn more about this program) including iPhone and Android devices.
So there are a few different types of phones to choose from, but we won't get into that. We will focus just on Tracfone smartphones, and comparing the difference between them and all other phones offered by Tracfone.

So let's get to the main question, how are smartphones different from regular Tracfone devices?

6 Key Differences Comparing Android Smartphones vs 'Dumb' Phones from Tracfone

A list comparing the major differences between phones with Android operating system, and all the rest that are available from Tracfone. Use this list to help choose whether an Android phone may be right for you. Note, Apple iPhone's use a different operating system compared to Android phones, but have basically the same functionality as far as apps and smartphone capabilities.

tracfone android
Find Apps for Android
1. Access Over 1 Million Applications with Smartphones
Androids are called smartphones because of their increased functionality with access to standardized applications (apps). These apps can do many of the same things that computers programs do, including web browsing, photo editing, games and much much more.

Apps for Android phones are available from the Google Play Store and many are free or just a few dollars. There are over a million applications and they do quite a number of different things.

Access to applications gives Android phones almost unlimited functionality because you can always download and install a new app to do something you couldn't do before.

Non-Android devices from Tracfone are usually limited to the features that come with the phone, like an alarm clock, web browser, etc.

Visit the Google Play Store to see some of the apps available to use with Android.

2. Minutes are Split into Three 'buckets' for Android Phones
One of the major differences between Tracfone's smartphone devices and their non-Android phones is the way minutes work. 

android tracfone
Use the same prepaid card for Androids
On the non-Android phones (such as the LG 840G or LG 306G), when you add a 60 minute card, you get 60 minutes (or 180 if you have Triple Minutes for Life) for talking, texting and web browsing all in one 'bucket'. Also, texts cost only 0.3 minutes each.

For Android smartphones (like the LG Fiesta or Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro), a 60 minute card will be split into three 'buckets' and give you 60 minutes calling, 60 texts, and 60mb data (and these will all be tripled to 180 with Triple Minutes for Life). So you get the same number of calling minutes (180), plus texting and data (180 of each)!  

Note that Tracfone stopped including certain smartphones with Triple Minutes for Life (follow the link to learn more). Phones running Android 7.0 or newer, or some devices released after April 1, 2017, might not have triple minutes  so be sure to check on that if you are buying a new phone.

The lack of triple minutes does not affect smartphone only cards, which do not triple anyway.

It is also possible to buy only texts for your Tracfone, and buy extra data too.

And Tracfone offers Smartphone Only Airtime Cards which may be a better deal for some users.

So prepaid minutes work a little differently, but for most, this is very beneficial.

3. Touchscreens on All Tracfone Android Smartphones
Not everyone likes to use a touchscreen, but all of the smartphones from Tracfone have touchscreens at this time.

Most smartphones these days only have a touchscreen, it has become the standard, and most touchscreens have a good response and sensitivity. But if you prefer the feel of buttons under your fingers, then you might want to stick with Tracfone's like the Samsung S390G or Motorola EX431G which both have full QWERTY keypads.

Additionally, you can visit our Tracfone BYOP page to learn about how you can bring a smartphone to use with Tracfone, including some phones with sliding keyboards. Visit the BYOP page for a phone list and all the details.

4. Android Phones are (generally) Newer
Most of the newest phones from Tracfone are all Android devices. Although Tracfone does often release phones that are already a few months to a few years old, they are much newer than any non-smartphone devices from Tracfone.

If you're looking for a newest phones from Tracfone, Android is where you should look. Keep up with the latest Tracfone cell phones in our recent post.

5. Android Phones are (generally) More Expensive
Because the Android phones from Tracfone are newer and have more features, they also tend to be more expensive. Typically the phones will be priced above $100. There are a variety of online stores that offer some great deals, including deals with minutes. So shop around when searching for a phone.

But not all of the Android smartphones are expensive, you can even get the LG Optimus Dynamic for $20 on Amazon right now. Just don't expect too much out of a cheaper smartphone.

6. Smartphone Only Promo Codes
When Tracfone released smartphones they initially did not accept promo codes.

But now there are promo codes for the new smartphone-only airtime cards, and some promo codes for regular airtime cards also work on smartphones.

View our current list of promotional codes for Tracfone that also include several for smartphones.


Bonus Point! You are Charged for Every Text You Receive on Android Phones
On smartphones with Tracfone you cannot choose which incoming texts you read (and are charged for). You are automatically charged for every incoming text, whether you read it or not.

On older 'dumb' phones from Tracfone you can choose not to read a text, and thus not be charged for it. So be aware of this, and if you receive a lot of spam texts, you may want to change your number when changing to an Android phone from Tracfone.

This concludes the list of key differences between Android smartphones and the regular cell phones offered by Tracfone.

We hope these points will help you choose if an Android phone is best for you. If you have any questions, or additional points to add, leave a comment below!

---------------

.Join us on Facebook where we have a growing community of Tracfone users and are able to respond to messages directly if you have special questions.

Learn 4 Ways to Check Your Airtime with a Tracfone Smartphone if you're worried about keeping track of your minutes.

Also take a look at our 10 Tips for Boosting your Cell Signal.

Thanks for visiting, and we hope this information was useful!