April 25, 2017

Tracfone Triple Minute Cell Phones (And How it Works)

Tracfone Cell Phones with Triple Minutes for Life

A list of Tracfone cell phones that come with Triple Minutes for Life conveniently organized by TracfoneReviewer for our readers to see which phones are the best deal on minutes.

tracfone triple minutes
List of Triple Minute Tracfones
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone company that provides both phones and service. Many of their phones come with a special bonus of Double or Triple Minutes. In this post we will share many of the phones that have Triple Minutes, and help provide details on how Triple Minutes work.

Let's start with our first question:

How Does Triple Minutes Work with Tracfone?

The way Tracfone service works is you buy airtime cards that come with certain amounts of minutes, like 60, 120 200 etc.

When you add the airtime card to your phone with Double Minutes, you will get twice the number of minutes. If you have Triple Minutes, you get three times the number of minutes.

So, for example. if you add a 200 minute card to your Triple Minute phone, you will get 600 minutes total (200 minutes plus 400 bonus minutes). And that's before you add a Promo Code!

If you have a smartphone, however, things are a little different. Smartphones split up the Talk/Text/Data into three different pools. But, all Tracfone smartphones come with Triple Minutes, so you end up getting 3x Talk minutes, 3x Data and 3x Texts. (example: if you add a 200 minute card, you will get 600 talk minutes, 600 texts, and 600 MB data.)

do tracfone smartphones have triple minutes
Triple Minute Cell Phones
Note: Smartphone only airtime cards do not triple, and can only be used with smartphones, but they are a good deal as we found in our smartphone airtime comparison chart.

We have several full posts providing further details on this including, How Do Minutes Work on Android Tracfones.

You can also learn about How Data Works on Tracfone Smartphones, and How to Buy More Texts for your Tracfone.

Now, here is the list of cell phones form Tracfone with Triple Minutes for life.

List of Tripe Minute Cell Phones from Tracfone

This is the list of Tracfone prepaid cell phones that come with Triple Minutes for Life. Found a triple minute phone that isn't listed here? Leave a comment so we can add it!

To get more info on each of these phones, and read our reviews of them, simply follow the link for each one.

All Android Smartphones have Triple Minutes for Life - All of the recently released smartphones, like the Samsung Galaxy Sky, LG X Style and iPhone 6, have Triple Minutes for Life. So these are good options to choose if you're looking to maximize your minutes. Visit our Cell Phone Reviews page or Android Phone List to see more smartphones available from Tracfone.

Top Android Phones with Triple Minutes:
Samsung Galaxy Sky
Samsung Galaxy Luna
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory
LG Premier
LG Sunset
LG Power
Samsung Galaxy Stardust
Moto E
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop
LG Ultimate 2

All BYOP Smartphones have Triple Minutes for Life - Any phone that you are able to use with the Tracfone BYOP program automatically gets Triple Minutes for Life! You can bring a wide variety of phones to use with Tracfone, and learn more about this on our Tracfone BYOP page.

Some popular phones to bring to Tracfone include:
Moto G5 Plus
iPhone 6S
And take a look at our list of the best BYOP devices for more options.

Below are additional devices that are not smartphones, but come with Triple Minutes.

tracfone triple minutes for life lg 505c
LG 505C
LG 306G - One of the newest of the options listed below, this non-Android feature phone has a 3.2" touchscreen, GPS connectivity, and plenty of useful features. Might be your best choice if you're avoiding upgrading to a smartphone.

LG 530G - This phone comes with a great QWERTY keyboard making texting fast and simple. It also has lots of other good features like an MP3 Player, and long battery life. This phone has a solid construction and is very durable.

LG 505C - A phone with both a touchscreen and slider qwerty keyboard, this phone is very modern and sleek. It also uses the CDMA network, typically Verizon towers, so it is a good option if other GSM Tracfone cell phones won't work in your area. Tracfone Reviewer will be reviewing this phone soon, but until then, you can check it out on Amazon.

LG 800G - A slightly older Tracfone mobile device that features a touchscreen and many other good features. This phone, while not the best, can often be found at deep discounts and serves well as a back up or temporary phone.

tracfone triple minute phone lg 840g
LG 840G
LG 840G - A big upgrade from the LG 800G, this stylish touchscreen phone comes with WiFi and 3G connectivity making it a great value and one of Tracfone's best cell phones. This phone also comes with a MicroSD card, and lots more. Read our full review to see all the great features and the best deals.

Samsung S390G - This phone is another great option from Tracfone that comes with a QWERTY keyboard for fast texting, and WiFi connectivity for free internet browsing from the phone. Anytime you are connected to a wireless internet network, you can browse the web without using your prepaid minutes, adding huge value to this phone. Be sure to read our full review by following the link to learn more.

Samsung R455C - Another cell phone from Tracfone that uses CDMA networks instead of GSM, this phone has very good features such as a sliding qwerty keyboard, and is a good option for those in areas where Verizon networks have better coverage than AT&T. View this phone on Amazon to learn more about it.

samsung t404g triple minutes for life tracfone
Samsung T404G
Samsung T404G - A slider QWERTY keyboard style phone that is similar to the R455C except that this phone uses GSM networks, like AT&T. Tracfone Reviewer hasn't reviewed this yet, so view this phone on Amazon to learn more.

Samsung S425G - An updated version of the T404G, this phone features 3G connectivity making browsing the web faster and easier. It has a full sliding QWERTY keyboard that allows for fast and simple texting, and impressive battery life.

Motorola Ex431G - A cell phone built for texting, the Moto EX431 is fairly similar to the LG 530G listed above. It has all the basic features you expect, like MP3 Player, Voicemail and MMS. This phone can sometimes be found for less than $10, making it a great deal. But pay close attention because some versions of this device only come with Double Minutes.

Know of another phone not listed here that comes with Triple Minutes for Life? Leave a comment so we can add it!

Learn more about the phones Tracfone offers by visiting our Cell Phone Reviews page.

And you might be interested in viewing the phones from Tracfone that have WiFI.

New to Tracfone? Start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which includes lots of helpful details and tips or you can also join our online community on Facebook!

Thanks for visiting!


This post was originally published in May 2013, and Updated April 2017

April 20, 2017

Tracfone Alcatel Pixi Glory (A621BL) Review

Tracfone Alcatel Pixi Glory Review

Pixi Glory tracfone review
Tracfone Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory Review
The Alcatel One Touch Pixi Glory is a large, budget friendly smartphone available from Tracfone since mid-2016.


It comes with a 5.5" screen, quad-core processor, 8 GB memory and Android 5.1. It is for use with Tracfone prepaid service and uses the GSM cell network with 4G capability.

In our review of the Pixi Glory we will share the full list of features and specs, look at key pros and cons, and compare it to some of the other popular smartphones available from Tracfone at this time.

To see all our reviews of, visit our Tracfone Cell Phone Reviews page.

Let's start with the main pro's and con's about the Alcatel Pixi Glory.

Alcatel Pixi Glitz Quick Facts

The Good:
Large Screen at 5.5"

The Not so Good:
Only 8 GB Memory
Only 1 GB RAM

There are a number of inexpensive smartphones from Alcatel available through Tracfone, with prices ranging from $20 (or sometimes less) to around $100. In general, spending more on a phone means you will get better performance and features, but there are also some great discounts on certain devices.

The Pixi Glory, not to be confused with the Pixi Glitz, Pixi Eclipse, Pixi Pulsar, or a number of other similarly named devices, is one of the more recent and better alcatel phones we've seen.

Let's see the full list of features and specs to get a better idea what this phone brings to the table.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specs
  • Android 5.1
  • 4G LTE capable using GSM networks
  • WiFi and GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • 5 MP rear camera with autofocus, 2 MP front camera
  • Hadsfree speaker
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • 2 Home Screens
  • MMS, SMS, Voicemail and more
Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory Specs
  • Size: 5.98" x 3.06" x 0.37"
  • 5.5" touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
  • 1.1 Ghz Quad Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory (MicroSD card slot for up to 32 GB)
  • Battery: 2500 mAh with 17hrs talk time, 16 days standby (non-removable)
Alcatel is a phone brand licensed by Chinese company TCL Corporation, which is known for a wide variety of electronic products including TV's and various appliances.

While the Pixi Glory has a good appearance and feel, a number of the cheaper alcatel onetouch devices feel and look somewhat 'cheap' and occasionally have quality issues. Any phone offered as a budget smartphone will have certain drawbacks in order to keep the price low.

Let's take a look at our review, with the key features we like, or found to be lacking.

Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory Review

We will start with the features we like about this phone, followed by a few drawbacks.

What we like:
The big feature on the Pixi Glory is the large screen, which is 5.5" with HD resolution (720x1280). For comparison, the Moto G4 Plus also has a 5.5" touchscreen, although it has full HD (1080x1920) resolution for an improved visual experience.

tracfone pixi glory review
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory 
The 5.5" screen size means the phone is fairly big by general standards, and can take some getting used to for those accustomed to smaller phones. However, it doesn't take long before the Pixi Glory feels normal, and you are enjoying the larger surface area for reading, watching or gaming. In our experience, everyone has certain preferences on phone size, but a large screen does make it easier to use the phone as long as you can still comfortably hold it.

The performance specs on the Alcatel Pixi Glory are not very exciting, but adequate for most activities and should keep up with the majority of apps.

Lastly, we are happy to see that even with a large screen, the Pixi Glory is available at a reasonable price of $99 with airtime bundle, and occasionally on sale for less.

Now for some negative points about this phone.

What we Don't Like
While the overall performance of the Pixi Glory is pretty good, we don't like that it is limited by just 8 GB internal memory, 1 GB RAM and running Android 5.1.

Many smartphone users are looking for closer to 16 or 32 GB memory to store the apps, photos videos and other content. With just 8 GB, the Pixi Glory limits how much you can load on the phone.

Tracfone smartphones don't receive OS updates, so the Pixi Glory will always run Android 5.1, which is now becoming a little outdated with Android 7.0 released for many newer (and more expensive) phones.

Another point to mention on the Pixi Glory is that the battery is non-removable, so if it dies, you will need to get a new phone.

Lastly, we do want to mention the front and rear cameras. The rear camera captures 5 MP images and look OK in good light. It can also shoot HD video (720 resolution) at 30 fps which is adequate for sharing on social media or sending to friends. There is also autofocus and LED flash. The front camera has a 2 MP camera that is more like a webcam and will struggle to take good images unless there is good lighting.

Overall the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory has some nice features for the price, and it also looks sleek, just don't expect to be wow'd by the performance. This phone is best suited for consumers who use a handful of apps, but would like a large screen for viewing photos and videos.

View the online tutorial for the Pixi Glory for help navigating on this phone.

Where to Buy the Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory

tracfone alcatel pixi glory
Alcatel Onetouch Pixi Glory
The Pixi Glory can be found at a variety of online retail websites, including the Tracfone website and Amazon, but we've found the best bundle deal is on HSN.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory with airtime bundle from HSN - $99
Alcatel OneTouch Pixi Glory on Amazon - $89

Under $100 for this phone is not a bad deal, as it is a capable device for most tasks.

Alcatel Pixi Glory Compared to the Samsung Galaxy Sky

One of the best budget phones currently available from Tracfone is the Samsung Galaxy Sky. It has a smaller, 5" screen, but comes with a number of improvements compared to the Pixi Glory, such as 16 GB memory, Android 6.0, and 1.5 GB RAM. The Sky is also often on sale for the same price as the Pixi Glory.

Be on the lookout for the new Samsung Galaxy J7, the step up from the Galaxy Sky, which we expect sometime int he near future and will have a 5.5" touchscreen, but likely cost upwards of $150.

We hope this review has been helpful in providing information about the Pixi Glory. Leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

It may be possible to unlock this phone. For more information, visit our step by step Tracfone Unlocking Guide.

And if you're looking for a new phone, don't miss out on our list of the Best Tracfone Smartphones in 2017.

Join our community on Facebook where we post the latest news, and check out our YouTube channel where we will be creating more content in the near future!

Thanks for visiting!

April 10, 2017

Unlock your Tracfone Cell Phone

How to Unlock your Tracfone Cell Phone

It is now possible to unlock some Tracfone devices, mostly smartphones, so that you can use them with other carriers in the US or around the world. TracfoneReviewer provides the requirements and a step by step guide below!

tracfone unlock code
How to Unlock a Tracfone
Owning an unlocked phone means that if you travel to another country that offers service for unlocked phones, you can buy a SIM card and service, and you will have cell phone use in that country. When you leave, you can switch your old SIM card back in to resume service with Tracfone.

Tracfone is well known for not allowing their phones to be unlocked, but because of FCC rules, and a ruling against Tracfone, they are required to unlock phones from after a certain date, offer a credit towards an exchange, or offer a partial cash refund for older devices.

We've got all the information you need about unlocking your Tracfone device. We will start with the requirements, including who can unlock their phone, and then give a step by step guide.

Let's get started.

Requirements for Unlocking a Tracfone Device

There are a number of requirements that you must meet in order to get your phone unlocked. Here are the requirements:

(You can also check if your phone is eligible by entering your phone number or serial number at the bottom of this page)
  • Customers must request handset unlocking.
  • Customers must have had their locked device activated on Tracfone service for no fewer than 12 months, redeemed air time cards in no fewer than 12 months, and not have had their telephone number recycled or ported.
  • Customers must request this interim unlocking solution while their service is active or within 60 days after their active service days expire. This 60-day grace period applies even if the customer's telephone number was recycled or ported.
  • Customers must currently own a Tracfone branded handset model launched on Tracfone's service after February 11, 2014 or activated with Tracfone's service after February 11, 2015.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is in working condition.
  • Customers must possess a handset that is not reported stolen, lost, or associated with fraudulent activity.
  • If a customer requesting handset unlocking is deployed military personnel, upon provision of deployment papers, Tracfone will honor that customer's unlocking request by sending a refund for the Trade-in Value of the used, locked phone returned by the customer without regard for the 12 months of service activation and air card redemption eligibility requirements. However, all other eligibility criteria apply to Tracfone's customers who are deployed military personnel. 
  • Customers are eligible for this program only once every twelve months.
  • (Source - www.tfwunlockpolicy.com/)
There are a lot of requirements, but the key points are that you need to have your phone active for 12 months with Tracfone, it needs to be a newer phone from after Feb 11, 2014, and you can only unlock a phone once every 12 months. While we haven't confirmed this yet, it is likely that only GSM smartphones are able to be unlocked. Let us know your experiences in the comments.

If you're phone is eligible for unlocking, you can continue with our guide to unlocking it.

How to Unlock a Tracfone Cell Phone in 3 Steps

Here is our step by step guide to unlocking your Tracfone cell phone. Be aware that not all Tracfone devices can be unlocked, many of their older phones are not eligible.

unlock tracfone smartphone
Steps for Unlocking a Tracfone
1. Go to www.tfwunlockpolicy.com and enter your phone number at the bottom of the page. You can also call 1-888-442-5102 during normal business hours.

2. If your phone is eligible, you will be able to continue the process to receive an unlock code for your phone. If your phone is not eligible to be unlocked, you may still qualify for a credit towards a new phone, or a cash refund

We tested a Motorola EX 431G Tracfone prepaid phone. It met the requirements to be unlocked, but because it is an old phone, it can't be unlocked. So Tracfone offered a $5 cash refund. To get the cash refund, you have to send the phone to Tracfone, and you lose any remaining airtime on the device.

We also tested an LG Ultimate 2, which is an Android smartphone. This phone also could not be unlocked, and Tracfone offered a $15 cash refund.

3, Once you get the unlock code from Tracfone, you can purchase a SIM card from another carrier, power off your phone, switch the SIM cards, and turn it back on. You should get a notification that your phone is locked, but there should be a place for you to enter your unlock code. After the code is entered your phone will be able to use the new SIM card. You can always switch SIM cards whenever you like, just remember to turn your phone off and back on.

And that is all it takes to unlock a Tracfone prepaid device. It is a fairly easy process, if your phone is eligible.

Going through the process of unlocking a Tracfone device doesn't seem worthwhile in most cases with the huge number of unlocked devices available on the market at very low prices. Amazon, eBay and many other online retailers have plenty of unlocked phones, and if you buy older models, or refurbished phones, you can often get a great deal.

Check out our list of the Best Unlocked Phones for Tracfone to get some ideas about the great options already available.

If you have an unlocked phone, you can activate it with Tracfone BYOP. Then, if you travel to another country and need to use cell phone service, simply power off the phone, switch the SIM cards, and you are ready to use your phone in the new country. Switch the SIM cards back when you return to the US.

The Moto G line of smartphones, with the G5 Plus the latest, are a popular unlocked phone choice for their high performance at a reasonable cost. Take a look at the Details and Specs for the Moto G5 Plus, and our Review of the Moto G4/ G4 Plus

We hope this information has been helpful. Leave a comment below with any questions or thoughts, and also share your experiences.

We are also on Facebook, with a large community who help answer questions, share news and much more.

See our last post about the Best Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales including a great deal on the Samsung Galaxy Sky.

Thanks for visiting!

April 3, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2017

New list of Tracfone Promo Codes updated for April 2017 and provided by TracfoneReviewer.com. If you're new, be sure to check out all the other news, reviews and information we offer.

Tracfone codes
Tracfone Promo Codes April 2017
Every month we collect and share new promotional codes from Tracfone for our readers to use. With these promo code you can get 20-300 extra minutes for free when you add various Tracfone airtime cards.

Promo codes work on Tracfone's regular airtime cards, they don't work on the newer, smartphone only options. And these codes aren't supposed to work with smartphones, but they sometimes do work, so it is worth trying.

If you are interested in a new phone, be sure to take a look at our Cell Phone Reviews which include some of the latest phones from Tracfone. We also just shared information about the Moto G5 Plus, an unlocked smartphone that can be sued with Tracfone BYOP.

The best way to use a code is on the Tracfone website, but you can also use them on your phone, in the app, or over the phone. If you're looking for ways to track your airtime, be sure to have a look at 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime.

This list includes the newest promo codes for Tracfone, but we maintain a larger list with more codes on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Let's get tot he coupon codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes List for April 2017

Promo codes are for a certain airtime card, but can usually be used with any card of greater value. Some of these codes can only be used once per phone.

60 Minute Card enter 12745 to get 60 free minutes (only working for some)

120 Minute Card use code 79679 for 60 bonus minutes or 96512  or 32968 for 40 minutes

200 Minute Card enter promo code 82057 for 50 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card add code 74316 to and get 60 extra minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 99138 for 250 bonus minutes

We hope these codes worked for you, and let us know in the comments your thoughts or questions.

If you have questions about Tracfone, or are unfamiliar with how it works, start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which will walk you through some of the basics.

Find us on Facebook where we have a growing community who are helpful in answering questions ans sharing information.

Don't forget about our recent list of great Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone devices and Minutes!

Thanks for visiting!

March 22, 2017

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro S727VL Coming to Tracfone

Rumors/Specs for Tracfone Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro (S727VL) 

tracfone sky pro j7 s727vl
Samsung Galaxy J7 coming to Tracfone
Photos and possible specs have leaked about a new mid-range smartphone coming to Tracfone.

The Samsung Galaxy J7 (called the Sky Pro) is the big brother to the Samsung Galaxy J3 Sky which has been available from Tracfone for several months now.

The Galaxy J7 Sky Pro is expected to have a large, 5.5" touchscreen, quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB internal memory.

We've been expecting Tracfone to offer more smartphones with improved specs in 2017, and the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro might be one of the first mid-range devices to come to Tracfone with 2 GB RAM.

The LG X Style was released not long ago, and featured a quad core processor with 1.5 GB RAM.

Many Tracfone users have been looking for a phone from Tracfone that can offer performance at an affordable price, will the Galaxy J7 meet that need? Let's look at the possible specs to learn more.

Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro (S727VL) Rumored Specs

These specs have not been officially verified, and may change
  • 4G LTE using CDMA (Verizon) service
  • Android 6.0.1 (possibly Android 7.0)
  • 5.5" HD Touchscreen
  • 2 GB RAM
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1.4 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • 8 MP Rear Camera/ 5 MP Front Camera
The Galaxy J7 brings improvements in several areas over its predecessors, the Galaxy Sky and Galaxy Luna, most notably increased RAM and screen size.

The Galaxy Luna has a 4.5" screen, while the Galaxy Sky comes with a 5" screen. Both of these devices have been popular choices for their good performance, and reasonable price, which leads us to expect good things from the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro.

It seems likely that the Galaxy J7 will run Android 6.0.1 but there is a chance it will ship with the newer Android 7.0 Nougat. We will have to wait and see.

tracfone samsung galaxy j7 s727vl
Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro coming to Tracfone

Despite the newer specs on the Galaxy J7 Sky Pro, we don't expect it to change our List of the Top 5 Tracfone Cell Phones.

Verizon will also be getting their own version of the Samsung Galaxy J7, which may have different specs than the Tracfone version. And it may be possible to bring it to the Tracfone BYOP program at a cheaper cost.

No official announcement has been made about the J7 coming to Tracfone, so we don't know the price or release date. But we expect the Samsung Galaxy J7 Sky Pro to be available sometime during Spring 2017, and retail for around $179-$199 with airtime bundle.

Let us know if you have questions or thoughts by sharing a comment below. We will continue to update this as more information becomes available.

Keep up with the latest news and posts by following us on Facebook.

If you're new to Tracfone, get started with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which includes a lot of helpful information.

And also take a look at our recent list of Tracfone Deals and Discounts for some great bargains.

Thanks for visiting!

March 17, 2017

Tracfone Deals and Sales for March 2017

List of Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone

cell phone discounts
Tracfone Discounts
Below are the latest Tracfone cell phones at the best prices we've found, plus great deals on other Tracfone devices and airtime.

Finding the best deal on Tracfone devices and minutes is not always easy with the wide number of locations they are available. But we are often checking prices, and learning about discounts, and so we are here to help share the best deals on newer Tracfone smartphones, as well as some great deals on other devices or minutes.

Let's start with the best prices on newer smartphones from Tracfone

Tracfone Deals and Discounts - March 2017


Samsung Galaxy Sky with Airtime Bundle - $105
The Galaxy Sky comes with 16 GB internal memory, a quad core processor and 1.5 GB RAM as well as Android 6.0. It has some of the best specs for a budget smartphone from Tracfone, and is available at a good price with airtime bundles.

Visit our review of the Samsung Galaxy Sky to learn more.

Samsung Galaxy Sky with 1350 airtime bundle on QVC for $105
Samsung Galaxy Sky with 120 Minute card on Amazon for $119
Samsung Galaxy Sky with $25 Smartphone airtime card on eBay for $129

LG X Style with Airtime Bundle - $109
One of the newest phones from Tracfone, the X Style is well designed and offers some great specs including 8 GB internal memory, quad core processor wit h1.5 GB RAM and Android 6.0.1. Visit our review of the LG X Style to learn more about all the features this phone offers

LG X Style with 1350 Airtime bundle on QVC for $109
tracfone deals iphone
iPhone 5S on Amazon

iPhone 5S (reconditioned) - $129
The iPhone 5S is still a popular smartphone choice and Tracfone recently began offering them directly. The iPhone 5S has a 4" touchscreen and runs on Apple's iOS. Visit our post about the iPhone 5S to learn more, and see where else it might be found. This deal is directly from Tracfone, so visit their site, and go to 'Shop Phones' and the reconditioned iPhone 5S should be listed in the list. If you don't see it, the phone may be sold out or unavailable in your area.

iPhone 5S (Reconditioned) available on the Tracfone website for $129

Those are some of the newer phones from Tracfone at the best prices we've found, now we have several great deals on slightly older devices.

LG Sunset airtime bundle for $69
Although it is more than a year old, the LG Sunset still has some great features including a 4.5" touchscreen, Android 5.0.1, 8 GB internal memory and a quad core processor with 1 GB RAM. Visit our full review of the LG Sunset to learn more. The deal below includes the phone and an airtime bundle worth $100 for just $69.

LG Sunset with 1200 minute airtime bundle from HSN for $69
lg rebel tracfone deal
LG Rebel on Amazon

LG Rebel airtime bundle for $49
The LG Rebel was a popular budget phone when it was released, and comes with Android 5.1.1, a 4.5" touchscreen, 8 GB internal memory and a quad core processor with 1 GB RAM. You can see more features, and learn about some users' reliability issues with the phone, in our LG Rebel Review. With the deal below you get the Rebel with a $30 airtime card, meaning the phone costs just $20 which is a good deal.

LG Rebel with 120 minute card ($30 value) on Amazon for $49
LG Rebel with 1200 minute airtime bundle on HSN for $79


LG Lucky airtime bundle for $29
The LG Lucky is a fairly basic Android smartphone but it can run a handful of apps and do all the normal cell phone tasks like texting, surfing the web and more. It comes with a 3,8" touchscreen, 4 GB internal memory and Android 4.4. See full specs and more in our Review of the LG Lucky. The deal below comes with the LG Lucky plus a 200 Minute Airtime Card worth $40 for just $29 total!

LG Lucky with 200 Minute Airtime Card ($40 value) on eBay for $29

****
That concludes our list of Tracfone deals, discounts and sales! We appreciate your comments, and let us know if we missed any great deals!

If you enjoy getting the best deal, take a look at our Airtime Comparison Table as well as our Auto-Refill Comparison and learn which Airtime card and Auto-refill option is the best deal!

Keep up with the latest news and reviews by following us on Facebook. We also have a Youtube channel!

If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which will help share some of the basics.

Thanks for visiting!

March 7, 2017

Best LG Phones from Tracfone 2017

Top 7 LG Brand Phones From Tracfone Updated for 2017

best prepaid lg phone
Best LG Phones for Tracfone
Here are the top 7 phones made by LG for Tracfone prepaid cell phone service. Tracfone is a prepaid wireless service provider that offers low cost cell phone plans, and also devices to use on those plans.

Each of the phones below offers certain features and benefits the others may not be able to offer, so it is important to analyze which phone may be right for you. Some of the phones are older, non-smartphones, but most are Android devices.

These are a wide variety of LG brand phones available with Tracfone, for those who like the LG brand and want to narrow their search to one brand. If you prefer other brands of cell phone, you may find our Cell Phone Reviews page useful.

LG is a very popular electronics company that makes everything from TV's to refrigerators. They make some of the most cutting edge smartphones as well.

The LG cell phones offered through Tracfone are not always newest or most recently released. They tend to be older models that have proven themselves with good value, durability and low cost. In this list you will see a range of phones, from flip phones to smartphones, and each one has its uses. We are rating these phones based on functionality, features and which one we would want to own.

LG products are great, and the same is true for their mobile devices from Tracfone, so let's get straight to the top 7 LG phones from Tracfone.

The Top 7 Best LG Brand Cell Phones Available at Tracfone

Starting with #7:

#7 - LG 440G/441G flip phone
best LG cell phone tracfone
LG 440G
The LG 440G is a flip phone loaded with more features than one would expect for this compact phone.

It comes with mobile web, courtesy of 3G connectivity speeds. It also has a 1.3 MP camera, hands free speaker, voice dialing and all the other features normally included with a Tracfone. The only downside to this impressive little phone is that it only comes with Double Minutes for Life. There are two slightly newer versions, the LG 441G which is almost the same, and the LG 238C which is for use with CDMA (Verizon) service.

Overall, this LG phone is small, convenient and has great value as a backup phone, or for other uses. You can read TracfoneReivewer's full LG 440G Review to learn more, including how to find it for less than retail price. If you're looking for a basic phone, the LG 440G might be it.

#6 - LG 840G
lg 840G best tracfone cell phone
White LG 840G
Our #7 pick for best LG Tracfone is the 840G. It has semi-modern features, and provides great value and functionality to consumers. It comes with Triple Minutes for Life, which means that every minute you add is tripled!

But the LG 840G does not use Android OS, meaning you can't access most popular apps. The phone does have WiFi, and it is possible to install java based apps.

The touchscreen on the LG 840G is better than the touchscreen on the older, LG 800G. It may take some getting used to, but functions well and helps make this phone look like it is part of the modern smartphones, even if it isn't quite there yet.

Overall, the LG 840G is more stylish than older phones, but lacks when compared to the smartphones available. You can read our entire Review of the LG 840G to see all the features, and where to find it for less than retail price.

#5 - LG Lucky and LG Sunrise
The LG Lucky (L16C) and LG Sunrise (L15G) are basically the same device, but one for use with GSM networks, and the other for CDMA (note the 'G' and 'C' at the end of each phone's name). 

These phones come with Android 4.4, a 3.8" touchscreen for those who want a smaller sized device, and also an improved amount of processing power and RAM compared to older smartphones. 

Read our Review of the LG Lucky for more details on this phone, and where you can find it.

While the Sunrise and Lucky are adequate smartphone devices, we suggest a newer smartphone if you plan to run more than one or two apps.

#4 - LG Ultimate 2
best tracfone lg phone
LG Ultimate 2
The LG Ultimate 2 was like a breath of fresh air when it was released on Tracfone and saw a large number of users upgrading to it from older devices for good reason. It was one of the first smartphones from Tracfone with enough performance to satisfy the average user.

The Ultimate 2 comes with a 4.5" touchscreen, Android 4.4, a dual core processor and 1 GB of RAM. One of the most important features this phone also includes is about 4GB of usable internal memory for applications and other storage. Many older smartphones from Tracfone have very limited amounts of internal storage.

While the Ultimate 2 isn't quite as good as other mid level smartphones like the Moto G or LG G2, it is priced at a more reasonable level. In fact, you can find the LG Ultimate 2 on Amazon for just $50 last time we checked, and about the same on eBay.

Don't forget to see our full Review of the LG Ultimate 2 for further details on this phone, and lots of comments from users.

While the Ultimate 2 has decent specs, most newer smartphones are improved in almost every way. 

#3 - LG Power and LG Sunset
top lg phones
LG Power
Next in our list, the Power (L22C) and Sunset (L33L) are very similar except for one important detail which we will cover further down.

Both phones feature a 4.5" touchscreen, Android 5.0.1 and have 1 GB RAM with a quad core processor for better performance compared to older smartphones. They also have a 5MP camera, and about 4 GB usable internal memory.

Now, the difference between these devices is that the LG Power uses 3G CDMA cell service, while the LG Sunset is capable of 4G LTE on GSM networks. Obviously, if you have access to GSM networks in your area you will want the Sunset over the Power, but not all areas have coverage.

Take a look at our reviews for the LG Power and LG Sunset to learn more about each device, and see where you can find them for the best prices.

While a good phone, the Power/Sunset have been eclipsed in performance by several newer options.

#2 - LG Treasure, Premier, Rebel and Stylo 2
These four phones were all released about the same time, and share many of the same features and specs (which is why we are including them together. Where they differ the most is in screen size. The Rebel has the smallest screen at 4.5", the Treasure has a 5" screen, the Premier comes with a 5.3" screen, and the Stylo 2 with a large, 5.7" touchscreen.

Each one of these devices comes with 8 GB internal memory, a quad-core processor, 1 GB RAM and Android 5.1. See all the details about each of these devices in our reviews: LG Rebel Review, LG Treasur Review, LG Premier Review and LG Stylo 2.

While these four LG phones have fairly good specs and features, they did feel somewhat cheap, and some users found various quality issues they made them less appealing. With newer options available, we might recommend continuing on in our list.

#1 - LG X Style
This is the latest LG phone from Tracfone (at this time) and it brings some features and looks that set it above the rest of the devices in our list.

The X Style has a 5" HD touchscreen, 8 GB Memory, 1.5 GB RAM and quad-core processor. It also comes with the newer, Android 6.0 operating system.

The look and feel of this phone is also improved over other LG smartphones from Tracfone. It looks like a higher end device despite its low price and plastic exterior.

Take a look at our full review of the LG X Style to learn more.

The LG X Style takes the top spot because of small spec improvements in several areas including the newer Android OS and increased RAM compared to older devices.

We hope Tracfone continues to release newer and better LG smartphones to use with their prepaid service and we will continue to update this list as appropriate.
-----------

This concludes TracfoneReviewer's selection of the best LG phones offered by Tracfone. We hope you found this useful. You may be interested in reading our recent post with the Latest Deals and Sales on Tracfone Devices and Minutes.

And if you're shopping for a new phone, you may want to learn about the new 'Bring Your Own Phone' to Tracfone program that we cover on our Tracfone BYOP page. This program allows you to bring a wide variety of smartphones to use with Tracfone, including some of the most advanced phones on the market like the iPhone 6 and more.

Leave a comment with your thoughts, questions or ideas and be sure to share this with others who might be interested!

Don't know what Tracfone Promo Codes are? Well, you are missing out on free minutes!

Also, be sure to follow us on Facebook for the latest posts and updates! Thanks for visiting!

This post was originally published on 7/2/2013 and last updated on 3/7/2017

March 3, 2017

5 Best Tracfone Cell Phones 2017

Top 5 Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phones for 2017

(Updated on 3/3/2017)
Everyone wants to know, what is the best Tracfone device? Which cell phones are the best options from Tracfone? We provide for you here the updated list of Best Tracfone Cell Phones for 2017!

As you might expect, this list is dominated by the smartphones Tracfone has released over the last year or two. But which one will receive the top pick? And where in the ranking do the rest of the phones fall?

best tracfone cell phone
Best Tracfone Cell Phones in 2017

If you want to see a full listing of all the smartphones, take a look at our comprehensive Android Tracfone List.

We are judging this list of the best cell phones based primarily on features, specifications, and performance as well as feedback from consumers. Price and availability will only be small factors, as both of these variables change often.

We will provide a short description of each phone in the list, and a link to our full review if you would like to learn more about a particular phone. This list is written as a helpful guide, that can give you an idea of which phones are generally better than others. However, each phone has certain features which are more important to some people, thus making that phone the best choice, even if it isn't at the top of our list.

We originally created this list of the best Tracfone devices in January, 2014, but have updated in March of 2017.

List of the 5 Best Cell Phones from Tracfone

The best phones available from Tracfone as of March 2017, starting with number 5.

#5 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy Sky S320VL

This phone comes in at the 5th spot for its wide popularity, low cost compared to other phones in this list, and good features. The Samsung Galaxy Sky has a 5" touchscreen, quad core processor, 1.5 GB RAM, Android 6.0 and 16 GB internal memory.

The specs, especially the 16 GB internal memeroy, make this a great phone for the average user. It has enough performance to keep up with most apps and activities you might need your phone for throughout the day.

The price is also nice, at around $100-150 and usually bundled with airtime. Learn more about the Samsung Galaxy Sky in our full review which also includes where to buy it.

#4 Best Tracfone - iPhone 5S

Even though the iPhone 5S was released at the end of 2013, it is still a relevant phone and a popular choice because of the features and price

The iPhone 5S uses Apple's iOS which means users have access to the Apple App Store. The 5S also comes with 16 GB internal memory, 4" touchscreen, 1 GB RAM and 8 MP camera.

Many people like the iPhone 5S for the sleek design and smooth operating system. Just be aware that it is a few years old now, and newer options are available (further down our list...)

Read up on our full post about the Tracfone iPhone 5S for more specs, features and news.

The iPhone 5S can be found on the Tracfone website and in Target retail stores. Additionally, you can buy your own iPhone and bring it to the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the link to learn more.

#3 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy S6

The Samsung Galaxy S6 comes in at number three on our list of the best Tracfone cell phones with a stellar list of features and specs.

It has a 5.1" quad HD touchscreen, octa core processor, 32 GB internal memory and 3 GB RAM. You also get a 16 MP camera with excellent video and photo capabilities.

Perhaps the only drawback (besides the price) for the Galaxy S6 is that it only has Android 5.0, a somewhat older version of the operating system, and it is not possible to upgrade it.

See more of the features in our Samsung Galaxy S6 Review which also includes how much you will have to pay to get one.

For those seriously interested in the Galaxy S6, you may want to consider buying an unlocked S6 and bringing it to the BYOP program. We've created a helpful Guide to Activating with Tracfone BYOP to make it as easy as possible.

#2 Best Tracfone - iPhone 6 Plus

The runner up in this list is the iPhone 6 Plus which is larger and more powerful compared to the iPhone 5S, but also has a higher price.

The 6 Plus comes with Apple iOS, a 5.5" HD touchscreen, 16 GB internal memory, dual core processor, 1 GB RAM and 8 MP camera.

While the specs are not impressive on paper, Apple devices are well known for their good performance. The 8 MP rear camera has excellent image quality and can record HD video at 240 FPS for slow motion shots.

Learn more about the iPhone 6 Plus (and iPhone 6) in our recent post. The iPhone 6 Plus is available fro $499 on the Tracfone website. For a less expensive option you might consider finding an unlocked iPhone 6 Plus and bringing it to the BYOP program.

#1 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy S7

And finally, our pick for the best Tracfone is the Samsung Galaxy S7. It beats out the competition with incredible features and performance (and a big price tag).

The S7 features a 5.1" quad HD screen, Android 6.0, 32 GB internal memory, octa core processor and 12 MP camera with dual pixel technology.

The Galaxy S7 brings a handful of improvements and updates from the S6. Of course, it will cost you, listed at $629 on the Tracfone website.

As with several of the other options in this list, finding an unlocked S7 and using it on Tracfone BYOP is a cheaper option.

That concludes our list of the Best Tracfone Cell Phones. For many, buying the S6, iPhone 6 Plus or S7 would be impractical because of the high cost, but these are the best options available through Tracfone. Leave a comment with your thoughts, and if you enjoyed this list, take a look at our List of the Best Phones for Tracfone BYOP.

Honorable Mentions - Unlocked Smartphones on Tracfone BYOP

Many Tracfone users are bringing their own phone (BYOP) to Tracfone to use with the prepaid service, and this includes phones such as the Moto G4 Plus, iPhone 7 and much more (and soon the Moto G5).

The BYOP program from Tracfone makes it much easier for consumers to have the phone they want at a reasonable price on Tracfone's prepaid service. Visit our main, Tracfone BYOP page for all the details.

We hope you found this article useful, leave a comment with your pick for the best Tracfone device. Also be sure to share this with your friends.

----------

We also want to share that Tracfone continues to add new phones to their lineup, and we will work to continue to update this post as needed to keep it up to date.

For more on the cell phones offered by Tracfone, visit our Cell Phones Review page.

Also don't forget about our most popular page, the Tracfone Promo Codes!

Thanks for visiting!

March 1, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2017

List of Tracfone Promo Codes - March 2017

The latest promotional codes form Tracfone provided to you by TracfoneReviewer. If you're new, be sure to take a look at some of the other Tracfone related information we share.

march 2017 tracfone promo code
Tracfone Promo Codes
Each month we collect and share the latest Tracfone promo code for our readers to use and share. We test and check to make the best effort to provide only the codes valid for this month. Below we have the new codes for March 2017.

These codes can be used to get additional Tracfone minutes for free when adding a prepaid card. Simply use a code that goes with the card you are adding, and you should receive your bonus airtime.

Remember that promo codes are not supposed to work on smartphones, but they may work in some cases. Also note that certain codes can only be used once, or are for a specific geographical area. If you're buying an airtime card on the Tracfone website, you can check your code before you pay for the card, which is convenient of you want to try a few different codes.

The codes below are the latest available, but we also have more options on our Tracfone Promo Code page including some that may only work in certain geographical areas or with certain offers.

Read some of our latest smartphone reviews by visiting the Cell Phone Reviews page. Both the LG X Style and Samsung Galaxy Sky are recent smartphones that can be found bundled with airtime at a great deal.

We also posted news about the upcoming Moto G5 smartphone which is one of the most popular devices to use with the Tracfone BYOP program. Follow the links to learn more.

Now, let's take a look at the new codes for March

Tracfone Promo Codes - March 2017

Promo Codes are for a certain airtime card, but can also be used with any card of greater value (except the 1 Year/400 Minute Card).

60 Minute Card use promo code 12745 for 60 bonus minutes (or try 90595 for 20 minutes)

120 Minute Card enter 74316 to get 60 free minutes

200 Minute Card use 74316 for 60 extra minutes (or try 38039 for 30 minutes)

450 Minute Card add code 17443 to get 50 bonus minutes (or try any of the codes above)

1 Year/400 Minute Card use code 63681 for 250 free minutes

These are the latest codes for March 2017. We hope these codes work for you, and let us know in the comments below if you have success, or any questions.

We've also added the codes to a YouTube video if you would like to try that:

Remember that promo codes are not supposed to work on Tracfone smartphones, but they may work so it is worth trying.

Learn what the Best Deal on Tracfone Auto Refill Airtime is and also the best deal on Tracfone Airtime Cards with our helpful comparison.

We share lots of news, deals and more on our Facebook page and have also recently started sharing videos on our YouTube channel.

Find Tracfone Airtime and phones on eBay with lots of sale prices and airtime bundles.

Thanks for visiting!

February 21, 2017

Moto G5 Plus with Tracfone BYOP - Specs and Info

Moto G5 Plus News, Specs and Where to Buy

If you're considering a new phone to bring to Tracfone's BYOP program, you may want to consider the new Moto G5 Plus which is now available for pre-order.

tracfone moto g5 plus
Moto G5 Plus with Tracfone BYOP
The Moto G line of smartphones is a popular choice for Tracfone users. They are versatile, budget friendly devices that pack in great performance too. We recently shared our review of the Moto G4, a great option to use with BYOP because of the capability to activate it as either a GSM or CDMA device, among other strengths.

Now we have news about the upcoming Moto G5 and G5 Plus. So if you're curious about the next generation of Moto G phones, keep reading.

Moto G5 Rumors and Release Date

A number of images and information about the Moto G5 was leaked in the weeks prior to the official announcement, and some of that information has been not quite accurate. However, with the G5 and G5 Plus officially announced at the end of February 2017, we now know full details on these new smartphones.

Only the Moto G5 Plus will be available in the US, and it is available for pre-order from several online sources including Amazon and Bestbuy. Full release of the G5 Plus is expected at the end of March.

Now let's look at what everyone is interested in, the specs for the new Moto G5.

Moto G5 Plus Specs and Features

The new Moto G5 Plus has a lot of great features packed into a compact frame. It is a solid step up from the G4, with only a small price increase.

The Moto G5 Plus has a 5.2" full HD screen. This is smaller than the G4, which had a 5.5" screen. Both phones have 1920x1080 resolution and the G5 Plus has Gorilla Glass 3.

There are two versions of the G5 Plus available, one with 2 GB RAM and 32 GB memory, the other with 4 GB RAM and 64 GB memory. Both versions use the fast, 2.0 Ghz Snapdragon 625 octa core processor.


Let's take a look at the full specs on the G5 Plus to see all it has to offer.

Moto G5 Plus Specs:
  • Android 7.0 Nougat 
  • 4G LTE and compatible with both GSM and CDMA carriers
  • 5.2" full HD touchscreen with Gorilla Glass 3
  • 2.0 Ghz Octa-core processor
  • 2 or 4 GB RAM
  • 32 or 64 GB Internal Memory
  • Micro SD card slot for up to 128 GB additional storage
  • 12 MP Rear Camera, 5 MP Front Camera
  • Fingerprint sensor to unlock device instantly
  • All metal design

The G5 Plus is a well-rounded phone, with powerful processor, great camera, and lots of connectivity options.

For photo and video needs, the G5 Plus has a 12 MP rear camera with dual auto-focus technology which means faster and more accurate focusing capabilities and 5 MP front camera.

You also get full metal construction, which gives them a high-end feel and appearance.

The Moto G5 Plus is available in the US, with two memory/RAM combinations. Starting price will be $229, with the higher RAM/Memory option coming in at $299 (this is $50 less than the G4 Plus with same options) and it will come unlocked and ready to use on any of the major carriers (Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile and AT&T).

Buy the Moto G5 Plus:

Moto G5 Plus on Amazon $229 (preorder) (Discounted price available with Amazon Prime offers/ads)
Moto G5 Plus on BestBuy $229 (preorder)

Based on these specs, the Moto G5 Plus looks very attractive as a solid performer for the smartphone enthusiast. It has all the capabilities to keep up with daily demands.

We will update with full details as soon as more becomes clear, but this new phone sure looks impressive.

Keep up with the latest posts, news and deals by joining us on Facebook. We also have a YouTube channel where we hope to provide additional content in the coming months.

leave a comment with your thoughts or questions about this new phone.

Take a look at our Guide to Activating a smartphone with Tracfone BYOP if you have questions, or visit our List of the Best Unlocked Smartphones for more buying options.

And we just reviewed the LG X Style which has some great features for the price, so check it out if you're shopping for a new phone.

Thanks for visiting!

February 16, 2017

LG X Style (L56VL) Tracfone Review

Tracfone LG X Style (L56VL) Review - Android Smartphone

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, your source for Tracfone related news, reviews, information and promo codes!

The LG X Style is a recently released (early 2017) Android powered smartphone with 5" touchscreen, Android 6.0, and 4G LTE capability with Tracfone Wireless service. In this review you will find full specs and features for the X Style, pro's and con's, and comparison to other Tracfone smartphones. 

This device is another smartphone in a growing list offered by Tracfone that feature Android 6.0 Marshmallow. The Samsung Galaxy Sky and Samsung Galaxy Luna are two other smartphone options, which we will compare to the X Style further along. A newer Android OS such as 6.0 means less vulnerabilities and newer features.

The LG X Style is an exciting blend of good specs and a small, sleek body that make it seem more expensive than it is, at just over $100. One of the drawbacks for this device is the lack of internal memory, with just 8 GB. 

Let's take a look at our pro's and con's fr the X Style

LG X Style Quick Facts:
The Good:
-1.5 GB RAM
-1.3 Ghz Quad Core Processor
-Sleek, Curved device (feels more expensive than it is)
-Gorilla Glass 3 Screen Protection

The Bad:
-8 GB Internal Memory (less than 4 GB Usable)
-5 MP Rear Camera
-Plastic Construction

The low internal memory may be a deal breaker for many, who need the space for storing apps, photos, videos and music. But the X Style does have a Micro SD card slot for extra storage.

Of course, for those looking for more internal memory, the best options might be bringing an unlocked smartphone to the BYOP program. There are a number of great smartphones with 16 or sometimes 32 GB memory available for $200 or less. Visit our list of the Best Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP to learn more about these options.

With any budget smartphone, the manufacturer has to balance performance with price. Has LG got this one right? We shall find out in this review. Let's begin with the full list of Features and specs.

Please note that there are two versions of this phone, one uses CDMA service while the other uses GSM. Currently the CDMA (LG L56VL) version is the only available device.

Tracfone LG X Style Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the X Style's technical specs
lg x style specs
LG X Style Specs
  • Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
  • 4G LTE capable 
  • LG L53BL uses GSM (ATT/T-Mobile) network
  • LG L56VL uses CDMA (Verizon) network
  • WiFi (802.11b/g/n)
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • 5 MP Rear Camera and 5 MP Front Camera
  • Headsfree speaker, Alarm Clock, MP3 Player
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Caller ID, Voicemail, Voice Dialing
  • Triple Minutes for Life (on regular airtime cards)
LG X Style Technical Specs
  • Size: 5.70" x 2.81" x 0.27"
  • 5,0" Touchscreen with 1280x720 TFT HD Display and Gorilla Glass 3
  • 1.3 Ghz Quad-Core Processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon)
  • 1.5 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Memory (up to 3.7 GB Usable) (Micro SD card slot for up to 32 GB extra storage)
  • Battery: 2100 mAh with 9 hours talk time/ 10 days standby (battery removable)
A removable batter is a popular feature for some, and the X Style allows that. Also notice that there is a GSM and CDMA version of the phone, so be sure to choose the device that is right for your location.

The X Style comes with Triple Minutes for Life (as do all smartphones from Tracfone) but that only applies to regular airtime cards. We recently shared the Best Deal on Tracfone Airtime (using Auto-Refill) so take a look if you want the best deal on minutes.

Tracfone LG X Style Review

What we Like about the X Style
The processor, RAM and sleek appearance of the X Style are all selling points, and we want to share why:

LG X Style L56VL tracfone
Tracfone LG X Style Front, Side and Back

Is your smartphone slow or does it lag when you try to open apps? This is usually caused by a lack of power from the processor or RAM. The LG X Style brings 1.5 GB RAM, and a 1.3 Ghz quad core processor that are a nice combination for keeping this phone fast and smooth.

By comparison to many mid to high-end phones, this isn't a lot (the Moto G4, for example, has an octa-core processor and 2 GB RAM). But compared to older Tracfone devices, this is a good improvement. Only a small number of Tracfone smartphones have 1.5 GB RAM, most only come with 1 GB RAM (or less).

The exterior of the X Style is likely the biggest selling point (hence, the name). Despite the plastic construction, the phone looks and feels like a much more expensive device. It is thinner than many smartphones, including the iPhone 6S, and the 5" HD touchscreen has Gorilla Glass 3 protection for extra durability.

There are a lot of extra features on this phone that make it a viable upgrade for those in the market. It is a step in the right direction compared to some of the other recent LG phones, such as the Rebel and Treasure, which didn't 'wow' in any particular way.

But let's look at a few negative aspects about the X Style before we conclude.

What we Don't Like
There are two main drawbacks about the LG X Style that the average consumer would want to know, and that is the lack of internal memory, and the low-res rear camera.

We've already mentioned the low internal storage on the X Style. It comes with 8 GB of total space, but the operating system and pre-installed apps take up around 5 GB, leaving you with only 3 GB for apps, pictures, music and anything else.

For consumers who only use a small handful of apps anyway, this likely won't be a big deal, and the option of up to 32 GB external storage via a Micro SD Card is a nice possibility. On some Android 6.0 smartphones, the external storage can be treated like internal storage, allowing significant expansion of the on board memory. We have not tested this on the X Style yet, but this feature did not work on the Samsung Galaxy Sky, which uses Android 6.0. More details coming soon on this.

The 5 MP rear camera on the LG X Style is fairly standard on a phone in this price range. We would have liked to see something more advanced, perhaps an improved 8 or even 12 MP camera would have grabbed more attention, although storage would have been an issue.

In the end, the 5 MP rear camera is fairly good for what it is, and has a variety of features including full HD photos, HD video, panorama, voice control, and a handful of additional features for both the rear and front facing camera.

That concludes our key pro's and con's for the X Style. It is a sleek, and well designed phone, but doesn't excel or surprise in any areas.

LG X Style Compared to Samsung Galaxy Sky

If you are considering a new Tracfone device, the X Style and Galaxy Sky are fairly similar smartphones released about the same time by Tracfone. They share a number of similarities, including screen size, Android 6.0, 1.5 GB RAM, and more.

But they also have a few differences. The Galaxy Sky has 16 GB internal memory, while the X Style only has 8. The Galaxy Sky also has longer battery life.

The X Style has a slightly faster processor, is thinner, and has a 5 MP front camera compared to only 2 MP in the Sky.

These phones are very similar, but for many the deciding factor will probably be the internal memory, or the price (both phones have been available for $99 with airtime bundle).

The X Style surpasses other LG phones like the Rebel, Treasure, Sunset and Ultimate 2 with newer Android OS, faster processor and more RAM, and a few other improvements, but none of the advances are major breakthroughs.

LG X Style Overview and Where to Buy

Overall the X Style is a phone that feels like a high-end device in some ways, and has some great features, but also lacks the storage space many will need.

Find the LG X Style on:
HSN with airtime bundle for $99 (on sale)

For covers or cases, we found a number of options on Amazon.

Take a look the interactive tutorial for additional information.

Leave a comment with your thoughts or questions.

We created a Guide to Activating or Transferring a Tracfone Smartphone with step by step information to help anyone with questions about the process.

And you may want to see Four Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime on a Smartphone which is one of our most popular posts.

Don't forget the Promo Codes! Here are the latest Tracfone Promo Codes. While they are not meant to work on smartphones, it is worth a try as sometimes they do work.

Thanks for visiting!